Rent Dragon Quest IV: Chapters of the Chosen for DS
view large frontback

Dragon Quest IV: Chapters of the Chosen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

703 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

The graphics are great but the accents are thick.

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) Sep 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

If you've played the original, this one is way too easy to level up. I've only been playing it for 14 hours and I've almost finished the 4th chapter. I probably made myself stronger than absolutely necessary for most of the bosses. This game could have used an auto battle option. It would have also been nice to be able to see experience levels in the status menu instead of having to visit the priest. It is nice that the save option is separated from the experience levels(divination).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sam920 from Antelope California

posted by smorri1 (ANTELOPE, CA) Sep 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've never played the original Dragon Quest 4, I think I've just played Dragon Warrior. I think that this remake of Dragon Quest 4 is very nice the story is great, the graphics are outstanding for the DS. The only thing I wish that Square Enix did is have voice acting cut scenes. I liked how you go through 4 chapters with different characters and that they join up with the hero in capter 5. I'm looking forward to Dragon Quest 5 and Dragon Quest 6, also Dragon Quest 9. You did a great job on this game Square Enix, keep up the good work on all these remakes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by RPGruler (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

And to think I thought of selling my DS. DQ IV CotC is an amazing remake of the original and stunned me with the graphics. This is a great game for people who have lost hope in another decent game coming out for the DS. Truely worth playing through at least once. 9.4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a DS RPG remake i could get through

posted by Ascalon (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I guess it's just me, but in games like Final Fantasy III/IV and Chrono Trigger, i always got to the end and stopped just before the final boss. Or in the case of CT, i forgot were to go and just fought this bug monster, i died and then got some silly ending of the world exploding, which is one of many i guess.

Anyway, i really like the fact that this game is broken down into chapters, which i really need in DS game, something that just says "Hey you're making progress in this game!" every time you get to another chapter. One thing that's in this game that you don't see in a lot of games -- especially RPGs, is that you focus on one or two of the 8 characters you play as through the first 2-3 chapters. It makes you care about the characters, and lets you feel each of the characters out so you can have an idea of which guys/girls you'll play with.

The battle system in this game is typical turn based stuff, with each character having their own unique spells and attacks. The graphics are also awesome, they're colorful and pretty much what you'd expect from a dragon quest game. Compared to some other RPGs, this is pretty forgiving, meaning that if you die you basically transport to the last town you visited with a church. Also, you keep your stats too(but you may lose money, i really don't pay attention to that stuff). So you're not going to have one oft hose annoying moments where you're trapped in an impossible battle you can't run from, die, and then start over from wherever the heck you last saved.

Basically this is a really solid RPG that should keep you busy for several hours, if you're looking for a RPG to play on your DS or want to get into dragon quest then i definitely suggest put this game in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK, but not a good plot.

posted by amr050 (SPRING, TX) Jun 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

This game is like any other dragon quest game, but I think the plot was thier worst one. I like how in dragon quest 9 your an angel and make your own companions but this is like dragon quest 5, it chooses the characters for you. and with all these chapters, you cant keep track of all of them untill they unite, which makes thier levels kinda messed up. Other people like these kinda storylines where they get trained seperately, but for me its way easier to balence them all out at one time. When i do dragon quest games I try to balence my teams levels out, but its impossible when your doing 4 different story lines. With that happening, you can only do 1 story line at a time, which eans you do the story line, level him up, and then you move on to the next one. This is why you can't balance out your team untill all of the characters unite,but by then its really hard to do that. My usually strategy is messed up which made it a less likeable dragon quest game. I much rather one huge storyline, instead of multiple storylines. I am a dragon quest lover, but this game was bland and not to my liking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stu Pid

posted by Suckersword (GILBERT, AZ) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Dude, its name should be "the story of Stu Pid, the game. Aka the game is dumb! And I didn't get to finish the first level! Don't look at it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game spent about 30 hours questing!

posted by charanajo (PUYALLUP, WA) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I had a ton of fun playing this game. I am all about leveling up, earning money and getting the best equipment I can buy. The characters are great and the game doesn't do long drawn out "scenes".

But... here is my but.. Sometimes I would go a day or two without playing Dragon Quest. I would turn the game on and have no clue what to do next as it doesn't give any hints... I had to use a walk through many times. So thank my lucky stars for walk throughs. But that was kind of a pain in the butt. Most games at least give some clue as what to do next.
Play this game if you want to spend hours and hours leveling up... everything about it is fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh level Dragon Quest Game

posted by davidbonatz (RESTON, VA) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

When compared to other Dragon Quest games this is not as good, unless of course you like going through the same low levels 5 times in a row. It still is a decent game and if you dont mind spending 15+ hours getting through the first part then it turns into a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been a 7 or 8...

posted by zOMGREI (MEDFORD, NJ) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

...if it wasn't for the horrible translation and the total lack of any utilization of the touch screen.

I'm not the type of person that really cares about the quality of a game's translation---as long as it's legible and the story isn't completely altered by some overbearing weeaboo, I'm fine with it. In this case, however, the translators must have thought they were being cute and clever when they went around and gave all the characters different accents depending on their location in the game world. They weren't.

Accents are notoriously difficult to pull off properly in a text format, and this effort is a prime example of how not to do it. It's obvious that the two people involved in this just used search and replace, which leads to a lot of text that needs way too much thought in order to decipher. In addition to this, there are a number of made up "foreign" words that can't even be translated through the use of context clues.

Yes, there were only two people translating this title. This does not excuse this incredibly sloppy work. If they were stretched too thin, they should have abandoned the accents (or toned the usage down significantly). I honestly preferred the Early Modern English used in the NES localizations of the first Dragon Quest to this.

My other major gripe with the game is that there's almost no reason for this to be on the DS. There is absolutely no usage of the touch screen capability---the top screen merely acts an extension of the 3D view, a world map, or a status screen. There's no real excuse for it either---the interface was perfectly scaled for stylus use.

All my complaints aside, the content of the game itself is decent. You'll get about 20-30 hours of play out of it (excluding the bonus chapter). The combat system is tedious outside of involved boss battles though, which is a shame. The graphics (especially in battle) are impressive, with incredibly detailed sprites and animations, all running at a smooth 60 FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

E games don't have to be this horrible

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

I rented this game because most of the games out for the Nintendo DS, are just horrible. They come out and look like it was something that a game programmer wrote on his lunch break. Ok, this one is not that bad, however maybe it took a few lunch breaks. I did not like the over simplified game play and it was really boring to have to talk to everyone. I was not sure what I was playing, but it was not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happened to this game

posted by namcinos (SALEM, OR) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

I was really looking forward to something great.But was instead let down.The game reminded me of a bad version of golden sun for the GBA.The graphics are weak, the menu interface buggy, the dialogue lacking and the characters under-developed.I really want to say good things about this title but the music is probably the only thing that stands out.And it not being memorable. It is like the programmers rushed the game out and did not take the time to rough out the edges or make it complete.I am glad I did not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Insult to the Original

posted by noelholmes (San Jose, CA) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This game is a poor remake of the NES original.

-The environments are incredibly ugly.
-The characters (when walking around in the world) look stupid and deformed. i.e. one eye will be bigger than the other
-The dialogue is terrible (seems like poor translation)

It's very sad because the original was definitely a masterpiece, and FAR before its time. DQ4 for the NES had one of the first 'epic storylines' ever seen on a console, and the DS version makes a joke out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good game but a bit frustrating at times

posted by reddevi1 (GLENNS FERRY, ID) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I've played a few other dragon quest games and loved them all. This one was pretty good. I did get a little frustrated with the chapters. Having to start over again and again was a bit annoying but in the end worth the frustration and extra time. It gave the story more depth and background. The graphics are great and its alot of fun to play. Leveling up is alot easier than most DQ games. I didn't die once during the entire game. All in all a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dragon Quest IV - Chapters of the Chosen

posted by ms56gamer (RENO, NV) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2003

I have played the original and this game is as equally great. After renting it and going thru 4 chapters, I bought it. Looking forward to continuing the adventure. Highly recommend for all you RPG gamers out there. The graphics are exquisite and the flow of the story is good. This is a great all round RPG..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »