Rent Dream Trigger 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Dream Trigger 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.9

111 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Strange but not a bad game

posted by DAlkaiser (PALM BAY, FL) May 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is not a great game by any means, but the other reviews here are not giving it any justice.

It has a steep learning curve, you will not start enjoying this until you have played for at least 20 minutes or so, and get used to scanning with one hand, and moving around with the other.

One thing to be very clear about: You do NOT have to look at the bottom screen, everything you can see on the bottom screen is in the top screen, where the enemies are, where you are making the pings, and the enemies themselves you reveal, appear as blips before you ping them.

Once you get the strange gameplay down it's fun and different. The visuals are beautiful, and different from stage to stage, even your avatar changes from stage to stage. In one it's a butterfly, another it's a large sight for a gun, in another it's a blazing blue phoenix. As well the backgrounds and enemies change from stage to stage to suit the same theme.

The game's 3D is mostly for show, quite a good show in my opinion. The only real use for the 3D is that the power ups slowly risse from the background, you can't get them til they are at the same level as you, which I found interesting.

I would most definitely not recommend buying this game without trying it, and like most 3DS games, it's overpriced at 40 bucks, but this game is worth a rent, especially considering how few different games there are for the 3DS at this time. If you have a 3DS give it a try, you might like it, I've already decided to keep the copy I rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ugh.

posted by LocoMotive (SAINT CHARLES, IL) May 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ug. I came into this expecting a unusual on rails shooter combined with a puzzle game. Hoping it would be Rez + Lumines (or Meteos etc..). It's actually closer to Centipede + A non puzzle puzzle game. Basically you are using your styles to put out sonar pings on the bottom screen to make enemies visible on the top screen so that you can shoot and consume them. The puzzle game is pointless in that you can just flail out your pings and still be mostly successful. The top screen action is worse than a bad galaga clone. And switching between a 2d screen and a 3d screen while trying to use a thumbstick and a stylus at the same time is the worst thing I've ever had to do to my 3DS. If you think using a D-pad and a stylus was bad then just give this a shot. I love a creative game, and sometimes creative failures are better than mundane successes. But this is not one of those situations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Major Disapointment

posted by DEATHTRAIN (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) May 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. That's my opinion, so if you like it, that's your opinion.

Basically, the menus are clunky and unpolished. The game needs you to do a tutorial on the menu system that's how unpolished they are. Then your in the game and you have to navigate the 3d screen dodging and collection objects while looking at the bottom screen pressing on moving objects.

This doesn't sound difficult until you die in 10 seconds and your back at the menu screen. I handed this game to the 6 guys that work for me today to get their opinions, they are all big game players, and each of them hated it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent Game/Not My Style

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Mar 24, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

The gameplay itself was unique and interesting. It just isn't my style of game. I don't get all the "hating" that people are doing on it. It is a decent game. There is no call for knocking a game just because it isn't your kind of game. In fact, If people can't rate games subjectively (rather than just, "I sucked at it" or "Not my kind of game" so "I'll just trash it") then I don't see how any review on this site could be trustworthy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lefties need not apply.

posted by disturbed666 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I was only able to play this game for a few minutes before realizing that the developers never though about someone who isn't right handed playing this game. There was no option to change the controls, even if it meant having to use the face buttons instead of the analogue stick for movement; this means that for anyone who's left handed, you're basically out of luck if you want to try Dream Trigger out.

More foresight would be appreciated in the future

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A very strange shooter...

posted by Joshua2010 (CONGERVILLE, IL) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Most people turn this game down just because you really can't figure out how to play right away. This game takes a couple of hours to figure out how to play, but experiment with different buttons and what they do, and before you know it, you will pick up the gameplay and find this game isn't so bad. I figured out for those people who think that it's hard to look at both the touch screen and the top screen at the same time, you can use the A button to cast sonar so you only have to look at the top screen.

In a nutshell, this is one of those games where you want to rent it to see what you think of it. And I want to say one word to the people who think this game is too hard: EXPERIMENT!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

???

posted by AlexMcB (NORFOLK, VA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

It would really help to have a tutorial on how to play the game. The only tutorial is how to navigate the menus. I've seen the review that says this game has a very steep learning curve and it's best after you play it for 20 minutes but I've played it for half an hour and keep dying. I don't know what I'm doing right or doing wrong. This is a sleeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If only I had three hands.

posted by Jarebear (SANTA FE, NM) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I was excited to play this game. The concept seemed fun enough and the graphics were stunning, especially in 3D. You use the joy stick and buttons to control the shooting on the top screen and you use the touch screen to make music notes appear, but get reset every couple of seconds. There was way to much going on at the same time; dodging, shooting and drawing music notes seemed impossible to do because I always needed an extra hand to control something else. I never made it past the first level and I don't know anyone else who has. Consider yourself warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What Am I supposed to do?

posted by sonic4ever (SOMERDALE, NJ) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

I apologize if anyone actually liked this game but there were no explications on how to play the game (or atleast they did but they were all paragraphs and paragraphs of information that I didn't feel like reading through). This game was ver confusing and it took me two whole deaths to realize that I could use the circle pad to control the butterfly, which was confusing mostly because the game thus far had told me to only use the touch screen. The game isn't stylish in the slightest and its actually pretty bland and ugly. The butterfly is obviously a sprite, and the backrounds are boring. The game doesn't even look good in 3D and I just don't see the appeal. Maybe it's just me, but the game doesn't have many redeeming qualities about it. I apalogize if anyone actually enjoys the game but my recommendation is that you skip it unless your'e a collector and want to add this to your collection, but even that is not worth wasting your money on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Passable as an ipad app for 3 bucks.....maybe

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) May 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

For the life of me I could not figure out what was going on in this game. I went through the tutorial 3 times and still couldn't beat the first level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »