Rent Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors for Wii
view large frontback

Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

1481 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A mask, a tower and not much else

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Mar 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

38 out of 42 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The general lack of RPGs on the Wii likely led to the anticipation of Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors. And why wouldn't it? It comes from Square Enix, the creative force behind Final Fantasy. And throughout it's long history, Dragon Quest has had a reputation for long, enjoyable adventures. Unfortunately, this is Dragon Quest Swords, which apparently meant the company had to change the whole formula around. Let me make this clear: if you are expecting an experience similar to previous games in the series, you'll be sorely disappointed. This game focuses solely on swordplay. You'll walk, in a straight line, through eight levels. Occasionally, you'll run across a series of enemies, almost as if you're playing a light gun game, but with a sword. You can swing or stab, holding a shield up to thwart enemy attacks. Some attacks can be returned and your sword position can be changed by pointing at the screen and pressing A. You don't even use the nunchuk. The few movement controls you have are mapped to the D-Pad. One of the biggest problems with the game design is the limited movement. It is one step away from an one-rail shooter, the occasional fork in the road being the only exploration in the game. The biggest problem with the gameplay is that you will be swinging left and right, but then have to point with some accuracy at the screen soon after. This can be imprecise and annoying. All that said, the swordplay proves to be enjoyable for the most part. It just could have used more depth... and length. This is about a 10 hour game, a far cry from other games in the series which reportedly lasted up to 80. As I said, this is a very different kind of game. For what it is, it's not bad. I just feel deflated because I expected so much more from the developer and the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A swordplaying game that works!

posted by MegaDudeX (LODI, NJ) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Admittedly, when I first saw this game, I was a bit apprehensive about how it would turn out. On the one hand, using the Wii Remote as a sword has been what people have wanted since the system was first announced. On the other, other games using that function were generally less than impressive, due to clumsy interface. However, the battles in DQS are actually where the game shines- it just seems to be lacking in it's one and only other feature, the town.

The game is a hybrid of classic RPG and a more modern First Person Slasher style play. When entering one of several stages in the game, your character (and in some cases, paired up with a partner) will be placed onto a set path, which you navigate, occasionally running into battles with classic Dragon Quest monsters, such as slimes.

Rather than using standard turn based menu combat, DQS utilizes a real time swordplay element, in which you set a focal point on the screen to help guide your blade, and then you begin to slash and thrust at your enemies. At the same time, you can switch from your sword to your shield in order to block oncoming enemy attacks. Battle also makes players develop a sense of timing, as many attacks from enemies can be reflected back at them, and some enemies are only vulnerable for a set amount of time after performing an action. The boss battles are where the battle system truly shines, as there's much more strategy involved than in normal battles.

Aside from fighting, though, there isn't all that much to do. There is a tempering system, in which item you collect in the stages can be used to create stronger weapons to fight with, and a little mini-game stand, but I didn't enjoy the mini-games, and not everyone will want to temper blades. Beyond those two, there's basic merchants and a save point. That's all there is.

Really, though, if the battles sound appealing to you, the town will hardly be bothersome. I highly recommend this game- I was surprised by the quality, and you may be too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Person "shooter" RPG I can enjoy!

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

And I can say that this is more interesting than some of the other, more in depth games.

This is NOT like the other Dragon Quests/Warriors that we have all come to know and love, this is a little different and the controls are a bit awkward.

Gameplay is pretty basic, use the directional pad to move and turn, press the B button to run and the A button to interact with people and search areas. It is pretty simple to search and interact as the red arrow pops over their heads or over the items that you can investigate. It is pretty much on a rail for battles, though through the town and castle it is open for free movement.

Battles are resolved with the flicks and thrusts of the Wiimote. It takes a little getting used to and I have to admit that even after a few hours, there are times that I am just sort of swinging as wild as I can in some places. Blocking attacks is controlled with the B button which brings up your shield. The nice feature about this is that the shield degrades if it is hit on the edges, so it really forces you to be a bit more precise with your blocks.

Story is engaging but not "original" in any means. Sure, the characters might be a little stale as well, but they are voiced well and the actors have certainly given these characters some... well, character. The plot has some depth to it as well, but there is a lot of reading involved so if you don't like text, then this isn't for you either.

Mini-games are another interesting event as they certainly use the Wiimote well. They did a great job here, even if some of them are a bit... interesting. Nothing like playing mini-games with a hulking warrior in drag...

All in all, this is a fun game for the Wii. If you aren't into this sort of thing then I STRONGLY advise you to stay away because you will not enjoy it. If you enjoy this sort of thing then don't hesitate to get your hands on this and give it a go!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun and addictive.

posted by kuldotha (OMAHA, TX) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

iv been waiting a while for this game and i knew it'd be different, but this is like the resident evil umbrella chronicles....i expected a first person shooter for resident evil but with puzzle element intact....instead we got house of the dead resident evil style.....similar for this expected a first person adventure game....not a walk along hack and slash!

despite this it is still incredibly fun and i found that with the focal point feature the hits are very precise and i think they finally nailed it giving us a good wii sword game at last!

red steel and samurai warriors katana were huge let downs, but this ones pretty darn fun.

story line reminds me of dragon quest 8 in its unoriginality. i found this games fun actually came from its sword action.

and heres the downside.....its freaking short as heck. it honestly took me less then 2 days to beat this game, and that was what let me down severely.

overall id say rent this game,wouldant entirely advise buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A disappointing knockoff of the main DQ series.

posted by lolzerpops (MOUNTAIN IRON, MN) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game showed a lot of promise when I had initially started it up. Lots of fanfare and epic music, beautiful graphics, the usual Toriyama character designs. When I start playing it, it's a different thing entirely. For starters, my biggest peeve about this game: When you're walking around in the game's ONE town, you have to use the Wii Remote's D-Pad, you can't use the nunchuk. The D-Pad is absolutely atrocious for this purpose, and to run, you must press one of the "number" buttons (I forget which) along with the D-Pad, which strains your fingers quite a bit. It doesn't help that the town itself is composed of really blocky and simplistic buildings, though through playing the game you know the engine and the developers are capable of much, much more. The voice acting is superb, but even that can't save the horrible lines/story the characters are given to work with. Most of the talking you do is with your father, or with whoever the random second party member is, and it's all idle chatter except the occasional objective. On to the gameplay. Basically, it's like this. Go to the one town the game has, buy some stuff, talk to your dad and various others, get a mission, get your NPC party member (useless), and go talk to the town guard, which lets you go to one of the game's "levels". When you finally make it out to these areas, you notice they look WAY better than the town does. Anyway, the way you go through these areas is basically thus. Walk forward (no other direction possible), then proceed to fight the enemies on the way. This is accomplished by pointing the wii remote at the focal point, clicking it, and then swinging it in the proper direction. This is very clunky. You're also able to guard with a shield, so little spots light up on the screen that you must move your shield to to guard attacks. Your shield breaks slowly from attacks. There are forks in the road, too. If you take the wrong one, you must start the area over again. That's all there is here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lots of pain, no gain

posted by VGking (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible, basically you will play through about ten hours a randomly swinging the wiimote hoping you hit something. While you can aim, the shield makes it nearly useless. Another problem is the game doesn’t read slashes very well, and rarely will you be lucky enough to do a trust attack. The game play is repetitive, slash then block, over and over again. My last complaint is how liner the game is, there's practically no exploration to be had here. The saving graces for this game is it won't take long to finish, only about ten hours, and the graphics look great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Square shafts Nintendo again

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Since 1997 when square released Final Fantasy 7 on the Playstation instead of the N64, square has been treating Nintendo as a second rate company. This is by no means a bad game but it doesn't compare to the sweet games they put on the other systems. DQS has great voice acting and a decent plot. Look else where if you would like a good a deep RPG.
The play control is awful. Why would they not use the nun chuck. Instead you have to use the D-Pad on the wii remote. It become uncomfortable to hold it down to long. I didn't find the sensor to read my swings very accurately. I hope that Square will show Nintendo more love in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

one of the better wii games

posted by tmavis (MANASQUAN, NJ) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well at first the controls were a little strange as far as moving but it only takes a little while to get used to. I dont understand why they didnt use the joystick to move. sum video games company can really be absolutely stupid sumtimes. I think a monkey may be creating games sometimes. Other than that the game is fun. I recommend a rent for whoever is thinking about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I am not a fan of RPG but this is actually good!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Feb 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The only complaints that I have is that you move with the D-pad instead of the nunchuck and that you can't realy tell how far the enemey is (like in Samurai Warriors). The story is basic and the graphics are pleasent. There are quite a bit to do and despite a few downfalls Square Enix did another good job (afterall RPG's is ther specialty). RENT IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same ole Wii

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It seems that regaurdless of the game, or the promise it holds, if its on the Wii, it dissapoints. For DQ we are talking poor graphics, and worse sensless controls. Typical. You'll end up waving your arm thro the air, in an effort to hit the badies, and it seems, you'll have little or not control over where your attacks land on the screen. About the time you head out on your second(the first one is more of a tutorial) adventure, you will be over run, and feeling powerless to fight back. It made my 12 yr old so mad he threw the Mote. Unfourtunatly this is an increasinly problem on the Wii. Where is the control? I am an avid gamer, I own everything from the Atari2600/C64 days to today. I just don't get the Wii. For a system so popular, the games are horrible. It has VERY poor controls. I can count the good games on one hand. Oh well, rent this game if you have fooled yourself into thinking the wii controls are fun. Miss that Baddie? Over steer that last turn? Run into the wall? Hey maybe the controls are fine, maybe your a bad gamer? Yea me either. Something has to give. Wii controls = bad. DQ is a great example of that. The game could have been good, I can live with poor graphics, poor controls I can't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by Gamer10203 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I ordered the game and had to wait a week to get it and then i got a disc with a huge cut from the center to 1/4 the way out. It won't play more than the opening scene that tells of the mask.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Average

posted by Tommicter917 (MARGATE, FL) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I remember a few years ago, i looked at this game and it looked fun. Honestly it wasn't as bad as everyone says.

First off, i like that they incorporated the wii controls. It reminded me off those really bad arcade motion games, but done right with fluent controls.

Next off, it was an easy game that anybody could pick up and play. simple and easy yet entertaining is what they went for.

The downfall of this game is its OBNOXIOUS LINEAR GAMEPLAY. It was a meant to keep it easy, but if they added open world elements and a random battle encounter the game wouldve turned out in a much better way.

Overall, not a bad game just not executed in a good fashion either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweetness & All That Good Stuff.

posted by shiftergs (SAN JACINTO, CA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This game is pretty awesome, it really makes use of the Wii controllers, well the main controller anyways. The game is unlike other Dragonquests, the story is simplified to a small kingdom instead of the world, which is a nice turn of pace. The party members you choose from and their skills they build can be useful in battle, but not really too big a deal unless heal for boss or farming. Speaking of farming, that takes awhile but its not necessary.

Upgrading weapons are easy as the items are commonly picked up. Re-doing dungeons after you reach a higher level and getting a better score in the dungeon profits much with better item drops and so forth.

Voice acting is kind of iffy but its not a big deal. Character designs are pretty cool, and I like how you can have one of the companions (party members) actually say your name, its cool.

With how you swing the sword as if you were actually holding it, the exciting story, the fun characters, the humor, the decent graphics, and the beautiful music; this is one game you must try. If you want a Wii RPG then this is it. Its short, but sweet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool.

posted by psuperman100 (AURORA, CO) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is very fun. If you come into this game expecting something like Dragon Quest IX, it won't be fun. It is basically a rail swordfighter. In first-person. If you expected this or something like it, youll have a great time. If not, don't rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak!

posted by Stenzel (GARDEN CITY, MN) May 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Coming from SQ. Enix, you would expect a decent game. This game is not that. First, the movement of the character is limited and difficult... you use the D-pad rather then the Nun-chuk, enough said. Your character walks in a straight line and runs in to monsters. You have to swing the Wii mote in different directions to kill them, which can be fun, yet becomes very repetitive after a few fights. After playing other Dragon Quest games, I expected more from this game... I was wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by Russman286 (SURPRISE, AZ) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I know that this game got an "okay" rating, but I give it a 2. The controls take no advantage of the wii system other than the pointer. The sword controls are poor, and very un-accurate. Moving is also difficult, no use of the nunchuck, you have to move via up, down. left, right. thank goodness for Gamefly, I'd be mad if I wasted 20 bucks on this, or more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really really short game

posted by JRSYSLNGR (TONAWANDA, NY) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this game was wayyyyy too short, r u kidding me? only 8 chapters? i was a huge fan of the previous dragonquest game for ps2- the cursed king, that game was phenomenal and very under rated, such a great game, i was so excited when i heard that they were making this game for the Wii and it was soooo short that this entire game is equal to about one of the chapters in the cursed king... ya its that short!! so bad, so disappointed, oh well, i guess i can always play the old one for ps2 again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dragon quest swords: The masked queen...

posted by benawallac (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Not a bad game. Sword play is a little tricky at times. I wouldn't say it was the best rgp ive ever played but it has a special place in my heart. My bigest "beef" with it is, its to darn short! I managed to beat it in like 14 hours, and that was taking my sweet time. over all I think its a game that should be rented and not bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun game

posted by 2tarostiel (MENIFEE, CA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

very fun game.. my kids and I really enjoyed this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon Quest Swords: Squire or Knight?

posted by vg2007 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

I'm not really much of a Dragon Quest fan, and this is probably the first Dragon Quest game I ever played. But the creative gameplay and battle system peaked my interest. So I thought I should try this game. After all, it is made by Square Enix!

Storyline: The title explains it all. You play as a young warrior ready to become a man and a knight of Avalonia. It has been five years since peace has returned to Avalonia. During your quest of knighthood, you have been sucked into a chaotic ordeal which involves the ressurection the Deathbringer. You must stop the ressurection of the Deathbringer and the destruction of Avalonia that nearly happened five years ago.

Gameplay: The game is in first person, and you control only using the Wiimote. You use the arrows to move left, right, or back, and the B button to move forward. It's really hard to control using such small controls, and I wish they allowed a Nunchuck attachment.

During battle, it gets really fun. Using the Wiimote, you swing left, right, up, down, or diagonally in order to strike your sword. You use the B button to take your shield out to block attacks. You use the A button to set a focal point. It's not required, but it makes it better to strike down your enemies faster and more accurate.

Eventually, after striking enough enemies and defending yourself, you'll earn enough percentages to conjure up a Master Stroke. This depends on which sword you're using.

Your party members (which is only three members) are controlled by computer AI and can only perform spells to either heal you, increase your defense and attack, or damage enemies.

Audio: The voice acting is surprisingly amazing, but the music in the game is not that catchy and is too medieval.

All in all, Dragon Quest Swords is really worth the rent but not the buy. If you're a Dragon Quest fan, do not expect much. If you own a Wii, this may be an excellent RPG to start off with, and a great introduction to the world of Dragon Quest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for a quick weekend play

posted by bigjt2 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Most of what you read on other reviews is true. This is a very, very stripped-down RPG. Nonetheless, I found the gameplay itself to be pretty fun. I got through the whole thing in about ten hours, but it was an enjoyable ten hours. Just make sure you have the right expectation if you rent it. This is quick, good, laid-back fun, not an immersive, fifty-plus hour RPG experience. Treat it as such and you should enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Straight and Easy

posted by Shalograve (DANIEL ISLAND, SC) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Short and Sweet:

Good:
1. Once you get the controller grip down (grab it lower than normal), the controls work surprisingly well.

2. Gear is easily attainable by revisiting areas you have previously beaten.

Bad:

1. Very linear game play

2. Easy game that is easily beaten. Takes time to complete 100%, but first time through can be done quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game!

posted by konquererz (ANDERSON, IN) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Maybe its because I'm an old softy and like the older games. This remake brings back memories. Fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Change the names to protect the innocent

posted by db45817 (BLUFFTON, OH) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I am sorry to all looking for a good or even ok RPG for this is not it. If the game was not named Dragon quest and they did not have Claymore as a main person in the game it would not be all that bad over all. But to have this as part of the Quest library is sad.

The controls are better I think then alot of the others have said but after awhile your arm grows tired and it is hard to be as accurate as you need to be. But when you first start it is easy to pick up the point, slash, and defend it takes to get through the game.

The acting and graphics are a good bit above average, but in an RPG I guess I am not as worried about that as I am game play. One word SHORT. I got it done in less then ten hours zzzzzzz. If you like walk forward hack and slash it is an 8 but as an RPG 3. Better luck next time :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Frustrating controls, unpolished potential

posted by sdgamer (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

This game is actually based off a standalone game released only in Japan, which is infinitely better than this weakly executed imitation. The biggest flaw with this game is its controls, which don't work the way you'd think and were clearly a lazy afterthought tacked on. The controls for this game completely cripple gameplay because almost the entire challenge of the game becomes struggling with the controls and getting your actions to actually register.

Unlike the original game this is based on where you can simply swing your sword left/right high/low, you literally have to aim your Wiimote at the screen to pick your "target" and then perform a swing. This two step action to simply swing a sword makes no sense when almost the entire game is about swinging your sword!

It's quite awkward that immediately after pointing your Wiimote you must slide it to the side. If that weren't bad enough, the game fails to recognize your command half the time.

Also, you cannot "swing" your sword as the game repeatedly reminds you of in the beginning. You must "slide" your Wiimote left and right to perform a horizontal slash, and "slide" your Wiimote top to bottom for a downward slash. Wiimote is pointless. The original game had no such issue. Your shield is controlled by pointing at the screen, which was done much better in the original.

This game comes down to a button mash fest because of flawed design, and you have to perform two actions to make one targeted attack. You need to do targeted attacks because one targeted attack can do more damaged than two or three default attacks (which cross the center of the screen). In other words, simply swinging at default might hit one enemy when a targeted attack will hit three. Once you target though it's a mash fest until you or the enemy dies. Oh and an occasional block.

The dialogue, weak story, and inconsistent graphics could be overlooked if the game didn't spend so much time on them. Just let me fight like the original

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse