Rent Dragon Ball Z: Infinite World for PS2
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Infinite World

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.7

569 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game for DBZ Fans

posted by Mythos (HEMPSTEAD, NY) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a person who is an avid DBZ fan, i find Infinte world to be a great and fun game, though not my favorite DBZ game of all time. The combo's and cancel's are fun to pull off, the roster is good, the story mode is nice and the additional characters are pretty cool as well such as GT vegeta and GT Goku. That said i personally prefer the Tenkaichi series, but u cant go wrong with this one. worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is ok but even the "best" game has flaws

posted by gamelover7 (ARLINGTON, WA) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

this is the latest game in the Dragonball Z series. its also the hardest and I noticed a bit of flaws in the game.

lets start with the cinematics, they didn't even try to get the voices synced with the way the mouth moves I can tell they NEVER edited them at all when it was brought to America but for some reason in Dragonball Z Burst limit they at least tried to sync the voices but in Infinite World they didn't try at ALL.

next is the controls, they are different almost completely you cannot charge your Ki with holding the X button and press the directional pad button the way your character's back is facing like in Budokai 1, 2, and 3 this time you have to hold in the L1 button to charge your Ki. pressing the R1 button and holding a directional button in a certain way can let you do a quick dash, its pretty handy if you can control properly that is. holding down on the directional pad and pressing the Circle button makes you transform which is kinda a big improvement compared to pressing the the Triangle, the Square, and X buttons to transform, and lastly pressing the L2 button isn't your Ultimate attack button anymore its now up-Circle now.

and lets talk about the story mode which is the biggest disappointing story mode EVER. they way you choose a fight is okay but the main problem is that it skips alot like when you fight Cell with Goku and you beat him it just goes straight to the Majin Buu Saga the only cinematics in the game are after the Final fights with Radiz, Frizza, Cell, Kid Buu, and Omega Shenron and after no more cinematics.

and lastly the CPU AI, its TOO freaking smart and it likes spamming the Ultimate move too much it spammed it on me like 7 times in a match once and even on the easiest difficulty its still too hard and it has a move that only the CPU can use which is not fair.

my final words are: this game is okay but not as good as Burst Limit or Budokai 3. if it had proper edits like good voice sync and good cinematics it can be good but no

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth your time

posted by Krillinfan (RICHLAND CENTER, WI) Jan 21, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, to be honest, this game is better than one might expect. A lot of series that put out an a final last-gen installment do a lazy job and just sorta count on the cult following to suck it up while they work on the next-gen installments, but that's not the case here. Time was actually put into this game, and it shows.

The game breaks from the cinematic fighting style of the Budokai Tenkaichi series and returns to the more arcade style of the original Budokai. However, some fans will be a tad upset at some of the missing characters, perhaps most notably the first absence of Android 18 as a playable character in quite a while. And as for a character's Ultimate Attack... they never once explain how to use it in the game. (So while you're fighting your opponent, don't be too surprised if he pulls out a Spirit Bomb and you have yet to even figure out how that works.)

However, the advent of the mini-games (The first time seeing them since Budokai 1's "Line Up Raditz" level) is actually a welcome break and in it's own way, it makes up for some of the other shortcomings.

All in all, not the best game to get if you're looking for a look at the game series, (I highly reccomend either Budokai 3 or Budokai Tenkaichi 2 if you're just starting) but veteran players will enjoy it.

Just don't rely too heavily on that Spirit Bomb. (Remember what happened when Goku did it...)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dude...

posted by awsome (AKRON, OH) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game cant compare to the tenkaichi series. They went back to budokai style and what up with the story mode? After i fought cell with Goku it went right to the buu saga they are skipping too much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dragon Ball Z: Infinite World.....Rocks!!!

posted by Kakarot (FAIRMONT, WV) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

DBZ Fans, for the price this game is a ten. Plays like budokai series. However it has minigames to break you away from always fighting. The game spices up the event in DBZ thur GT so from one dbz fan to another Play this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm glad I didn't buy it!!

posted by AnbuNaruto (EDMOND, OK) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the DBZ series, the Budokai series, and the Tenkaichi series, but even though this was Budokai it sucked!! It sucked so bad I didn't keep it for a week. The mini-games were fun albeit easy, but some battles were so tough I had trouble on very easy.(I'm a decent Budokai player) This was a huge letdown. I almost stopped liking DBZ it sucked so bad. The only way to like DBZ after this game is to play DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 3. 3 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what happen dbz

posted by BTank64 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

wheres all the amazing graphics wheres all the free movement where is it? im just at a lost for words right now i played i dont even feel like unlocking all the people this was horrible just horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no way!

posted by dagamegod (SANTA CLARA, CA) May 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok so i sent this game back cuz it didnt work and was waiting for my next one and they sent it to me again so ill tell you somethin this one skips like all the good battles like in dragon ball z budakai and tengaechi and the budikay tenguyechi and the battle sytem used in this one suports less playable charachters the any of the first ones the fighting mechanic is so flawed as well you have to dash to get close to youre openant and the moves arent over the top at all there actualy vary tame and limiting even one cool thing is the custimezable charachters but only some are worth it in a nutshell dont bother with this one its 17.99 for a reason they destroyed this game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game...but for fanboys only

posted by Salims (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

::Gameplay::

Dragon Ball Z Infinite World is almost exactly the same as other DBZ games, when looking at gameplay. Capsules are bought at a shop, and each capsule has either a skill, or something like that. You can still create custom characters with your capsules. The "story" mode is Dragon Mission. In Dragon Mission, you have a little Goku avatar on a map. You go though each saga (Saiyan, Frieza, Android, Majin Buu, GT, and Other) in Dragon Mission and fight key saga characters along the way. One new aspect added to Dragon Ball Z Infinite World is the little mini-games thoughout each saga; Sometimes you have to go through rings in a certain time, sometimes you have to "train" by punching in buttons in a sideways guitar-hero way. Gameplay, overall, does not differ much from the other Dragon Ball Z games out there.

::Sounds::

There really isn't much to say about the sounds and music in Dragon Ball Z Infinite World, as you really do not notice them. I guess one thing I could say is the attack sounds are fabulous. For example, when using a Kamehameha, it really does SOUND like you actually are using a Kamehameha.

::Visuals::

The visuals in Dragon Ball Z Infinite World is not different at all from every other DBZ game. As usual: Super Saiyan hair is still spiky and gold, attack visuals still remain very good, and cutscenes are often cel-shaded. There really is nothing else to say.

::Controls::

You will need some time to get used to the controls in this game. Even if you have played other DBZ games, I still suggest practicing before rushing into Dragon Mission mode. Many attacks are still the same: square for punch, triangle for kick, X for guard, and circle for chi. Special attacks such as Kamehameha's are very easy to use once you get a hang of the regular controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by gamer4123 (CONNEAUT LAKE, PA) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I like DBZ and this game is not worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A disgrace to DBZ

posted by JetsFan09 (NEW MILFORD, NJ) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. Why cant they just come out with a serious game for dbz. The mini games make u feel like your two. The stories, or should I say tiny pieces of stories, are just that. they are nothing. take away some of these pathetic mini-games and actually give some of the stories. Like when you get to namek theres no story. u just fight captain ginyu and then you are facing final form frieza. are you kidding me?!!! The gameplay is horendous. and again this game makes you feel like your 2. just pathetic...and gamefly, your a little bit on the over strict side for language. that is also pathetic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ew

posted by kewlnsimpg (Fair Lawn, NJ) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it was such a bad game wow i didnt expect much budokai 3 was much better the graphics stink the moves stink why even make a game like this so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

game is really bad and old.

posted by cmario13 (MIAMI, FL) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly like Boudakai 2 except in story mode some of the missions are adventure missions. But, otherwise this game is exactly the same. So, if you didn't like boudakai 2, and not many people do, don't rent or buy or even play this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game good graphic thebes game ever!!!!!!!!

posted by jhghgshd (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

EVERYTHING WAS AWSOME NO OTHER GAME CAN SERPAST IT NOT EVEN BURST LIMIT CAN PAST THS BEST UP AT ALL SO THE PEOPLE WHO MADE IT SHOULD MAKE MORE AND GAME FLY START HAVING IMPORTED GAMES NOW PLEASE BECAUSE THOSE GAMES WOULD BE FUN TO PLAY AND PEOPLE MIGHT WANT TO CLICK ON BUY IT OR WHAT EVER YOU CALL IT KEEP IT WHO CARES WELL I HOPE YOU PEOPLE READ THIS!!!!!!!!!! O YAHH I NEED MORE GAMEFLY REWARDS $$$$$$

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

worst dbz ever

posted by bigpunged (BRONX, NY) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game is made for kids not adult like the rest of dbz game.its a hard game and the button is complex.i am one of the biggest fan of dbz and to me was the worst game over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Budokai with added characters!

posted by Librianitus (MEMPHIS, TN) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

I loved it, it was like going back to when I was 10-11 and playing budokai again for the first time, I had a lot of fun playing the game..I really dislike how everyone is calling it terrible and complaining about it being hard???? With the terribly easy games with all flash and no skill out today, you think some would appreciate it. The game did skip around, yes, but explain to me how they were going to fit every saga with each of their storylines within one game? think. Anywho, I loved it and found it enjoyable..was nice to go back to the basic fighting style of the first budokai with some things added. I gave it a 10/10 just because the other dbz "fans" made me mad complaining about GRAPHICS, lip syncranization (on an anime based game...really? how often is that stuff on point, who cares..), and not being able to just fly and blast all willy nilly..but for my actual rating I will give it a 8.5. Great game, give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Its old

posted by jnickolas239 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

It looked new but since I didn't check the release date I found out the hard way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First Dragon ball game i played and its awsome

posted by log159 (Willow, AK) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

This was a great game and got 100%. Oh, by the way, during the ultimate move game, you press x when the bar on your side fills up, the most filled gauge wins the minigame. This game is recommended to anyone. For the record, this was the only dragon ball game i played in my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Compared to the tenkaiechi series this sucked. The graphics were like Playstation one and half the saga stuff was missing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

help

posted by billybob64 (MARSHALL, IL) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

how do you do the parts were you use your ultimate special like spirit bomb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

one big saiyan piece of s#%!

posted by jeremyomg4 (ORLAND PARK, IL) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

this game sucks it is a digrace to the manga and the anime

pros: lots of charectars. half hearted mini games

cons: almost everything else

verdict: pass do not get this game get street fighter 4 or budokai tenkaichi 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DRAGON BALL INFINTE WORLD

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

IS BAD GAME BECAUSE
HIS TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD GAME

posted by SPSBROLY (HONOLULU, HI) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

THIS IS A GOOD GAME IT JUST SUCKS YOU IN, I LIKE IT AND YOU SHOULD GIVE IT A TRY...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best DBZ games ever

posted by Garu8181 (ARVADA, CO) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I being a collector of dragon ball z games for the ps2 all i can say is Atari sure went out with a bang for the PS2 DBZ saga. I LOVE THIS GAME. i would definently recomend it to any fan of DBZ budokai.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

compare

posted by mg80391 (PARK FOREST, IL) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

can someone tell me how this game compares to the budokai tenkaichi series?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse