Rent Drawn to Life for DS
view large frontback

Drawn to Life

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

1409 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

How do you revitalize platform games? Draw it!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Sep 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

43 out of 46 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Some of you older gamers out there may remember the Tom and Jerry cartoons that came on at 3:00pm after school. One cartoon had Jerry (the mouse) running around on Tom's "perfect" mousetrap blueprint with his blueprint counterpart. While being chased by the drawn Tom (cat) on the blueprint, they would all battle by drawing their weapons and altering themselves. Heck, Tom even drew himself some bigger, sharper teeth! And of course, hilarity ensued. So whereas that was a fresh take on cartoons (that a cartoon character would draw itself), you the gamer will draw the game. Where PS2 sleeper hit "Okami" had "the brush is mightier than the sword" ethic, here, you draw the one who wields the sword.
As the benevolent "creator", your job is to help keep the darkness from engulfing your cute furry subjects. Pretty standard story, no surprises here. But wait there's more.
The platforming aspect of the game felt pretty traditional as well: jump, collect coins, bounce-on-monster move. You'll use the stylus to remove icky darkness from houses too. Still more though.
Where the game really shines, of course, is in the drawing part. No training is needed, from doodle-on-the-phone drawings to inspired per-pixel creations, they will come to life. Small, big, fill tools, a rainbow of colors...all there! Pre-made templates are available but would be against the spirit of the game. In 30 minutes I had a pretty good Homer Simpson running around. As a bonus, if your character gets damaged, it looses part of its drawn body (the story has you "sculpting" your hero over a wooden puppet).
For kids, I really can't think of a better game on the DS right now. The often little-used zone of a child's brain, typically filled with Spongebob and Hannah Montana can be fixed. The imagination finally has a worthy mate. Kids can spend hours just drawing character after character just to see how they will move, and start over again. This will be how animators are made. Bravo THQ!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZ-ZA-ZING

posted by Link2010 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great and the perfect game for the DS system. the storyline and gameplay is really linear but if your not paying attention you will miss a piece of the page you are looking for and have to back track. (you have to look for pages to a book to draw items to help you progress). you have to draw everything it is so much fun. definitely recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The reason the DS exists!!!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My brother rented this game and I found myself loving every second of it. It is very funny game but still has some action, not much, but enough to have lots of fun!! The story is interesting because you are in a sense the creator of the world, you get to create the earth and the sun and when desperate times come, you create a character to help save the townsfolk. It is very well thought out and lots of fun. Although, some parts can be very difficult to pull off. But the pros out weigh the cons.

Pros: Very funny, drawing is very well made, story is good and works very well with the stylus. Action is put together very well. Graphics are good for the DS!

Cons: Some levels are very hard, and some characters are irritant.

You should totally but this game, you can get it from here, {Gamefly} for $14.24, which is an awesome price, I recommend you do it, NOW!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, but not awesome.

posted by Annaski (PARKER, CO) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was attracted to this game because of the promise of being able to use the stylus a lot during game play, but I was pleasantly surprised to find out just how extensively the player's drawings are incorporated into the game. Being able to play as your own hero creation was really fun, and you can draw integral parts of every level. The storyline and graphics are very cartoony and cute.
The only problem I had with this game was the fact that all the levels had the same basic design, so there were really no surprises after a couple levels were played. Overall, it was pretty successful with involving the player and I enjoyed it a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

touch pad is for ds

posted by donaldorn4 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

game is excellent for the touch pad. i would recomend this game to kids ages 7-16 it is slow paced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent and solid game

posted by Carvin (MASON, OH) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Drawn to Life is decently fun game, with a decently interesting story and decently interesting concepts to back it up. Yes, decent is the one word review, but I've got at least 1800 more characters.

Drawn to Life is a platformer at the core. At this it is iffy at best. The controls are kinda clunky, the levels are not too creative at the core and some levels leave you with not enough 'fighting' options. Some levels do give some very nice platform options though, such as a double jump or float that work quite nicely.

But, that isn't why you play this game. This game revolves around the idea that you draw and create everything. It has a pretty nice compact sprite editor which you use at least once in each level and after; usually more. The sprites you edit may only be in that level, but some go throughout the game. Nintendo (both DS and Wii) thrive on unique ideas, so this is not by any means the greatest of those, but it is fresh and enjoyable.

The story aspect contains a myriad of characters, none of which get enough screen time it seems... even the main characters. More dialogue would have been nice. In addition, there are plot hooks and threads never developed. The ending is also fairly somber with many loose ends open to interpretation. I was surprised, given the key audience.

In the end, this is a good grab from Gamefly for the couple weeks you need to beat it, though if you only are renting one game, I wouldn't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great kids game and fun for adults too

posted by Rae2229 (ELMONT, NY) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was super creative. It was fun coloring in things and creating your own character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWSU- M!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by billybob22 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game.The story is good.I LOVED FINDING NEW CHARACTERS.Dont listen to the bad reveiws.Drawing things was fun but clearing clouds was a blast.Its unlike any other game.There are some hard parts but over all it is an awsum game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DRAWN TO LIFE: GAMING AND DRAWING

posted by gamemasta1 (WICHITA, KS) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked it. It has a good story line. Plus,
you get to draw hero's, weapons, automobiles and lots of other stuff. I would say its kind of like mario.But, you get to draw stuff and you shoot everything except fireballs. I would rate this game a 7 1/2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Your Choice to Rent..................

posted by Freak4VG (COLUSA, CA) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game can be fun and exciting, but then you can come to a sudden CRASH! There are parts that are simple and that are confusing. I personally am horrible at drawing and I thought that would be a set back, since its called Drawn to Life, but it wasn't. There are "stencils" that help you get your hero made. The thing is though that it is hard to make your hero look perfect. It is a very interactive game that you NEED your stylis for so if you lost it get a new one! Overall its a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Draw 2 life

posted by Riclick (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this is a good a game for younger children. But lacks the graphics I would really like to see coming out of this game. I also like the aspect of designing your character that you would never get from another system. I give this a 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by mattieS (WAKE VILLAGE, TX) Jun 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my kids. I'm not proud that they have almost every game system and they have played a lot of games. They are 9, 11, and 15 years old. My 9 year old thought it was the greatest game he has ever played for the DS. My 11 and 15 year old where amused by the game but did not play it as much as their younger brother. They did comment that it was a good game and would be interested in buying it. The low reviews other users have given this game seemed very unjustified. When users rate this game they may mention their age. This could be more helpful to other users. It is understandable that a 30 year old gamer may not be interested in the same games as a 9 year old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Drawn to Life. Worth trying.

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Drawn to life is a very creative game, where you (God) makes a mannequin, that you design, come to life and save the Rapos (your people.) When you are walking around town, you can talk to the villagers and it has a RPG feel to it. When the mayor sends you out of the snow gate to collect a page of the "Book of Life" whose many pages are scattered around the world outside your village, it plays like a platformer.
Sometimes you will need to draw stuff to help you get around the level, such as a submarine, or a hang glider. In my opinion, there is not enough stuff to draw, but I started laughing when the sun started driving everyone crazy, because I made it look like a telletubbies sun! My favorite is my Go Bush/Go McCain jumps that I made. You can design yourself a gun, as long as it has a gun shape which leads to many creative ideas.

Overall, this is a worthwhile rent. but don't get this game with the intent of buying it. It's just not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST NINTENDO DS GAME EVER!!!

posted by rockin56 (HOBE SOUND, FL) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My title isn't totally correct, but so far as my DS games, this one is my favorite. I don't agree with a lot of people what they think of the storyline, it isn't bad, but it's not good. It's in the middle between good and bad. Anyway, the best part of this game is, of course, you get to draw almost everything! What I didn't expect from this game before I buyed it was there was a creator. I thought you just draw your hero, play the game and ya know. Evan after It told you there was a creator, I had no idea it would be me. I also didn't think you would be THE GOD of these Raposa (did you know that raposa is spanish for fox). So after that I said "Whoa this isn't what I expected". Another reason why I like this game is because there is CHEAT CODES! Gotta love those cheat codes. Something that I think would make this game a whole lot better is if you drawled absolutely EVERYTHING! If that was the case then this game would be my # 'o' uno game, evan out of my Playstation 2 games. So at least try this game, ecpecially if drawing is one of your favorete things to do, like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what the DS was built for!

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is hands down one of the best games for the DS. The game fetures great gameplay and amazing Stylus compatibility. Not only do you use the Stylus to create your own hero, you use it to create objects to help you on the way, weapons, abilities for your character, and more. The animation on your custom created hero is great. There are no limits for this game.

10 of 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good idea, mediocre execution

posted by ChazzM (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Drawn to life's selling point- the creation aspect, is clever and very well done.

Unfortunately, the rest of the game (a simple platformer) is rather uninspired.

Perhaps a great game for a child, but there's not enough of a game here to keep your average gamer busy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

User-content and platforming prevail

posted by arbiter971 (FEEDING HILLS, MA) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

In Drawn to Life, you are The Creator, founder of the Book of Life. The Book of Life contains everything The Creator drew to create the world of the Raposa. One day, a Raposa challenges the laws surrounding the Book of Life, and tears out numerous pages. The Creator abandons the Raposa and grieves for his loss, leaving the world to be enshrouded in snow and Darkness. Eventually, The Creator returns, and creates a Hero to save the village.

This is where Drawn to Life's main feature comes in: Your Hero, and the world around him. Anything that you use in DtL will be drawn by you, be it leaves blowing in the wind, to snowboards and sleds.

And luckily, the creation aspect is spot on. The tools are your basic art tools (fill, eraser, colors), but there's enough there so that your Hero, gun, or cloud doesn't have to look like total crud (but most of your creations probably will ). And the drawing board itself is self-explanatory.

The gameplay revolves around platforming. As the Hero, you need to travel to different levels to collect the pages from the Book of Life, as well as saving Raposa from the Darkness. Gameplay feels like a mix of Klonoa and Kirby. The Kirby comparison stems from the extremely easy levels, as you'll find that dying in DtL is a hard thing to do. The Klonoa aspect comes in from the game's collecting. As you'll travel through a level, you'll find yourself often going off the main path to find a page of the Book or searching for one more Raposa.

And while the levels are fresh and fun at first, you'll find it hard to play through a whole level, and then play through the next one without putting the DS down. The levels can get long and repetitive, and a lack of saving midway doesn't help.

Overall, the Drawn to Life feels fresh, and it's definitely worth a rent for it's platforming alone, as well as the great design tools. But its repetitive feel and easy-go-lucky difficulty bring it down a few pegs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An interesting gimic but average at best

posted by greyerlynx (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game's claim to fame, the ability to draw your own character and stuff is interesting but eventually becomes a nuisance. The game continuously stops the action/platforming and asks you to draw a platform to jump on or color in some pre-fab vehicle to interact with.

While the ability to draw your own character is interesting I found it very hard to make the character look good as it gets scaled on screen. Eventually I just went with a premade character and changed some colors, which is not very exciting. The graphics are clean and crisp but nothing you draw ever fits in.

Where everything really falls apart is with the platforming. It is mediocre at best and a bit sloppy. I found it hard to get excited by the gameplay, especially having to stop and draw stuff all the time.

It's a clever idea and the story is cute and seemed interesting (I didn't finish the game). It might be the type of thing that a younger kid who likes to draw could get into. For an adult it wasn't very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS IS AWESOME

posted by gameingguy (CANTON, OH) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

sweet this game lets you draw your life and everything in it this will probably be one of the best DS games out there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gets boring

posted by NeysaG (RENO, NV) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It's a little neat to see what you have drawn come to life but it gets old quick. Though you get to draw stuff you can only draw what they want you to draw. And your drawings are contained in an outline. Collecting the pages and cleaning up is ok but a little repetitive. It seems as if you would be allowed a little freedom to draw and do what you will but that is not the case at all. You have to wait for every little prompt and talk to too many people before you are allowed to do what needs to be done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A letdown

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'll be brief; this is a regular, hum-drum platformer. The only difference is, sometimes it makes you draw the platforms, trampolines, vehicles, etc., which due to the poor resolution of the drawing interface always clash with the actual level. Your main character is just a collection of arms and legs; no special drawings will give him any powers.

You collect tokens, jump on bad guys, and occasionally doodle. If you really love drawing, just use MS Paint and your imagination; it's easier and much more open-ended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ehh! Worth a rent

posted by spitoon (PLYMOUTH, MI) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just what the title says, worth a rent. Really only if your curious enough to see how the game is designed. I played this game for half an hour and got really really bored. Then I sent it back. Hey I just wanted to see what it looked like. Maybe in the near future than can perfect this type of game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Drawn to Life Review

posted by mongoose16 (CANBY, OR) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I found this game having a bad storyline, and horrible graphics. Something like this should be at LEAST 3-D. I mean if it came out after starfox and Super mario 64 Ds then it should be better looking than a birds-eye view. I didn't play very much before realizing it was a waste of time. I thought by the title it was something you could draw everything with but I was wrong. DEFINETELY RENT BEFORE BUYING!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So so.

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

To be fair I guess Drawn to Life is an okay game, but that's all it is. I expected it to be better, the only cool thing about it is being able to draw the characters you play as, other than that it's really nothing special. I got bored of it after ten minutes of playing, I just drew as many characters as I could think of, and explored levels a bit. I guess this is the kind of game that's only as fun as your creativity is big.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall fun

posted by gamer1725 (SUGAR RUN, PA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I got this game and I can't stop playing it...lots of fun...

Pros.

u can use your imagination and create thigs to help you save the world from darkness.

Cons.

Levels VERY challenging

Good game if you like a challenge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse