Rent Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

2188 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it was in ok verison of budokai 1

posted by mario3907 (CASCADE, WI) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its good game it was better then budokai1 if they would have more characters and wish ps3 version had trophies it would have give us more to do then just the story but like it and if ever got 2 it should just remove the druma pices and patch updates

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dragon ball z burst limit

posted by tammie (WAYCROSS, GA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i thought it was an amazing game but not the best DBZ game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DBZ GAME ON THE PS3

posted by DRAGON5000v3 (DACULA, GA) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the combat in this game is great it is the best dbz game out for ps3 online is very good the story is right on just like it should be i give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

buy the game its very fun

posted by sonofabiii (MOCLIPS, WA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i beat the game and i give it a 10 beacuz its awsome in every way the attacks the game play every thing about it is a good plot but it needs more chapters i beat it 3 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Burst Aint The Worst

posted by coolzap43 (BRONX, NY) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great, though the story ends at Broly and doesn't continue on to the Majin boo saga, it still has newer things than the older DBZ games making it more interesting, like the how you can voluntarily dodge an attack (AWESOME). Another thing is that they could've put more special moves for each character but overall everything else is ok, i love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DBZ is Going Back to it's Roots.

posted by GameBo1 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dragon Ball Z is without a doubt one of the best television shows in history, and has made a huge impact in animation history. Over the years, DBZ has also had a long line of video games series ranging from the Super Famicom, PS1, PS2, GameCube, Wii, and finally the PS3 and XBOX 360. Does Burst Limit offer the same epic DBZ feeling, or does it’s sparkle fade away in a flash?

Graphics: The graphics are just brilliantly gorgeous, presenting the same anime look with a proper HD 3D graphical update. The environments are vivid and beautiful, the characters look identical to their 2D anime counterparts, and the special attacks and transformation look excellent. Dimps did an amazing job, keeping it faithful to the anime.

Story: Honestly, only fans of DBZ should bother to play the DBZ games, because the Sagas and gameplay are what truly makes us play the games. So only play the games if you are fan of the series.

Gameplay: Dimps has handled Street Fighter III and Street Fighter IV for CAPCOM, and the hud and gameplay style shows. The KI meter no longer is charged, but now regenerates at a fair-to-fast rate, and look similar to the Super and Revenge meter from Street Fighter IV. The attacks involve a deep combo system, the special attacks are easy to pull off with no interruption, and the special attacks also change if a fighter transforms (EX: Vegeta transforms into Super Saiyan Vegeta). When selecting fighters in the versus mode, Super Moves are selectable, similar to Street Fighter III. Drama Pieces also serve as aids to the battle as long as certain conditions are met.

Overall: The story expands from the beginning of DBZ to the end of the Cell Saga, along with some what-if scenarios with Bardock and Broly. The controls are easy and simple to learn, the fighter selection is appropriate and diverse, the graphics are brilliant, and the Grading System per level offer replayability. If you are a fan of DBZ, pick this up immediatley, and have fun.

Score: 8.3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Addicating Game

posted by disater (TAMARAC, FL) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Where Do Start when it comes to this game There no limit on what you could do From the awesome story mode to The Great Characters This Game Maybe Better then the Tenken 6 saga

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Way too short

posted by Lsadiner (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well... l did love the game, the graphics are AMAZING... the fighting moves are not great but they are Ok... l loved the game pretty much BUT... l was surprise when l actually finish the game... it was like... wow... already??? seriously??? l still feel that budokai 2 on ps2 has being the best DG game so far... we already know the sagas and everything, but is how you guys ( developers ) tell us the story... the graphics are great, and the only reason l didnt give it a 10, is because is INCREDIBLE short... but once again... is a fighting game, MK vs DC is short, Street Fighter is short... so... l feel it did meet the expectations...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but with a few flaws

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay this game is definetly what i would call medicore fighting. It is fun but the fighting controls are hard to manuver. Also charcters are not in this there are good ones but they should have done a buu saga they didn't which means less chracters man that sucks. Anyways try it you might like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Burst limit.

posted by clawss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is good. It has a lot of battles in Z chronicoles. It also has a good survival mode. It may not have the Majin Buu saga , but its great because of the great combos ,and special attacks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dbz tv

posted by football03 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really 4 dbz fans. It is like watching the show. The graphics are outstanding, the fighting could be better but overall it is a fun game to play. Its sad that the game only goes to the end of the cell saga cause i would have loved to see how they would portray the buu saga. My favorite thing about this game is that after each saga the game gives you a movie clip of that saga. I also like how they included the extra Broly and Bardock chapters. This game is for the true dbz fans, if your looking for a good fighting game try MK-vs-DC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright, Worth Only A Rent

posted by BlakDrake (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game I found to be alright at best. The graphics are amazing but what it makes up in graphics it lacks in length and moves. Most of the moves are the same as other games just lacking most of them. It seems you get something like 4 moves per fight and uh yeah, that really is lacking for what I was used to in a DBZ game. The scenery is lacking from that of other games such as Budakai that of which you can destroy you're surroundings and have a lot of different stages. The game is way too short as well only goes through the cell saga with Bardock and Brolly added on at the end. I was expecting at least buu, and a bit more of the storyline to go along with it. Once again the graphics were amazing but most of the rest is just not up to speed with other DBZ games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Falls short

posted by rpger19 (ARLINGTON, WA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, well I beat this game in about 4 hours, and only had about 1 hour to go to finish everything. Let me say that this game had a lot of really great concepts and could have been a great addition to the DBZ games. But, it ends right after the Cell saga, and fails to include a couple characters that are from the time between the beginning of the show, and the end of the Cell saga. This also leaves out a fair amount of characters who only show up after the Cell saga. Some characters which are well-liked by fans of the show. And, for some strange reason decides to put in a character that is in a GT movie. Previous games have managed to incorporate all the characters in this one, and much more. One other thing about leaving things out, Teen Gohan doesn't even get the Father-Son kamemeha!
Now, about the good parts of the game.
Well, the battle system is pretty simple, and works fairly fluidly. None of the moves are too complicated to perform.
Next, the graphics are done very well, and fighting is done in much the same way as the actual series.
The voice acting gives you the choice of the original JP VA's, or the US VA's. Let me warn many VA purists out there, DBZ had GOOD US VA's, and not so good JP VA's. Goku sounds like a little girl in the Japanese VA. This is ADULT Goku we are talking about. Gohan sounds eerily similiar, and only starts to get a more mature sounding voice once he hits the teenage status. Many of the Japanese choices for voices follow the same pattern, and many characters sound annoying, but some are done really well. Plus, you won't get to hear Vegeta's '9000' speech either. One last thing, the game is still censored, and will not feature any of the more gruesome acts in the show.
This game would have been a great deal better if they just let it go past the Cell Saga.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun stuff

posted by cpetree1 (SHASTA LAKE, CA) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun. The fighting aspects were much like the older versions. I would have enjoyed it more if the story line went further into the Z sieres than it did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game

posted by Detroit313 (WESTLAND, MI) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a decent game, it is a Bandai game so be prepared for lame cut scenes. The fight scenes are nice looking and the graphics are pretty good, again, another GREAT game to rent, but not to buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is off the hook

posted by babytaz (CROSBY, TX) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would sit here and tell you about the game but if you have played the other ones this one is actually alot better than the other ones. So All I am going to tell you is that the game is great, graphics are perfect, the fighting style is alot easier, and overall it is really cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game But Could Of Had Improvements.

posted by Tmo200 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought DBZ Burst Limit was A pretty good fighting game overall. The graphics are visually stunning and the cutscenes are pretty cool but they show the same type of cutscenes over and over again but with different characters. The fighting in the game was pretty good but its slightly difficult to master. I like the new "drama pieces" in the game which are basically powerups that activate during the battle if you meet the drama pieces requirements to use. I wish their was More characters in the game and it should at least have the Buu saga in the game. Also the online is pretty good but if you have a bad internet connection or if your opponent does it will be so laggy making it really unplayable. If you Love DBZ this a pretty cool game for fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dragonball z

posted by frojoe9601 (MC CONNELLSBURG, PA) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it a good game but for being on the ps3 i thought it would go to dragonball gt not end at cell. dbz games on the ps2 go to the dbgt. why not the ps3. but in the end its a good game worth tring it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Freeza battle in minutes rather than hours!

posted by Zoobrax (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game to play, highly entertaining. Better than just watching the show. Seriously, I couldn't thing of a better way of making sure that Freeza and Cell get the beating they so deserve than to do it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Bernardo (Holley, NY) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would love to give this game a 10 but i just don't like the camera and the little freedom you get. I wish they did everything the same excepted make the camera like it is on the tienkiiechi (sorry for spelling) but i love this game anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great DBZ Game, Too Few Characters

posted by Bulthax (Brooklyn, NY) Aug 4, 2008

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing, the graphics are the best of any DBZ, expected since it's on the PS3. The powers and fighting are amazing, Drama Pieces are a nice addition, albeit not something this game needed. The ability to pick your own Ultimate Special was a nice surprise for me. The look of the auras is amazing and the fights are all fast pace and simply amazing. But it's only down fall is the amount of characters. The older DBZ games have increased the number of characters with each installment, albeit they counted transformations in the final numbers. But the number of characters in this game don't come anywhere close to the last game. Broly has gone back to not even transforming and is stuck in Legendary Super Saiyan, The highest level of Super Saiyan you can transform into is 2 and that's only with Teen Gohan. Trunks and Vegita can go to there Super forms but can go no higher. Goku can go no higher then Super Saiyan. Krillin and Kid Gohan can "transform" to Unlocked Potential. Piccolo, Cell, and Friezza round out the transforming class and they can all go to there final forms. There are 21 characters (40 with transformations), I think it would be better if they had included more characters in the game. Though this in no way takes away from the general game play, just limits the choices you have, and might even take away your favorite characters (I know it did one of mine). With any luck we will see character downloads or a far greater increase in the characters included in the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was cool

posted by ETOTHEBANG (Atlanta, GA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THis game was wonderful I loved almost everything thing about it. I had no problem with the game in particular, but i did have a problem with other aspects. The problem was that this game was a step backwards in a sense. the last dbz game had a massive arsenal of characters and its story mode ranged from dragon ball all the way to gt. burst limit, however, starts at radits and ends at cell. and that was one of the major issues i had. and also the drama sequences that are incorporated into game play can get a little annoying. but on the bright side the fighting mechanics are pretty fun to mess around with and online dragon ball z is finally here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

People are missing the point here

posted by boobage (ALBANY, NY) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've read a lot of the reviews here and I'm guessing that a lot of people must not have friends. This is a FIGHTER, fighters from the beginning of the genre were intended to be played vs others for hours on end, adapting to each other's fighting styles continuously. Back in the day, two really good Street Fighter players could go at each other as if they were playing chess, it could get that complex. This game has THAT potential.

The fighting mechanics are extremely simple, but if you master dodging, teleporting, move canceling, and other advanced techniques, this game can get very very in depth, and you and your friends will go at each other for hours without even noticing.

At the end of the day, what else can you ask from a fighting game?

People are complaining about the story mode being short, it's A FIGHTING GAME for crying out loud, get over it, and it's definitely not as easy to go through it in the harder difficulties...but again, you should be playing vs others, what are you doing spending your time complaining about the single player???

The lip syncing is terrible, not being able to skip cut scenes is frustrating and the lack of stages is annoying...the package overall to me does not warrant 60 bucks, considering the lack of polish in presentation. Environments in a game like this should definitely be more interactive and destructible, but hey...they game is still fun to play.

Definitely worth a rent, blowing up a super in someone's face after setting them up with a string of moves and fakes is one of the most rewarding experiences in gaming right now, most specially when the other player is really good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragonball Z

posted by Aldiar (SPOKANE, WA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well this game is just another DBZ title, same basic gameplay same story same characters. Not that it isnt fun but there is very little difference from any of the other titles aside from the graphics wich are in a word, great. However I couldnt help but feel that I had played it all before. I received it, beat it, and sent it back within 24 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The thing wrong with the game,

posted by heman1 (Cuba, MO) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was good but, it was too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse