Rent Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors for Wii
view large frontback

Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

1483 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by Gamer10203 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I ordered the game and had to wait a week to get it and then i got a disc with a huge cut from the center to 1/4 the way out. It won't play more than the opening scene that tells of the mask.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Change the names to protect the innocent

posted by db45817 (BLUFFTON, OH) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I am sorry to all looking for a good or even ok RPG for this is not it. If the game was not named Dragon quest and they did not have Claymore as a main person in the game it would not be all that bad over all. But to have this as part of the Quest library is sad.

The controls are better I think then alot of the others have said but after awhile your arm grows tired and it is hard to be as accurate as you need to be. But when you first start it is easy to pick up the point, slash, and defend it takes to get through the game.

The acting and graphics are a good bit above average, but in an RPG I guess I am not as worried about that as I am game play. One word SHORT. I got it done in less then ten hours zzzzzzz. If you like walk forward hack and slash it is an 8 but as an RPG 3. Better luck next time :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Large disappointment.

posted by Papercaper (DELTONA, FL) Jan 29, 2009

Member since May 2007

The game play started out well enough and it had a story which drove the game play which I find lacking in alot of RPG style games these days. I have no clue how people can play the games without them.

The very first time the game allowed me to move for myself and I found that I was not moving my character through the rooms but playing some first person rpg odd ball experience. I was extremely disappointed.

It had started out so strong and then it gave me this weird system that just felt completely wrong and out of place. If they had made you control the character and then the battle system was the sword system. Then it would have been a way better game.

I felt like I was playing Mist or something along those lines. I just felt odd, and the way the backgrounds moved in the first person viewpoint was enough to make the average person motion sick.

All and all it was a solid battle system and the voice acting was good. The sounds where classic and I enjoyed the music. However I find myself unable to continue the game as I would just be frustrated and annoyed the entire time by the bad view and weird controls for walking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Took a decent game and took a Wii Dump on it

posted by NgBrown (daytona beach, FL) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I have always liked the dragon quest games because they were always old school rpg. This game is so different it shouldn't even have the same name. instead of playing traditional rpg style pick my combat i found myself swinging away at the screen and pointing to block. Not what i wanted from this game, and Not a game i would want to play anyway.

It's Not even Remotly the same Consept as the old dragon quest games

BOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Game Was Broken

posted by stewrut (RALEIGH, NC) Apr 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The game dragon sowrds had a chiped side and was warped i wasnt hapyy about that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by Russman286 (SURPRISE, AZ) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I know that this game got an "okay" rating, but I give it a 2. The controls take no advantage of the wii system other than the pointer. The sword controls are poor, and very un-accurate. Moving is also difficult, no use of the nunchuck, you have to move via up, down. left, right. thank goodness for Gamefly, I'd be mad if I wasted 20 bucks on this, or more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Frustrating controls, unpolished potential

posted by sdgamer (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

This game is actually based off a standalone game released only in Japan, which is infinitely better than this weakly executed imitation. The biggest flaw with this game is its controls, which don't work the way you'd think and were clearly a lazy afterthought tacked on. The controls for this game completely cripple gameplay because almost the entire challenge of the game becomes struggling with the controls and getting your actions to actually register.

Unlike the original game this is based on where you can simply swing your sword left/right high/low, you literally have to aim your Wiimote at the screen to pick your "target" and then perform a swing. This two step action to simply swing a sword makes no sense when almost the entire game is about swinging your sword!

It's quite awkward that immediately after pointing your Wiimote you must slide it to the side. If that weren't bad enough, the game fails to recognize your command half the time.

Also, you cannot "swing" your sword as the game repeatedly reminds you of in the beginning. You must "slide" your Wiimote left and right to perform a horizontal slash, and "slide" your Wiimote top to bottom for a downward slash. Wiimote is pointless. The original game had no such issue. Your shield is controlled by pointing at the screen, which was done much better in the original.

This game comes down to a button mash fest because of flawed design, and you have to perform two actions to make one targeted attack. You need to do targeted attacks because one targeted attack can do more damaged than two or three default attacks (which cross the center of the screen). In other words, simply swinging at default might hit one enemy when a targeted attack will hit three. Once you target though it's a mash fest until you or the enemy dies. Oh and an occasional block.

The dialogue, weak story, and inconsistent graphics could be overlooked if the game didn't spend so much time on them. Just let me fight like the original

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really really short game

posted by JRSYSLNGR (TONAWANDA, NY) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this game was wayyyyy too short, r u kidding me? only 8 chapters? i was a huge fan of the previous dragonquest game for ps2- the cursed king, that game was phenomenal and very under rated, such a great game, i was so excited when i heard that they were making this game for the Wii and it was soooo short that this entire game is equal to about one of the chapters in the cursed king... ya its that short!! so bad, so disappointed, oh well, i guess i can always play the old one for ps2 again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Infantile, with no freedom of play

posted by MalcolmO (NAVARRE, FL) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

First and foremost: If you like RPG's avoid this title like the plague.

The "dungeons" are all track-based, meaning that you can either move forward, or backward. No exploration. No secrets. No freedom. No sidequests. In other words, it's basically Pokemon Snap with pre-determined battles in the exact same spots every time.

Beyond that, don't play this game if you have a modicum of maturity. Cartoon-ish villains are frankly infantile, and the glaring plotholes in the story are large enough to drive a Buick through. But what's even worse is that the game itself points out these flaws pretty frequently, and attempts to laugh them off.

Considering what Square-Enix is capable of, I am left to believe that this game was designed for 6 year-olds who don't look for character, story, depth, or gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Painful, Scripted, and Painfully Scripted

posted by MoodyCat (HILLSBORO, OR) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

In this case, the "RPG" category stands for "Rail Playing Game." Your party, or rather, pair of adventurers wanders around on rails (able to avoid environmental hazards as well as any sense of discovery) wandering into the exact same scripted encounters at the exact same spots every time you revisit an area. Can't beat it? Go back to a previous area and replay it (and replay it and replay it) to level up a bunch of times and then try again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A disappointing knockoff of the main DQ series.

posted by lolzerpops (MOUNTAIN IRON, MN) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game showed a lot of promise when I had initially started it up. Lots of fanfare and epic music, beautiful graphics, the usual Toriyama character designs. When I start playing it, it's a different thing entirely. For starters, my biggest peeve about this game: When you're walking around in the game's ONE town, you have to use the Wii Remote's D-Pad, you can't use the nunchuk. The D-Pad is absolutely atrocious for this purpose, and to run, you must press one of the "number" buttons (I forget which) along with the D-Pad, which strains your fingers quite a bit. It doesn't help that the town itself is composed of really blocky and simplistic buildings, though through playing the game you know the engine and the developers are capable of much, much more. The voice acting is superb, but even that can't save the horrible lines/story the characters are given to work with. Most of the talking you do is with your father, or with whoever the random second party member is, and it's all idle chatter except the occasional objective. On to the gameplay. Basically, it's like this. Go to the one town the game has, buy some stuff, talk to your dad and various others, get a mission, get your NPC party member (useless), and go talk to the town guard, which lets you go to one of the game's "levels". When you finally make it out to these areas, you notice they look WAY better than the town does. Anyway, the way you go through these areas is basically thus. Walk forward (no other direction possible), then proceed to fight the enemies on the way. This is accomplished by pointing the wii remote at the focal point, clicking it, and then swinging it in the proper direction. This is very clunky. You're also able to guard with a shield, so little spots light up on the screen that you must move your shield to to guard attacks. Your shield breaks slowly from attacks. There are forks in the road, too. If you take the wrong one, you must start the area over again. That's all there is here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak!

posted by Stenzel (GARDEN CITY, MN) May 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Coming from SQ. Enix, you would expect a decent game. This game is not that. First, the movement of the character is limited and difficult... you use the D-pad rather then the Nun-chuk, enough said. Your character walks in a straight line and runs in to monsters. You have to swing the Wii mote in different directions to kill them, which can be fun, yet becomes very repetitive after a few fights. After playing other Dragon Quest games, I expected more from this game... I was wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wii sucks

posted by supdawg56 (UKIAH, CA) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

if the game was on a different system it might be ok. The wii controls are frustrating, after the first hour you stop playing so you can put ice on your rist because of the number of strikes you have to make just to get one to actually hit the monster

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive game play, sloppy controls

posted by JimDScott (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I only played the first 3 missions before sending the game back. I found the controls repetitive and uninteresting. There are four basic attacks: horizontal slash, vertical slash, diagonal slash, and thrust. I never could get the thrust to work reliably. The monsters attack in patterns which dictate which type of attack you should use.

The game has the story elements of an RPG, but lacks the skills progression of a real RPG. I advanced to level 12 and received more hit points, but that's it. There's no opportunity to customize your character by picking skills to learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DragonQuest Wii

posted by Zarkera (EDMOND, OK) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

DragonQuest for Wii is unlike any other DragonQuest for more than one reason. The graphics are pretty good and the whole wiimote as a sword was great. But when I actually played it I felt otherwise. It dosen't let you explore the different areas like "Journey of the Cursed King" for PS2. You have to follow a certain path and can't go beyond it. You don't use the nunchuck so it feels like theres not much freedom. And you can't speed up the characters dialougue. For me it was a real let down, so I still prefer Final Fantasy to this particular DragonQuest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lots of pain, no gain

posted by VGking (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible, basically you will play through about ten hours a randomly swinging the wiimote hoping you hit something. While you can aim, the shield makes it nearly useless. Another problem is the game doesn’t read slashes very well, and rarely will you be lucky enough to do a trust attack. The game play is repetitive, slash then block, over and over again. My last complaint is how liner the game is, there's practically no exploration to be had here. The saving graces for this game is it won't take long to finish, only about ten hours, and the graphics look great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same ole Wii

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It seems that regaurdless of the game, or the promise it holds, if its on the Wii, it dissapoints. For DQ we are talking poor graphics, and worse sensless controls. Typical. You'll end up waving your arm thro the air, in an effort to hit the badies, and it seems, you'll have little or not control over where your attacks land on the screen. About the time you head out on your second(the first one is more of a tutorial) adventure, you will be over run, and feeling powerless to fight back. It made my 12 yr old so mad he threw the Mote. Unfourtunatly this is an increasinly problem on the Wii. Where is the control? I am an avid gamer, I own everything from the Atari2600/C64 days to today. I just don't get the Wii. For a system so popular, the games are horrible. It has VERY poor controls. I can count the good games on one hand. Oh well, rent this game if you have fooled yourself into thinking the wii controls are fun. Miss that Baddie? Over steer that last turn? Run into the wall? Hey maybe the controls are fine, maybe your a bad gamer? Yea me either. Something has to give. Wii controls = bad. DQ is a great example of that. The game could have been good, I can live with poor graphics, poor controls I can't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for a quick weekend play

posted by bigjt2 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Most of what you read on other reviews is true. This is a very, very stripped-down RPG. Nonetheless, I found the gameplay itself to be pretty fun. I got through the whole thing in about ten hours, but it was an enjoyable ten hours. Just make sure you have the right expectation if you rent it. This is quick, good, laid-back fun, not an immersive, fifty-plus hour RPG experience. Treat it as such and you should enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrible, computer style movements

posted by Link305 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I didnt like it. It feels like I am playing an old RPG game from the 90's. The fighting is the best part. Everything else was just not worth my time keeping around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I was looking forward to this game i love the dragon quest on the 64 but you cant go but one way cant really look at what is in the world and way to easy for what i played. I didn't like it and was waiting to I played it for about 8hrs but could never get into the sorry voice acting and the lenear part of the game you have to go where the game want you to go

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Little Disappointed

posted by deramo29 (GIBSONTON, FL) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The game play was fun but I found that after only 10 hours of play I was already at the end. Graphics were good and battle system worked well once you get used to it. Could have been more options for weapons and gear. Overall good game if you are new to the WII.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Standards anyone?

posted by Stroud (JOPLIN, MO) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Dragonquest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors was, at first, not a bad game. It had all the necessary components to be a good RPG. Storyline, intrigue, a so-so inventory system, and a few characters to give the game some personality.
However, the storyline starts to dry up after Xiphos is released. Basically, a remake of "oh so many games" that have come before it.
Sound and Graphics are ok, nothing to write home about, but still ok.
The combat system, however, is utterly amazing. From the first sword stroke, to the final Master Technique. I found that the combat system of this game was innovative and "next-gen".
Controls were quite easy to remember and learn. The Wii only has six buttons, but hey, you have to have a controls section for any game review. lol
I would only refer hardcore RPGers to this game, and not gamers who are trying to see if they like them. It would only give RPG's a bad taste for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dragon quest swords: The masked queen...

posted by benawallac (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Not a bad game. Sword play is a little tricky at times. I wouldn't say it was the best rgp ive ever played but it has a special place in my heart. My bigest "beef" with it is, its to darn short! I managed to beat it in like 14 hours, and that was taking my sweet time. over all I think its a game that should be rented and not bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Straight and Easy

posted by Shalograve (DANIEL ISLAND, SC) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Short and Sweet:

Good:
1. Once you get the controller grip down (grab it lower than normal), the controls work surprisingly well.

2. Gear is easily attainable by revisiting areas you have previously beaten.

Bad:

1. Very linear game play

2. Easy game that is easily beaten. Takes time to complete 100%, but first time through can be done quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun but not accurate enough.

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jan 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

Was fun to play and swing the sword to kill the monsters but would frequently not accurately read your slashes. I also was expecting a little more of a RPG element to where you would play with several characters and set different attacks but game was played from first person perspective and involves a lot of swinging the wii mote around. I also didn't like that you had to move with the direction buttons on the wii mote would have been much easier if you could have attached nunchuck. Also, the multiplayer games in it were not that entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse