Rent Dreamcast Collection for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dreamcast Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

612 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

dreamcast collection

posted by xboxgamer4 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you wonder what the dreamcast was like and you have an xbox 360 then this is a good way to find out it has 4 dreamcast games and its better if you like getting achevements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dreamcast still rocks!

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The four games, are exactly like before, their just ports, no new graphics. But they did add leader boards, achievements and avatar awards to each game. If you loved the games back then you will love them now to! UP UP DOWN LEFT CHU!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Collection of Classics..except Space Channel

posted by kyletknight (MARGATE, FL) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Dreamcast Lives Again. Too Bad Sega's out of business! Perfect game if your someone like me whos dreamcast quit reading discs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You've got to be pretty stupid to not like the gfx

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Okay, to the idiots hating on the game because of dated graphics and controls, THESE GAMES ARE FROM THE 90S. HOW DUMB DO YOU HAVE TO BE?

Anyways, the games are fun. Sonic Adventure is personally my favorite. I didn't ever have a Dreamcast but I remember playing Crazy Taxi in arcades and playing Sonic Adventure DX on Gamecube. This is definitely worth at least a rent, possibly a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like the classics?

posted by Chargersro (HENDERSON, NV) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Good game. But I have the original Sega Dreamcast, I would rather play this though, GREAT game to rent. Not that good of a game to buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uh...

posted by OncaixV (OCEANSIDE, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Okay, so I really only rented this one because of my curiousity toward the music grame Space Channel 5, since I already own ports of Sonic Adventure (DX on the Gamecube) and Crazy Taxi (Crazy Taxi 3 had all three games on the XBox disc with improved graphics). Frankly I was disappointed by it from even my first few minutes playing it... it was just not any real fun to me, its controls confused me more than anything, I think Parappa the Rapper was more straight forward than it to be honest. So with my attention toward Ulala diverted, I went on to playing a little of Sonic Adventure and Crazy Taxi.

Crazy Taxi... wow.. I don't understand why the sound levels are so uneven with this port. The cabby and customer voices are extremely loud with no way to adjust them, so it just became a mixture of an altered soundtrack and crashing noises. A very poor port, to say the least.. although the fun of the original arcade level was still there, now if only I could perfect the Dash.

Sonic Adventure.. it was better with the cleaned up DX version on the Gamecube, although I understand that the DX content is available as DLC, but frankly why should you spend precious cash on that when or if you can just rent the Gamecube version?

I didn't play the Bass Fishing game because it didn't interest me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Middle of the road game to be honest.

posted by Redbone (DENVER, CO) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

The game it self is OK. What makes it hard to play are the graphics. We've been so spoiled by today's standards that the Dream Cast graphics are almost laughable. Although the graphics are nothing against the game itself I would have loved to see some of the classics included on the game like power stone, or NFL 2K, overall if you like any of the games on the box art (by the way, what you see is what you get) its worth the rent to bring back the memories, but I'm sure this game will be in the $5.00 bin at Walmart by xmas if not earlier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dreamcast collection

posted by lADYSNOOGY2 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Only reason i ordered this game was because, I wanted to play Crazy Taxi but that game was nothing i thought it'll be and i drove so crazy stupid i made myself dizzy :) lOL. I really thought the Bass Fishing was by far the best game in that whole collection. I dont recommend this game to anybody unless they like reckless crazy stupid driving and fishing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nightmarecast collection

posted by VenomRizcarn (CLALLAM BAY, WA) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I remember back in 1999 getting my dreamcast and loving it, however the games that I thought so fondly back then have not held up well in the years that have past. Crazy Taxi is still semi fun, the graphics are dated however. Sonic Adventure has aged horribly, the gameplay is clunky, the graphics are horrible, the music sounds like something you'd hear in a department store overhead. Space channel all I am going to say about this game is controls are horrible! even though I don't fish I honestly have to say I had the most fun with the bass fishing game and that isn't saying much, avoid this game if at all possible, play the one or two you like on xbox live arcade. I'm kicking myself right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not quite what I expected...

posted by diomesesarcturo (JOPLIN, MO) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I love me some Dreamcast, but this collection falls short...the games are letterboxed and the menu is clunky and it's difficult to switch from game to game. Maybe it was a marketing thing or a proprietary problem but you put a DC collection out that has Shenmue/Soul Calibur/Tokyo Extreme Racer/Rez on it and you'll be in business...Bass Fishing? Please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This was basically a demo of games

posted by Dragonus2012 (YAKIMA, WA) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

The bass Fishing game took me maybe 20 minutes to beat. The rest were just stupid. It's not even worth renting. The dreamcast was an awesome system but these (4) incredibly worthless games weren't worth the 25 cents the disk itself cost when it was blank.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sonic

posted by hla13in (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I remember these games coming out on dreamcast. Crazy taxi was still a decent game for like an hour. Sonic was ok until you relized the camera angles weren't really that good. Sega bass fishing was actually the only game that held my attention for some time and that game is what gives it the 5 rating. one day rental unless its sunday so keeping it to isn't won't kill you lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by Sonic123 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

everything was great! especially space channel 5 and sonic adventure. this game is one i would recomend to everybody!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Two games. Two I don't care about.

posted by Uchiha702 (HICKORY, KY) Jul 27, 2011

Member since May 2010

Sonic Adventure is one of the best games out there. But you can find it alot of other places alone without having to buy 3 other games with it. Crazy Taxi is a fun game for a while, but you might find yourself bored after about 20-30 minutes. I can't say much about SEGA Bass fishing because I haven't played it, and fishing games don't appeal to me (which is why I disliked Big the Cat in Sonic Adventure). Space Channel 5 was the worst game I have ever played. So I don't wanna touch "Part two." Normally, I don't think this is worth the price that a store might've charged when this first game out unless you're a major Dreamcast/SEGA fan. However, GameFly is generous as always, and they have it for $16.19 and if you're a member and you get discounts, and use gamefly dollars, then you can get this pretty cheap. Which makes GameFly 20% cooler. Overall, if you get this, buy it used. Or if you buy this just to play one game on it, you might as well buy the Dreamcast original, or if you want to play it on Xbox360, check if this is on the arcade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dreamcast Collection

posted by mindsprey (HOOPER, UT) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game sucks big time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by griffird (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

horrible game !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not to bad of a game but limited

posted by thomasryan7746 (Fremont, OH) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is decent but pay attention to this game batter i thought it had more games on it but it only has a 4 games but there decent games and there games i remember playing for the dreamcast the grafics are of course good and verything else is good just should have done more reading about the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alright game

posted by m80MoNST3R (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

This game is alright if u like The games on the cover. I only rented this game for the sonic game and crazy taxi. The other games r weird especially the space channel thing that one is just plain weird but at least try it. I also tried The fishing game which is alright u don't have to wait a long time for a fish to hook.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Waste of Time Budget Title

posted by WVJimmyX (CHARLESTON, WV) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

"Dreamcast Collection" for the Xbox 360 attempts to tug at our nostalgic heartstrings, but delivers only four games, most of which are simply unplayable. Sonic Adventure is a total mess, and in comparison with other 3D platformers appears broken. Spend a little time with Crazy Taxi, and you'll wonder why you thought that game was fun, they didn't even shell out for the original punk soundtrack, Space Channel 5 part 2 plays just like it used to, but after playing any modern rhythm game it at times seems impossible, even if you adjust the settings to all one button, strangely Sega Bass Fishing is the one I spent the most time with, even though I hated it in my youth. It's not great, but it's an effecient little time-waster. When I saw the title of this game I thought we'd get Power Stone, Virtua Fighter, Shenmue, or even Soul Edge, but instead I get a grouping of games that are either already available on xbox live, or soon will be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Crazy taxi is good, not much else is

posted by Schwal (BOULDER, CO) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

I'm going to review each game separately.

Sonic Adventure: 5/10
It has a few fun moments, but the cutscenes are horrible and it's not worth playing anything other than the main campaign.

Crazy Taxi: 8/10
Fun, but with a few flaws. Defaults to stretched widescreen, and the music is not as good as the Dreamcast version, but the game is still all there.

Space Channel 5 Part Two 5/10
No way to adjust for audio lag in a rhythm game is a killer. Other than that it is extremely hard, and the music is just O.K.

Bass Fishing 4/10
It seems like it could be fun if you wanted to devote the time to figuring it out. I spent about an hour on it before going to play something better.

In summary, rent it for Crazy Taxi, but that's really the only good thing on the disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dreamcast!!!!!!

posted by Mudkiper (LE ROY, NY) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I would given it a higher score but these ports although are fun seemed lacking. I will review each game separately

Sonic Adventure- 8/10- I loved this game on the dreamcast. My friend and I used to stay up all night playing this game. I was kind of disappointed in the port though. They didnt fix the wonky camera or glitches. And worst of all the game is not HD compatible or has a widescreen mode so you'll have these side bars. Despite all the flaws and dated graphics I still had fun with this game and I love my avatars sonic shoes! Oh and it doesnt come with the DX upgrade either for people wondering.

Space Channel 5 part 2- 7/10- This was pretty fun although I sucked at it, its about this girl Ulala that dances to kill enemies. It was fun but liked i said I sucked at it. Its a lot harder than it looks. The colors in the game look beautiful and it supported widescreen, Overall it seems sega put a little more effort in this title compared to the rest.

Crazy Taxi- 7/10- Another game I used to play on the dreamcast, its fun and fast paced. Like the title implies you're a taxi driver and you take people to certain locations to get money. This game is fun but like Sonic Adventure I wished sega would've fixed some of the glitches.

Sega Bass Fishing- 2/10- Im sorry I hate fishing games, I tried to play this one anyways and didnt like it at all. Bad Game Choice IMO

Overall- 7/10- three of the four games are decent, but why hasnt sega even made the slightest adjustments? These feel like rushed ports. Theyre fun for me, but chances are the new generation arent going to care for these. Avatar Items and leaderboards are nice but not enough to warrant a buy this is definitely a rent title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Abysmal

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Mar 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

Some old games don't need to make a comeback. 3 of the 4 on this disk fall into that category. The only thing I found moderately fun was Crazy Taxi and I believe that was rehashed once before on the original Xbox. This was definitely a one night rental. Blah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sent back

posted by Hector79 (HIALEAH, FL) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

totally not my taste I'm sorry i ever put it on my Q i sent it back same day i got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »