Rent Driver: San Francisco for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Driver: San Francisco

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

3556 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hollywood style vehicular perfection!

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Sep 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

26 out of 30 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Driver has been around since the good ol' days of gaming back on the PS1 and back then it paved the way for driving/action games proving that hollywood style car chases can exist in a video game. Driv3r back on the PS2/Xbox didn't make history but it put great driving in a GTA style game. This game pits you in the role of the coma enduced cop Tanner and his awesome ability to Shift from one car to another, while the idea seems pretty out there, it makes more sense as the story moves on. The Shift mechanics are just epic, it can help you stop an escaping motorist or help you win a race among the various challenges in the game.

With that ill give you my verdict:

The good:
-Driving Mechanics are top notch, while they don't belong in a Forza game they still feel realistic.
-The Graphics are top notch, the game runs at a constant 60 frames per second which gives very smooth gameplay.
-The Shift mechanic is very innovative, while still early, it can be an amazing feature in future games.
-Multiplayer is flat-out amazing, the challenges are extremely fun and can be played online or split-screen!

The meh:
-The story isn't a huge box office smash, but it is good enough to be a b list action movie, and its got some comedy in it which is always a plus.
-A.I, in some challenges, A.I can be completely braindead, especially your teamates in a racing challenge or high speed chase. For example when you're in a chase with a partner, when you shift to that partner, the AI that take over your car while you leave will randomly slowdown and crash, it can be frustrating so keep up with both drivers so you don't have to rely on AI to back you up.

The BAD:
Really isn't anything that terrible about this game, if i had a major gripe it would be the music, while im not a big Funk fan, i thought the lack of music variety sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhh...its fun to drive around

posted by caseyc420 (EL DORADO, AR) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I give it a 5/10. Driving physics are really nice, graphics for the most part are good. However, the missions are the same thing over and over again; no surprises. Just hop in any car you want, spot a better car, and basically teleport yourself into the better car...chasing race cars, racing around the streets, and using other cars as roadblocks to slow the cops down gets old real fast. And don't even think for a minute that you can run over pedestrians, because they float right through your car without taking any damage. Oh, and the invisible wall barriers that keep you from driving through somebody's lawn sucks....good try for an old franchise but ya didn't quite make it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I can't say much

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Sep 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

I can not say much for this title, it is set up like an 80's driving movie then 20 minutes in you get the ability to astral project. Fun ensues and the action gets a little ridiculous. however 5 or 6 hours later it takes a turn for the convoluted and I could not wrap my head around the possibilities of why anything in this game ever could of happened. Now I am a fan of fiction and I love a good action game but when every car starts by spinning out and the story is in such bit choppy sections I have a hard time following. This game does have side missions for miles, almost as if to ask you to not pay any attention to the story and just enjoy a sandbox of driving fun. that being said it does quite a few things right just not enough to justify the package, rent this if you are out of other things, a great filler just not a great game.

Graphics 8/10
Sounds 8/10
Music 1/10
Gameplay 6/10
Controlls 4/10
Story 3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad all

posted by TAquino11 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is a great game, even though the plot is out of this world. Plenty of things to do on the side. Nothing is not going to top the original game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

got bored

posted by knightofdr (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

played this game for about 3 hours and well the story line is alittle lame and well if you can enter anybody why not just enter one of jericho's gang members and find him easier and 2 if your in a police car with the lights and sirens going cars in front of you need to move to the side of the road its actually a law to do so. but they dont they try to get in the way me personally thought this game was waste how it got such a high rating is beyond me starting to think game companies are posing as users on here to boost there boring games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Darn Time Limits = Frustration

posted by Agen7oo7 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The one major gripe I have about video games are time limits. I get pretty frustrated with having to complete certain tasks in a given time limit. It's okay now and then when it's actually possible to do so after a certain amount of tries...especially when you're given enough time. But this Driver game is loaded with time limits which made me finally give up on the game and send it back. The one mission I just couldn't complete in time was driving 4 stolen cars onto the trucks marked on the map. I only managed to get 2 cars onto their trucks and always ran out of time when going for the third car. And because of this, I wasn't able to progress in the story. If Ubisoft gave me 5 more minutes to complete this particular mission, I could have pulled it off.
So if you don't like time limits....countdown clocks on the side of your screen, then stay away from this game !!
Can't understand those gamers who gave this game a high rating ?!
<<GameFly Member Since June 20, 2008>>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Drive San Franciso 2011

posted by midwest2515 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I would just like to say that this game was awesome and worth buying. I rate this game a 10. At first I didnt like that there was so much traffic on the game, but you just have to learn how to maneuver the cars and each car is different. Please come out with a second one. Thanks gamefly I will be renting more from you. Glad to be a member. Collin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Drive for fun. Drive if your angry. JUST DRIVE

posted by STR78974 (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Hi everybody
Let’s get to it. The game is short! How short? I managed it in 6-8 hours. The story telling is intriguing until 25-30% you can figure out what’s going on. Also the ending, I not a favorite. The car selection is huge, Porsche it changed to ruf because of EA they have they hold the rights to put them in the game also you won't see any Ferraris. Finally a cockpit view for all the cars etc. Loving it Most favorite is that you can drive buses and trucks etc. You can buy a car lot/garage where you can buy the cars you looking for. First you have to unlock them free by playing certain side missions. Good part is you unlock cars and get paid for winning. Side missions can range from be a cop and stop racers, make 1st or 2nd place in a race and many more. To increase your earning potential you have to buy car lots/ garages 10 in total the more the better. Let’s put it this way you can get 5000 credits for a mission or 50000 plus what ever you get during the missions like drift, close to a car etc. Will be added to your earnings. The game works smooth from start to finish now and then you'll notice newspaper appearing out of the blue. Also it's frustrating that you have to enlarge the map so you now the way to drive and sometimes will end up smashing into something in specially when you drive a fast car like Lamborghini. They have no waypoints, I personally like it. Beginners might find it frustrating. I didn’t try Multiplayer , they needed a code, but no worry they planned for renters they give you 2 day trial period. Remember there is language in the game the good part, you can turn it individually off.
P.S Thank you and have a nice day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can i have my 10 hours of life back?

posted by theguy423 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 3 because im a good person. The story line for this game was beyond rediculous. Ubisoft. " Yeah, this game was ubiSOFT. Softer than 10 teddy bears at a Prince concert. After shifting from car to car for a couple hours it just gets boring. I wanna shift into a tank and blow up the people that made this game. How dare some of you people rate this game a 10. I couldnt wait to wrap this bad boy up in its packaging and send it back. Im gonna make my three year old son play this as punishment. Pure, unadulterated crappiness. Couldnt even get out of that stupid yellow car. As a cop i didnt shoot one round. What happened to the good ole Driver days? Oh yeah, John Tanner's jacket is stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GARBAGE!

posted by The_5I5O (MIDDLEBURG, PA) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

<> I'd give this pile of #%&! a minus 10 if I could! First Ubisoft ruins Call of Juarez, and now they defile the classic DRIVER series for a quick buck! They are becoming EA more and more each year.

2 strikes within a few months of each other UBI! Rainbow Six, Splinter Cell, Assassins Creed are top notch titles. This is bottom of the toilet after it was flushed.

MINUS 10! If you get really bored, rent it. Don't expect much as it gets lame and repetitive fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game suck!!!!

posted by mccoy5280 (DENVER, CO) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I used to like the Driver games, But this one is awful!!! i played for about 30min and i couldn't play it anymore...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

driver sf

posted by edram509 (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

game is the worst,boring and annoying how is a driving game and its so hard to maneuver the car like there were better driving games on playstation 1.i like ubi soft games but this was garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Extremely dissapointing... Avoid if you like

posted by RKip455 (SOMERVILLE, AL) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

DRIVING GAMES!

I don't do many reviews here... but I wanted to warn all Gamers that like Driving Games!!!

Driver San Francisco is not a Drivers (steering Wheel); Driving Game. Actually i could hardly even get my Fanatic Turbo S wheel configured. Also, no way to adjust manual shifting from what I could find. Car handled very sluggish; soft suspension, and horrible response.

If you even consider playing this... use the gamepad! Arcade Thumbstick Game. Returned after a few hours of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Driver is back!

posted by Repulse_GF (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Game is nothing but fun! From the all the side missions to just free driving. The story line is okay at best, but still interesting nonetheless. Gameplay is really smooth, at 60 frames per second it should be. The Graphics are okay(like buildings, people, other surroundings) But all the Cars in the game look amazing. Shift feature is really unique and works well for this game. The side missions are more like arcade games but are really enjoyable and fun to play. Although I beat the game in roughly 6-8 hours, you can always go back to play all the side missions to unlock new cars and such.

Now to Online Mode, Yes you do have to PAY to play online (I hate when game companies do this) But they are nice enough to give you a 2 day Free Trial to play online. Multiplayer is a blast, there is a ranking up system where you can unlock new upgrades, cars, and icons for your emblem. The multiplayer gamemodes are Tag, Takedown (takedown is similar to Cops and Robbers), Trailblazer, Capture the Flag, Racing, and Team Games. I never experienced any lag as well while playing online, so that is always a plus.

Bottomline- This game is must rent and if you are willing to pay extra for playing online, then buy this game!

Final Rating 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Driver 5 (San Francisco)

posted by zach21094 (MC VEYTOWN, PA) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

So I own every single Driver of the main series, consisting of Driver, Driver 2, Driv3r, Driver 4 (Parallel Lines), and now Driver 5 aka Driver San Francisco. It is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played in my entire life. This game really delivers although I'm not quite 10% into the game progress I can tell that it's going to live up to it's predecessors. The storyline is great, the graphics are perfect and this game is for any fan of either racing games or even a fan of the Driver's Franchise. It's a MUST RENT and for me a DEFINITE BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All hail awesome

posted by provenlangwell (CHICO, CA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

what can be said of a game that truly delivers. Did you play the orginals? Here it is.. get it now!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GGDMJGH,GHG,JHHJKJHHHHBVL,JKI

posted by JFKKGYTGHJ (KILLEN, AL) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 29 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

I REELY LOVE THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Driver San Fran

posted by Nipz (WOONSOCKET, RI) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Impressive

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2007

Driver San Francisco is an addicting, comical, innovative game that prides itself as an open world "driving" game rather than a racing game. There are races for sure, but it is much more than that, incorporating challenges and dares that keep you occupied. A definite must rent for any car enthusiast.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Driver Game

posted by BlueSaberMonkey (WOODSTOCK, GA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I was a fan of the original Driver and Driver 2 games on Playstation. They are great games and really fun to play.

With that said I thought I knew what to expect when rented the game. However, I was blown away by the graphics and choice of cars! I ended up keeping the game because I just couldn't return it. Its that fun.

I only have 2 complaints: First one is at first the Story Mode is sort of cheesy and didn't make much since. It got better and the game was more enjoyable. The second is I feel like the world could be more open. There are areas that would be a lot of fun to explore, but they are blocked off. Maybe the next game in the series will feature a purely open world.

Overall if you like driving, spinning out, wrecking cars, racing, running from the cops and doing pretty much anything you like; you will love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is good. Real good.

posted by madanonymous (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Man, this game is fun. I played the demo a lot when it came out, and I finally decided to give the whole game a try. I wish I could buy this game. The story is great, and the multi-player is so awesome. Ok, well the story is kind of weird. Apparently, the entire game is a dream, and no, that isn't a spoiler, it's very apparent with the constant cuts to Tanner in the Hospital bed and when you're zoomed out on the map you can hear a hear beat and a heart monitor beep and even see the heart monitor zig-zag, and you can hear the hospital intercom. So it's no surprise. Anyway, even though it's a dream, it's apparently a very elaborate dream where there's even tons of other people with other problems, and tons of police chases going on. I love the behind-the-wheel view, for some reason it helps. A lot. It's just something about being able to see that you're actually turning the wheel. Unlike other driving/racing games where it's just a on-top-of-the-hood view so it feels like if I push the left stick harder, I'll turn sharper, unlike this game, where you can clearly see you're turning the wheel as far as it can go. I'll admit, the story was a little too quick and easy, I think I only failed a story mission once, but I had several other close calls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by tracester (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

What's the ONE THING you expect in a game called DRIVER: SAN FRANCISCO?? Crazy, insane hills to speed and drive over. Played this game for two hours, and not only does it have a silly, ESP/Mind swap driven idiotic plot, but in that time I saw ONE HILL. and I live in SF, so I can tell you how ridiculous that is. All that they had to do was copy the SF map from the very first PSone DRIVER game (in survival mode), that had sick hills that would launch you into next week. So much fun, you could end up near rooftops. This is the exact opposite. Boring and tedious. It took a lot of work to mess up this badly. Not even worth the rental, IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Psilocybernaut (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Interesting storyline, good interactive gameplay, and LOTS of missions to keep you entertained. Also, the car selection is pretty awesome too. I rented this game and then ended up buying it because I liked it so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by Steelz (KENNESAW, GA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is so long, the story is long, good graphics, realistic driving, and much more.

When you finish the game, you got 2 things, you get to finish a ton of challenges, and if you want, there is a thing called "New Game Plus" and you can restart your game, but on all the races, challenges, and city missions, you can use the cars you bought in the garage.

The garage has about 140 cars, the game is very fun!
That's why I rate this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Must be good

posted by Jrock2725 (CORCORAN, CA) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I actually am not into driving games I actually got this one for my bros and they are playin the heck out of it and from what I have seen it is not a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse