Rent Dungeon Hunter: Alliance for PS Vita
view large frontback

Dungeon Hunter: Alliance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

166 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not sure why it's rated so low

posted by DirtyTowelHax (KOKOMO, IN) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't played too far into the game, only on act 3.

However, I decided to write an "initial reactions" review since I saw the average GF Rating is 5.0 and the only review is "do not get."

The game is a standard RPG run around and hack and slash game (well, if you're warrior; haven't tried out the mage or rogue class).

Like World of Warcraft there's random loot drops, common/uncommon/rare/epic/legendary(unique?) which is color coded white/green/blue/purple/orange respectively.

There's a skill tree to choose skills each level as well as the ability to invest in stats (strength is main stat for warriors, energy for mages, dexterity for rogues).

Side quests, main quests, etc.

It doesn't seem to utilize all abilities of the PS Vita. There's a few touch screen abilities. If you get stunned, you have to shake your Vita to get unstunned. But other than that, not a lot of motion-control or anything.

Like I said, I'm not too far into the game but it's pretty fun. If you played Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance 1/2 or Diablo and liked them, you'd love this game. Haven't had a chance to check out the multiplayer scene (up to 4 players) so I can't comment on that.

Worth a rent, not sure on the buy-ability just yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

for the diablo players

posted by agustinromanii (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game gives me that "fix" of playing Diablo. If you're into Fantasy games/RPG, then this game is a good rent. This game is not an excellent game , but its not bad at all either. I'm not really heading toward buying it though since the online multiplayer is basically helping others complete the chapters of the storyline and not fighting Epic boss battles for some good ,rare loot. The monsters in each run are different so you don't get that boredom of hacking and slashing the same thing over and over again. The inventory system is a little similar to dragon age. You also get to do side quests to gain extra coin and XP. When you level up you get the "talent point" system where you spend points on attributes and abilities. If all this sounds good to you then by all means rent it, for me, it was a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Game Felt Cheap

posted by VitaPs4Review (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 20, 2013

Member since May 2013

My main problem with this game was the overall feel of it just felt poorly made.
The graphics left a lot to be desired. The world that was created was not very interactive and at times was a bit confusing.
The gameplay was ok. I am a fan of these type of games where I can level up my player and give him new gear but I felt as if that aspect of the game did not have enough depth to it. This game is a slasher with a decent long distance bow and arrow which I took advantage of a lot. The game play was not horrible and there was not a lot that I hated about it, it just felt as if not a lot of effort was put into developing it.
The online mode was useless and unless you know someone else who has this game(which nobody does) it is hard to get a decent online game going. Every time I would try to join someone’s game it either would fail or I would get rejected. The idea of this having an online mode is pretty awesome but I never got to play it which is disappointing.
The story is lackluster. Did not really keep my interest at all, it starts with a fairy and the main character and I did not really care what happened to him. Did not really form any type of connection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad, but...

posted by Weeeeeeee (STOCKTON, CA) May 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I hate that all people have to move and play in a screen.
I always died because that limited area.
When monsters focus to attack you, then have no way to get out, you have to die.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How could you not enjoy this game?!?

posted by gman11 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I agree with the previous posts that if you enjoy the Diablo series, than yes you will like this as well. If you enjoy RPG's, than you should like this because it feels like a classic RPG to me. You basically run around with your fairy, find good loot, complete storyline and side quests, and build your character up into a sweet, powerful one. I think it was good and enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok.but not worth it.

posted by jake1998 (HURST, TX) Sep 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Judt a boaring game it may be great for people that like rpg's.I will get games like cod black opps declassifide and killzone mercenary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by Ragnork58 (VILLA PARK, IL) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This game tries to duplicate the experience of Diablo, but falls short. Its slow pace, and lack of content didn't really want me to keep playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »