Rent Driver: Parallel Lines for PS2
view large frontback

Driver: Parallel Lines

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

605 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A step forward, but still could use improvement

posted by Lauwee (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 12, 2006

Member since May 2004

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really wasn't expecting much out of Parallel Lines after playing and disliking Driv3r, but I think Atari pulled it off this time around.
The driving is definetely the games' strongpoint, as alot of tweaks have been made. But I thought the on-foot controls were still rather clunky.
A good twist with the era change, the 2006 era is definetely the the better one in my opinion.
Kind of a blah storyline, but there is enough to keep you interested. Although I thought it was terribly short.
Overall, definetely a step up from Driv3r, but some aspects still needed work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not the best, but great

posted by sedition (DERRY, NH) Jul 2, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game is a huge step up from that heap of trash DRIV3R. I expected more trash but hoped that wasn't going to happen and it didn't. (hooray!) the damage system is definitely in the top 3. #1 juiced #2 flatout #3 this. And I love the variety of cars. it's almost like a real city. and when you're in a car there's not a whole bunch of that car everywhere like in gta 3. another plus is the customization. you can buy stuff like engine parts, suspension parts, body kits, bullet proof glass and tires, and more. The music is good to. Except one song, the saxophone song. If you play PS2 at night i suggest you keep the stereo volume down. you'll know the song when you hear it. (its loud and obnoxious) hey suprise-> YOU CANT SWIM---but you don't drown!! you just sploosh out of the water and yell at your self . and then there's the main part of the game... the storyline. Its SWEET. there's lotsa action and speed and guns. And a huge shocking twist!! i wont tell you what it is though :) even though its great its to short i beat it in 12-14 hours then sent it back. but those 12-14 hours kicked a~z. i seriously recommend this game to any one with a tv and a game system. p.s. its only rated (M) because like one tenth of the story has c-o-c-a-i-n-e in it and they say the "f" word about ten times total... maybe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Suprised

posted by Gangsta (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was suprised that this game was good becauase the only good driver was the first one for ps1 that was a classic, but this one steped it up...alot I played it for the full time i rented it instead of takin it back. The city is great you can change eras from the 80's to 2000, cars are cool customize every single vehicle and I mean every single one shooting is pretty good. Overall its worth a rent and should be played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good.

posted by alpacino (TOLLAND, CT) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This driver is a good game. I've never played Driver 3, only 1, 2, and this one. The driving on this game is very good, and fun. The police on this game is more realistic, in the way they act and they way your crimes are handled, than GTA. However the shooting on this game isn't good, and is pretty unnecessary.

One problem I noticed with the game is how if you're driving a car, you'll sometimes only see that car on the street, which was a problem in Driver 2, however it happens rarely. It's a good game, but not as good as The Godfather. Buy The Godfather.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by ManueL379 (SALINAS, CA) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is similar to Grand Theft Auto but a little better its fun and has a good story! Highly Recommended!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What about good driving?

posted by lgm2300 (DENVER, CO) May 22, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Driver jumps the shark on this one by forgetting what was best about the ealier editions - Driving like mad, in a car with great control and physics and then watching a movie of what just happened.

Lame control and cars. I dod not bother going past the 3rd or 4th mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Driver PL

posted by Rowdyrex (FORT COLLINS, CO) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Decent Game better than the last version. Good driving physics and gameplay. Too much Traffic and a lot of unnessesary driving from place to place. If you hate traffic this game will bug you. But I did enjoy playing the first half and the muscle cars were well done. I was not a big fan of the second half - I lost interest.

If you get stuck there are good cheats that can help you move on if you wish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Driver Parallel Lines

posted by HoodGamer (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, if your advertising something like 8 player online and mini games than you should either commit to it or change release date. To just abandon it all together is not cool.
All in all DP is a beautiful game. GTA knock off? Yup. Does alright on its own but really has the feel of a modded up Pc version of GTA San Andreas. NO Flying planes and you cant jump but you can shoot from your car. Honestly, the only way this game had a chance was with that online play.
Upside? If you like driving through an OK replica of NEW YORK and a pretty big map (JERSEY INCLUDED), this game aint bad at all. Same GTA mechanics and controls. The traffic is all to real. It was a joy to road rage in Manhattan.

Final Words

If your a fan of the Driver series you may enjoy the driving. Get it!. If your a fan of FREE ROAM gaming like myself you may want to check it out. But I doubt if you wanna keep it long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Driver has done it agian!

posted by killer0199 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) May 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is well worth the wait it is the best driving game this year and the history of these types of games the one thing i love the most is is the eara change when you get it is at the end of the game its all around good axecpt the cars there kinda smaller than the other games but besides that its all good...
0-\-]: hellz yah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Something died in my playstation

posted by SuperMario (AKRON, OH) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i put this brand new game into my playstation and the weirdest thing happened. when it read the disc it thought it was a GTA game and it tried to play it, but all the best parts of the game were ruined. the characters were generic, unlikable and forgetable. The menus are confusing. The pushpin map thing is dumb and useless. The aiming system was terrible at best. Good luck targeting on anyone who is a threat to you. the city looks dirty and half finished. Basically, that's the problem with the whole game, it has no personality, it's boring and you'll play it just long enough to say to yourself, "hey this game reminds me of how much more fun i would have playing Vice City."
As usual with the Driver series, the only solid part was the driving, but even that gets boring and you end up feeling like a prisioner trapped in your car, avoiding the rest of the game.

Don't get tricked into investing any time into this game. The series isn't improving and its taking the once great idea that Driver was and turnig it into another GTA clone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The first of the 10 Commandments of game design:

posted by Sinrise (LONG BEACH, CA) May 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Thou shalt never fail to include a cut scene skipping feature for any game, for any reason.

It's worse when a game has potential and fails miserably than a game that had no expectations. I didn't make it through the Gunman tutorial before turning this game off and promptly sliding it back in the GameFly return envelope. The main reason for the hasty return and the low score is the inability to skip cut scenes. One word: lame. The is no excuse for not coding in a cut scene skipping feature. I refuse to play a game like this, not matter how good it is otherwise. The FMV was pretty well modeled, so much so it as if the developers put more money into FMV than actual game mechanics. The sense of speed in this installment of the Driver franchise is almost nonexistent. I found myself looking at the speedometer more than the road. The city and traffic have a pretty realistic sense but with such a weak sense of speed, even with the so called 'speed effects' and motion blurring, no amount of realism makes up for it. After deciding it was worth giving this game a little more time, I began the Gunman tutorial. After failing that the first time, I was forced to watch the cut scene again... and again from the beginning when I got to the next stage of the tutorial. That's where I pushed eject on my PS2. So, I cannot comment further on this game. Too bad.
Graphics: 5 Sound: 4 Gameplay: 5 FMV: 8
-Sinrise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yawn... Snooooze...

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) May 4, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was so dull, I never finished it. So, if it tells whether Tanner/Jericho made it after Driver 3, I have no clue. I did like that you could upgrade cars, but that was the only fun part. I hope Driver 4 has a better storyline and brings back Tanner and Jericho, complete with Michael Madsen and Mickey Rourke. It would be neat to play as Jericho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GTA WANNABE

posted by CactusJohn (FITZWILLIAM, NH) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

THIS IS A GTA WANNABE..
Police are ridiculous, the targeting system needs work, the traffic is unrealistic, the crash cinematic is stupid, and ... and WHY DONT YOU JUST DRIVE that was the point of the originals if i want to play a game with shooting i will play GTA...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My review

posted by MrMonday (CONWAY, AR) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Ok what did they do? This game sucks they made it
to much like grand theft auto. It should have
stayed like driv3r but you can mod cars and that
was pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Driving Is Fun

posted by raegal (Big Lake, MN) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is really cool!
My favorite part is the driving like a normal, good driver. I recomend this game because my son really likes it. And we both barley see any of the reasons that it's rated M accept the intense violence. so I give this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Game

posted by agentman (CLINTON, MD) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is Great; the driving has improved since driv3r. I think that it's now more real, when you crash things some times hang on and you can see sparks. Also a new feature is your speed being displayed which is better because if you played any other games in the "Driver series" then you know when around cops you must go at the speed limit, and you never knew what it was or even how fast you are going. A great new feature is customizable cars, trucks, bikes, and more.
Last about "Driver Parallel Lines" is the game play; the game play is all new. You can have free time when ever you want with out going to the menu, and the story is evan better with two time periods including "1975" and"2006"

That's all I have to say about "Driver Parallel Lines". I hope you like as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME EVER

posted by TJMONEY (INGLEWOOD, CA) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I LOVE THIS GAME ITSS THE BEST GAME EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

parallel lines

posted by Mike1993 (CLAYTON, NC) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

This game was a great game. It was hard at first, but once you get the hang of it it is pretty easy and explanatory if you do get and have a PSP i recommend driver 76 it has basically the same story line but be sure to play parallel lines first to fully understand the storyline. They both are great and there are cheats for this game if you do get stuck. I recommend cheatcc. com, once you get to the home page go to cheat codes then find the search bar and type in driver parallellines same goes for driver 76. These games are good for the average game if you want to spend say a weekend or various nights of the week playing. This a fun kids game if you let your kids hear adult lang. and situations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh....

posted by bondman (OAKFIELD, NY) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

it wasn't what i was expecting. it was good but not buy it good. i thought it was way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wonderfull and excellent creativity!!!!

posted by teresa (SAINTE GENEVIEVE, MO) Jun 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

this game is excellent of course the graphics are kinda choppy but overall its alot of fun i own gta sanandreas sure its great but the reason it doesn tmatch aginst this game is reliasim the only reason this game has been getting bad reviews is becuase the box cover doesent have gta on it. big deal!!!! people u only dont like it becuase its not a gta title and u dont sit down and actually enjoy the game quit relying on gta titles to fit ur car game needs of stealing this game is worth the rent and i bought it for a good price of 19.99 from gamestop so if u like car driving games this one is for u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Driver: Parallel lines

posted by Pheonix187 (Pahrump, NV) May 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

First Driver game i played because the bad hype on the others. I must say though, i was not disappointed with this game. the driving is good, and damage is pretty cool. it is pretty cool, story line is good, characters are believable. i must say it is a game that is worth playing. thanks for reading my review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game ever

posted by Electro (ADDISON, ME) May 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

this game is 50,000 times better then driver 3. the cars and guns have real character. I also love the 60`s and the 2000`s. They had a very good ideas to have him go to jail from the 60`s to the 2000`s. I will always rate this game as a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game good storyline

posted by skeetr01 (COPPER CENTER, AK) May 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

the story line for this game is great the cars are awesome traffic sucks though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its definitely better than the last one

posted by rmijares (Miami, FL) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

Although the game is a step up from the previous Driver's, it still has some way to go. The cops are still stupid, intent on killing you for minor traffic offenses and the side jobs are predictable and unnecessary. However, the story line is much better than the last. Although it is also predictable, it does have a slight twist I was not expecting. The game is good for a one time play just to drive the different cars and blow stuff up during the main missions. Otherwise, it is another one to put next to your other shelved games after you beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spelling Bee On Tuesday

posted by slipshod (PEACHTREE CITY, GA) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Sorry for the 'spelling bee'thing ,but please read.This was so boring, I never finished it. So ,it's really not worth buying ,but OK to rent if you'r a grand theft auto fan.Even though Grand theft auto is MUCH better.Driver 3, though ,was great an still is. I did like that you can savage cars and stuff.All in all ,driver:perillel lines is an OK game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse