Rent Dragon Ball Z: Shin Budokai for PSP Games
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Shin Budokai

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1013 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Best Portable DBZ game you can get!

posted by Luigi360DS (NORTH HILLS, CA) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I played and beat both Budokai 1 and 2, but I haven't played the newer ones. When, I played this game I noticed that the controlls and gameplay were different than in the first 2 games.

The game's story mode is good and fun, although there were no voice-overs, and pressing x to move from dialouge box to dialouge box sometimes got annoying. The battles in story mode were fun and action-packed.

The other modes weren't as entertaining as the story mode but some occasional battles were very enjoyable.

Overall, this is a great game with out-of-this-world battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DragonBall Z Shin Budokai is very good!

posted by javahn10 (PONTIAC, MI) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

DBZ Shin Budokai is a very good game!One thing I love about it is that you can play as your favorite DBZ characters on the go!You can also play adhoc mode which is a good touch.Although there are some problems with it.It's really short and you can't unlock every transformation from the other games.Although it still is a great game and you should pick it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what did i think of this DBZ

posted by shane32 (AURORA, CO) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

i loved it the best fighting game for years the colors are so good you will love it as much as me the game play wus like 14 hours long but i give it a

A++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shin budokai rocks!!!

posted by DBZgamer (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have only one thing to say... the game rocks!!! The characters in the game are of great selection. The other games were not as challenging as Shin Budokai. There was newer terrains and new stages. Another great thing about the game is the modification and creation of new network cards for the internet/ad hoc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is the shiz nite the best game ever

posted by Sanchez439 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is the shiz nite i loved this game you can unlock 18 players and those 18 players are all awesome i would reccomend thos game to anyone the best player in the game that i think is super vegito especially his special move this game is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A lot of fun

posted by johnnyboi (LADERA RANCH, CA) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i like the way the story mode is done, it makes the game a lot of fun. i couldn't get the network battle to work, my psp just sat there searching for an opponent so that's lame. i don't really want to send the game back but maybe i'll just buy it =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon ball Z shin bUdokai

posted by juggalo104 (BANDON, OR) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game play for this psp game is better then a lot of others. A little confusing at times but you will catch on later. You will enjoy the game if you like pure fighting. I give it a 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I can't get to level 2

posted by cheezman (PASADENA, CA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think that the gameplay is pretty good, its just that after you fight the first "boss" you can't get any farther in the game. It doesn't take you to the second level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome awsomem awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!

posted by strig9 (KINGWOOD, TX) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is so awsome but i cant help but thing its missing somting
its a little deferent from the old ones but still awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DRAGONBALLZ SHIN BUDAKAI

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

MOST OF THE DIFERENT CHARACTER FORMS HAVE ALL THE SAME MOVES AND THERE ARE A LOT OF MISSING CHARACTERS ALSO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by Simsation5 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 29, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is really with two diffrent modes and multyplayer this game can take you a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bomb!!!!

posted by 00evilmike (MARTINEZ, CA) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well i have been playin alot of the recent drangon ball gamez at work(since i had nothing better else to do)and i seriosely think this great game....althought short in sum wayz it offers an indepth story mode that im pretty sure everyone will enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A dammed to the orginal

posted by peanutx (FORT DEFIANCE, AZ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

A good looking game on the PSP screen, but what lacks is the overall gameplay.

Where once Bodukai Tenchi once simplified the the gameplay is where the PSP lacks in grafix. I wish putting 3D grafix in a 3D world would somehow elimate the need for a 2D game like Tenchi. But the PSP version is just for taking another old title on the road...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Okay for a Dragonball Z Game

posted by Joker4479 (SALEM, IL) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Its not as good as some of the other DBZ Games, (Such as Tenkaichi 3 for the PS2) But it was pretty good.
I'm a big DBZ fan and if you dont have as sytem for a DBZ game then I recommend this.
My only complaint is the minimal amount of characters to choose from, lack of customization, choice of stage, etc.
Unfortunately, this is an old game. So its very hard to use the online features if you can at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome

posted by sonofabiii (MOCLIPS, WA) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

if you love dragonballz this is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A little Repetitive

posted by flunkybunk (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

it gets kind of boring after a while, but still a good game to consume time, not really to achieve anything though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by vmex151 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

great DBZ game if on the go. features many of the ps2 version attributes. However just not as good as the ps2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

everthing is good but

posted by veggeta36 (RICHMOND, VA) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

everything is good but there's not a lot of people but its still one the best Dbz games i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Janemba all the way. Play it every day!!! WOW!!!!!

posted by Warlock (LOS GATOS, CA) May 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

My favorite char is the dude in the purple. His moves are noobilators, his speed kicks, and he is well balanced by the other players. Janemba is only one aspect, however. This game is ...(intake of breath...) awesomenoobzorspwnsesuper- awesomegigacoolnessrockin- megaultragianthugesuperca- lifragalisticespialidocio- uslygood. pant... pant... well... you get my drift. You must not have a heart not to like this game. Or you are handless. Or you a re such a noob that you cant punch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My first Playstation Portable Review

posted by SLAYER600 (NORRISTOWN, PA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

Dragon Ball Z: Shin Budokai is a fighting game that is based of the popular anime series Dragon Ball Z. The story... Well lets just say this. If you never played the Dragon Ball Z games or watched the series before, You will be very confused. The story goes like this. Heaven and Heck has gone out of control and the dead are coming back to life. There is also a rip in the time space continuum and people from past and future are coming back. The Z fighters have to face old friends and enemies. The dialog is a joke and the game does not take itself seriously. Characters say very stupid things. The story is laughable.

The graphics are great for a hand held. Lighting and effects with energy attacks are very impressive. I just wish they put in cut scenes. Instead they have text bubbles and pictures of characters. Not even any different expressions on characters faces.

The sound works well. There is no lip sinking with the little dialog they have though. Music sets the mood and works well with the game.

Controls are simple to get into and tough to master. They are perfect though. No tutorial needed to learn how to play the game. Difficulty can be frustrating sometimes though.

The game is very fun overall. I just wish the story was more captivating. Its hard to take a game seriously if it does not take itself seriously. But fun for a little while.

This game supports multiplayer.2 players in ad hoc mode. So play with a friend. You can also trade profile items with eachother which are unlockable items you buy when you fight well in single player. Fun enough but I have no friends who have this game. But if you do you might find it fun. So have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shin Portable DBZ FTW!

posted by flubber (DALLAS, TX) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

THis is a freshening experience for me. I have been playing Supersonic warriors for the GBA recently , and am happy to inform you that this is a far superior game! The graphics are really up there and the attack combos are fairly hard to get off with the computer on high and countering constantly! I like this game and it seems to like me because we are having a lot of fun. The only lacking part of the game is the cruddy unlockables. There are now good reasons to keep you coming back time and time again. It is a good fighter, great for a handheld system even, but where is the replay value? I gave this game an 8. It deserved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I HOPE IT'S GOOD!!!

posted by Dubcity56 (NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I just ordered this game yesterday and im wondering if it's as good as you people say some im goin to give it a try...Oh and thnx for the details.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Awesome Game!

posted by AloofyOne (ALBION, NY) Jun 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

DBZ: Shin Budokai was everything I expected it to be and more! The motions were excellent and the unique moves blew me away. I was disappointed though, with the cinematic qualities I saw from the DBZ games on the PS2. I miss the little minigames you were able to play to execute devastating moves. This being due to the psp's lower proccesing power. Despite that, I still believe Shin Budokai is one of the best games on the psp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Budokai Game I Have Played

posted by barramaral (METAIRIE, LA) May 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is the best Dragon Ball Z game I have ever played.

Great graphics, fluid controls, great storyline, put them all together and you get this game.

Amazing, simply amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun

posted by mullethawk (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

I bought this game knowing that i like dbz. But i haven't liked the games recently because of the camera in tenkiechi. But this game is just like budikai 3 with the camera when the game was 100% better. So if you liked budikai 3 better than the tenkiechi games then you will definatly love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse