Rent Dragon Blade: Wrath of Fire for Wii
view large frontback

Dragon Blade: Wrath of Fire

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

637 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wrath indeed!!

posted by DirtyDan (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Many games hope to improve on what seems to be a very simple concept. swing the remote and voala!! you swing your sword! Well, lets just say this seems to be a lot more difficult to do since this game doesn't seem to get it right.

Cons:
1: Swordplay is not as responsive as per say Zelda! the game play is more combo based (i.e swing left then right and then up for a 3 hit combo)which will sometimes not really register the correct motion. Also you can not attack and run at the same time which makes for some frustrating times when you a perfectionist since the game keeps track of all hits taken and applies it to your overall level percent!

2: voice acting is actually good!! BUT!!! they use it only in the beginning of the game which makes the rest of the game feel a little empty.

3: Many of the bosses are far to easy. Lets just say that with the first two strikes you pretty much have their pattern down pat.

Pros:
1: Swordplay is actually fun. Well...to a certain extent. unlike zelda not every swing is registered, but if you slow down your swing and time it, it really does feel a little more accurate.

2: The dragon powers rocked!! Kind of like a mega man game in which after you beat each boss you get to use their dragon ability. After defeating the first boss you receive what i call the "dragon fist" which you can use to unlock sealed doors and wreak havoc on some beasts.

3: The graphics are actually very good despite what most people will say. I loved the many different atmospheres you had to enjoy through the course of the game although some can feel a little empty and feel like the developers forgot something here and there, hey I'm not complaining its in the pro section

well that pretty much wraps it up. please rate this review for me and much thanx for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Uninspiring and unremarkable in every way!

posted by nbowling (MACKINAW, IL) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because I read a review of it which said this was a title more geared toward adult players unlike many of the games for the Wii. After playing it for a while, I'm sure that a nine year old would agree it is completely lame. The graphics are barely on par with a last generation game system, the sound was muddy and terribly mixed, and the basic story was childish drivel. The controls were also not intuitive in any way, and the action was totally repetitive and boring. I know this was a lower budget title, but I would have been horrified to put my name on it! Don't waste your time with this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dull And Flawed Game

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

There's not a whole lot to say about this game. It's just not worth playing.

The controls work sometimes, but not always. After playing for a bit, I was able to get MOST of the controls right (up/down vs. left/right) with the exception of thrusting forward. For some reason, it would tend to act as if I were thrusting when I would shake side to side. While possible to overcome, the controls are an annoyance while you're adjusting, because you need to swipe once per swing on screen, not shake the Wiimote like crazy as per most other Wii titles available right now.

On another note, a bigger problem is that this game is just not fun. The very small move set gets old very fast, even with the weapon upgrades. There is no voice acting during some cutscenes, and poorly written dialog that comes off as ridiculous. Essentially, the game has cliche's after cliche's, and to a mature person who can look at the game critically, it's a huge disappointment.

If you're interested in buying a game for children, it MIGHT be okay. I say this because I don't know how long it would take a child to learn to execute the proper motions patiently enough for the game to recognize them. Other than the controls, it'd be great for a kid. But ironically, the game is rated T for Teen, which means that once you're old enough to be allowed to play this game, you probably won't want to anymore.

There are a few redeeming characteristics, because the visuals are somewhat nice, especially given some of the other Wii games released in the past year. But ultimately the game falls flat to a 4/10, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, solid Game

posted by Mrniceguy8 (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 29, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dragon Blade is obviously a title that was born for the Wii, and that's something you can't say about most Wii games out now. The controls work flawlessly and make the game more enjoyable.

The game can be hard at times, and you may find yourself starting over a 5 minute check point over and over until you've mastered how to defeat every single enemy, but the combat is so engaging and just plain fun, that you won't mind much. It's simply wonderful to watch as you completely annihilate 20 swarming enemies with your powerful and gorgeous dragon techniques.

The graphics may not be top notch or incredibly detailed, but they get the job done and they certainly follow a mood. The CGI is nothing more or less than you would expect with a budget game such as this one and there is no voice acting, which may be disappointment for some.

The story line is not the best, but it is original and compelling.

What really disappointed me the most is that the game is a bit short, but it makes for a perfect rental, and I recommend that you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just not worth the effort

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 29, 2007

Member since May 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Dragon Blade: WOF is not a bad game. Unfortunately, despite whatever compelled me to pick it up in the first place, it falls short in a wide range of areas.

The beginning of the game is a great to place to start complaining. They throw the plot at you in boring, static cutscenes with a seeming unending voice narration to shift to a moving, decent looking cutscene with no voice action whatsoever. I've already lost interest.

As other previews had noted, the sword swinging (the heart of the game) is fairly unresponsive with my hand moving easily two or three times to fast for the Wii-mote and game to agree upon. If I don't move that fast, I find your character likes to stand and wait to get hit. All the while the camera is fairly quirky, sometimes obeying your command and at others spinning on its own with a blurred effect thrown in from time to time.

The control scheme for the Wii-mote is equally poor as the buttons are too spread out and fighting to get the sword right and then have your hand in place is just to tiring on the wrist to put much effort into getting it right. That might sound lazy, but after dying multiple times at a "boss area" because even though I was locked onto an enemy, my character went the opposite direction, I got hit, fell and in getting up rolled into an enemy or got stuck in a corner facing the wrong way, etc. and died. The dragon power looked cool and I bet sequential powers are even better, but the power meter drained way too quickly for it to be effective very long and I had trouble gaging the distance between the character and the enemies as to not swipe midair. All of these things were making me long for a different game, so I quit Dragon Blade:WOF and put in that different game. I feel much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dragon Blade: Where's the Fire?

posted by Areskar (MARSHALLTOWN, IA) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Despite virtually copying the controls from Legend of Zelda, the game mechanics are obtuse at best, frustrating all but the most adept gamers. The story line is sub-par, with the narration being done in a dry-monotone that does little to energize an already lack-luster story. While graphics for the Wii are not the highest priority, this games visuals are hardly better than those seen on Playstation and Nintendo 64. I do not recommend for any players, as adults will find the story childish, and children will find the difficulty frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I thought wrong.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game looked so sweet....until I played it. You can't do....anything. But move and swing you're sword around. The environments aren't interactive, there is nothing to explore, just a strait path from point A to point B. The voice overs are terrible. Bad bad bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kill them all and let Wii put more in my path

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dragon Blade: Wrath of Fire

this game has what you need for what it offers. I have to tell you I didn't care for the game. but it doesn't make the game any worst that it is. the Game Play is fun. you swing that Wiimote like a sword. It will take you 10 to 20 min. to understand don't swing it like a freak and throw out your arm. hehhe like I all most did. pick your shots and move your guy where he need to be. remember press C to get the front view of what your going to hit. and blocking is very important in this game. It not swing that Wiimote and see what falls. The story line is OK. could have been better. but I like when you kill the boss's and get another moves. your kids will love playing this game. Me I don't like swing a Wiimote like a freak and my wife looking at me like "what are you doing?" hehehe.

Pro's: fun game. swing the Wiimote like a sword. nice boss fights. nice upgrades make the game fun.

Con's: bad camera angles, bad camera angles, BAD camera angles

All in All: If you like swords games, you will like this one. and your kids will have fun with this one. the game reminds me like Tomb raider. good game but you have to fight with the camera angles.

1 out of 10: 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

soooo bad

posted by cookieman (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

at first this game was awesome but then it got so extremely hard you couldn't do anything on yeah and this was the THIRD BOSS you never make something that hard on the THIRD BOSS just make get harder graually so all i am saying is whoever made this game is pretty frekin' stupid to make it that hard so quickly it was a hard a ganondorf in the legend of zelda twilight princess and i beat that game twice! don't even get fooled by the cool mix between kingdom hearts, zelda, and prince of persia DON'T GET THE GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Wii Needs More titles Like These! BUY!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Sep 29, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

{Or At Least a SOLID rental)!

Very Good Story, Sound and Graphics!

And it is not a port; this is designed for the Wii and it shows!

I like it very much! However it can be a bit difficult and it is a pretty short story (compared to Zelda). And the camera rarely gives you a problem! I just might buy this one.

Please be kind and buy the game or send them back within 2 days of recieving them!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Gameplay and Wrongly Judged

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

It has dragons, it has blades, and it has fire. Oh yes, that can only equal awesome if my super awesomeness calculator is working right. Dragon Blade: Wrath of Fire brings the heat with some heinously difficult boss battles the likes of which have yet be equaled in many of the Wii games I’ve found. Toss in one wicked sword that can become a huge frickin’ dragon head and you’ve got a game to reckon with.

The real bread and butter of this game is the combat system. You swing the Wii Remote (and also thrust) in appropriate directions to swing the sword and link together combos. On the third swing, you complete the combo with a powerful attack that will do a different amount of damage according to the way you swung. You can also attack and do more specific swings in the air and that’s just the surface. Once you gather together more of the Dragon Blade pieces, you can launch attacks according to the piece you use. There are several pieces to get, including the head, two arms, and wings among others. From clapping together the dragon’s hands to sprouting his wings and flying, this seriously is one combat system I doubt many games have ever tried.

It’s too bad this game hasn’t gotten the attention is deserves. It got such a brow beating for some very insignificant problems like the reused enemies throughout the game and the fact that the strongest attack, the thrust, is rather hard to pull off. These, to me, are minor problems when compared to the rest of the game. Like the combat system; I think the sword swinging aspect beats The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess’ set up. In Twilight Princess, you must hold the direction you wish to swing down with the Nunchuck and then perform a swing; in Dragon Blade, you just swing.Anyways, if you’re searching for an action-packed game for the weekend, look no further than Dragon Blade: Wrath of Fire.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

if you want a challenge this is the game for you

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

i am an average gamer and i like to think that i m a serious gamer, but i felt this game was to hard. i had it for a 2 weeks and by the end i just said " i dont care anymore, i'm not going to keep a game just so i can beet it", so on that note i sealed it and sent it back. i dont know about you but if you are a gamer that likes a challenge than this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It had potential

posted by Bellezarna (JAMESTOWN, ND) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

While the intro was a little cheesy, the premise was interesting. The graphics and music were amazing. The control scheme was fairly intuitive. Unfortunately, the sword control was heavily biased towards left-right swings, making it almost impossible to slash up or down or thrust. The difficulty level also made large leaps - in the third level, you were routinely expected to handle groups of 8-12 enemies, some of which could take half your health in a single blow. That, coupled with the infrequency of health drops, drags this game down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boring

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

To much story line and spiritism

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its OK

posted by ThanatosAz (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

The game is decent graphics wise, the story is very overbearing, and the controler dosent seem to be very precice. It kept doing the wrong attacks.(Wii)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why it got a 4 rating

posted by banerh (FILER, ID) Jan 7, 2008

Member since May 2007

This game is just not that adventures the storyline and animation is weak the game play is ok because when you lock on a target you still can miss. Also when you swing sometimes it decides to make your character roll and not attack controls are just not that good, if you want a good sword swinging game rent Zelda or Soul Caliber Legends both fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls are infantile.

posted by Coaster (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

"Sword fighting".... That phrase seems to embody everything we thought the Wii was supposed to be about before we really knew what the Wii was supposed to be about. Unfortunately developers got the same false ideas and wide-eyed dreams of realistic combat because they keep trying to do sword fighting with a controller that simply was not designed to do it.

Sword fighting in this game means randomly swinging the Wii remote usually twirling it in tight circles while simultaneously resting your elbow on your knee to prop up your head letting your fingers claw at your lip... oh wait... yeah that last part was a consequence of the sheer disappointment I felt while swinging my fire sword. There is simply nothing to it. Shouldn't there be some skill involved in wielding a sword?

The universal problem of course is that your "BIG SWING" and your "little flick" are both interpreted as the same move. So why take the BIG SWING? Especially if you get in five little flicks to one BIG SWING. It doesn't make for very engaging combat.

Successful combat strategy in this game comes down to targeting, passive defense and dodging. Sword moves might as well be random... which they practically are anyway given the inaccuracy of remote.

All other sword games for the Wii have been a let down and this one is no exception. I hope dearly that I am proven wrong in the future and that someone comes up with a way to make swordplay with the Wii work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

if it just fell on your lap...you know youd play

posted by kuldotha (OMAHA, TX) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

im not a huge fan with how this games judged

i mean look at it this way...its nice and lengthy for the kind of game it is...this game is by no means whatsoever boring. while i will say its almost an exact remnisc of its similar genre friend....the playstation 1 video game dragon valor...which was nice and fun but by no means worth buying for its release price...which is the exact problem i have...and hence my title...if it fell on your lap free of charge you know youd go ta town on dis game.
and my only other problem was its..''cough''values as far as games today go....this looks like a game playstation 2 would have released as a console launch game...so overall..biggest problem is its sorta....dated gamestyle...

DO NOT BUY!....only rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre at best

posted by Googa009 (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

Everything about this game is mediocre. First, you'll notice the lack of effort put forth for the graphics. The visuals in this game aren't even that great by Gamecube standards. The enemies in this game are again like most everything in this game mediocre. You fight mostly the same enemies for each level throughout the whole level and then all they do is run at you waiting to be attacked. Attacking enemies can get very repetitive and attack moves become boring very quickly. The only spotlight in this game are the controls. I found the controls to be very responsive and easy to pick up. The story was dry and bland and doesn't leave much to the imagination. This game is worth a rent as long as you don't expect too much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It could be better.

posted by Tiennu (COLUMBIA, MD) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

The game looked promising at the beginning, but it ended up going downhill from there. The controls are horrible and it was impossible to defend yourself from hordes of enemies at times. I had to put the Wiimote down after a few levels because I couldn't take it anymore. It's just endless slash and hack, nothing more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Blah... avoid this game.

posted by SFeigley (SAN PEDRO, CA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I needed to kill sometime in between getting a game i'm really looking forward to playing. (Fire Emblem) I decided to pick this up knowing full well that I would not be satisfied by it, but hoping that it would be good enough to tide me over.

So after popping this rental into the Wii, a few things became abundantly apparent. First and foremost, this game is extremely unpolished. I sat hopeful on my couch and watched the intro play instead of pressing start. Little did I know that after I did press start, I would get treated to the exact same video again, this time minus color and also minus a way to skip through it.

I was hoping this would be the last random annoying thing that would pop up. Unfortunately, it was not. I soon found that you can not really expedite hardly any of the dialog which seems to assume the gamer reads at a 4th grade level and therefore takes absolutely forever to advance on it's own. In addition, the lack of voice over narration is extremely noticeable and detracts from the game quite a bit. At some points, as I was watching the characters mouths move with nothing more then an unskippable text box up on the screen, it became comical.

The actual controls for the most part feel good. However, I noticed two things fairly early on, the first was that combat soon becomes EXTREMELY repetitive. At one point I died and realized I was going to have to play that whole section over and so I turned off the Wii rather then do it again. It simply was not fun. The second, was that there is a very noticeable lack of features and therefore, replayability... or in my case, even basic playability.

This game truly felt extremely rushed and I think had the developers spent another 6 months to a year on this game, it could have been very good. As it is though, too many little furstrating quirks add up to form a very unsatisfying gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unimpressive to Say the Least

posted by Cent1ty (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Another idea for a decent game falls short... falls very short.

Think of this as a slightly expanded on version of the story mode in MK: Armageddon. You advance through the poor looking linear levels riddled with enemies and fight them with your almighty dragon sword.

As you get through the levels you get more power moves you can do which is the only thing this game has to offer. These moves are at times fun to pull off however when you think about it all of the games fun revolves around that. It does not take long until you realize there is not much to this game and it looks like the very early stages of game development because no aspects of it feel complete.

The voice acting is poor and I don't believe anyone could play the game long enough to get a lasting impression of what the rest of the sounds are like.

The controls are not all together and the stabbing motion is poorly recognized even though it is one of the more important actions your character can do.

Conclusion: don't even think of comparing this to games like GOW. There is little if anything good about this title and it is not worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be so much more

posted by Prime79 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This game was a massive disappointment. The controls are near terrible. I felt like my 3 year old wielding the sword. This issue along with the number and strength of monsters at times is over whelming. I felt the need to constantly re center my camera to try and find out where I was taking damage from. I felt as though I was blind and fighting. To be honest I could only deal with this game for about 2 hours. The frustration was getting ridiculous. I was annoyed that I could not roam more of the map, if feels like you can only explore 10% of what you see. The lock on target was a good idea, however it needs some work. To conclude, I was extremely disappointed by this title. I hear "Dragon Blade" and thing....Dragons, NO. The add ons you can get for the blade are nice, but a real issue to use and keep charged. I thought the graphic were decent, considering it's for the Wii. All in all if you rented every thing else and you need a title for you que, give it a try. I wont be rushing to buy this game, and I highly doubt you will agree.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The game that could have been more

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 22, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

Dragon Blade is a game that set out to do a lot and make it fun. They promised us they you could use your wiimote like a sword; swing and slash and stab, and use awesome dragon powers.
Sadly, it seems that this game needed to sit in the oven a bit more.

The graphics feel slightly dated, the only thing that really really feels amazing graphically is the sheer size of the dragons and the great fire and flame effects. Story is nothing special, and is told mostly in the opening cinematic and text boxes. Sound and music is basic.

Controls however are where the love/hate relationship starts. The mote is supposed to sense if you swing left/right, up/down, or stab. Yet, sometimes the systems senses a stab instead of a swing, which can cost you health and time. That's basically it. It does work sometimes, but your attacks seems so slow and sometimes they don't sense right. Sometimes, it might be best to just swing like crazy, but this game does require different swings at different situations. One minotaur monster can take half your health in one hit if one of your swings is the wrong one. This leads to too much frustration to be fun.

Although a good idea, the controls needed to be tightened or perhaps more forgiving. Also, this is supposed to be next gen, let's keep it next-gen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much waggle, not enough story

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I have to admit that I didn't get all the way through this one. I played 7 or eight levels, and I just got to a point where I didn't much care to continue on (and my arm was hurting).

The Good:
-Wiimote seemed to respond properly (ie, upward motions yielded the correct action)

The Bad:
-I found myself just swinging the wiimote wildly to succeed in some places
-mapping attacks to motion controls seemed cool, but it got tiring (literally) rather quickly.
-Story dind't pull me in
-Level design was predictable
-Enemy AI was horrendous. Enemies would wait in the distance until you came accross an invisible line before they would attack you.

I'd say skip this one... it didn't yield much enjoyment for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse