Rent Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.8

3765 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a Rent

posted by Naeling (LINCOLN, RI) May 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

31 out of 36 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge DBZ fan so I had no hesitation in picking this up with my Game Q. Let me Break it down for you.

The Good:
The Graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fun. It takes you through the DBZ Universe and allows you to participate in key moments.
The Tutorial is ACTUALLY helpful! Which is rare in a fighting game, its broken down into different categories and allows you to pick up how to play the game properly.

The Bad:

The Character Creation is Simple and Limited.
The Game combat system is easy but a Little unusual. It's simple but doesn't allow a lot of room for maneuvering which is good if your average or below at fighting games. If your a hardcore fan of fighting games the combat system is terrible.

My Advice:

Worth a few days of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally!!

posted by emmit1216 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

53 out of 71 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Finally! A DBZ game that is worth playing! I love the story mode with and how it actually goes with the series. The Hero mode is pretty sweet! My only complaint is with the combat system. I feel its a little too simplistic. But other than that I think this is definitely a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Depends on what you're looking for...

posted by joshgamefly288 (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I've seen reviews that hate this game, and reviews that love it. This is not a Mortal Kombat/ Marval vs. Capcom fighting game, it's an experience that recreates the action of the show. The fighting system could be, and should be much deeper, but it's not the only thing lacking. The Hero Mode is interesting, yet it's depth is disappointing. From hairstyles, to move sets, much more could be added. I would have loved a choice system and deeper experience. All this being said, it is a good game for anyone who enjoys Dragonball/Z/GT, but you can't go in expecting something that isn't there. A 6 out of 10 to some people would mean stay away, but I would recommend a rent for anyone who enjoys the show. If you don't, and are looking for a true fighting game, your experience may not be as enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Solid Attempt

posted by FrizzDizz (SOUDERTON, PA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of DBZ since my childhood days. Playing DBZ Ultimate Tenkaichi brought me back to that time by faithfully recreating battles that occurred over the course of the series. The cel-shading is excellently done and the characters look great. My son took to this game and became instantly infatuated with the series as well. It's really cool to see media crossing generations like that.
DBZ:UT is a decent fighter with simple mechanics that anyone can pick up and play. It is designed that way I feel to help with the flow of the battles, everything happens so fast. Non-fighting sequences and quick-time events break up the pacing of the battles a bit.
I can't give a review of the online multiplayer as I haven't breached that territory yet. I can tell you that the 2 player vs mode is entertaining to play with friends and the battles can become quite heated. One downside to the fighting is that is seems almost impossible to break out of a combo once it is set into motion, leaving the other player feeling helpless while they get pummeled nonstop. It's not a game-breaking problem, it just would have been nice to be able to throw in a little more depth into the gameplay.
If anything give it a chance. You might just find yourself cross-legged on the floor, reliving the storyline of one of the best animated series ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst DBZ Game in terms of combat

posted by Cire116 (Homewood, IL) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love the way the game looks and all the content available, but the gameplay is horrible. I do not like the switching between close combat and blast combat. I do not like that there are too many mini games. It is a 50-50 shot your going to get out of a combo. Why can't they make it like Zone of the Enders: The Second Runner. That game has both long and close combat using energy and hand to hand, and is very balanced, and thats an old game. I am very disappointed in this game. I wanted to unlock more, but the gameplay is so bad, I just returned it. I think the creators of any DBZ game need to reinvent it and take long time to make it, don't rush it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game, could've been a lot better

posted by SionPhoenix (LIZELLA, GA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok, here we go, I've been playing DBZ games pretty much since I got ps1 imports, so I've been around the block a few times. The game in general is repetitive, the basic moves are all the same for all the characters, the only difference is each ones fighting style changes the look only slightly, this gets old after a while, not to mention the character list is severly lacking all around, you can get ss4 gogeta, but not ss4 goku or vegeta, not including a lot of other favorites they left out. The super and ultimate moves are definitely awesome, probably my favorite aspect of the game, very crisp and beautiful graphics to go along with them, my only complaint here is the only way to perform ultimates is either you or your opponent need to be almost dead and you have to be lucky enough to have the proper bars to perform the move, other than that, its great. Hero mode is an awesome improvement, but it is severely lacking in almost every aspect. You can only choose whole outfits to try on which leaves you with very few options to choose from, you can only go super saiyan 1 for the entirity of this mode, no other levels are available, the training portion does unlock a vast array of moves and abilities that I feel makes up for the lack of appearance options. I will say I enjoyed playing both story and hero modes and acting out pivotal moments in DBZ history, allowing you to perform alot of the awesome moves done against DBZ enemies we all know and love. Overall this game is definitely worth a rent, but I wouldn't suggest buying it, I hope this helps anyone thinking about trying it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Ultimate!!

posted by Rockinj210 (FLORESVILLE, TX) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game does not deserve the title Ultimate Tenkaichi.
Barely any characters, gameplay is poor.
Budakai Tenkaichi 3 is the real Ultimate Tenkaichi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some steps forward, A LOT OF STEPS BACK

posted by sk0m9914 (ROANOKE, VA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

21 out of 31 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

So here's the summary of it:

+Loads of content for fans
+Great Graphical Overhaul
+Free flight mode for story overworld
+Added Create-A-Character mode with it's own story
+Beautiful redrawn and animated clips from the show.
+Added 2 Dragonball GT characters.

-Less characters
-Fighting is 90% Quicktime Events
-Fighting is literally a game of chance, not skill, on higher difficulties. Your basically flipping a coin for successful hits for most of the battles
-Very low flight elevation in battle compared to other games
-Story mode jumps around and is unfaithful to the series and assumes you know the series well
-Dragonball GT seems tacked on for fan service, only having 2 characters and a really short level

Overall:
+Pretty to see, good fan service.
-sucks to play after the first few battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by machine965 (PLAINFIELD, IL) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im a hardcore dbz fan especially for the games i have every game on my ps2 from budokai 1 to tenkaichi 3. this game took all the fun out of my career the only thing that was fun about this was newely developed hero mode. Don't get me wrong this was a good rent but i would never buy this.

The Good- Hero mode

The Bad- The lack of characters even with the characters they give you they dont even add all forms

The Ugly- This game has no replay value. The online is terrible where the only thing you have to do is spam the x button. The recover system when you're being attacked sucks it works half the time. The blocking function for super/ultimate attacks you have to be lucky to have one which is usaully guard that does nothing against rush attacks.

I reccomend getting DB raging blast 2. 1. its better in every way like how every player is even. 2. Has 3x as much characters (no joke) 3. the story mode takes over 9000 times as long to beat. took me about 38 hours to beat guess. look me up if you do get raging blast 2.
Gamertag machine965 thanks for reading :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing...

posted by Bgloade2013 (DERBY, CT) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Let me get the point across that I am a big DBZ fan who still watches the series today. (Dragon Ball z Kai). Having that said, i was ecstatic that a new game was coming out. I have played the game for a couple days now and I am greatly surprised about the game itself. Everything is great from presentation to game modes, but the combat system is HORRIBLE. It is simply too simple. You can not hit the opponent 3 times before activating a mini-game. Also, this mini-game is based on luck, a 50-50 chance. There is no skill involved. I was looking for a Raging Blast type game, and got a strategy, luck based game. I beg you to watch some game play videos to see if it is your type of game, because i know it is not mine. I guess i have to wait until next year...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst DBZ game to date.

posted by N1TT0 (SPRING GROVE, PA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only thing this game has going for it is the graphics and being able to follow the story. Other then that it's trash. Here's how every fight scene goes. Hit X three times and then after hit X or Y. Then sit there for 20-30 seconds watching your character beat up the other. Rinse and repeat that step 5+ times to win. This game has no combo system. It's a coin flip combat system. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, including even the most hardcore DBZ fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Is this a joke?

posted by Zakdar (READING, PA) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Let me just put it out there that I grew up with dragon ball/dbz when i was growing up as a kid. I loved alot of the games that came out revolving around this title. Then they started to slip, and this game is when their face met the pavement.

The old playstation dbz game is better than this garbage.

Don't get it twisted, the graphics and environment are outstanding in every way. But the fighting system is where it went downhill badly.

Mashing buttons does not make for a fun game. Hit one button and you do 20 different moves? Really? Some one must have really been high enough to think that "hey lets have the players hit the "X" button and the computer will do the rest."

I was so pumped for this game to get to my house only to be let down by a horribly thrown together fighting experience.

For all the hardcore dbz fans out there that are used to the budokai system, stay as far away as possible from this game. Biggest let down I think to date besides the newer"" turok game that came out for the 360 (for all those who remember how epic it was for N64).

I didn't give this game a 1 only because of the graphics and environment.

Final thoughts.....its junk. Pure utter gamer garbage. Very depressing they even thought this would be a great game to make.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Totally dropped the ball. Nice ideas bad execution

posted by KhajiitDragnbrn (WICHITA, KS) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Cool animations, graphical upgrade, and story mode. Nothing else is worth it. Doesn't matter how many characters are in the game because they all play the exact same way.

I don't mean like a fighting game which uses the same button inputs for all or multiple characters. (UMvC3,Naruto Shippoden Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 are both recent titles to do so) And since they are all unique, players aren't forced to stare at the exact same animations during combat.

DBZUT does the opposite. If you have one character, you have them all because none of them do anything unique other than Specials and Ultras/Ultimate.

If you want story, play the game.
If you want a fighting game, avoid at all costs.
If you love DBZ, check it out for the animations and any other content there may or may not be.
Want every match to be a game of chance, then buy this game.
But to seriously suggest playing against another human being in any real way is completely ridiculous .

Spike has merged with Chunsoft so I would assume and hope the additional funding and manpower will help compensate for the very limited development time for each title.

Contrary to my words here, DBZ fans should at least try this title to see if the QTE simulation system is enjoyable for you. There is a design to all of it, I just don't like games that want to play FOR ME instead of letting me, the player, PLAY THE GAME.

p.s. silent transformations really do contribute to my dislike of the title. Here's hoping the next release can get DBZ console games back on track...then again, how much can be accomplished by 2 development companies in less than a year?? That remains to be seen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME I EVER PLAYED

posted by LightStryke (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

At first I thought this game would be like the other dragon ball games but it was better than I thought. Character creation and story mode make this one of the best dragon ball games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by mid12 (MONTGOMERY, NY) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

awfulllllllllll

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by kennyg6 (HENDERSON, NV) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

let me make this brief if u play dragon ball z games the fighting was awesome on the others but this one is for retards.

the gameplay is this push the x button 3 times and basicallt a movie scene the rest of the time. i played two of the story modes matches and thought this cant be how to fight then i took the tutoral and its the same thing. so if u want to play a good fighting game get raging blast 1 or mortal kombat but not this.

i cant stess to u how much this game is a waste of time, money and life itself. unless ur a kid then u might enjoy pushing two buttons and making a movie come up.

DONT GET THIS GAME!!! WARNING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

BLAH

posted by GBMEX (GROSSE POINTE WOODS, MI) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NOT WHAT I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE,THE STORY IS OK BUT HERO MODE NOT SO MUCH,COULD'VE BEEN BETTER GETTING KINDA OLD NOW,STILL FUN THO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but not so good

posted by gokusupersaiyen (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game is very good BUT the character creation sucks a little. If you pick standared type you can get all kids of moves. The heavy and light types not so much i mean way cant they all be just as good as the standred type. with the heavy and light types u cant get that many moves through training and i don't know any other way to get them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dragonball z is back!!

posted by thomasrko (MANITOWOC, WI) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is great in my eyes. I don't see what the big deal is about gameplay is good to me. The story lines in great to. The impact on burst is new and excited to play. I'm sick of playing dragonbal games and someone cheating and use the same move over and over. It not fun at all. That why I see why that changes it. So I gave it a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The BEST Dragonball Z Game EVER!

posted by MessyAxe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

The thing i like the meost is the hero mode because it is fulfilling when i see my hero has turned into a super saiyan or whatever the only thing bad about it is the combat it is so easy to learn i need something more challenging.Other than that everything is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed.

posted by Shuzuma (HENDERSON, NV) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

For those of you looking for a DBZ game with a feel like Budakai, you will be highly disappointed. The game consist of nothing but repeatedly mashing the "X" button, and within three battles, I have already sent the game back to the nearest post office. I would only recommend this game to smaller children who are looking for a brief feel of what DBZ is about, otherwise, I do not recommend this game for hardcore DBZ fans or gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Graphics don't make a game!

posted by WytBou (EUPORA, MS) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Initial reviews put it as the "best" DBZ game to date. That being said, all the rest must have been totally horrible. The only good thing about this one was the graphics, and well it's supposed to have good graphics we aren't playing on N64's any more.

The combat was sooooooooo terrible, the tutorial mode made me want to send it back immediately. I played one or two parts of the storyline and that made me want to send it back A.S.A.P. If you love DBZ, i still think you would dislike this game greatly. I've watched DBZ since 95 and this did nothing but make the entire franchise look terrible. My final score is a .00001 out of 10. Beware the badness of this game!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It Turns Out this Game is Not Really 'Ultimate

posted by KHMDark (COVINGTON, GA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Alright, I have always been a DBZ fan, ever since the show came on on Cartoon Network back when that channel was any good. I own the first three 'Budokai' games, and I love them. I even owned the first GBA DBZ game and beat it. And I even own Raging Blast 2 (which had its ups and downs).

Sadly, this is the game I did not find that fun...

The Story is what you expect, you follow the series and such. But, thankfully, they brought in the world map, where you can actually fly around and made it a lot bigger. One thing they did right.

The biggest thing about this game was SUPPOSED to be the 'Hero' Mode, where it would let you created your own DBZ Sayain.

I will be short and quick for this part (That is what this Mode is like, too). The story is horrible, the gameplay is VERY short, and it gets WAY too hard FAR too quickly. Heck, it starts you off fighting random weak enemies, and after you beat two Story fights, it gives you extremely hard battles. And for the second to final boss, who is WAY over powered, I had to abuse his AI to beat him! I was not going to train for five hours just to get a tiny bit of experience per fight.

The Story ends off horribly.

Who ever thought up the Hero Mode's story should be fired.

The Customization is horrible, too. Only about 10 outfits are in the game, with five or so hair styles. The voice selection is o.k here. I like you can change how your character acts and speaks.

Enough about that. The Fighting is where this game is the most horrible. It's basically a game of 'Rock, Paper, Scissors', except with only two of them! You get three hits in, and you have to choose between 'X' and 'Y'. Choose the same, and you lose, choose different, and you win and can dish in a lot of damage. So, in the end... it's a system of luck. Yeah, great decision, Developers! -_-

In the end, just... stay away from this game. This is BARELY for Hardco

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOOOOOOOOOO!!!

posted by skinnycartman30 (BIG PINE KEY, FL) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i am so mad this game is terrible ever sense i was 4 years old i have loved playing dbz with my brothers but this is nothing like any other game ive played there is not as much characters and its not even you fighting i was looking forward to playing the story mode i always loved but they skipped so much
overall the most terrible dbz game ever made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Randomized?

posted by Axiarus (MESQUITE, TX) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

At first it is pretty awesome, not going to lie. Then you realize that most of the battle is not even under your control. Being able to pull of combos is sheer chance. You could go a full game and your enemy could win 100% of the clashes and you would never get a combo off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse