Rent Dungeon Siege III for PS3
view large frontback

Dungeon Siege III

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.2

2304 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dungeon Siege 3

posted by big_red_5342 (KENOSHA, WI) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is really good i like how u have a quest tracker, can equip gear and have an ally in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dungeon Siege 3 Review

posted by DeadFlare (HAMILTON, OH) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I've seen some nasty reviews about this game especially from critics. If you are a fan of Champions of Norrath then you will have no problem playing this. Although i think this game lacks graphically in character models while fighting the worlds and game play make up for it. Please at least try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply amazing!!!

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) May 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

let me just say that if your the kind of gammer that has no life and sits in front of a tv or computer screen all day and nit picks at everything that does not please you about a game then this is not the game for you.......HOWEVER if your like me and video gamming is a hobbie not your life then u will simply love this game as i did. I relativly found nothing wrong with this game, solid story, different and unique characters, and decisions you make in the game change the story, everything you would expect from an action rpg. only down side is the game was kinda short but that also made for a good thing because it made me want to play again and again to see what i could change and use each character. Leveling up is great because no matter what you get every abillity at the end it just your decision when you get it which i thought was awesome. lots and LOTS of loot with no stupid slowing effect cause you have too much. now idk about the xbox but im sure its the same but i love how there was no loading times virtually anywhere in the game, saveing took 5 seconds, no load time when entering new places, and even starting a saved game took all but 1 min max. all in all great game i strongly recommend this game to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Underestimate this ONE

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

Just because few people have heard of this game doesn't mean it isn't worth playing...a great upgrade system, 3 others helpers you can switch between, and tons of weapons and armor make this an excellent choice for anyone who loves "dungeon crawlers". If you are a fan of Baldur's Gate, Champions of Norrath, and even Oblivion games don't miss the chance to play an under-rated gem. Fun and very epic, with side quests and cool characters are definitely a plus. Give it a chance!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by THeguy12 (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

i really liked the game. the story was good for a game that focuses on combat and loot, (which it does) and the fighting thogh simple, never bored me and the bosses were challenging but fun. i like the level up system makes you really choose and the gameplay. the game is kinda short with not enough side quests and missions but deffinently worth a rent.i played it nonstop except for sleep and beat it in 2 days, but it was still good and has some replay value.good graphics ,gameplay, terible camera escpiciallly during multiplayer, and good story. i like how your armor and weopans look better as you progress and get better loot.something to note, you cant use your player in other peoples online game which really sucks i would have given it a 10 if you could also a new game plus. but i thouroly enjoyed the game, if your skekptical, u should still try it i almost garuntee youll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game but very dated

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Aug 16, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

By all rights this is a fun well done game, but it comes off as so dated and lacks any real surprise. If you are a young player new to RPGs, this is a good transition into that genre. Anyone that grew up from 90s on, will have some nostalgia but that's about it. Again good but doesn't stand well with current decade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good two player game

posted by jdel1972 (KENNER, LA) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

good two player with an average story line. worth renting if there's someone to play with you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, addicting, but missing something

posted by Xterriorate134 (BOGART, GA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I went into dungeon siege 3 never playing eny of its previous titles not knowing besides its name. I can say i came out with a smile on my face saying that last 20 to 30 hours i spent on it wasn't wasted. The game itself looks great and dialogue functions like mass effect but the combat i felt was lacking. I played as lucas or the swordsman class. He has two options for combat. Thefirst is sword and shield which is extrmeley weak and lacking. The other is two handed which i found more satisfying hitting more enemies and dealing massive damage. There is also magic abilities in the game and i know there are two characters based around it as well. The story i also felt was lacking it was cool but only enough to keep into it just till the end but to make up for its story there are tons of sidequests that litter the game. Though its not very replayable dungeon siege 3 is something that will keep you addicted until the end if you can pass its short comings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

copy cat

posted by dasking (ERIE, PA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

it's almost a copy exact copy of lord of the rings war in the north but camera is to far off i think this game wouldv'e been better as a first or a second person view but not a 3rd

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Dragonox97 (SANTA MONICA, CA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game has a great storyline and great gameplay the only thing I kind of don't like about this game is the controls and the way the camera is, but besides that great game and really fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated

posted by Dunric (DULUTH, MN) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

My only real complaint about this game is the itemization--lots of unique items that were obviously meant to be awesome actually weren't worth using at all, and most of the items I found along the way were more side-grades than upgrades. The majority of the stuff you find in chests or barrels is junk. Plus, it didn't really feel like those item choices mattered, nor did which skills/talents I chose.

I did like that the storyline choices you make throughout the game are constantly remembered in various dialogue.

The gameplay strays a bit from its predecessors, but overall I did like it quite a bit. I wouldn't buy this game, but definitely worth a playthrough, and certainly better than the average rankings would have you believe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's good for what it is

posted by ztakeo (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

First off, it is important to know what this game is before going into it. It is a dungeon crawler/hack and slash plain and simple. If you are expecting a deep and emersive RPG experience look elsewhere. If you are looking for a game to have some mindless hack and slash fun either by yourself or with a friend, then you could do far worse. You have a selection of 4 characters who you will go around various locations with and kill a bunch of soldiers and monsters, all the while picking up tons a loot, much like the PS2 Baldur's Gate.

Pros:
-Exelent combat system (for a game of this nature). Unlike other games of this nature, this one at least encourages you to play smart, use your abilities, and actually dodge and block.
-None of the main characters play the same.
-Good pacing. Once you finish making your way through the first town of Raven's Rill, the game kept me glued to the controller for long stretches of time. I only felt like I was grinding a few times in this game which is saying a lot for a dungeon crawler.
-Graphics and sounds are gorgeous.

Cons:
-Loot management is not that well done. Being able to organize items by what stats they increase would have been usefull, and too much of the loot you pick up is just junk to be sold off.
-Characters seem a bit stale. Half of your main characters seem like they have no personality at all.
-Online multiplayer doesn't allow you to keep your characters. You must play the characters as the host has them set up and equipped. Bad, unless you are playing through the game with the same people.

Mediocre
-Voice acting is mediocre at best. However I will say that at no point was it grating.
-Story didn't exactly have me at the edge of my seat, but it wasn't a terrible story either. I at least appreciated that my choices in conversation had consequences in the epilogue.
-Skill trees didn't give the the feeling of a lot of choice.

All in all I'd say it's worth a rental if you like this sort of game. Otherwise just skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It is what it is

posted by fothead (MATAWAN, NJ) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Co-op hack and slash. Im not going to analyze it based on it's graphics, originality or story.

If you like to sit with a friend, hack through stuff- think Baulder's Gate/Brotherhood of Steel (PS2) type game.

I rate it an 8 because there arent enough games like this. Not all games have to be an overwhelming "experience". Just plain fun. At the hardest difficulty it is a hard game that will have you and your friend busy for hours upon hours upon hours.

Sure it can get a bit stale, but the boss characters are very difficult. The weapons/armor and character building are mostly uninteresting, and could have been way better. This is my biggest knock against the game.

Camera angles can get a bit tricky from time to time, but nothing too crazy that it will make it anywhere near unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyed it...

posted by Shneaky (MANTACHIE, MS) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

36 out of 40 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I've never played any previous titles of this franchise and really knew nothing about the game going in. So, it probably helps the rating that I was void of any expectations.

First the bad:

This is definitely an action game under the guise of an RPG. Linear story, few side quests, limited character options, NO map, etc. etc. It is also a very short game — credits were rolling after only 12 hours of (single player) gameplay for me. I found the characters lacking in depth and emotion with ho-hum voice acting. And the camera angles seemed rather awkward and annoying to me as well.

So why did I give this game an 8?

Simply put...I had fun playing it. Katarina pew-pew'd her way through Dungeon Siege III to save the kingdom and collect massive (and I do mean MASSIVE) amounts of loot along the way. The game made for a good, lazy weekend glued to the controller. In fact, I might even hang onto to it a while longer and play through with the different characters.

Dungeon Siege III is certainly not the best game I've ever played, but it's a decent game that's worth the rent in my opinion. Just let go of any preconceived notions (including the one that says this is an RPG) and have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent RPG with lots of loot and action

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy action RPGs with a lot of loot and questing, you should definitely try Dungeon Siege 3. Its not very original and loot management can get tedious, but the graphics are good, there are tons of character customization, lots of quests, and most imprtantly, the loot never stops dropping. It hasnt been getting great reviews, due to the weak multiplayer and the generic gameplay, but if you know what to expect in an diablo clone, you will like what DS3 has to offer. A very solid 8. Recommended for: action RPG fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dungeon Seige III

posted by sportsgamessuck (HUDSON, WI) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Having never played DS1 or 2, I thought it looked fun anyhow and wanted to give it a shot. I like hack and slash games, the plot was decent. The game was fun but a little long winded, after about 8 hours of the same combat format it got kind of boring. The weapons system leaves something to be desired, I took a long ranged rifle character and when you change out for a new gun the only apparent difference is a different coloured aura on the end of it even on a 60" 1080p Sharp Aqous. All the weapons looked like an old musket. Towards the very end of the game I got a few pieces of cool looking armour for my side kick, but it would have been nice to see a little variety on the way each weapon looks. I would also like to add it was nice that your different decisions in dialogue actually do effect the story. At several points in the game you get to decide wether you wish to show mercy or slaughter some one and how you are perceived by many depends on the choices you make. Also there is a system for your side kicks called "influence" where if your side kick likes your decisions you gain influence on the, but it doesnt seem to count for much of anything. Also I would have liked the ability to pilot my side kick rather then have the AI drive them. The guy with swords is a dunce, constantly reverts to one-handed stance even when he has been given a really good two-handed weapon and all of his two-handed proficiencies have been leveled up. Anyhow I would reccomend the game to others, just know that a playthrough will probably take you a minimum of 10 hours if you skip all the extra exploring etc. If you dont I think my total time was some where closer to 14 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I've played the previous games. . .

posted by Dnario (VACAVILLE, CA) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

And I felt that this one lived up to them story-wise, but game play was a little bland. The characters felt interactive and well developed, and each one had a unique personality and skill set. But, I felt that it had no replay value because of the simple game play, even though each character would have a different twist on the story line and there were several options you could chose and major plot areas.
Overall, I did have fun with my first play through, but when I tried playing it as a different main character, I just couldn't get through the first area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cooler than people give it credit for.

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

This game didn't seem to have the best reviews, but all in all I thought it was pretty good. I like the ability to change the influence of other characters in the game based on what decisions you choose to make in various situations.
The graphics and gameplay are decent, though there were a few times when I would die from being overwhelmed by enemies that do a lot of damage. But I learned quickly to dodge or block incoming attacks, and counter with a couple quick swipes of the sword.

The items were decent, and there was some variety to be had. There are no healing items or anything like that, which made some battles difficult. If you die in combat, your AI partner will bring you back to life; you'll have to get used to healing yourself through abilities and use a vampire drain weapon to replenish health.

I had a good time playing it, and though it was a very short game with not a whole lot of missions or side-quests, it has relatively decent replay value.
Worth a rent, or a cheap purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DS 3 Game Tag

posted by gamer135 (MINNETONKA, MN) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

It's understandable how people wouldn't like this game. there are a couple of elements i don't like. i'm just going to say this right off the bat: this game is essentially Dragon Age, but with no blood, and less options. if you are a younger gamer or a player thats new to the ERPG genre, then this game should definitely be on your que, if it's not on your shelf already. this game is severely underpriced, and underrated. don't turn your nose just because it's rating isn't the best. this game, in my experience, is one of the better RPGs out there. the one thing I would say is that skillmaping and controls in general could've been better thought out. other than that, it's a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't know why but I like it.

posted by Ml33tninja (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

like the title states it made me enjoy it and the coop if pretty fun at times. Sure its not worth anywhere near $60 dollars but it was worth the 13 buck I put down to buy it. The sharing of the screen when playing coop it a big problem at times. But playing four player coop has been a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than expected, but still too much running

posted by drwebmonke (JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

A good adventure that turns into a button masher at times.

Fun, but too much running around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun game to play

posted by ronheichel (DAVENPORT, FL) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i found this game to be quite fun to play. it's not the best game in the world but it is enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

action game disguised as an RPG

posted by DmeshOnPS3 (GARDINER, NY) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

This game is easy, thankfully. There's plenty of RPG elements in the game, but the most obvious is the setting. Swords, armor, and magic would almost convince you its an RPG, but its not. Most action games now have skill trees and eq to collect, so that alone doesnt define it as an RPG. The multiplayer seems like an afterthought. no importing/exporting characters, someone can join your game, then sell all your eq while you're not paying attention. weak flaw in the game. I beat the campaign on hard and got 47% of the trophies in less than 20 hours. finding someone to get the co op trophies will be the hardest part of the game. It is a mildly entertaining game though thats fun to walk through though. The colors are bright, the characters are almost well designed, and the storyline is easy enough to follow.
overall i rate it: decent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok... but just ok...

posted by Gotti9410 (WILMINGTON, NC) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

Many people were hating on this game, so I wanted to give it a shot. At first, it reminds me of greats like Oblivion, Diablo, Champions of Norrath, etc.. but then after a few hours of play, I realized that it wasn't going to offer anything new to those tired old games. While it was fun to play through, and Short, I can't see how you'd want to play it again. Different characters don't add much, there is LOTS of loot to be had, which kept me adventuring, but all in all, a decent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

had so much potential

posted by ToneDeath333 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I just finished the game, and I was a bit disappointed in the beginning. Considering the fact that it could easily had been an 8 if they would have put a little bit more into it. Like; the voice dialog for the main characters sounded like the Microsoft Word Word playback. So that could have used a little more work. A bit more weapon detail, and roaming ability. Cant venture off much. But for what its worth. Its playable. I enjoyed it. I Only played as The lady on the cover. So only seeing her story limits what I can say about the plot. But none the less, for a short story. its OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse