Rent Dreamfall: The Longest Journey for Xbox
view large frontback

Dreamfall: The Longest Journey

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.0

878 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Book on, er, DVD...?

posted by Solmas (ROSEVILLE, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since May 2005

41 out of 42 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

I just finished this game and am about to run through it again; not for hidden items or unlocked content (though those would have been nice), but to understand this fantastic story better. That's what this game is, a book w/ some beautiful graphics...and doubtless meant for ppl who play a game for it's story rather than it's mechanics.

The gameplay itself is pretty mediocre. The camera is a bit of a pain sometimes, especially since there's no first person view which would be most useful during some sneaking parts, the inventory navigation and use is a bit confusing and doesn't come naturally, the Focus Field doesn't lock onto interactable items as easily as it should, character navigation is annoying when u get stuck when coming anywhere near close to any of the environment, and the combat sections move and handle just like old ppl...er, walk. All of these things are frustrating and would make this game suck were it not for the voice acting, beautiful graphics, story telling, and music.

The actors did a fantastic job, though there are a few scenes when the enchantment of the story breaks because a line seems to be misread. The dialogue is very good but not w/out a good number of cliche's and a few shameless ripoffs ( "May the balance be with u" ...seriously, that's a line from the game). The graphics are outstanding. Environments are beautiful and crisp and have have an odd way of being completely believable. The main characters are look pretty and clean, but the "background" and plot progressing NPC's look like they didn't get the memo to show up for their final rendering. Finally the music is excellent. Reminiscent of Star Wars, it fits every part of the story and if there's a soundtrack for the game I will buy it.

This game falls short in gameplay and mechanics, but dealing w/ those things is trivial when u watch this story unfold. If ur an action gamer and don't care about the storyline, this game is not for u. But, if u love a good book...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Glorified Interactive Movie With Engaging Story

posted by Freestone (SOUTH ORANGE, NJ) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

-------
SUMMARY
-------

Graphics: 8 -- Very pretty. Very linear levels
Game-Play: 4 -- Decent adventuring. Horrid combat
Story: 8 -- Very good... Until the ending
------------
Total: 20/30
Avg: 7/10 (6.666 rounded up)

---------------------- -- -- --
YOU WILL ENJOY THIS GAME IF:
---------------------- -- -- --
1. You favor engaging stories over superb gameplay
2. You liked Indigo Prophecy and could do without the simon-says mini-games.
3. You can deal with what may be the worst (but thankfully rare) combat gameplay ever.

-------
DETAILS
-------
Graphics: Nice for the v1 Xbox, almost as good as some of the lesser 360 games too. Very linear levels corral you into following the story, which is dull but possibly a good thing since there is less pointless wandering when compared to other adventure games.

Game-Play: Adventuring is fairly simple and you won't be wondering what to do next very often. Journal entries help but only when you are playing as the main character (Zoe). Combining objects makes for most of the "challenges" but even they aren't very difficult. Combat is pathetic and shouldn't even be in the game, but you can beat them quickly if you figure out how dumb the AI is.

Story: Very engaging but the wide-scope can make it a bit confusing. Also, be prepared: the ending leaves many loose-ends untied and leaves you feeling like you did when you beat Halo-2. It's obviously setting up for a sequel, but it was INCREDIBLY disappointing to see it end as abruptly as it did, so be prepared.

Note: there is a false-ending so wait through the credits if you want to see the "true" ending (which wraps up NOTHING however). It's just a setup for the next game in the series (my guess is this dude is going to be the main for it too).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

overall a game worth finsihing

posted by jonathan11 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 2, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Overall the game is a breath of fresh air. it reminded me of a cross between syberia and beyond good and evil. the game is much more story and visual oriented than it is action oriented. i would have rated the game a 10, but the first chapter was sooooo slow(no worries, it picks up), and the puzzles weren't as challenging as i would have wanted them. this is a great game if you do give it a chance to present itself, i just think some might be disappointed by the ho-hum difficulty. if this game doesn't feel challenging enough, try syberia part 1 and 2 or the myst series for the xbox. just be sure to play this one all the way through, you'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dreamfall: The Longest Journey Review

posted by Greyhound (LOWELL, MA) Aug 6, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dreamfall is one of those games you'll never forget. The storyline will keep you wrapped in, until the final blow, & you'll still be wanting much..much more. Everything in this game was created & designed with perfection in mind. From the breath-taking visuals, to the outstanding orchestrated musical score, to the amazing cast of voice talent (that they kept from The Longest Journey), & in-depth story that connects well with it's prequel, The Longest Journey.
Your playable characters, Zoƫ, April & Kain are all from different sides of the story that connect to create an epic saga. With memorable characters from every world you go to, that you'll be sure not to forget.
I will say this game is not for those who aren't adventure fans. This is a story driven game. The action & suspense is carried with the story, not the fighting. On that note, there are points in the game where fighting, sneaking & selective dialog are used & this is only to spice up the gameplay & keep it from feeling like such a linear game(and I fell they did it rather well).
My only complaint throughout the game is the camera view seems to get stuck in some spots making it hard to manage your view at times, but it's a very minor detail.
Overall I think that Dreamfall is one of a adventure fans' masterpiece. With entirely describable worlds, visually stunning scenery, top notch voice acting & a musical score masterpiece. Adventure fans, this game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best the X-Box is capable of.

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the most perfect game the X-Box could have possibly produced. Sweeping, beautiful environments, a great narrative, painless load times, and decent puzzles. I loved it, and was heart broken to return the game after I rented it. There really are moments when you fall in love with the game and its characters, and its all very gradual. This was an excellent story, and it is oh so very frustrating to know that I have to wait for a sequel to come out to finish the story, and that I have to pick up an eight year old PC game to know the first third. Well, The Longest Journey earned one more fanboy in me, and I hope you take time to try this very underappreciated game for yourself.

Do not rent it if you're a twitch action junkie. This is not Halo. This is the next evolution of KotOR.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't wait until next one

posted by spirit46 (BROWN CITY, MI) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played games before but this one was like WOW!!! It just blew me away in how it drew me into the plot, I honestly felt for Zoe and Faith.. And it was like watching a movie and I was directing it to a point. I just hope they are talking about a new dreamfall and you can rest a sure I will buy it and I bet that one will blow me away as well. I recommend this game for anyone to try, the only thing is you have to be open to being the characters... I again loved this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dream fall the longest journey

posted by hottie (FERNLEY, NV) May 25, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphic were great. Controls were good. I liked how you could be so many different people. Story line was different. There was a lot of talking. A little to much for me. I did finish the game. And I did not like the ending I felt cheated. The ending could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Longest Journey Review

posted by gman1272 (DUNDALK, MD) Sep 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overall a good games. Controls were easy to use and the story was intriguing. The combat was the worse I ever saw though. Should have either skipped it or just used a better system. I felt like I was in a kung-fu movie the way they waited their turn to fight me. And hitting them was a royal pain in the butt.
But the true disappointment -- which seems to be everyone's biggest gripe -- is undoubtedly the ending. I understand that they were trying to set up the next game but at the same time a little more closure would have been nice. They left TOO many questions unanswered. I also didn't like Zoe dying. If they don't bring her back, they should have their butts kicked. Also, the next game better have a lot to do with this one. If it doesn't I'll boycott the company who made this.
I also felt that there wasn't enough player involvement. Yes, you had to solve some puzzles, do some sneaking, etc.. But I really think it would have worked better as a more physcial rpg. It is possible to make a good story with good action. I just felt as if it was telling a story which is fine. But in videogames, technically you should be making the story because you are controlling the character.
All in all I did like the game and thought it was impressively done. I just feel it needed to be polished some. I just hope they do the polishing before they release the third game in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Above average but with a few flaws

posted by tpbutch (TOLLESON, AZ) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game started out promising. I was pretty into the story but a few issues kept me from fully enjoying the game.
First, the camera was too much of a hindrance. It seemed to get in my way or pull back when I needed a tighter shot or the opposite when I needed a wider shot.
Second, the level design in some instances was an annoyance. I felt like some of the puzzles required WAY too much backtracking and retracing my steps.
I ended up not finishing this game after getting frustrated with a couple of the puzzles which I just didn't have the energy or will to complete. I probably wouldn't recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For those who love watching cutscenes.

posted by DaveHawk (CORYDON, IN) May 3, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I've read that one of the big draws for this game is the visuals and landscapes that are amazing...not so impressed. Some random objects look really good: a lock chain in one of the scenes, etc.

Characters are really 3-dimensional and interesting to listen to. There is a crow in the game that made me laugh my head off, but the game spends so much time in cutscenes that you are nothing more than a spectator of that it makes the game drag on.

Wasn't really impressed with the ending, and in no way does that give anything away about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Go out and buy this game NOW!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: WOW! This game was FANTASTIC! The best adventure game EVER created! There isnt much fighting in the game, but its not and action adventure game now is it. Ths game is puzzle after puzzle after puzzle. But this fits in with the game perfectly! On most games u really can tell wen u have to do a puzzle or figure somthing out, but on dreamfall its just fits in so that u just do it like u have to move from one room to another. Im not saying that the puzzles are easy to figure out ( cuz they are REALLY not) but it just fits in with the game so well. U have to play it to understand wat i mean. u can also combine items to make new items for certain things. sorta like in RE games.
STORY: The story is wat will blow ALL away!! The story is sooooo intresting u just wont wanna let go of that controller! Im not going to reveal anything becuz i want u to enjoy it as much as i did.
GRAPHICS & DESIGN: The graphics on dreamfall are some of the best ive seen on xbox! Everything from the water, to walls, to ice just looks very very verrrry good! Another good thing about th egame is that the levels are all pretty linear but thats in a good way so that u wont run around so much not knowing wat to do.
OVERALL: This game tops any other adventure game out there!! Go out and buy this game now!!!
RATING:10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lame, but I couldn't stop

posted by SharkJar (WICHITA, KS) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I would have given this a 0 but I couldn't stop playing. I got to a point where I was skipping through the dialogue because of it's predictable lack of relevance. If you like long, drawn out, lame stories with very little game play you'll love this game. If you want to PLAY your game instead of watch it, don't rent. You might end up like me and be so intrigued to see the end only to end in disappointment when it leaves you hanging. Sorry to spoil it, but whoever created this game had their face in the balloon knot when they wrote the script. The sequel will be twice as annoying, I'm sure...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dont come lookin for a fairy tale ,greatest story

posted by greenbeast (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this game is hands down the best story ive played in video games next to ico or beyond good and evil i would buy a copy of this game just to show future generations.....OKAY!! the story starts out pretty slow an inteligent atractive woman named zoe castillo is lying in a comma telling anyone who will listen in a out of body expierience what happened so the story can be told in she doesnt die in vain. you flash back to a couple months ago and slowly find you are in the future not star trek but gettin there. its kinda a drag at first joggin around the city finding important people and locations but trust me once the story hits the nitrous youll wish you had more time with it. the story plays half point in because you can interact with everything with a blue flash light type vision when you depress the right stick but thats just to interact with the enviorment you could just walk up to some thing but theres so much sht id get hard to find what you want.
next dialouge there is litterally hours of scripted dialouge there is even written dialouge for objects and people you dont have to interact with. WHen you talk to some one turns into a chose your own adventre with about 4 different choices to every thing someone says to you. FIGHTING now zoe is a black belt but most of the fighting will be done with the other 2 characters whos stories intertwine and finnaly meet.STORY zoe has dropped out of college and out of her friends lives felling depressed she tries to find some meaning to her life after coming late to her dojo she meets her ex rezza who running lat asks her to deliver a package she obliges but finds a wierd nervous woman waiting for her looking on the huge tv behind the woman she sees the helena chang the one the package was meant for locked up after disposing of the nerous woman wich can go a couple differen ways she frees helena and when she returns to rezza he has been kidnaped it seems he was getting to deep into something .I WILL CONTINUE THISH REVIEW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring!

posted by hallhouz (MANCHACA, TX) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Not so much a game...more of a movie with occasional player interaction. Dialogue sequences were way too long. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Strong in Plot, Not Much Gameplay

posted by cjandrews (FRESNO, CA) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Too movie-like, and with unnecessarily long movies and dialogue. It is very interesting, but I wish there were more gameplay and less talking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Great Story and... Not Much Else.

posted by Zoidberg89 (CHELSEA, MI) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I happen to be a big adventure fan, however I heard that Dreamfall had given up on a lot of its adventure roots. The first game (I've never played it, but I know enough about it) was pure adventure. However I know it was criticized for having some illogical puzzles. Sadly the developers decided to lower the difficulty for Dreamfall as well as add on some elements that were never needed in the first place.
First of all a main compenent of an adventure game is the puzzles. Obviously the majority of people who will play this game also played The Longest Journey (the original game). The Longest Journey had, from what I understand, very hard puzzles and many at that. This game has a few puzzles, but the solutions are always so obvious that you won't spend more than 5 minutes on each one. So fans of the original will most likely be dissapointed by the lack of thought needed to complete the puzzles included here.
As if ridiculously easy puzzles weren't enough, the developers decided to tack on stealth and fighting. While stealth can work in an adventure game, it obviously must work well. Most of the stealth in this game is extremely frustrating or ridiculously easy (more so easy). Stealth usually consists of hiding behind random objects (which for whatever reason the characters never seem to find you behind, even if they're practically looking right at you) and holding a shoulder button to stealth walk slowly. Most of the time stealth walking is pointless though since as long as they're not looking at you, they can't see you (unless you're hiding behind a random object of course). The other tacked on gameplay element is fighting which almost always involves pushing the x button over and over again (aka not fun). In fact if you're not pushing the X button continuosly, then it's likely the enemy is invincible (there's a few of those thrown in). So why did I give it an 8/10? Because of the magnificient story that I won't spoil, except to say the ending is dissapointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was alright.

posted by abloobudoo (MESA, AZ) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I never finished it because I couldn't. The dialog is WAY too long. Feels like a movie. Combat=horrible. Should have been called, Dreamfall: The longest freakin dialog for cut scenes ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a "story" game.

posted by beelzebozo (CATLETTSBURG, KY) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

come for the story, not for the "game." not much to the mechanics besides running between cut-scenes, but the story itself is really well done and excellent. the kind of game for which rentals are perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by x2silver (LIVE OAK, CA) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I read the back of this game and thought it sounded like a good game only a couple dollars and it would work on my 360 i was like sweet, put it in...... bad graphics ok... but maybe the fighting or storyline will be better...... wow was i wrong... the fighting is more linear that tic tac toe. The storyline never had a chacne because of the lack of intrigue the story even had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great RPG Adventure

posted by Mascoma (MEMPHIS, TN) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Gameplay was good except to the sneaking part was harder than I expected it to be, could have been my controller, other than that it was a little bit to suggestive for my taste but still a good game. Story line was fantastic makes you want to stay up all night and keep playing. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a good RPG adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, without an ending.

posted by blacklotos (LAVEEN, AZ) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

I remember playing and finishing The Longest Journey about six years ago, so I guess I should have seen this coming. This game has an amazing visual design, and I'm all for any adventure game that tries to revive the genre. The combat in the game was sad to the point where you rather the action was pre-rendered. The characters are all full of life, and the voice acting was right on. You actually care what happens to the characters in the story, and it's that feature that ends up sticking it to you in the end. To call the last chapter in the game the end is a gigantic misnomer. Only one major event is resolved by the end. as for loose ends, I've never seen so many in any game I've ever played. It would seem as if characters were created just to make you wonder what happened to them. even Knights Of The Old Republic had at least SOME closure. I suppose you can hope that they will make yet another game, but to be honest I'm not sure if I'd give it a chance seeing how the first two ended. or didn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice and Challenging Game

posted by Caitd7 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I thought that this game was one of the best! The gameplay is really cool and you actually have to use your brain to play! The graphics are nice and the story ends differently depending on your choices! It's like the real world!

The only downside would be the horrible combat controls. You can press a million buttons at once, yet only move to attack like 2 times!

Other than that, I would TOTALLY reccomed this game to anyone! (maybe 13+(swearing and suggestive themes))

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trippy

posted by AndyPanda (SANTACLARA, CA) Sep 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

this is a game i think more based on the cinimas WHICH IS GOOD! this game you construct your own storyline by the decisions you choose in conversations with other people. but this game WILL have you knawing at your arm from lack of food because you dont want to eat because you get so sucked into this game. which again is good. I mean not that you eat your arm but the fact that you get so sucked into it. i mean it starts out slow... well i mean when you start to play as Zoe Castillo but once her story takes off. OOOOOO BOY! it is SO cool i mean ok this game reminds me of the Rennacance Faire with one place you go to... "BUT WAIT DOSNT THIS TAKE PLACE IN THE FUTURE?" yes it does. so to see where it reminds me of the Rennacance faire YOU will have to find out for yourself. But in this game ONE word of advice. PAY ATTENTION TO EVERYTHING YOU SEE THROUGHOUT THE GAME! THEY COULD BE HINTS and you pro'll cant play this without a guide of some sort. so i totally reccomend a strategy guide of some sort

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Awesome Game!!!!

posted by Minfast (MOSS POINT, MS) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is very slow getting started, but once the plot picks up, it is very hard to put it down. It's almost like watching a movie instead of playing a game. The graphics are top notch, the music, in my opinion was...lacking, to say the least, but the plot is awesome. The combat system was really horrible, but thankfully you don't have to use it much at all. As for the game play, it seemed to me like there was very little. I found myself more than anything setting down the controller, sitting back in my chair and watching cut scene after cut scene. After the credits finished, I felt just as if I had made a trip to the movies. Obviously there will be another Dreamfall game and I can't wait to play it. I recommend renting this game if you like watching cut scenes alot. If, however, you are looking for action, I wouldn't recommend this title at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DreamFall, The Longest Journey Review

posted by Wolfn1 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 5, 2007

Member since May 2007

I don't usually write reviews for games (most are not worth it) but for this rare gem I made an exception. I have played many games that have been fun or had good story to them but this game really went out of its way to be a fantastic gaming experience. It starts out a little slow and at first the game seems like it will be boring but very soon you find yourself drawn in and next thing you know its 3 days later and your calling into work to play some more. The animation and voice acting is top notch and the storyline is dramatic and engaging. The game also has a feature that allows you to choose what reaction your character will have during most conversations, leading to a different storyline than the last time you played through, and unlike most games your choices in this game make big differences (like whether or not a character lives or dies) The only down side is the battles are very easy and there are not very many, so if your looking for a simple hack and slash RPG go with morrowind or any of the other thousands like it, but if you have been craving a game with an actual story where you really care about what happens to your characters, then this game is definitely worth the time. 10 out of 10 in my book and I don't give that rating lightly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse