Rent Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors for Wii
view large frontback

Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

1484 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by Gamer10203 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I ordered the game and had to wait a week to get it and then i got a disc with a huge cut from the center to 1/4 the way out. It won't play more than the opening scene that tells of the mask.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Average

posted by Tommicter917 (MARGATE, FL) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I remember a few years ago, i looked at this game and it looked fun. Honestly it wasn't as bad as everyone says.

First off, i like that they incorporated the wii controls. It reminded me off those really bad arcade motion games, but done right with fluent controls.

Next off, it was an easy game that anybody could pick up and play. simple and easy yet entertaining is what they went for.

The downfall of this game is its OBNOXIOUS LINEAR GAMEPLAY. It was a meant to keep it easy, but if they added open world elements and a random battle encounter the game wouldve turned out in a much better way.

Overall, not a bad game just not executed in a good fashion either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweetness & All That Good Stuff.

posted by shiftergs (SAN JACINTO, CA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This game is pretty awesome, it really makes use of the Wii controllers, well the main controller anyways. The game is unlike other Dragonquests, the story is simplified to a small kingdom instead of the world, which is a nice turn of pace. The party members you choose from and their skills they build can be useful in battle, but not really too big a deal unless heal for boss or farming. Speaking of farming, that takes awhile but its not necessary.

Upgrading weapons are easy as the items are commonly picked up. Re-doing dungeons after you reach a higher level and getting a better score in the dungeon profits much with better item drops and so forth.

Voice acting is kind of iffy but its not a big deal. Character designs are pretty cool, and I like how you can have one of the companions (party members) actually say your name, its cool.

With how you swing the sword as if you were actually holding it, the exciting story, the fun characters, the humor, the decent graphics, and the beautiful music; this is one game you must try. If you want a Wii RPG then this is it. Its short, but sweet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool.

posted by psuperman100 (AURORA, CO) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is very fun. If you come into this game expecting something like Dragon Quest IX, it won't be fun. It is basically a rail swordfighter. In first-person. If you expected this or something like it, youll have a great time. If not, don't rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak!

posted by Stenzel (GARDEN CITY, MN) May 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Coming from SQ. Enix, you would expect a decent game. This game is not that. First, the movement of the character is limited and difficult... you use the D-pad rather then the Nun-chuk, enough said. Your character walks in a straight line and runs in to monsters. You have to swing the Wii mote in different directions to kill them, which can be fun, yet becomes very repetitive after a few fights. After playing other Dragon Quest games, I expected more from this game... I was wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by Russman286 (SURPRISE, AZ) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I know that this game got an "okay" rating, but I give it a 2. The controls take no advantage of the wii system other than the pointer. The sword controls are poor, and very un-accurate. Moving is also difficult, no use of the nunchuck, you have to move via up, down. left, right. thank goodness for Gamefly, I'd be mad if I wasted 20 bucks on this, or more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really really short game

posted by JRSYSLNGR (TONAWANDA, NY) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this game was wayyyyy too short, r u kidding me? only 8 chapters? i was a huge fan of the previous dragonquest game for ps2- the cursed king, that game was phenomenal and very under rated, such a great game, i was so excited when i heard that they were making this game for the Wii and it was soooo short that this entire game is equal to about one of the chapters in the cursed king... ya its that short!! so bad, so disappointed, oh well, i guess i can always play the old one for ps2 again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dragon quest swords: The masked queen...

posted by benawallac (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Not a bad game. Sword play is a little tricky at times. I wouldn't say it was the best rgp ive ever played but it has a special place in my heart. My bigest "beef" with it is, its to darn short! I managed to beat it in like 14 hours, and that was taking my sweet time. over all I think its a game that should be rented and not bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun game

posted by 2tarostiel (MENIFEE, CA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

very fun game.. my kids and I really enjoyed this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon Quest Swords: Squire or Knight?

posted by vg2007 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

I'm not really much of a Dragon Quest fan, and this is probably the first Dragon Quest game I ever played. But the creative gameplay and battle system peaked my interest. So I thought I should try this game. After all, it is made by Square Enix!

Storyline: The title explains it all. You play as a young warrior ready to become a man and a knight of Avalonia. It has been five years since peace has returned to Avalonia. During your quest of knighthood, you have been sucked into a chaotic ordeal which involves the ressurection the Deathbringer. You must stop the ressurection of the Deathbringer and the destruction of Avalonia that nearly happened five years ago.

Gameplay: The game is in first person, and you control only using the Wiimote. You use the arrows to move left, right, or back, and the B button to move forward. It's really hard to control using such small controls, and I wish they allowed a Nunchuck attachment.

During battle, it gets really fun. Using the Wiimote, you swing left, right, up, down, or diagonally in order to strike your sword. You use the B button to take your shield out to block attacks. You use the A button to set a focal point. It's not required, but it makes it better to strike down your enemies faster and more accurate.

Eventually, after striking enough enemies and defending yourself, you'll earn enough percentages to conjure up a Master Stroke. This depends on which sword you're using.

Your party members (which is only three members) are controlled by computer AI and can only perform spells to either heal you, increase your defense and attack, or damage enemies.

Audio: The voice acting is surprisingly amazing, but the music in the game is not that catchy and is too medieval.

All in all, Dragon Quest Swords is really worth the rent but not the buy. If you're a Dragon Quest fan, do not expect much. If you own a Wii, this may be an excellent RPG to start off with, and a great introduction to the world of Dragon Quest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for a quick weekend play

posted by bigjt2 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Most of what you read on other reviews is true. This is a very, very stripped-down RPG. Nonetheless, I found the gameplay itself to be pretty fun. I got through the whole thing in about ten hours, but it was an enjoyable ten hours. Just make sure you have the right expectation if you rent it. This is quick, good, laid-back fun, not an immersive, fifty-plus hour RPG experience. Treat it as such and you should enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Straight and Easy

posted by Shalograve (DANIEL ISLAND, SC) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Short and Sweet:

Good:
1. Once you get the controller grip down (grab it lower than normal), the controls work surprisingly well.

2. Gear is easily attainable by revisiting areas you have previously beaten.

Bad:

1. Very linear game play

2. Easy game that is easily beaten. Takes time to complete 100%, but first time through can be done quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game!

posted by konquererz (ANDERSON, IN) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Maybe its because I'm an old softy and like the older games. This remake brings back memories. Fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Change the names to protect the innocent

posted by db45817 (BLUFFTON, OH) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I am sorry to all looking for a good or even ok RPG for this is not it. If the game was not named Dragon quest and they did not have Claymore as a main person in the game it would not be all that bad over all. But to have this as part of the Quest library is sad.

The controls are better I think then alot of the others have said but after awhile your arm grows tired and it is hard to be as accurate as you need to be. But when you first start it is easy to pick up the point, slash, and defend it takes to get through the game.

The acting and graphics are a good bit above average, but in an RPG I guess I am not as worried about that as I am game play. One word SHORT. I got it done in less then ten hours zzzzzzz. If you like walk forward hack and slash it is an 8 but as an RPG 3. Better luck next time :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Frustrating controls, unpolished potential

posted by sdgamer (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

This game is actually based off a standalone game released only in Japan, which is infinitely better than this weakly executed imitation. The biggest flaw with this game is its controls, which don't work the way you'd think and were clearly a lazy afterthought tacked on. The controls for this game completely cripple gameplay because almost the entire challenge of the game becomes struggling with the controls and getting your actions to actually register.

Unlike the original game this is based on where you can simply swing your sword left/right high/low, you literally have to aim your Wiimote at the screen to pick your "target" and then perform a swing. This two step action to simply swing a sword makes no sense when almost the entire game is about swinging your sword!

It's quite awkward that immediately after pointing your Wiimote you must slide it to the side. If that weren't bad enough, the game fails to recognize your command half the time.

Also, you cannot "swing" your sword as the game repeatedly reminds you of in the beginning. You must "slide" your Wiimote left and right to perform a horizontal slash, and "slide" your Wiimote top to bottom for a downward slash. Wiimote is pointless. The original game had no such issue. Your shield is controlled by pointing at the screen, which was done much better in the original.

This game comes down to a button mash fest because of flawed design, and you have to perform two actions to make one targeted attack. You need to do targeted attacks because one targeted attack can do more damaged than two or three default attacks (which cross the center of the screen). In other words, simply swinging at default might hit one enemy when a targeted attack will hit three. Once you target though it's a mash fest until you or the enemy dies. Oh and an occasional block.

The dialogue, weak story, and inconsistent graphics could be overlooked if the game didn't spend so much time on them. Just let me fight like the original

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrible, computer style movements

posted by Link305 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I didnt like it. It feels like I am playing an old RPG game from the 90's. The fighting is the best part. Everything else was just not worth my time keeping around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Fantasy Arcade Game w/ RPG Elements

posted by BydoEmpire (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Dragon Quest Swords succeeds as an arcade game with RPG elements. The slashing controls are well-executed, the presentation is good, and the game is simply fun to play.

You embark on a typical fantasy quest to save the kingdom from an ancient evil, along the way powering up your weapons and armor and levelling up yourself and your allies. There are townspeople to talk to, and shops to buy from, but the RPG elements are very light. There isn't anything to really expore, and there aren't many choices. You can move freely about the town, but once on the missions (which are replayable for score and bonus items), you can only move forward and backwards - it's almost a rail shooter in this aspect. When you reach the end of each area, you fight a boss, some plot is revealed, and the next area opens up.

This is a game about combat, not exploration, and fortunately the combat is executed very well. You can slash horizontally, vertically, diagonally, or you can stab. These are all ready very accurately. Additionally, you can target a place on the screen (useful, for example, if a group of bats line up vertically on the right side of the screen), and you can use your shield by holding B. When a meter builds up after repeated attacks, you can use your "master stroke" ability which deals heavy damage by charging your swing (rotate the wiimote, draw an infinity symbol, etc). This all works well, and is quite fun.

The graphics are light-hearted an well-executed, with a smooth framerate and some interesting environments. The audio features a surprising amount of voice acting, which is actually good, but some of the companion characters' quips get annoying when they're played over and over.

If you're looking for an RPG, look elsewhere. But if you want something akin to a light-hearted, fantasy-themed House of the Dead this is a good deal at the now-reduced price.

I give the game a B+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun 10 hours

posted by Foxfeather (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

I've been a DQ fan since the first one on the NES. This one was another nice installment of nostalgia, with the major difference of the 1st person view and using the Wii remote as a sword. Overall, I enjoyed the 10 hours I spent with the game (and there's more, if you want to grind and max out all weapons, or get rare bonuses or S-rank missions...) The sword strikes worked 75% of the time, and the rest of the time got a little finicky; I'd slash horizontally and it'd say it was diagonal, or -- worse! -- up and down. But this generally didn't interfere too much, and with enemy targeting, fairly renders the 'misinterpreting' a moot point. Overall, a pretty fun rental with the expected DQ feel. I'd give it a 7.5 if GameFly would let me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I was looking forward to this game i love the dragon quest on the 64 but you cant go but one way cant really look at what is in the world and way to easy for what i played. I didn't like it and was waiting to I played it for about 8hrs but could never get into the sorry voice acting and the lenear part of the game you have to go where the game want you to go

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Large disappointment.

posted by Papercaper (DELTONA, FL) Jan 29, 2009

Member since May 2007

The game play started out well enough and it had a story which drove the game play which I find lacking in alot of RPG style games these days. I have no clue how people can play the games without them.

The very first time the game allowed me to move for myself and I found that I was not moving my character through the rooms but playing some first person rpg odd ball experience. I was extremely disappointed.

It had started out so strong and then it gave me this weird system that just felt completely wrong and out of place. If they had made you control the character and then the battle system was the sword system. Then it would have been a way better game.

I felt like I was playing Mist or something along those lines. I just felt odd, and the way the backgrounds moved in the first person viewpoint was enough to make the average person motion sick.

All and all it was a solid battle system and the voice acting was good. The sounds where classic and I enjoyed the music. However I find myself unable to continue the game as I would just be frustrated and annoyed the entire time by the bad view and weird controls for walking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wii sucks

posted by supdawg56 (UKIAH, CA) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

if the game was on a different system it might be ok. The wii controls are frustrating, after the first hour you stop playing so you can put ice on your rist because of the number of strikes you have to make just to get one to actually hit the monster

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun but not accurate enough.

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jan 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

Was fun to play and swing the sword to kill the monsters but would frequently not accurately read your slashes. I also was expecting a little more of a RPG element to where you would play with several characters and set different attacks but game was played from first person perspective and involves a lot of swinging the wii mote around. I also didn't like that you had to move with the direction buttons on the wii mote would have been much easier if you could have attached nunchuck. Also, the multiplayer games in it were not that entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for someone new to this Game

posted by tpool90 (ANTIGO, WI) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game is good for a teen or even a older person. it is simpler than the ps2 Dragon Quest 8. If you have played dq8 then this game would not be that much interesting to you. But if you are new to this game it is very cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon Quest Swords review

posted by Xreaper (LARAMIE, WY) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This is a game with a long title, of which pretty much tells you what is going to happen.
It's a fine game with a good battle style. It is closely role playing, but actually, the battle style requires you to swing your Wii remote and doesn't take turns. At first, it is quite enjoyable. But then it gets old.
After dying, you notice that the battles are seemingly preset.
Also, out in a field, the game is very straightforward. Occasionally, though, you come across a turn left/right choice.
There isn't much leveling up. To go out into the field, it must be in the storyline. This way, you cannot level up. Though, you can just keep killing yourself, for when you die, you return to your village and lose half of the gold in your pockets. To save gold, you can put it in a treasure chest in your home, but only 1,000G can be inserted each time.
Though, the game has an interesting storyline. Of course, the title gives it away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

to short

posted by mykasam1 (NEW PRAGUE, MN) Nov 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

this game was fun but way to short, didnt take long to complete

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse