Rent Dungeon Siege III for PS3
view large frontback

Dungeon Siege III

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.2

2286 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyed it...

posted by Shneaky (MANTACHIE, MS) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

36 out of 40 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I've never played any previous titles of this franchise and really knew nothing about the game going in. So, it probably helps the rating that I was void of any expectations.

First the bad:

This is definitely an action game under the guise of an RPG. Linear story, few side quests, limited character options, NO map, etc. etc. It is also a very short game — credits were rolling after only 12 hours of (single player) gameplay for me. I found the characters lacking in depth and emotion with ho-hum voice acting. And the camera angles seemed rather awkward and annoying to me as well.

So why did I give this game an 8?

Simply put...I had fun playing it. Katarina pew-pew'd her way through Dungeon Siege III to save the kingdom and collect massive (and I do mean MASSIVE) amounts of loot along the way. The game made for a good, lazy weekend glued to the controller. In fact, I might even hang onto to it a while longer and play through with the different characters.

Dungeon Siege III is certainly not the best game I've ever played, but it's a decent game that's worth the rent in my opinion. Just let go of any preconceived notions (including the one that says this is an RPG) and have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So so

posted by Dpad908877 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not an awful game but not a great one either. definately one of those games that your glad was borrowed and not bought. The character progression and skill progression are pretty good as are the graphics. I like the fact that your can switch side kicks as you go rather than having to chose just one. On the downside the loot isn't very good. At a certain point it becomes almost impossible to tell if one item is better than another. It all looks the same and doesn't seem to improve. Takes all the fun out of finding chests and looking at stores. Along the same lines it makes the gold you find nearly useless as there is nothing cool to save for in stores.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

its an ok game not for some people

posted by binfordb (ELVERTA, CA) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the games camera is totally whack. Also to add the voices sound like someone is behind a keyboard typing out it as they saying it so they sound like robots.

i will give this to game the builds for the characters are good but actual gameplay isnt too good.

i gave it a 4 but other people may think otherwise like i said its for some people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big expectations, bigger disappointment.

posted by WingCKF (EAST LANSING, MI) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Before picking up this gem, I read some of the mediocre reviews as well as a glorious 10 minute venting festival from a close friend on how terrible the game was. But my friend isn't graceful with words and I had looked forward to playing this game for very much, so I picked it up anyways.

The good

-The game is gorgeous. The lighting, shadow effects, scenery, armor/clothing/weapon detail, and levels all look fantastic all the way through.

-Easy local drop in and out. If you have a significant other or friend you enjoy playing next to, this game makes it very easy to sit down hit a couple buttons to figure it out and start hacking away. (Not exactly what most people who play this game are looking for I know)

The bad.

-Cookie cutter skill trees. You are given the chance to "choose" the skills every set amount of levels. These skills are already chosen where they go and what they are. The only choice you have is when in the game you want to unlock one skill over another. In the end though you are stuck with the same skill set in the same place. They attempted to customize each set skill with a branch of 5 points per skill you can choose for it. Each branch only has two choices and they all tend to either be more offensive or defensive. Though it does make the skills more powerful or staying alive easier, it is still the same skills with the same set up.

-Very slow start and boring overall story. Seriously, the first two hours was like watching the end of The Lord of the Rings for the 17th time.

-Short. If you avoid the the side quests, you are looking at maybe 8-10 hours tops. With all the sides, 12- 14 tops. Sent back faster! :)

-Coop = useless. Coop in this game simply means drop into someone else's game and give them hand for a while, then leave with nothing. Whoever is the party member joining the game is keeps no EXP, no loot, and no progress.

-Customization? DENIED. Don't like how you look, where your stats go, or how you skills are set up? Too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Maybe worth a rent but not a buy

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) Jul 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't be a fool and buy this game like I did. My daughter wanted to get it because she liked the demo. Well the AI is really strange in this game. Whenever I would play with her it seemed like the AI was really super hard. We both died several times and frustration kicked in. She finally gave up Alas, then I learned how easy this game was. I beat it, after she quit, in about 5-6 more hours. Total must have been about 10 hours. Why a programmer would make it so hard to play local co-op on one screen I do not know.

The video quality was not good at all. About a 3

The sound quality was decent. About a 6-7

The voice acting was poor. I actually had Fallout fill-in actors. About a 3

Replay value is ok if you have the intend to tough it out and get the other trophies for finishing with each character. Personally, when the credits rolled I turned it off. There were a few trophies I could have achieved if I had played just a few more minutes, but to me it was not worth it. Replay score? About a 3

Multiplayer? Just plain stupid. If you join somebody's game you do not get to level up your own character. Why? About a 1 rating.

Overall Rating: 3-4

So again, I bought this game on pre-order. It has been out less than a month and I only got $18 bucks in trade-in value. Lamo Pokemon B&W is getting $20 and it has been out since March. What a joke of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Unambitious

posted by CaliGamer (SANTA MONICA, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dungeon Siege 3 is one of those games that leaves you feeling like the developers not only ran out of ideas on where to go with the series, but also decided to get rid of major components that made the previous titles so much fun.

The game itself isn't that bad as a pure hack and slash action game but that's all it really delivers. The story is very plain and lackluster and the voice acting is well behind where any major title should be. It has a very diablo-esque feel to it in regards to loot and the way massive amounts of it come pouring out of chests, so it's a good pick for people who like to sort through the 20 new items they gained within the last few minutes to see if one is a suitable upgrade to something in their inventory. Aside from that though the combat is very repetitive with a very small list of skills (9 in total) per character.

The biggest drawback to this game is the multiplayer. With the first dungeon siege the biggest draw was taking your character online to play with others. You can no longer do this. When you join someone's online game you assume the role of their AI follower and you're stuck with the way that player developed their skills. There is no way of progressing your own character by joining someone else's game at all. And there's of course not much incentive for other people to join yours when they can not use their own characters, so the multiplayer ends up falling very, very flat.

All in all Dungeon Siege 3 seems like a watered down, option lacking follow up to the previous titles that added nothing new and exciting while dropping the parts that made parts 1 and 2 fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been great

posted by Kaiden77 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

All in all its a solid single player experience for a dungeon hack n' slash. Choose one of 4 characters, the other 3 you'll meet and partner up with at some point in the game. A Warrior, Fire Elemental, Mage, & Marksman. The story wasn't all that spectacular. Save the kingdom from a psycho, and rebuild your legion.

As characters go, they weren't poorly written. But they seem to have a total lack of any emotion whatsoever. Random guy: "Lucas, things are Dire!!"
Lucas: "OK. Just tell me what to do so that the players will think I care"

The RPG elements just weren't there. A mediocre ability point system, pointless side questing, and dialog choices that really don't matter most of the time.

I'm sure the multiplayer aspect would be enjoyable to some. But I found myself hating the fact that when you join into someones game, you are forced to use their character setup, at their level, with their gear. So unless you want to play with a friend from beginning to end so that you can develop your own character, I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent, Nothing Special

posted by WisePapaSmurf (CASSVILLE, MO) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game managed to dash my expectations brilliantly. I generally hold Squaresoft games in high esteem. After beating DS3 in a few days I found myself stricken by several issues in the game.

1.) I had no desire to replay this game as a different class.

2.) The story was not compelling. It's a classic good v. evil, save the world quest. However, unlike other games within this same niche, I was not drawn into the story whatsoever because it was too cookie-cutter. The characters were not interesting enough to make me care about their problems. It was like reading a poorly written book. The plot moves too fast. At one moment the legion is smashed, at the next, your at the end of the game.

3.) The quests were boring in general.

4.) The dungeons were repetitive. I want to be clear though, they were not repetitive because they were re-used or anything; each dungeon is unique. However, there are only really 3-4 "cities" to go to before the final battle.

5.) The graphics were great. Usually, when you have a graphics rpg like this it's hard to tell where you can walk and where you cannot. However, this game has a "quest line" which will tell you exactly were to go (with few glitches) including which terrain you can walk over.

6.) You get 9 abilities, but you only use at most 3-5. The rest are surplusage which you will struggle to try to use, but only really get you killed.

7.) The combat felt like I was mostly just using a ability or relying on my partner while I dodged all the enemies. This made the combat feel really stale. (Perhaps this is a mage-only issue.)

Overall, These are the things that struck me about the game. I would play it if it landed on my doorstep, but I don't think I would waste a purchase or rent on it. It is entirely average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wait for it...

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Jul 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Commercials always make things look better then they actually are. Yes, i'm talking about videogames, not McDonalds or whatever fast food joint you frequent. When i saw the commercial for Dungeon Siege i saw a cool, new, re-awakened genre of dungeon-crawling. Im not a big fan of dungeon crawlers, as i prefer more open-world RPG games like Oblivion and fallout 3. But i thought i'd give DS3 a chance.

Sound/Visual: Sound? Not bad. I didn't realize any faults in it big enough to put in this review. Visuals? Thats another story. When i started playing the game, my first thought was, "This is a Playstation THREE game?" as the graphics looked very PS2-era to me. This may not bug people as it did to me, but i like pretty games.

Storyline/Gameplay: The Storyline wasn't anything too amazing, just the usual RPG elements- some ultimate baddie raising an army to take over the world, some really na'ive heroes, and enemies that feel very recyclyed. Character wise, there are about four different types: an agile scout-type person (who looks very like Megan Fox. Hmm...) the bulky tank-like warrior, a mage specializing in offensive magic (blowin' stuff up) and then a defensive-favoring mage (preferring to cast shields and distractions).

Replay Value: None whatsoever. Because the levels have no variety or different paths, there's no reason to replay levels in my opinion. As much as it strives to be a "classic dungeon-crawler RPG" it feels more like a "Iron Man-esque dungeon crawler with a few different character types". You may like it, however i didn't. DEFINITLY DONT BUY... unless you like it that much.

:food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent RPG with lots of loot and action

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy action RPGs with a lot of loot and questing, you should definitely try Dungeon Siege 3. Its not very original and loot management can get tedious, but the graphics are good, there are tons of character customization, lots of quests, and most imprtantly, the loot never stops dropping. It hasnt been getting great reviews, due to the weak multiplayer and the generic gameplay, but if you know what to expect in an diablo clone, you will like what DS3 has to offer. A very solid 8. Recommended for: action RPG fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by Vahnn (OCALA, FL) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I think the bad reviews are because people were expecting something different than what this game has to offer. For it to be considered an RPG yes I do see the game falling quite a bit by other RPG standards, but as a dungeon hack and slash game like oh I don't know Diablo 1 on the playstation 1. or other games similar to that this game is great. It's a fun dungeon slashing game where you can be a warrior, 2 dif types of mages, or a sharpshooter. The multiplayer aspect makes it a fun experience. The game is very linear not open ended like alot of hardcore rpg players are wanting now adays. But me personally I loved the old diablo games on the pc and diablo 1 on the playstation, and this game with updated graphics temporarily quenched my thirst for a good dungeon slasher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WAY to limiting for an RPG

posted by killquick4 (HOMESTEAD, PA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

when i first loaded up the game and saw you only had 4 characters to chose from i was highly dissapointed. then i had a thought that i you limited in selection then you should have some amazing abilities but you only get 9 total :-(. calling this an rpg is an insult to all the good rpg's out currently. i've had this game for 4 hours and have already prepared it to be sent back. Please do not waste your time on this game and go play an rpg where you can decide how you want to play your character and ignore this insult to the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS IS NOT DUNGEON SIEGE...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Aug 24, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game tries to convince you that it is dungeon siege, but it isn't for several reasons! 1. First off, it doesn't play like dungeon siege, but instead it plays more like a lousy Sacred 2 port.. 2. Tradition Most dungeon siege games don't tresspass on the story of the others, so as to tradition this isn't dungeon siege.. 3. The flexibility-- this game does not offer flexibility with your equipment... 4. the history and back-drop for the story is not dungeon siege.. According to this games history Azunai supposedly existed BEFORE THE EMPIRE OF STARS.. In the actual series history, Azunai was an ordinary mortal who challenged Zaramoth the UNMAKER, and the two of them died when Zaramoth's sword struck the shield of Azunai the defender the shock wave brought about the First Cataclysm which destroyed the Empire of Stars and laid waste to the world.. Azunai's shield was special just like Zaramoth's sword... also according to the series history the Azunite church was founded in the aftermath of the First Cataclysm to honor Azunai the Great Defender... According to this games history the Azunite church was founded in the early days of the Empire of Stars after some lady saw a Blonde haired child who had a piercing gaze in a Vision??? Huh? what??? According to this games history there was apparently no Zaramoth or Cataclysm in fact, from the "in-game" books I have read, so far the Empire of Stars collapsed when the different Imperial Legions went to war with each other.. and one of the main legions to cause the collapse of the Empire of Stars was the.......third legion??? Who tried to usurp the throne??? In the series history Azunai in his time was a ordinary person who stood up to a genocidal giant Zaramoth.... In this game Azunai is a Blonde little ghost kid who likes to invade peoples minds, so they can do great things??? Square Enix do us a favor and leave the dungeon siege universe alone.. Supervillain and gas powered games did a better job! Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by cid2042 (Seattle, WA) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The story was lacking. I gave it 3 hours of game play before I decided to ship the game back. There was a lack of drive to move forward with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bleh

posted by Killerj584 (NORTH PORT, FL) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not enough customization. Dungeon Hunter: Alliance on PSN is a better choice imho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dungeon siege 3

posted by trevin609 (NEWPORT, NH) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i figured there was going to be a lot to this simple game i was entrails but it soon faded due the linear game play controlled environments similar to xmen legends and other games like that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak cookie cutter hack and slash

posted by Alpha007 (STRUNK, KY) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Do not rent this expecting a sequel to 2 of the better rpg PC games out there. Despite the name this game has nothing to do with those quality games aside from the kingdom of ehb being mentioned. Another game in the very disheartening line of thinking :we can make a boring game, slap a respected games name on it and advertise "for the ps3!" and well sell thousands of copies before word gets out. This game is a cookie cutter pick your legendary character and hit the X button alot while using your magic skill every so often to win. Its not even a well polished one. Nine skills per character (yes nine and some are uselss)and weak feeling combat make this a avoid title masquerading as a continuation of the dungeon siege line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Virtually unplayable

posted by andertrack360 (COLTS NECK, NJ) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So many things wrong with this game, I just can't bring myself to even play it. If they had just redone Dungeon Siege II, it would have been fine, but they just had to mess with the formula.

Skip this game for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game was so....so bad.

posted by Gameman150 (LITTLETON, CO) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game expecting a fun co-op game that would keep me entertained for days upon end. But sadly i played this game for a few hours and relized just how bad it is.
The Fighting is god awful.
You cant acctuly "Cusomize" your character
seemed more of a PSP game than a PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad meets ok

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok game not that bad. Bad graphics it was like playing dead ops arcade. I was tired of playing this game, it's to hard and u cant get money easily and stuff cost's a fortune.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dungeon Siege III

posted by joh (MANSFIELD, TX) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't like because it continuously drop me two levels down from the last level achieved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dungeon siege 3

posted by ricksta520 (SAN MANUEL, AZ) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was horrable! Unsatisfying fight sequences and finding items and gold looked as if it was frm an old nintindo game were the coins pop out. I give this game a 2 out of 10 for being a bunk game. dungeon siege came first and dragon age made it better gratz dragon age. over all bad game hate it wouldnt recomend it dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It is what it is

posted by fothead (MATAWAN, NJ) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Co-op hack and slash. Im not going to analyze it based on it's graphics, originality or story.

If you like to sit with a friend, hack through stuff- think Baulder's Gate/Brotherhood of Steel (PS2) type game.

I rate it an 8 because there arent enough games like this. Not all games have to be an overwhelming "experience". Just plain fun. At the hardest difficulty it is a hard game that will have you and your friend busy for hours upon hours upon hours.

Sure it can get a bit stale, but the boss characters are very difficult. The weapons/armor and character building are mostly uninteresting, and could have been way better. This is my biggest knock against the game.

Camera angles can get a bit tricky from time to time, but nothing too crazy that it will make it anywhere near unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

had so much potential

posted by ToneDeath333 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I just finished the game, and I was a bit disappointed in the beginning. Considering the fact that it could easily had been an 8 if they would have put a little bit more into it. Like; the voice dialog for the main characters sounded like the Microsoft Word Word playback. So that could have used a little more work. A bit more weapon detail, and roaming ability. Cant venture off much. But for what its worth. Its playable. I enjoyed it. I Only played as The lady on the cover. So only seeing her story limits what I can say about the plot. But none the less, for a short story. its OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

cool game

posted by snowfam (BILLINGS, MT) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the main issue i had w/ the game is the lack of navigation. it is hard to explore or tell where you,ve been with out a map. game play is good, weapons are cool charicters are cool, over all a good game. story line is easy to follow too. and graphics are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse