Rent Dragon Quest Heroes: Rocket Slime for DS
view large frontback

Dragon Quest Heroes: Rocket Slime

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

530 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Let the Simplicity Fool You! Amazingly Deep!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Sep 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This is a deceptively deep game even though your character controls/moves are to jump, a stretch-slingshot attack and carry a stack of stuff/enemies to throw. But what it lacks in moves (and you don't even notice), it makes up for in personality and depth. It's puzzle game, it's a dungeon-crawl adventure game, it's a real-time strategy game all rolled into a delightful package. Although the touchscreen is not used for actual touch purposes, it does give a view of the interior and exterior of your tank during the tank battles. I find it very funny that you can take things from the enemy tank, throw it in your cannon and fire it back! With a slight Pokemon-like feel, you'll have to find all your slime friends and restore your town. The animation is cute, the characters are totally Square-Enix. Yes, it's slightly cliché and we all know the outcome but, come on...you play a little blue slime guy! If you want a "serious" RPG, wait until Final Fantasy III...but there's no blue slime...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Own

posted by db013616 (BATH, NY) Sep 28, 2006

Member since May 2005

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everthing about this game is done right. First off the graphics in this game are amazing. They are very bright and very colorful. The music is composed beautifully and fans of past Dragon Quest games will run into some familiar toons. Also the controls for this game are amazing. They are very simple with most of the actions being mapped to the a or b buttons. Overall if I had any complaints about this game, they would be the difficulty and the length. Overall it feels like the difficulty in this game has been toned way down, therefore making this game only last for about 10 hours to get everything. Even with these two minor complaints I would still give this a 10. I am going to recommend this game to anybody who owns a Nintendo DS and would classify it as a must own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good clean fun

posted by Haystack (WESTERVILLE, OH) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simply put, this game is a fantastic. The basic story is nothing new - the big bad guy needs to be defeated so that the little blue slime you play can save your town. All your slime buddies can be rescued in each level, 100 in all. Each one you recover grants you either ammo or a recipe, and a few unlock new options in town (like a shop). Puns litter the dialogue, but it's typically hilarious, as are a number of the sound effects. And if you're a fan of the Dragon Quest games, you'll surely recognize a lot of the monsters and music. The graphics are simple but cute.

This game does put a new spin on RPGs, however - it features tank battles. Picture Howl's Moving Castle, but with cannons that launch all the items you find and collect in every level. You can collect the "baddies" too, and once you have enough they offer to help you with your tank battles. Collecting is made very simple: bounce the items/baddies onto your head and deposit them on one of many carts around you that head back to your town. Not hard at all.

In fact, the whole game lacks much of a challenge. I never lost a tank battle, for one thing. Once a tank reaches 0 HP, the "heart" of it must be destroyed by the opposing player. I would hit 0 HP very fast in some battles, but it was easy to keep the other guy out of my way until I could go to his tank and win. Also, I never died. You can literally walk through enemies unless they're actively attacking you. There's much potential for special moves in this game (you only ever unlock one), and the touch screen isn't used (unless you count "painting" in the castle, which has no point).

Despite the down sides, I say pick it up. It's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN INTERESTING NEW

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) Nov 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Dont judge this game. It offers more then you could imagin. Whats so great about this game?

Game play:
Its different, you run around different levels stretching your self out. And collect enemies and items to send back to town. Well what happends to these items. They become AMMO. IN a gigantic tank. Wich you engage in battle with against other tanks. When in battle you are in control of your crew. You load ammo in the cannons to fire, or even fire yourself or your crew at the enemy.

Graphics:
The game looks good. Its no 3D. But it has some nice color to it.

Lastin Apeal:
There is no multiplayer with one cartidge, but you can link up with friends who do have it. It keeps you comming back for more, but the story line wont.

Closing comments:
Fun game. Its a definet must have. Its different from other titles. But thats what makes it so great.

this game deserves a 9!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great adventure game

posted by Interzone (RICHMOND, VA) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game echoes back to titles like the first Legend of Zelda. Part adventure and part platformer with simplistic yet fun puzzle elements. This is the first game I have played in quite awhile that had collectables and even a crafting system that was fun to actually do and not a chore. Do not let the overtly cute nature throw you, it is a fairly engrossing game. The graphics are about standard DS level, but I do not have a problem with pixels when the game is this fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it was different but i didn't like it

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

dragon quest heroes rocket slime is a game where u live as a slime play as a slime (the monster) do what slimes do, etc. etc. you live in this town called boingburg which is a funny name and a nice pun. all your slime friends get captured and u have to save them. you play as rocket a slime that considered the hero.

I personally do not like this game because:
1 no leveling up
2 its boring and repetitive
3 you build things to fight the enemies

this game in my opinion is not worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by dragonstar (READING, PA) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game has a lot of awesome stuff and i am going tell you it.
you get to do an attack called an elasto blast
you also get to battle in a tank called scheilmen tank
there are 20 monsters in the game
each one is different
this whole game is mostly about a slime trying to rescue
all the 100 slimes from a evil group named plob
you also have a rivalry against a slime named slival
oh i forgot to mention you do something alchemy
it is combining two items
also you get to have a crew to help you
when you capture 30 of a species you should go to the museum
you will see a statue of the monster you caught 30 times
also the monster,go and talk to it,it will want to be on your crew
oh i forgot something else you need recipes to make the item
at the end you battle the dark one,there is this slime at the left side
so talk to him and their ranks,rank C,rank B,and rank A
also if you rescue all 100 slimes you can go to rank S,win that you get
to go to rank ultimate if you win you get the title true masters of the
tank. Have fun playing this awesome game!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazingly Fun!

posted by SkyosSolar (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The battles get really difficult and there is a bunch of EXTRA stuff to do once you beat the game! Took me 3-4 days to beat it.

The only thing that was disappointing to me was movement. It was painfully slow...

But you ARE a slime in this game after all, what should one expect?

A must own!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cute, addicting, worth the time

posted by LorettaGP (Astoria, NY) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

This is a "walk around, picking things up and throwing them" type of game. You're an adorable ball of goo, and you can bump into things and carry them around on your head. You pick up items so that you can save them, or to use them as weapons. You can also pick up bad guys and throw them at each other.

The other main functionality of the game is the tank feature. Your first few tank battles are fairly easy, but they get super hard pretty fast. It's possible to become extremely strategic with how you arm and staff your tank, later on in the game. That involves an element of strategy that I think elevates this game past just a simple platformer and into something more. By the end, the tank battles were my favorite parts!

The drawbacks of the game? Well, it does start slow. And it doesn't use the touchscreen for actual game play. Also, I ended up spending a lot of time going back through levels, endlessly collecting items to make other items in the alchemy kettle. It was necessary to do this in order to win the later tank battles, and it was just rote, endless, "find a thing, throw it on the cart" for hours. You'll need something like, oh, 200 of those little red berry things, for example. Also? Just at the end, when I FINALLY had the world's most awesome tank, that's when the game ended.

Final analysis:
-slow start
-very cute
-oddly addicting
-friendly
-fun to play
-tank battles the best part
-not just for kids!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Gameplay with Addictive Extras

posted by slurmaster (ARLINGTON, TX) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

If you miss the golden age of Zelda-like bird's-eye-view handheld, here is one title that you shouldn't let slip under the radar. Deceptively simple with lots of cutie characters and bright colors bursting with kiddie appeal, I was tempted to write this game off at first. The combat is really simple, and the story is quirky but nothing groundbreaking. Then the tank battles start. You acquire a tank to defend your village with, and this quickly becomes the addictive part of the game. Literally ANYthing you find can be used as ammo for the tank, and an added alchemy option lets you craft more powerful ammo out of more common parts. I found myself obsessing over getting the best possible ammunition until I grew tired and decided to just beat the game. In a nutshell: solid gameplay and easy learning curve.
Worth a gander.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

it sneaks up on you

posted by Camberme (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 13, 2008

Member since May 2007

At first I was playing this game wondering why am I wasting my time, but each new slime I saved brought me that much closer to moving the next st weight. Then all the sudden I got a TANK... the game became fun... Sure it is bouncing around and either bringing the bad guys back to town, or bringing the items that are laying around back for more ammo for your TANK... it's all about getting the next item.
I don't have much to tell about the game but I would say it's worth at least a look, if you like silly rpg's with the ability to shoot your self out of cannons, at least play the game long enough to get your TANK. If you don't like it.. then you can return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addictive single player, and great multiplayer

posted by slimz0rz (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game features two modes of play: an addictive single player story mode, and a unique multiplayer tank battle mode which expands on the existing single player elements.

The single player mode is a top down platformer with "collect them all" style gameplay. The levels are simple and enjoyable. They contain a variety of the classic Dragon Quest monsters and fairly uncomplicated puzzles.

The tank battle mode is particularly addictive. First introduced during the story mode, the goal is to defeat the opposing team's tank in a four on four team, head to head, battle. The battles allow for many different attack styles utilizing monsters and ammunition collected in the platformer sections of the game.

I originally bought this game for a friend who, after playing it, had me get a copy for the multiplayer tank battles. In multiplayer battles players choose from the tanks they've unlocked while keeping the team and ammunition they've set in single player. Since multiplayer depends on what's been unlocked, players can also set their tank's HP to create a handicap for more advanced players. Battling with real people is considerably more challenging then the game's AI though, and is a lot more fun.

The graphics and sound are very simple; so much so that this could have been a gameboy advance game. This doesn't distract from the gameplay though, and the game is still distinctly part of the Dragon Quest universe.

My only complaint is the size of what's available in game. Considering the size of the Dragon Quest franchise, it could have been a lot bigger. The multiplayer becomes mundane once both players max out their team's and ammunition, and the game dosen't allow for much customization to enhance the multiplayer strategies.

Overall a great game if you and a friend both have gamefly accounts. It's an easy game to get into, and a fun game to compete with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kiddy but amazing

posted by GBADSWii (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I loved the game it is not the easiest game but kiddish but worth every minute of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Expected

posted by TennisPro9 (NEWTOWN, CT) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I got this game on Halloween last year and let me say, it gobbled up my night. I had some kids waiting at the door for candy because i didn't want to put the game down. It looked a little kiddy but my friend bought it for me so i thought i might as well strick it in ym ds. I beat the game a week later and it was a great experience. The boss battles are excellent when you are running around your ship. If you look at this game and say, "it's not my kind of game, it looks like it's for 5 year olds", try it, and you'll like it, believe me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Can be fun.

posted by Vainbx (BRONX, NY) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

The game is targeted at younger players with the cutesy interface and simple controls. I literally was falling asleep as i started the game. BUT!! At my friends insistence i continued on until i experienced the TANK BATTLES. Those made the game well worth it by far. Having a team on your side but needing some extra ammo to save your hide is my favorite part. Ok, throwing my team mates into the cannon is. This game is very fun i recommend it to anyone who has enough patience to get part the first 2 hours. Just keep going. Its hilarious to me and i am a hardcore RPG or FPS or MMORPG player. So i am an experienced player.

Bottom line: After an hour it gets incredibly fun.
Ignore the godsons if it bugs you. It gets Fun with tank battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is stupid but I can't stop

posted by NINsane73 (JUSTICE, IL) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Rocket slime is a very straight forward game that is very cutesy and VERY easy. I kept saying this is so stupid but found I couldn't put it down. It has some pretty simple puzzles and a Pokémon-esque catch em all feel to the capturing of monsters and saving all the slimes. The game borrows the alchemy for making new items from its PS2 Dragon Warrior big brother. The area this game really shines is the tank battles both in the single player and more so in the wireless multi-player versus mode. Overall a fun play even though the main quest can be beaten in about a week there is still more to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Above my expectations for a DS game, however .....

posted by Penelope (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) Nov 8, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

I was worried when they brought this title to DS it would not be that great, however they did rise above my expectations. The game has really good potential and would be a great game for anyone new to the Dragon Quest/Dragon Warrior family. If you are however a die hard fan of the series and have played all the rest of the GBA series then this game will not be very exciting for you. I am looking forward to their next release on the DS in hopes it will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Is this Zelda?

posted by casualgamr (MAYWOOD, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

I love this game!!! It has action, suspense, and cute little snot looking things. All the way through I felt I was playing Zelda, which is a good thing. You play as Rocket, the slime from Dragon quest. You have to save 100 of your fellow booger's....... I mean slimes, that were all captured and scattered through out the 7 lands.

Your main goal in the game is to collect stuff. That's it. you collect monster's, coins, food, and weapons that you can combine to make other stuff. Then there are tank battles, this is were the RPG portion comes into play. Most of your sticky companions were caught and trapped in a tank that you have to battle and free.

You star out with two tanks facing eachother. Each tank has two cannons, 1 pointing up, 1 pointing down. When the battle starts you start putting items in your cannon, it sounds stupid but it's crazy fun.

So if you like Zelda, PLAY THIS GAME.

See Ya

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best slime-related game of all time? Absolutely!

posted by MBrody (HOLLSOPPLE, PA) Oct 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

So, yeah, it's a game about, primarily, slimes. There are also some platypuses, cats, and cactus people, among others, but mostly it's about slimes.

That being said, how could anyone approach this game without skepticism? I certainly was skeptical, but my thirst for a decent DS RPG led me to give Rocket Slime a shot. In a big way, it's more of an action-adventure than an RPG. There's not much in the way of story, but there's enough to keep you going. You don't equip your character or level up, but very similar things to these happen to your tank, so it balances out a bit.

So, is it any good? Well, I'm almost annoyed with the game, but it's a catch-22. They did such a terribly good job making a game about slimes that I wish they had put the same resources into a more serious RPG. I shouldn't complain about the game being good, but I can't help thinking that Square-Enix wasted a success.

That being said, I found myself becoming rather attached to the slimes by the end, incessant bad slime puns and all. It's such an odd sensation to find yourself thinking of a slime as "badass," but there I was by the game's conclusion. Rocket Slime just has that sort of infectious charm that keeps you playing without being able to properly explain why.

Mechanically, the gameplay is simple, but it works very well. The tank battles are a bit more complex, and can become very intense compared to the rest of the game. The game sometimes requires a somewhat surprising amount of finesse for how few "moves" your slime has.

Graphically, the game doesn't bother with 3d graphics for any section, but the 2d is done very well, and is smooth and pleasing to the eye. Nothing technically impressive, but nothing to complain about either.

Sound-wise the game is fairly simplistic, and a few effects can get repetitive. I didn't really notice them until I was close to the end, but some people might.

This is certainly worth a rental for any action-adventure fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Immensely Enjoyable

posted by MrRogers (TAYLOR, MI) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Actually my rating is 8.5
but since there is
no .5 rating
and my rating is closer to 9 then it is 8.
I give this a 9.

After spending the last couple of days with this game really makes me regret my dedecision of buying Mario vs. Donkey Kong 2: March of the Minis over this. Even if you are not a fan of Dragon Quest series this game will deliver a excellent gameplaying experience, even more so if you are a casual fan or even the most hardcore.

A lot of the game reminds me of Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap. The vibrant colours (I like using the chiefly British version of color, don't ask) and addictive gameplay draws you in quicker then expected. Don't let the juvenille appearance fool any of you either. This game can be rather difficult but will never feel one-sided.

Although the lack of stylus really sucks. For a game that requires you to stretch a frickin' slime repeatedly, it's nonsensical that you can't sling 'em yourself. But when it comes to fun you can't go wrong.

Oh yeah I went out and bought this game brand new. lol. I would do the same. A MUST OWN FOR ANY DS OWNER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon Quest Heroes: Rocket Slime

posted by AncientLGT (CHARLESTON, SC) Oct 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I wish I could say that Square has done it again, but they almost didnt with this game. The game starts off EXTREMELY slow with the simple and boring mission of trying to find all of your lost Slime friends. At anbout the 3rd level, however, you get a massive tank with which to fight against other baddies' tanks. The addition of the "tank battles" helps out a lot and keeps the action going and is a somewhat frantic, yet controled, way to break the monotony of the "find the slimes" portion of the game. If it wasnt for the tank battles, this game would probably stink up the shelves, but Square saved their butts yet again and it should be interesting to see if they make any changes to this game if they create a sequel for it.

If you're looking for a game for the weekend, or just something to play on a road trip or airline flight, this is probably the one for you. The lasting appeal of this game is not really more than a couple of days, a week at the most, so it's a play it up and then put it up.

I gave it a 7 mostly because it is an "original" type of game play and a very good start to Square's contributions to the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quick, but awesome!

posted by Shadow275 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

I liked the tank battles, finished the game in like 1 1/2 days- 2 days. The storyline was great, and the slime was funny.

I saved all Slimes. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hate it

posted by HersheyBoy (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

hate it its junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »