Rent Driver: San Francisco for PS3
view large frontback

Driver: San Francisco

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

2435 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Driver is Back!!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is the first time since the very first game were your strictly driving! No getting out of the car, no shooting, just driving. The cutscenes and animations are awesome but the story gets very confusing right off the bat but the gameplay is solid! Every car feels and handles differently. I haven't gotten half way through the game when writing this review but from what I've played so far I haven't been able to put it down.
There's 140 cars you can own from classic muscle cars to Tannen's 1970 Challenger all the way to the supercars like the GT-R and McLaren.
I really like the money system in this game. Everything you do will earn you what they call Will Power points which you can use to buy new cars, upgrades and so forth. You get points just for driving around, drifting and jumping so you don't always have to do missions to gain money.
I was like many people skeptic about the new system of jumping from one car to another but I think it turned out pretty well. If you’re doing a police chase and the suspect makes a turn you can't make then you can jump into another car and stay right on his tail. The game also challenges you to try new ways to take down other cars. The best way is to jump way ahead of the pursuit and get into a on coming car then use that car to slam him head on to cause even more damage. The dialogue you hear when jumping into cars that have passengers is funny. You just jump right into a conversation and Tanner just goes with it.
The best thing I've seen thus far is that even if the car you want isn't available in the garage you can still find one driving around the streets and jump into it. Not only that you can still use that car in certain missions that allow you to use your own car.
The last thing I want to mention is they have classic movie chases. They recreated the chase from Bullet. Your the Mustang chasing down the Charger down the SF streets. Classic!!
And yes they still have the movie maker mode! But this is just me! Try it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Driving game of 2011

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 10, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Driver SF is an awesome game let me just say that. When you first start the game you wont want to put it down. It's so addicting that I do not want to stop playing it. Lets get to the review

The Good:

The story is very well paced and the new warp system allows you to warp to any car you see and drive. That's awesome.

The graphics are outstanding. The cars are photorealistic and the city of San Francisco looks stunning.

The gameplay is so addicting.

The 19 multiplayer modes are also a great deal of fun.

There's nothing bad about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Wheelman Is Back

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First, the graphics were stunning! Standing ovation to that immediately. I did not like the new appearances of Tanner and Jericho and some others, but the artwork was still awesome.

Second, the controls were terrible. I don't like this new trend of the R1/R2 used as gas and brakes on many new car driving games.

Third, the story was moderate. It was a little lacking, but not terrible.

Over all, this was above average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Driver: San Fransisco

posted by Snake_Dog_16 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was great, one of the more realistic simulators for ACTION/RACING games. It had a great selections of automobiles. Not to mention the possibilities that could be played during the online network multiplay. But most importantly, the story road. With twist in every chapter of the game you don't know when the game is going to end, because of its multiple side missions and missions. Where hopefully Jericho would be stopped for good you find out how the determination of a single man can uncover the most insane plans... The only thing that i did not enjoy was not being alive most of the time...Yeah, its that good... Driver: San Fransisco... "8 out of 10"
For its amazing graphs
And Unbelievable ending.... I Recommend It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Difficult

posted by paldrich1 (LITTLETON, CO) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I found the missions too frustrating for a casual gamer like myself. The handling of the cars is absolutely unrealistic. The car you are controlling feels like it is on ice while the cars you are chasing corner as if they are on rails. I never made it past the first couple of missions so I can't comment on the rest of the game, but it seems this is a driving only game with no foot chases or shooting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game can suck it!

posted by Intercaust (RAINIER, OR) May 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Ever blah blah blah stuck on a level blah blah! This game can suck it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I want the hour I spent playin this game back!!!

posted by tatersalad1 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

OMG!!! This game sucks.its nowhere near as cool as the orignal driver game for ps1.the story is dumb, and the game play is dumber.how could someone take a awesome game like driver 1, and turn it in to this?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not to bad of a game

posted by WordUP45187 (CLIFTON, NJ) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

They should of stuck to driver 3 roots and made it like a GTA style game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this came is so

posted by provenlangwell (CHICO, CA) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I don't know how to put it this game changed my life forever..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not amazing, but still good.

posted by Undeadkev (SHASTA LAKE, CA) May 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

A friend of mine introduced me to this game a while back, and I liked it when playing at his house. I rented it and found it to be a good game.

The pros:
The story mode(I am not far) is a fun and iteresting plot. It takes the city in a way that I have not seen before in video games, and keeps you busy doing missions, but also gives you the freeroam to keep you entertained.

The multiplayer. The games in multiplayer are interesting, my favorite being a mode where you and your friend are tasked with the duty of stopping vehicals before they get to check points. There are others that are all fun, and make it to where you can ether just take care of yourselves, or use each other to compleat the missions.

the cars. The cars are a vast collection, including the classic American muscle to exotic imports, and even the family friendly station wagons. Each car has different strengths and weaknessses and can make each mission different by how you drive them.

The cons.

Graphics. The game has some points that have great graphics but overall I find them lacking.

Vehical Damage. The vehicals all take damage, but it is represented poorly through out the game, and sometimes you will have a car that looks totaled that is fine, and vise-versa.


The bottom line:

I liked the game and recomend it to anyone who likes driving games, and I highly recommend trying the multiplayer. I am very happy with the game, want to finish the story mode, and may end up buying it so I will have the multiplayer for future gaming with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did not work

posted by mtsu63 (MORGANTOWN, WV) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I got the game ad did not get pass te loading screen. So i could not review this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very cool game

posted by bizybeaver (OLATHE, KS) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

If you like cars and love detective work you will love this game you need to rent and or buy this game there is almost all of the cars you have even heard of like the RUF type car or the Alpha Romeo this is a must buy game :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Very Good

posted by roy78p (FORT WAYNE, IN) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I got this game and didn't care for it. Its not like the old ones really not worth playing I kept it one day and shipped it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lives up to its name!!

posted by kalfon97 (CHANDLER, AZ) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is a great game due to the graphics, and gameplay. What are you Waiting for???? rent it now!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game

posted by rollin16 (WOODSIDE, NY) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Graphics are very nice and the ability to change car to car is a cool new element added. It's a big map to do lots and lots of driving, but it's just basically just that and nothing more. There isn't really much to do other than the main missions and a few side missions, but the story is pretty cool. Overall, this game is definitely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice Game!!!

posted by JohnHanna1234 (ALLENTOWN, PA) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This Game Is Awesome It Is Fun And Really Adventures And Is Fun To Play With Friends Also It Is Easy I Beat It In 2 Days So That Tells You Something And If You Think I'm A Person Who Always Plays Games I'm Not But I Sound Like It Anyways I Also Loved How Every Car In The Game Was Real That Was Really Cool So That Was My Review On This Amazing And Cool Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT BOTHER RENTING THIS GAME

posted by MADGAMER13 (WAUSEON, OH) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is more about gamefly tho really cause I rented this game 5 times and still have never played it!!! Why you may be asking...its simple really the game gamefly sends you dont work...and if you readd to game que they will send the same unplayable copy..grrr....and you must trust me on this I been tryn for a good copy for a year now. But I unfortunately cant comment on game play....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by Jaxx42 (POCATELLO, ID) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This is a good racing game if you are a DIE HARD RACING GAME FAN. The Visuals are great, and the cars are all Unique.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great cinematography, but it's ever 30 seconds

posted by mortusnecro (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game has amazing graphics, and i'm sure the story is pretty cool, but I couldn't get through the beginning because as I'm playing, the game constantly stops and goes in to a cut sequence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing New Here

posted by CactusJohn5 (PLYMOUTH, NH) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Beat the main story in just over 10 hours! Great game for rental on gamefly! So many issues with the AI and some of the missions were horrible! But in the end, the story was okay, and the driving is fine. Over 150 licensed cars, but NO customization. So all in all, its an average game worth a rental at the most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It never stop installing f

posted by DAGgamer (CARSON, CA) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

It installed for two days. I never played it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MUST Rent If You Like Driving Games

posted by Vinnybagadonuts (WEST ISLIP, NY) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Don't even think twice, absolutely rent this game if you're a fan of driving. Here are things to know before clicking RENT.

--The game is local 2-player.
As in, offline - split screen. Right off the bat, that should strike you as a big factor. In fact, that ALONE should make you want it, since not only is it one of the few PS3 titles with offline 2-player, but it's a load of fun! This feature is actually the reason I BOUGHT the game. The 2-player really enhances the replay value very well.

--There is free-roam.
All of San Fran is open to you.

--The game uses real cars.
Authentic, licensed vehicles. Also, the cars are not all super-cars, so it's a great mix. About 130+ cars, all with interior "cockpit" views, and a really nice mixture of trucks, vans, sports cars, classics, Euro, domestics, EVERYTHING.

--The cars handle realistically.
Whether you like it or not, these cars handle very well. Not GT5 style simulation, but they are well depicted. They look fantastic and drive nicely. All the car's transmissions shift at the top of every gear, but they still drive well both slow and fast - in other words, they never feel "arcade-y".

--There is no on-foot action.
No running and shooting like past titles. After playing for extended periods of time, you'll yearn to see some shoes hit the pavement, but they never do.

--The story is ridiculous.
Get through the 1-player, and enjoy the unlocked cars you will earn. The plot was nothing to write home about, very far fetched considering such an otherwise realistic atmosphere. It was nice to see some good characters return to the big screen, however.

Overall, very well executed. The game has side missions which are very fun.

The game revolves COMPLETELY around driving, like I said you NEVER leave the car, so the developers had a challenge to keep the game fresh. Thankfully, the excellent vehicle variety makes this one a home-run. Most of the missions, too, are diverse and action-packed.

R

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best buddy-cop TV series never aired!

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

I'm serious, I love this game. Jumping off car-carriers, chasing down crooks with funk playing, dorky humor and entertaining dialogue; man.. this game.. I wish I had tried earlier.

Here's the gist of the story: John Tanner (AKA the protagonist), chases down an escaped criminal (Jericho) with his partner (Jones) .. and gets put into a coma. This is within the first half-hour of the game. From there, it's up to you to sort out what's going on, and try to figure out plots. And, you know, buy loads of cars, do random stunt challenges, and loads of races.

I find myself somewhat surprised when I say it, but this is a game--a DRIVING game--with a pretty good story. It's better than the majority of the stories I've played my way through these past few weeks at any rate, and honestly, it could've made for a good TV miniseries.

Welp, here's the pros and cons:

Pros:
+Great sense of humor (not limited only to your partner, but loads of other cars that you possess the driver)
+Good story (it's not the deepest story, but it's fun to play through)
+Awesome controls (the game controls like a dream, and all I'm using is a regular controller)
+Lots of stuff to do (There are a TON of side-missions; the only memorable ones, however, are two Asian brothers who get dragged into an illegal racing circuit.)

Cons:
-Passable graphics (Nothing bad, but nothing outstanding here)
-Cheesy voice-acting (Although, it IS intentional, and I rather enjoyed it, a lot of the side-characters are hit or miss)

Overall:
I'm actually sad to send this game back.. and amazed that I actually had to think hard to find cons for it. I'd say if you're into hardcore racing games like Gran Turismo, you probably won't like this game. If, however, you're like me and want a dorky, over-the-top racing game, with a decent story, and loads of vehicles.. then you will love this game.

(8/10: Great game!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The same old driving game

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) May 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Not much has changed his this series Driver started. But it is a fun game, I like going around doing the missions. I wish the streets can be a big wider and would love to see much faster cars in the game. Overall a descent rent, not sure about a buy with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sure is worth playing

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) May 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

Game is kind of like wheelman good games but not great. Deal that bugs me is all the timed based missions- So yes alot of restarts. Then the deal you have to do side missions to unlock the next chapter in story mode- You are forced to play alot of dumb timed race missions- I dont like to be Forced to do anything!! But the game is fun over alll it is worth playing. Sure worth 17 bucks- Great Rent Game- Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse