Rent Duke Nukem Forever for PS3
view large frontback

Duke Nukem Forever

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
5.0

4867 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for duke nukem fans

posted by wetdawg (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

42 out of 59 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I was a huge Duke Nukem fan back in it's PC days. I was hoping the comeback would be worth the wait. After playing the game, I still enjoyed it because of the nostalgia it brought me. However, in today's gaming market, Duke Nukem is in no way a competitor. The game had so much potential but there were problems that held it back. The game should of focused more on just the shooting aspect of the game because that is what Duke Nukem is all about. I think the makers of the game focused too much on variety and lost the core of Duke Nukem. The driving parts and getting shrunk Duke to the next room parts added too much fluff in between the shooting. These parts just ended up being distracting and annoying. I don't mind a little puzzle challenge or a change of scenery in between shooting, but these factors made a huge majority of the game. I would only recommend this game to older Duke Nukem fans.

Pros
-Shooting up aliens like the good old Duke Nukem days.
-Game has Duke Nukem style and humor.

Cons
-Distracting puzzle challenges and driving segments.
-Graphics are ok but level of detail is mediocre.
-Less boss battles and more alien shooting.
-Loading times are rediculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

14 years to perfect junk

posted by RaidenFury (DENNISON, OH) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

51 out of 72 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I must say that first off, I was pretty excited to see that the game finally had come out. I've been a fan of Duke for quite a long time, and figured like most people, the game would never come out. I eagerly put the game into my system, and it had a data install. No big deal. Then 20 minutes later, I was ready to play.

If there is one thing this game does well at is excessive loading times. I haven't played a recent game with this bad of loading times in such a long time. And you would think that this wouldn't be an issue with the massive install.

Graphically, the game has very dated visuals and just comes off as cheesy. The humor has lost its edge after being dormant for so long. Maybe I just grew up a lot in those 15 years. The voice acting is also done very poorly.

Game play wise, it feels like I'm playing a shooter that would have been good 15 years ago. The controls are sloppy, the movement sucks, and the weapons and accuracy make no sense to me. Some enemies die with one shot to the torso from a pistol, others take 6 shotgun shells to the head. Keep in mind I'm talking about the PigCops.

Long story short, Duke has surely passed his prime. The only reason I give this game a 3 out of 10 instead of a 1, is the fact that it actually came out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother

posted by Smoovie (WINNETKA, CA) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

As a Duke fan this was a real disappointment. The game loads on to the hd for about ten min the first time. You would think this means faster loads between scenes, but no. Every cut scene takes about a min to load and it also take forever everytime you die. I got so fed up with it I returned the first day I got it. One great reason to rent vs buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Duke Nukem- Floppity Flop

posted by MisterSinister (VOORHEESVILLE, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

31 out of 48 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

One of the most anticipated games fell on its face rolled over and died. I can play most FPS all the way through and be disappointed, but at least finish the game. Not here.
-Graphics- would of been awesome on PS2
-Gameplay- Irritating and boring. The scenes of conflict were almost predictable. Interaction with the world was primitive.
-Choice of weapons and other gadgetry was limited.

Sorry Duke but you bored me, and to think that GearBox associated themselves with the game is disappointing
Thank Gamefly for saving me 60 dollars.

So rent it before you buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sooooo sad

posted by Mayhem1 (COVINA, CA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the duke man I am truly saddened. I was not looking for this to be game of the year but REALLY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid proof that ratings are meaningless. =/

posted by WarFiend (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

38 out of 69 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Wow, only 5.5?? WHAT?! I really don't understand why so many people are giving this game such a bad rep. This is an awesome game! For one it definitely stands out from most shooters nowadays. It's fun, creative and incredibly hilarious. My favorite parts are when you get shrunk and crawl around in air ducts, unscrewing bolts from vents and solving various puzzles throughout the game. It's literally full of surprises! So anyone who reads this review, don't let the bad rating fool you. It's probably because most of these people expected something cinematic or something after waiting 12 years for it's release, or maybe they're so brain washed from playing these overrated games nowadays that people have forgotten what a good game even is.

Bottom line, at least give it a chance. You just might like it. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent but not deserving of 6 or higher score

posted by Copperhead (AUBURNDALE, FL) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Thought I would give the game a chance even though it got alot of negative reviews. I spent around 6 hours playing this game just to see what all it had to offer. I feel that if you dont play a game longer than 15min to an hour than you shouldnt write a review because your not giving it a chance. So now on to reviewing this disappointment. Graphics of this game were subpar, there were moments I thought I was playing a PS2 FPS. Humor which was crude I actually found funny. Its definetly not for a 10year old. I mean really who adds throwing poo into a video game. I did love how you could draw on things and some of the interactive stuff. Sadly it doesnt make up for the lack of cool guns or the crosshair or garbage graphics. The aliens looked horrible and the accuracy of the guns is bad. I played until I felt I had enough, which was at the duke burger scene. This game is definetly a rental just for the humor and interactive stuff. I feel bad for those that bought it and wasted 60$. I am going to give this a 5 based on amusing factor, other than that is a PoS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent for what it was meant to be.

posted by LordCruxis (BELLEVUE, NE) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game was meant to be an over-the-top violent, sexual game, and that is pretty much dead on. The game's humor runs the gambit from potty jokes to taking cracks at other game franchises, and while a lot of this does get old pretty fast, some of the one-liners had me chuckling late game.

As far as a first person shooter goes, its alright but nothing to write home about. The graphics were not meant to push any boundaries so they are a little oldish. The game itself is not meant to be serious, intending on poking fun at the genre, however its also a bit difficult, they don't provide much direction and you can get lost at times.

There are a few things that really do drag this game down. The first; the game drags on and on. It's one of the longer fps's that I've played, taking between 9-11 hours. This may be fine for you, but the game really feels like it's dragging. Second, there are underwater levels, 'nough said.
There are only a few weapons, and you'll find yourself using only 1-2 o them consistently. And lastly the humor does seem to dry up a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Extremely Torn

posted by knifeguy (WINCHESTER, VA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I can't recall the last time I was this torn over whether or not I enjoyed a game. On one hand, Duke Nukem is filled with classic FPS fun, with enjoyable elements in between shooting segments to make it fun. However, some of the padding in between shooting can be extremely tiresome. Not only that, but the graphics and controls don't feel like they belong on a current gen system. Another thing that irritated me about the game was the fact that you can only carry two weapons. This isn't CoD, this is Duke Nukem. I should have an entire arsenal available to me at any time. Overall, the game is rather fun for a quick rental through the campaign mode, but aside from that, this game isn't really woth anyone's time unless they are a huge Duke Nukem fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why is this game getting low scores?

posted by jooleeunn (DUARTE, CA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Definitely not a purchase....but give it a shot with a Gamefly rental. I enjoyed the game so much I actually beat the campaign mode twice. Stands out from the other shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The wait didn't justify this

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

16 out of 30 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Duke Nukem was an iconic videogame character once upon a time. He set the stage for every wise-cracking, babe chasing, gun loving hero that followed him over the past fifteen years. And for that long, fans have awaited the Duke's return. After spending some time with this game, i can say they're still waiting. This game is mediocre to average in every sense of the word. Graphics are okay but nothing stellar. The game controls work for the most part, though to pick things up you need to be precise as to where you place the cursor. Enemy AI is generally pretty dumb. The voice acting is nothing special, and the dialogue often sounds like it was written by a 12 year old. There's also during cutscenes where the characters speak, yet their mouth never moves. When the mouth does move, its often badly out of sync. This may have been forgiveable 15 years ago, but not with the current generation of consoles. The story line is the same old, same old (alien bad guys invade, Duke must stop them). This could be forgiven if the game was fun to play. It's really not. In fact, it's so ordinary as to be, dare I say it, boring. This is a game for diehard Duke fans only, and even they should just rent it. There's just too many far better games to spend both your time and money on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Duke Nukem Never

posted by Gooch (RANDOLPH, MS) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will split this review into the three gameplay styles of Duke Nukem Forever: Shooting, Driving, and Platforming.

I would be remiss if I did not point out that I have not played any of the proceeding titles in the series; therefore, my expectations were a bit too high. Time to castigate.

The gunplay is, at times, minimumly entertaining. Due to its repetitiveness and, as with most modern FPS games, constant supply of the same five or six enemies, the experience quickly grows dull and monotonous. Weapon variety is a lackluster collection of generic weapons from games of the same genre; along with a ragtag menagerie of the weapons the alien scourge drops once each wave is dispatched.

There are only two main driving sequences in the game. These help the linear progression of the game by getting Duke from point A to point B with multiple unnecessary stops in among to refuel his truck. The petroleum adventures take place in mundane environments that each have the originality of the next milkshake ordered by a Dairy Queen addict who's daily meal can be described wit the words "the usual." With this being said, these areas serve their points in the story with as much grace and control as an oil slick on a melting iceberg. That is all.

The platforming sections do just as platforming sections are supposed to do. Jump here, pull this, open that. However, these moments of lever and button interactions are done fully in first-person. This one elemental change to the platforming formula is not a good addition, or subtraction depending on your point of view (no pun intended.) Jumps are difficult to judge and getting hanged up while looking for the correct path is simpler than preparing instant noodles in a Easy Bake Oven.

My final thoughts:
Is Duke Nukem Forever a good game? Momentarily.
Do I recommend it? No.
Can I sum this up in large words? Certainly. Duke himself is loquacious, the experience is lugubrious, and development, all twelve years, were extemporaneous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Fun but lots of problems with this game

posted by jason162 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 17, 2011

Member since May 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Problem 1, is the loading it takes forever, every 2-5 minutes of game time you will have to load a new part of the same level, and it just make you want to quit, i went to the bathroom and came back and it was still loading, it took me 3 days to pass the game on easy mode, problem 2, enemy on easy level they can still kill you very fast, with a few shots you will spend a lot of time running for cover because your health level is so low and you have to wait for regeneration, the enemy is almost impossible to kill because they move all over the place, the bosses are more easy to kill, problem 3, you will constantly run out of ammo all the time, on every level, problem 4, the shrink levels when you are shrunk and have to jump on boxes and go into the wall is pointless, this will take up all your time no action whatsoever, when all you want to do is shoot aliens, problem 5, the duke night vision sucks, and the level Hive you will spend almost the entire level in the dark, using the night vision, and there is nothing entertaining about games when you force to use night vision the whole level. multiplayer is ok but you have to unlock and buy everything just like black ops, I recommend renting this game and buying the first duke nukem from 1996 because that is more entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow This Sucks

posted by JayRiot (ROCKPORT, MA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since May 2009

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

How this game is getting even mediocre reviews is beyond me. This coming from a lifelong Duke fan.

The Bad: Boring stupid puzzles everywhere. Tedious driving sections with even more tedious miniature sections. The game's long length would of been a good thing had it been fun. Shooting is boring and bleh. Graphics are original Xbox quality (think Chronicles of Riddick). Funny crude humor and dialog moments (what you're essentially playing the game for) are way too far and few. There's not much gore, not much boobs, and not nearly enough action.

The Good: You didn't waste $60 on it. The comedy is really funny 10 year old stupid humor. Um... That's really it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by Slyfox43 (EL PASO, TX) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played games with bad storylines before and well Duke Nukem has an entertaining storyline but the real problem I had was the controlls. How can I play a game where the controls don't work or the game is supposed to be built around those controls.
One of the missions that I got stuck on was the Lady Killer Level, first off I understand that the game roots back to the old days, fine no problem but when I am in a room full of charging pigs I expect my shotgun to blow them away. Not the case at all, either I shot them point blank and missed or it stuned them and they kept on charging. If you shoot something point blank its supposed to kill them not miss them, happened the whole time in the game, the load times were to long lost my patience waiting for the game to load, especially when I died from supposedly not shooting one of these hogs, I don't understand why people are giving high ratings if the controls were so bad. Thank goodness for gamefly. WARNING : PLAY AT YOUR OWN RISK...CHANCES ARE I MAY BE WRONG!!!!! But I returned the game after 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Worth the trouble

posted by Shadehawk (LINCOLN CITY, OR) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is the worst game out this year, and I was a Huge Duke fan from back in the day!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Duke Nukem Forever Review

posted by DanMan247 (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gameplay: The gameplay is pretty simple. You only get to have two guns at a time, like most shooters today. And two types of explosives (Trip mines & Self detonated pipe bombs).
You can also shrink down to about three inches, and you can also get a shrink ray to shrink your enemies and stomp on them. (most of the time you'll have to solve a puzzle when you get shrunk down) this happens about four or five times in the entire game. (My favorite time is when you're in the kitchen of a fast food restaurant)
There's also a part where you drive a monster truck through the desert.
The campaign is pretty long and is really fun. The boss battles are fun and epic. And right when the game starts getting alittle boring, they throw something new at you. (Not new as in, no one else has done it before though)
Story: The story is that aliens have come to earth and stole all of Duke's Babes, and is destroying everything... And that's it really. The game isn't about the story and the game doesn't take it self seriously, and I like games like that.
Multiplayer: The multiplayer I gotta tell you, is awful. It feels like they didn't care about it at all. I always find myself just shooting at the area of the enemy, because it's impossible to accurately shoot someone. And I suggest you skip the multiplayer.
The Bottom Line: Duke Nukem Forever is a decent to below average game, But when you put it on a 14 year development pedestal, it's going to fall off and break into millions of pieces.
The campaign is fun and all, but I have no urge to go back and play it ever again.
I wanted to give this game a 7, but since I played the multiplayer, i'm giving this game an Overall Rating of 6 (for below average). And I highly recommend you don't buy this but rent it instead.
- DanMan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disapointing

posted by warrentim67 (LA VERNE, CA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been playing games since I was 4. I grew up watching my Dad play Duke. And i Have been waiting for a long time for this game to be relesed and i must say i am dissapointed. Its one thing to have fun doinjg random stuff in a game, its another to be peeing in a urinal. I must admit there are some aspects of the game that are very simulare to the classic Duke Nukem. The game was not terrable it was just a bit of a let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

3.5 Review, Na most like 6.5.

posted by CaptainRamirez (BRONX, NY) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It has been 12 years since we last saw Duke Nukem & in this review i'm going to review what good & what not so good about this game.

First off all i got to say is that finally i can be happy that i play Duke Nukem Forever & i was pretty shock how the game turn out to be.

Pro's:
Duke Nukem voice actor still got it.
The game is long
Single Player Trophies & no Online trophies
Increasing your Ego meter is fun
Classic Duke Nukem action.
You get extra things once you beat the game like artwork, movies & history of Duke Nukem Forever Project.

Con's:
Aiming with the shotgun is bad & zooming is pointless.
Guns lack power & the story is like all Duke Nukem games, not so good.
Online is not worth playing since there no one online to play with.
Loading times, oh god the loading time is very long in this game even with the game is install.
The Unreal Engine 2.5 look outdated.
Boss fight are easy
Levels look bad in some parts.

In the end, i was disappointed that Duke Nukem Forever took so long to make but i was even more disappointed how the game came out to be but that not the issue, the issue is that the game run on a old engine & has tons of problems as you see in the Con's but if you miss Classic Duke Nukem action then this is a game for you worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Well, It's Duke

posted by LucroZim (BUTLER, PA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is Duke Nukem. That is about the plus side of this game. Linear game play annoying platforming and poor graphics. Coming from a guy who loved Duke 3D and the remake on N64, I really thought this game had promise. I was wrong. It's like they took what they had initially threw it together and said here, pay us. Not the worst game I've ever played but up there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forever Young

posted by Isalon (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't know why people are hating on this game. I am completely confused.

Is it a bit dated? Technically yes, it was in production for 12 years.

You name me three other games where I can look at a porno and gain maximum health from it. I can urinate in a toilet. I can drink beer. I mean, it's Duke Nukem.

You can even pick up cr4p from a toilet and get an achievement. That in and of itself made this game awesome.

A lot of people focus on what this game doesn't have. Innovative level design. Plain graphics. "Robbing" some ideas from other games, IE rechargeable health bar.

But ask yourself something. Isn't Duke worth it? I don't know any other game where I can use a bosses nutsack as a personal gym :-) I'd rather look at this game for what it does right - good ol' fashioned Duke Nukem fun, with babes, 4chan references (Intro to the game, step 1, step 2, step 3, uh....profit!) and even the shots at doom (Keycard!? I dont need no effin' keycard!!!!)

I love Duke, and I'm glad to see his return. I hope this will cause a launch for another Duke Nukem game. Just this time, I hope the next one contains all that Duke Nukem has been before, and has the time and proper development steps to become the great shining series it has been in the past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic by definition

posted by BosKak (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hail to the king baby

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by voporak5 (WONDER LAKE, IL) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly, this game is great! I was on the border because of all the reviews saying how awful this game is but actually this game is pretty awesome. If the only game you play is Call of Duty, stay away from this game because this game glorifies how badass Duke is and in CoD you fight alot of guys at the same time but in this game, you may fight 4 guys, then a few more, then a few more, before going to the next area. You also are supposed to spend your time playing pinball or whack a alien. I think this game is awesome and almost regret not buying it. I dont know how else to describe this game because it's exactly as I was hoping it would be and I cannot understand how everyone else does not think like I do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game blows!!!

posted by wjones9892 (NORRIDGE, IL) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I thought after 12 years they would have came up with something better than this.
I just got it in the mail today and after about 15 I turned it off. What is not wrong with this game! The graphics are terrible, this game looks like it belongs on the original Xbox. I thought having this game powered by an UnReal engine that it would have amazing graphics. All levels are blocky and have no texture. Game play is slow and repetitive. Duke tries too hard at trying to be funny, its 10 year old toilet humor. But I dont even think a 10 year old would find it funny.
The only good part is I didnt waste 60 bucks on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ignore Negative Reviews

posted by Klutch (GETTYSBURG, PA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok. Gonna start off by saying it really pisses me off that this game has such a low rating. NOt sure what noobs are rating it, but it sure as heck deserves at least a 7. Its a great game, funny, and just what i expected from DUKE. Its not meant to revolutionize first person shooters PEOPLE!!! I've played crysis 2, killzone 3 etc and this game i can tell you entertained me WAYYYYY more than crysis 2. So do yourself and rent this game. Its fun, crazy, and a good time. I have been trophy hunting for a long time and this game is a fine addition to ANY Collection!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse