Rent Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.6

5567 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the better DBZ Games

posted by ledah435 (OREM, UT) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though this game does have minor setbacks, these are vastly outweighed by some of the remarkable features. Story mode offers a better way to view the scenes and engage in fights than in previous titles. The graphics are rather impressive, rich in color and pleasing to the eyes. Battles are intense and can change in a split second and still giving the player an exciting and fun DBZ experience.

Pros:
1. Rich battlefields and beautiful art are laced together with well crafted, easy to grasp characters

2. Intense battles that keep players at the edge of their seats.

3. Engaging characters push the player to grab more out of the battle.

Cons:
1. Various Scenes are "Unlockable", forcing players to actively search for the trigger, which is time consuming.

2. Some characters are repetitive with scenes overlapping constantly.

This game is intense and will keep you wanting more. However, trying to unlock the many scenes in story mode is long and often frustrating. This game is one wild ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HOLY [dragon]BALLZ!!

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Jun 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

46 out of 61 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

an actually decent DBZ game? well, thats actually not a shocker, DBZ has been a pretty good fighting game franchise for a while.

now, the first game was not great (sorry fanboys), and the second left much to be desired (although improved). the third installment was awesome, it was side-view style and was an insane fighting game on ANY level. then tenkaichi hit stores and almost everyone loved the rear view style. i was not one of those people, so naturaly im exited that they brought the side-view back.
PROS and CONS time!
Pros:
1.graphics. this is where holy ballz come in. the graphics are AWESOME for a dbz, or any other animated game. it looks JUST LIKE the show (but in 3d of course) and cutscenes blend in and out of the gameplay seemlessly.
2.gameplay. they brought back the sideview. thats how a fighting game should be. now i know that alot of you loved tenkaichi, and i will admit that this is not AS detailed or immersive as that is, but THIS feels like a fighting game.
3. characters.....theres alot of them. nuff said.

CONS:
1. okay, i'll admit, im a HUGE fan of dbz, i love it. but atari is gonna ruin it for all of us. imean, theyve got a good thing goin, but the more they try to pull out of the franchise, the more annoyed people will become with them.

but thats really it, just political stuff. its annoying. but this IS a good game. its fun, its fast, and its MULTIPLAYER! HUZAAAHH! but seriously, if you've never been a fan of the games, this isnt gonna change ur mind about DBZ. it IS a fun game though, so at least rent it. fans, we all know ur gonna buy it anyways, so there is no persuading you. now go put on you cos-play costumes and blast out a masenko or kamehameha wave and play "DBZ:Burst Limit". an 8/10.

this review brought to you by pucheo films. search Pucheo on youtube for offbeat comedy and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Milking the DBZ Franchise..

posted by TheFirstEv (GILBERT, WV) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

20 out of 29 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Ahh, every year, month, week, we see a new Dragonball Z game hit the shelves.. And Burst Limit looks to continue that tradition of milking the franchise for its moneys worth.

While Dragonball Z Burst Limit looks good in appearance. My first few moments of playing the game, in the Z Chronicle, I believe. The first thing I noticed, was the lack of moves for characters in the game. Though, there may be more unlockables, I'm not for certain. But I played the game through the entire Saiyan Saga. And while I found a decent fighter, you couldn't help but feel restrained right off. The lack of moves at the start was actually quite sad, considering those of us who follow the anime, realize how many moves that characters had in their arsenal, before the Saiyan Saga had even passed on..

But, enough about that. Graphics wise, it's pretty much like any other anime game's graphics. Though, they did look better when you compare today's Dragonball Z games, with the ones of the last gen.

Gameplay wise, due to the lack of the moves (in comparison to older games) and how easy it was to pull some of the "ultimate" ones off, I'd say the gameplay holds up pretty steady, when judged on a scale of the older games.

But the thing that annoyed me the most? Was the cut scenes during fighting. I've heard of some people liking them, but I just hated being cut out in the middle of a fight, for some cut scene, for someone like Nappa to say two or three words. When those extra seconds could of been being put towards taking my opponent down.

All in all, the game was a fairly decent effort. And, some will love the game, some will love it simply out of nostalgia.

So in that case, the game gets a 5 from me. A fair rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could Be Better...

posted by Bevan08 (FORT HOOD, TX) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

22 out of 33 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

dbz burst limit is a very good game in terms of graphics and story, but it could have been better. There are only a hand full of characters and a very short story mode compared to Dbz budokai tenkaichi 2 which had a ton of characters which burst limit did not such as Majin Buu, trunks as a child, Gohten, And most important Super Saiyans 3, and 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why would they do this?

posted by Swift10210 (PELHAM, NY) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game, I had high hopes and high expectations with this game, but I came out disappointed. This is pretty much the equivalent of the first Budokai. If you want a good DBZ game, buy Budokai 3 or Tenkaichi 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good DBZ Fighter BUT.......

posted by JOEVSYOU (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

aright this game is good as a dbz fighter. great fighting 3-d with online and everything else.

BUT the story kills the game because the missions opps not missions more like fights dose not tell a story in anyway. WARNING dont play this game if you have not watch dbz because u have no clue whats going on if you looking for some type of story(thats what should say on the box).

all you do the whole game is go down a time line of the fights in the shows and right before u fight u hear 2 lines and all it is just some fighting words. no clue whats so ever going on unless i watched the show. in 3 hours of pure fighting i think i went through 70 ep's so far. this is called lazy developers like 4real how hard is it come up with a story when its aready scripted for you?

then along with that i'am sure its not a challenge to half the people who have played because your force to play on easy or normal on your first go through the wanna be story. which is to easy for me. with a bad stoy line i'am not going back to play on hard to get my achievements points or try to have fun with a challenge not worth my time with a bad story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Face facts

posted by infanaz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

im one the biggest dragonball z fans around, but ive had it, its the same ol dung every release, they were making strides with the tenkaichi franchise, but for some reason they thought it was cute to give the title back to the people were ruining it in the first place. In dragonball z burst limit for the xbox 360 you control a number of z warriors blah blah blah.... repetitive combat, soso ultimate moves, laughable character voices, somebody please tell me why they still cant get cells voice right, hes in his base form sounding like his perfect form, and when hes in his perfect form, he sounds like a drunk irish man!!, this is the best they can do on the 360 people bravo (claps). And then theres the stinker the thing that made me throw my hands up in disgust, the blocking... thats all they do, no matter what you do, the computers just stands there and block!, then counters and knocks you out the level and combos you, dont let them get you in the air because your finished if you do. I was playing and had the guys life down to nonthing, but he wouldnt die because he was blocking!!!!!!, well outta nowhere he teleports does 3 combos on me, i couldnt even move!, i dropped the controller in disgust and just watched as the computer held me in place and kept attacking until i died, when i did i got the game out my system pakaged it up and sent it back, i refuse to buy anymore dbz fighters, DO NOT listen top the rest of these reviewers, they are so hung up on dbz that they soil on themselves no matter how silly the game is, im a hardcore dbz fan, but it took burst limit for me to open my eyes, i hope you guys heed my words!, you were warned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bursting

posted by jordanjbss (LIVERMORE, CA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

burst limit is a very good game and so are the transformations that come with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I should have read the reviews first.......

posted by nataku80 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well yea i should have read the reviews first. where to start?

Dont expect this game to be anything like the earlier DBZ games. Its a totally different game and for the worse. The controls are kinda weird and the moves are a little different, and they took out one of the things that made the other games cool the ability to charge or raise your KI. There is also not that many characters you can play with, so this means no majin-buu or ss4 goku and ss4 vegeta, no teen goten ....shoot goten is not in the game at all. I put this game up there with the start of the dbz fighting games that came out on the ps2, WEAK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Burst LIMITED

posted by Pablo4509 (OKEMOS, MI) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I am a huge dragon ball fan. i was largely disappointed when i came to find out that after the cell saga the game was over. some of my favorite moments were during the buu saga. leaving this section out only means the developers of this game were in to much of a rush to add it. other games have covered it, why couldn't Burst Limit? it only took me ONE day to play through the "Z chronicles". don't waste your time waiting for this game to arrive only to send it out the same night, like i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HECK YES

posted by deathisfun (FRIENDSHIP, WI) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

10 out of 26 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This is one of my favorite DBZ games of all time.

It has a ton of characters and it's fun because the fighting is extremely fast paced and it's much more realistic to the show.

As in you dont have to back up a little to do a move like kamehameha. you can just do it by simply pressing X X X -> + B

which i love.

The graphics are the best for DBZ games because its a 360. Gret stages and music.

I didn't beat the game yet but I'm pretty far. It's a lot of fun.

I am definately "Keeping It" and you should too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Look at my username

posted by Picvegita (SPENCERPORT, NY) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Oh... what could have been, this was soooo close to being at least a quality rental.

Instead we get an incoherant story with all of the emotion and fun lineage of DBZ gone!

Now if you notice my screen name you will notice i enjoy DBZ quite a bit, the characters all have traits that we could all use.

Goku's determination , Gohan's concern about those around him, Piccollo's honor/wisdom, Vegita's Pride and work ethic.

but in all honesty this game brings nearly non of that to the table, now don't get me wrong this game is semi pretty and the cutscenes could have cut many season of story down to a few enjoyable hours..

But instead we get a mish mash of scenes, some of the most important events and scenes are missing or skipped over...

We have no idea who has been killed, how they came back, why they are stronger, what they had to do to reach new levels.

Instead of having you fight the major battles in the DBZ universe and use cut scenes to fill in the gaps, this game has you fight, and then forgets to tell you what happened in between fights soo you have no idea what is going on.

To me its like taking a great book and making a bland/empty movie, generally it's because it is hard to take a 800 page book and break it down to a 2 hour movie, oi...

download the demo but avoid renting and please please please do not buy it

Don't give them money for this because then they will not work like they should to bring us QUALITY Dbz games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Okay Game

posted by HCEnigma (WOODLAND, WA) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked this game, but it is so much like the other DBZ games that it is becoming monotonous and they didn't even get into the Buu Saga which sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same Game...Different Name

posted by Inastus (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

All of the Dragonball Z games are the same. The biggest problem after the Cell sage we jumped to Bardock and Broly. No Majin Buu Saga or anything else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST DBZ GAME EVER

posted by MoonMaster (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Honestly I have seen some bad DBZ games before, but this one takes the cake. First off there are some serious glitches in the fighting system that leave a lot of the dodges and hits to chance, and than theres the extreme lack of coverage of the storyline, which also leads to a disappointing lack of characters. Honestly I don't think there has been a DB game that came out after the Bu saga that didn't cover it, but sure enough they just decided that apparently not only should they not bother with the Bu saga, but they would re-write the broly and bardock sidestories, leave out the cooler sidestory all together. Half of the reason why I rented this from GF was because I figured it would cover the GT saga, but they didn't even come close to covering it. You cant play through the game on the hardest difficulty, but rather the third hardest on your first time through, and than the second hardest your second time two, forcing you to play it three times; the extra modes suck major di#$, and there is absolutely zero custom character creation. Overall, this game tried to outdo Budokai, and in doing so they took a step back and undid all of the fun and awesome aspects of the game, on the upside, the graphics do look better, but I don't have a high def tv anyway, so basically everything this game has to offer is just dissapointment. .... oh yeah, and the online play is horrible, but no one ever plays online anyway, so w/e

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ugh

posted by anderbrock (CARROLLTON, TX) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

mash buttons, watch bad dialogue, mash buttons, watch bad dialogue.

Ok. I used to write for FUNimation (in Fort Worth before they moved to Flower Mound, TX), so this game was a demonstration to how bad it has become since I left 3 years ago.

The graphics were ok for xbox, but not for the 360.

The story is convoluted, repetitive and uninteresting.

The special moves are a bore after one use.

But the worst is the AI. This is probably the easiest game I have ever played since the two-button 8-bit. I never had to "try" to defeat any opponent - just mash buttons faster as the "difficulty" increases. After a few levels, I praised J-e-s-u-s that I could simply pack it back up and ship it away instead of keeping it for 4 more days, as I would have to with a rental from a store.

You were a great company to work for FUNi (for a couple years at least), but it's been 14+ years since the end of DBZ, let it die respectfully.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK

posted by ske7783 (VINE GROVE, KY) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

DBZ: Burst Limit is ultimately not very good. The animation is nice but the gameplay is flawed with a lack of moves. Each character has about 3-4 energy moves and all of them are a let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very nice DBZ game

posted by rezard (STROUDSBURG, PA) Jul 4, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

this game have intense gameplay, you can do an combo dealing over 600 if you pro, the game can be boring duo to the duma pieces, some are long, some are boring, and some that have a active reason that you must be tired out then get hit with a ultimate attack, also your ki attack (expect ultimate's) doesn't use your ki gauge, you can quickly charge your special ki attacks there's a story mode known as z chronicles a offline and online verses mode, a how to play mode, and survival and time attack mode, the playable character rosters are low (goku, gohan kid and teen, piccolo, krillin, vegeta, nappa, raditz , frieza , cell , android 17, android 18, android 16, tien, yamcha, saibamen , captain ginyu, recoome, bardock, trunks, and broly) each character have at least have 2 ultimate attack this game have great replay value and graphs overall its a great game it's a must own for DBZ fans this game is underrated as well so hater going to hate and I might go back and play this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GRAPHICS

posted by pretteboy25 (ELK GROVE, CA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

out of every dragon ball z game i have played the graphics look beautiful for an old game the characters color and costumes are on point great game-play as well underrated game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

they've deleted so much stuff on dbz it's crazy

posted by iron_man_1 (Riverdale,IL, IL) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

they deleted so much of the the story line it only goes to the cell saga. they have movies of the other saga's.the game is ok but i don't think you should get it unless you just like fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by popoo (BEAVERTON, OR) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

way to easy I beat the game in 30min this is only good if you play online.If you rent one game for a long time do not get this.One ki blast frome broly ur dead.Its to get out of your tansformation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit Review

posted by Jameshawkins (CHATSWORTH, IL) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

As a huge fan of the series, I found this game to be the worst Dragon Ball game I have ever played. So much that I didn't even feel the need to finish the game. The story was cut down so much, that I though I was playing the game version of Dragon Ball Z Abridged. I do not recommend this game if your a hard core Dragon Ball fan because there is nothing to it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

?

posted by gothskull (ALAMEDA, CA) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

couldn't play it the game kept on having some error with the disc even though it read the game and showed a little picture of goku :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Starting off strong then sky diving...

posted by LuckyElric (SEBRING, FL) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This game opens its story mode rather well, if your looking for a fighting dbz game this is the way to go but dont expect too much out of it...

This game was amazing when i first cracked into it, but you soon discover that it has very little amount of characters...and a very short story mode....the combat system is flashy and very nice to look at with all the cut scenes and advanced moves..but its highly flawed as some of the moves are extremely difficult to do even if its just left + B. Your lucky if your able to preform them at all...I've played just about every DBZ game there is out there...

This is one of the worst i've ever played because I actually expected to play the whole dbz story....

Heres the break down:

Graphics 5/5

Fighting 5/5 -

Story 1/5

Sound 4/5

Replay 1/5: I'm returning it right away (good for vs with some friends though)

Rating on a 5 scale...3.2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh it's okay.

posted by aeroman2 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

it is a good game but frankly it could have been better. it has about twenty characters (not including transformations) and they just crammed other forms in there to make it look like there were a lot of characters. also there are 6 or 7 stages. now i have to admit the graphics rock. you can see everything! game takes about a minuet to learn and master the game. also you start out with Goku, Picollo, and krilin no others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse