Rent Driver: Parallel Lines for Xbox
view large frontback

Driver: Parallel Lines

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.6

401 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

good but not the best

posted by sedition (DERRY, NH) Jul 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is a huge step up from that heap of trash DRIV3R. I expected more trash but hoped that wasn't going to happen and it didn't. (hooray!) the damage system is definitely in the top 3. #1 juiced #2 flatout #3 this. And I love the variety of cars. it's almost like a real city. and when you're in a car there's not a whole bunch of that car everywhere like in gta 3. another plus is the customization. you can buy stuff like engine parts, suspension parts, body kits, bullet proof glass and tires, and more. The music is good to. Except one song, the saxophone song. If you play xbox at night i suggest you keep the stereo volume down. you'll know the song when you hear it. (its loud and obnoxious) BUT!!!! YOU CANT SWIM---but you don't drown!! you just sploosh out of the water and yell at your self . and then there's the main part of the game... the storyline. Its SWEET. there's lotsa action and speed and guns. And a huge shocking twist!! i wont tell you what it is though :) even though its great its to short i beat it in 12-14 hours then sent it back. but those 12-14 hours kicked a~$. i seriously recommend this game to any one with a tv and a game system. p.s. its only rated (M) because like one tenth of the story has c-o-c-a-i-n-e in it and they say the "f" word about ten times total... maybe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Back on Track or is it Wack?

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Oct 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We all know how upset we got with Driv3r. So what's the deal Bauc, does Parallel Lines Redeem itself? Yeah it does. I'm sure you saw this coming, but I'm going to compare this game to GTA. The graphics are better in Driver, however, there isn't enough in the city to explore so the open-world gameplay isn't as good. The cut scene graphics are AMAZING, they really look that good. And I think it's a definite bonus that they made the main character closely resemble Steve Nash. That was cool. The targeting system is intuitive and easy to use. The actual driving part of the game was surprising. It wasn't bad but the brakes are way too sensitive so you'll be working on that awhile, though I got the hang of it with some practice. The storyline throws a wicked curveball at you so get prepared for a shocker. This game was definitely a step up from Driv3r and I enjoyed it. I give it a 7, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair but not great

posted by master12 (NEWBURG, WV) May 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought it was a fun game but the least little thing & the cops are after ya thats what I didn't like

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Back on track

posted by outlaw6 (NEW TRIPOLI, PA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Definitely a step in the right direction and much better than Driver 3.

The gameplay and mission variety are outstanding. The story line is good enough if you care to follow it and if not, you can skip to the action without missing anything important. Playing in two different eras is cool. There is plenty of vehicle variety from both eras.

Vehicle control is pretty good however the brakes are too strong as is the e-brake. Moving around on foot is easy but shooting/combat is a little difficult. It works well enough since this is not really a shooter. Shooting from the vehicle is a nice touch and works well also.

Graphics and sound are both acceptable but nothing special.

The gameplay is what makes this game good. If you are a fan of the series, you'll like parallel lines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love all the Driver games

posted by MMMAAADDD (OLIVEHURST, CA) May 31, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

best Driver game yet more killing more gus more cars and more fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS REALLY GOOD ''LOL''

posted by shrimp3091 (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 10, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

WOW THIS GAME IS COOL IT TAKES PLACE IN 1978 I THINK THEN GOES THE 2006. THE CARS ARE AMAZING AND MISSIONS ARE TO GOOD. ALSO U CAN TUNE UP EVERY CAR U WANT. I THINK THAT PEOPLE SHOULD RENT THIS GAME BECAUSE OF GRAPHICS, CARS, AND THE MISSIONS ARE FUN.

THATS ALL I NEED TO SAY ABOUT THIS GAME. !!!!!!!!!!!!????????????!- !!!!!!!!!!!!??????????????
L0L LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL JK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than Driv3r but how hard is that?

posted by WhoCares (LYNNWOOD, WA) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is ok. It is better than the last installment but it tries too hard to be GTA and fails. One of the first things I noticed was flying down the road at 80-100mph and then hitting the brakes. The car almost stopped on a dime with no skid marks. Tried to turn a corner with the e-brake only to spin a 360.

Music is great, driving controls are good (except the above mentioned braking), on-foot is HORRID. Manual aiming is hard to control and way too random when trying to take out tires of a stationary car. Being able to upgrade cars is cool but with how quick you wreck a car it is not really worth it.

Here's to hoping they go back to their roots with the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by lvsinner (FITCHBURG, MA) May 31, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Parrallel lines is a realy well rounded game good story outstanding graphics and good game play. The only 2 things that kept this game from being a 10 was the fact that it tool to long to get to the present day and once you did the game ended to fast. I definitly like the concept of the game and hope to see more games like this in the driver franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Driver Rocks

posted by pookid (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Man this game is great. totally worth buying. i mean wow the cars, story, guns, and graphics are AWSOME. didn't know you could make a game this cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool

posted by sergio (LEBANON, NH) May 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I thought that this game was cool because it took place in the 70's in NYC where you end up as a street racer. Not only are there sweet cars but also there were GUNS. You are kinda a hippie but u get used to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by sippin40z (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 2, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Its a pretty fun game I guess. I hated the cops because they would chase you for nothing sometimes, I try to go the speed limit but they always chase me. The music in the game was good 70s music. The cinematics were also good too, but the game play is same ol same ol to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

An Unplayable Mess

posted by AnimeGamer (EUGENE, OR) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

This game is laughably bad and does not stand the test of time here in 2009. I tried to take this game seriously, but its hard to with graphics this ugly- even on the xbox. "But this is an old game" you might say, 2005? Not really, this game looks like a Dreamcast title. Compared to games like DOA3 and Silent Hill 2 (2001) there is no excuse for this blockly, muddled mess! Even its predecessor, "DRIV3R" looked better than this. Graphics aside, this game begins hating you at mission 2 with the impossible challenge of shooting car tires. Because of its sloppy game design both I and a friend (just to make sure it wasnt just ME being retaahded) could not pass the training mission, even when DOING EXACTLY what the game tells you to do! This game is so backwards over itself it cannot even instruct you to do something correctly, and then gets upset at YOU for it. As if thats not bad enough, the AI programming must have been done by apes. So stupid I was wanted by the police, pulled over to give myself up, a cop shot at me, walked up to my door, squatted down, waited, stood up, waited, and continued to try and shoot me while standing beside my car, missing 4 shots out of 5! Way to go Reflections!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Driver: Parrellel Lines

posted by goofins (STERLING, CO) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

My son really enjoyed this game. He kept it for a lot longer than the first game he got

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Another" GTA clone

posted by Godfadda (SAINT JOHNS, MI) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The "Driver" franchise has been around since the Playstation one and ,unfortunately, not much has changed. Driver: Parallel lines seems to be a small step in the right direction, although this isn't saying much considering the terribly flawed Driver 3. Improvements have been made in several vital areas such as the "on-foot" action and the destructibility of objects in the environment allow for some of the best driving sequences in the series. Fortunately, reflections entertainment have turn their focus back on the driving, which is great since this is what made the previous installments so successful. You play through 1978 until the lead character, T.K. (because Tanner died at the beginning of Driver 3), is setup and imprisoned until 2006. The soundtrack also covers these eras well. Graphics are very solid and give the game a cinematic feel before and after T.K.'s incarceration. There is little replay ability after completing the game and the story isn't very original which would not be a problem if the characters weren't so bland overall. Targeting is frustrating at times, though it is mostly competent. Gameplay is very traditional and character motion is fairly restrictive. For the most part, the game's predictable and it won't blow anyone away but it's a solid reproduction of what the GTA series has established and is quite reasonable for prior fans of this franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow, another GTA clone, how exciting! ;5

posted by Benny32 (HILLSBORO, OR) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Wow, let me first say this is the first game to prompt me to write a user review. I was led to believe this game would be a Driver spin off racing game with weapons attached to the car for destructive fun. It isn't anything I expected it to be. The first five minutes of playing this game consisted of driving a low detail car around town to an objective marker. I was bored to tears within minutes. In the end, nothing in this game hasn't been seen before.

If you absolutely positively MUST have another helping of GTA inspired game play, take a serious look into renting this game. If you were tired of the GTA series after completing GtaIII, DO NOT TOUCH THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

it is laking

posted by xbox101 (HALETHORPE, MD) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

this is very plain and doset offer aneything new i recomend to just get GTA

[rent if you are into GTA knockoffs]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not only a GTA clone: A bad one

posted by OnBake (VALLEY CENTER, CA) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

Driver games pretty much suck no matter what. This time it tries to copy GTA, and does. But it's still terrible. The True Crime games are much better GTA clones than this. Everything feels cheap and a rip off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing!

posted by CrazyGamer (AGOURA HILLS, CA) Jun 15, 2006

Member since May 2004

Having played all the Driver games, I was disappointed with the current installment.

The Driver franchise has changed from a strictly wheelman driving game to a GTA wanna-be with very limited features, but we all know that there is no other game that can compare or substitute GTA.

In addition to the good driving and the OK on-foot missions (though improved compared to Driv3r), Driver: Parallel Lines has added riding missions (motorcycle), various money making side missions with some vehicle customization thrown in. Unfortunately none of theses added features improve upon the game.

The motorcycle dynamics are poor, making it hard to control it with precision. The money making side missions and vehicle customization can be boring or tedious.

With the success of GTA III, many games like the Driver series have been trying to mimic it. Unfortunately the Driver series has lost what made it successful, focusing on the driving!

Overall, the games is OK and has moments when it shines, but if you are looking for a wheelman driving game like me you may have to dig up that old dusty copy of the original Driver.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definetely better than part 3

posted by hteflseGOD (TEMPE, AZ) May 31, 2006

Member since May 2006

The graphics on Xbox r really nice and gameplay is fretty intense when chasing people, not to mentiont the fun soundtrack while playing i.e. Blondie's 1wayor another song. Overall though it's useless to collect money b/c u usually damage the car u just spent hard earned money on to fix up and then not to mention the cops destroying the vehicle b4 u can get back to the chop shop. Sad thing is you dont realise all of this until youve wasted a good amount of time. I liked how realistic it was when it came to commiting a crime and having to get out of sight b4 the cops come and if they see you it soesnt matter what car you steal they will always b after you. ALL in ALL its good to add to your'e collection if you have the previouse playstation titles and this game seems like a more fitting wrap up in a trilogy than prt.3 gameplay wise, story wise not so much, it makes you wish the designer put this games graphics with prt.3's story.....Sorry Micheal Madsen. P.S. IT IS VERY HARD TO FIND THE ACTUAL STORY MISSIONS n game they r all mixed up with the side ones with no differentiating marks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No title

posted by CrazyBob (ROAN MTN, TN) May 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

I thought it was a good game, but i think it took a little to long to get to the present.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »