Rent Drill Dozer for GBA
view large frontback

Drill Dozer

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

103 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

best platformer on the gba, PERIOD.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is without a doubt the best platformer on the GBA. In my opinion, it is also the best on my NINTENDO DS. Why? The graphics are perfectly cartoon-ey and fun, the levels are very well made, the bosses are very creative - oh and the drill. What an incredible way to branch off in a direction un-touched by any platformer ever. Drilling through offices, drilling through enemies, walls, any and everything, is almost too much fun. The rumble pack in the actual game adds a lot too and is way more responsive than I expected. I hold this game with such classics as SONIC THE HEDGEHOG TWO, KID CHAMELEON, YOSHI'S ISLAND, SUPER MARIO BROTHERS 3, and ALEX THE KIDD IN MIRACLE WORLD. It is THAT good. Buy or rent NOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

suprising

posted by yeayea103 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i randomly got this wen i was really young it is fun it seems lame from the cover, but i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kinda Hard, but still Hardcore

posted by laveri (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game is pretty hardcore. Although it can be REALLY hard. The worst part is those jelly blocks, even in the tutorial, its hard. The best part is that it has the rumble feature. I definitely didn't see that coming, especially out of a game boy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's better then I thought!

posted by gabesma (JAMESTOWN, NC) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

I had read other really good reviews about this game,and boy was I right to go get it based on those reviews.This game is really fun,but hard at times,and has a good amount of replay value(if you like getting 100%).
The Story:is ok but but not the best ever,but it get's put to the side pretty much during the game so that you don't even really notice it(until towards the end)because so many things intercept the main story(until the end)
I give the story an 6.7 out of 10

Gameplay:It's so interesting(in a very good way),because if you are either right handed or left handed,this game works very well(but my gba sp has a problem,but good thing it works in my ds instead)and all by using the L and R buttons!The depth of the controls comes in from the level designs.So the controls get an 8.6

Levels:There are at least 2-3 areas per level(with several collectiables),they are pretty big withs different routes to take sometimes,it also helps with the control depth by having different drilliable objects in very usefull places,that will really suprise you once you actually do it.There are even unlockable/buyable levels!.
So the levels get an 8.5

Well now I know this is pretty long so here is the rest(shortened)

Replay value 7.9

Fun value 7.9

So...this is totally a great game if you want a great plateformer!So go for!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Hidden Gem

posted by Pwnee9 (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Jul 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

This is a great game with excellent level design and gameplay mechanics. The animation is superb for the gameboy advance and the amount of variety keeps every level fresh.

However, the graphical style may throw off some people. Judging from the art, it appears that this game is aimed at younger players, but the later levels are so high in difficulty that even experienced gamers may find themselves pulling their hair out.

After beating this game, it's unlikely you'll play it again, though the collectible treasures in this game may keep you addicted until you find them all. If you're in the mood for a fun adventure that will last you a while, then definitely pick up this hidden gem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Drilled up Platforming Bliss

posted by MistaMike (DELANO, MN) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

This is just downright fun- the gameplay mechanics are fresher then fresh, and it shows us a whole new way to do platforming. The concept is to drill through anything that you can, and it uses the drill so creatively that I don't know where they got the idea. The boss battles are very imagintive,(which are downright huge) because they have so much strategy but a lot of action along with it. The greatness of DD is held back by its shortness, which makes the fun less enjoiyable. But still, this is probably the Best GBA platformer yet, bring on a DS sequel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not the best but certinly not horrible.

posted by Ion671 (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

This game is very weird, because it really comes at the end of the GBA's life, but this is one heck off a farewell gift. The cutsey gameplay may be a turn off to some but I thought it was entertaining. Not much to do after your done however.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »