Rent Driver: Parallel Lines for Wii
view large frontback

Driver: Parallel Lines

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.8

439 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really underrated!

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Jul 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Right out of the box, Driver: Parallel Lines has a lot to offer. For starters, it has to be one of the best looking sandbox driving gamers that's currently on the Wii right now. And just like the titles implies, the game is focused around driving through a varity of missions, as well as the shoot em up styles of games like Scarface, and The Godfather. The controls are not to bad, with still room to improve.

The graphics on driver are smooth, and the fps are great. The detail level is also something this title has going for it. From the sparks flying off the trash cans you hit with your car, to the pretty tacky 70's themed cut scenes. The game's controls are pretty good as well. You drive entirely with the nunchuck, and you can use the motion controls of it to help you slide, and do maneuvers like 180s. And the rest is pretty much point and click shooting. The garage is also another key feature that stands out in this game. You can change the color, accessories, window tint, and performance of all your cars.

On the not so great end, Driver's difficulty can be hard, or extremely easy. Some missions seem like they were tacked on to add some time to the overall gameplay. And the controls when driving can be hard to get used to due to the fact it's easy to want to hold your nunchuck to the side causing the car to slide all over the place. Driving is also more realistic when compared to a game like Scarface or GTA. When you hit another car doing 80, it's a big impact and your car will spin out of control. When doing pretty difficult missions, this can get really annoying, but for those gamers looking for a big challenge, this might be right for you.

Definitely give this game a try. This is one I think the critics were trying to stack it up against a game like GTA, when in reality it's more like the original drivers. Driving is the key attraction in this game, and it does deliverer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating Controls Ruin this

posted by DocWMB (NEWBERG, OR) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The obscenities eminating from the poor bystanders I was mowing down were nothing compared to those coming from my mouth as I tried to complete even the simplest tasks at the beginning of this game. After spending about 4 hours and noting only marginal improvement in my driving ability, we put the game back in the mail.

The Nunchuck control is used for driving, with the Z button for accelerate (if not down you decelerate) and the C button for brakes or reverse. The Joystick is used to steer, and the motion control/tilt sensor is used for "handbrake turns." The problem is that while trying to steer with the joystick, any tilt or motion of the Nunchuck at all will send you careening into a spin, from which it is difficult to recover without coming to a complete stop.

While walking, the main remote pans up/down/right/left and the joystick on the Nunchuck moves you in the direction pushed on whatever screen you've panned to, so you can turn using either controller, but coordinating them is difficult. I'd rather be able to look right or left, and have to steer in that direction with the Nunchuck.

I play games to unwind and relax. The controls on this one were so frustrating, that relaxation was impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Driver could be way better

posted by drewracer4 (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The controls are not customizable. You have to steer the car with the nunchuck joystick. Why would Ubisoft ignore the awesome accelerometer capabilities of the Wii remote and force you to steer with your thumb?

Movement on foot is especially frustrating. Panning the camera is done by pointing the Wii remote to the edge of the screen, and it is very hard to control what you want to look at while you are walking.

Also, the throttle is controlled from a nunchuck button, so its either full throttle or nothing. This is lame because at full throttle, the tires spin for a while before they grip. You cant feather it and give half throttle at all. Oh yea, cops don't like it when you do burnouts (which are impossible to avoid) so just driving anywhere near a cop causes them to chase after you. Lame.

Poorly thought out controls make this game no fun to play and if I had purchased it before playing, I'd promptly return it for a refund.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

good and bad but mostly bad :7(

posted by darthvader (KEMPNER, TX) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 21 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I rented this game hoping to find the new sequel to the driver series a awesome and great game, but I found this game.
Good points: cool cars, awesome graphics during cinemas, and a great storyline
Bad points: can't get cool cars, terrible graphics during the game, occasionally freezes between each mission.

I do not recommend this game to those seeking a good one. And those who are seeking a good game, go back to Driver 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

so so

posted by bigboss15 (MIAMI, FL) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

one thing straight the controls is that great it work .the gameplay want't that good to my car got stuck in a another car .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by idnotimportant (SIDNEY, KY) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is one of the tops. The graphics are awesome, characters are interactive and exciting story. Controls are a bit difficult would not recommend for some children, but adults and teens this is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It Is what it is..

posted by BackAlleyZombie (WHITE CLOUD, MI) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The game isn't horrible, in fact it's kinda fun. But my only problem is that it makes me think of another GTA ripoff. All in all its alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is NOT Grand Theft Auto - so why compare?

posted by T42N24T (WEST BRANCH, MI) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

Frankly, the lame excuses I see for poor ratings on this game are from people who play every console available. So it has no cheats, big deal.. tone up your skills like everyone else.
The graphics are better than most I've seen, especially for being a Wii racing game.. unless you're hooked on Mario Kart. Overall, it's not as bad as what most people are making it out to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by shane0218 (GROTON, CT) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is a boring version of grand theft auto. It did not hold my interest at all, the racing was too easy....just did not live up to my expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

just not worth it

posted by exavior66 (Allenwood, NJ) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The game is just your usual grand theft auto poser. it tries to one up it with the car custimization but that is just total trash. it was fun for a bit but then lost all of its shine.. i barely did any missions either because theyr missing some charm or toughness. too easy. i wouldnt even bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Controls

posted by lazy1uno (COVINGTON, WA) Jun 24, 2008

Member since May 2008

Its a good game but it gets annoying to have to move the nunchuck forward while pressing Z to accelerate. You'd think pressing Z would be enough. Plus, the cars controls are slow. it skids easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cannot Drive with Wii Steering Wheel at all.

posted by Deadwood (CANOGA PARK, CA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Not a game made for the Wii Steering Wheels. That is a total shame. The makers of this game blew it bigtime because this is a great game for the Driver series. Almost as good as Driver 1 was for the Playstation. But if you want this game, I suggest, if you have a PS2 system, get it on that system instead of Wii. Wii has the same graphics but the controlers stink on this Wii version. You use the Nachuck for steering and other various buttons for other commands. This game is horrible on Wii. It would have been so much better, and a lot more fun of a game for Wii gamers, if they made this game for use with the Wii steering wheel. Really a shame because this game is awesome on PS2. I hope the original Driver game comes out on Wii for use with the Wii Steering Wheel someday. The orginal game to this day is the best of all the Driver games out there in my opinion. Especially if your a 70's movie car chase junky. Playing THE ORIGINAL 1st Driver game would be an awesome experience for Wii users, IF they made it for use with the Wii steering Wheel. This game was a huge dissapointment for me because I was looking forward to using the stering wheel and found out that is not possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A MUST RENT

posted by longview (LONGVIEW, TX) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I was going to buy this game, but wanted to try some more. But I will buy it. First rent it. its a great game. only problem is the roads are the same as driver 76, but its ok. try it and then buy it. best driver yet. A MUST RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be A Lot Better

posted by JiMBO18 (TOPSFIELD, MA) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

From the minute I started this game I felt like I was playing a poor version of Grand theft Auto. The graphics aren't that bad, but maybe I was just expecting more. The gampeplay isn't too bad considering it is on the Wii. The only thing I found enjoyable about this game is the way you drive using the Nunchuk. It is tricky at first but once you get a handle on it it's actually not bad. But driving with the Nunchuk, in my opinion, is not a good enough reason to suggest renting this game, instead wait for Grand Theft Auto 4, as I can assure you that GTA4 will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No cheats

posted by Scotto55 (READING, PA) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I don't play games for the challenge. I just like to play for fun and like to use cheat codes. This game has a cheat menu and does accept cheat codes. I got one for invincibility and that takes up one of many slots. All the other cheats listed for this Wii version do not work. But there are empty slots. So what are these other cheats???? Nobody seems to know.

And the driving control really sucks. Using the nunchuck? I love the driving in Need For Speed ProStreet. Makes much more sense for the Wii than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Bother

posted by Wasabii (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

If you are looking for a grand theft auto style game and have played scarface then this game is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it best yet

posted by dumbude (DES MOINES, IA) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

I really like the game its fun. I didn't like the controls tho thats one of many bad thing but it get better once u get use to the controls lots of cool cars also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Timing of Release Could Have Sold More

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jul 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

This game has the potential to be good but the controls are ok until the nunchuck fails. If this game was released at launch it could have sold more but since it is the same month as Scarface this is not worth a rental. It is nice to see games like this on the Wii but this one needs more polish. Don't be tempted and waste a rental spot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »