Rent Dragon Ball Z: Budokai for PS2
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC
GF Rating
7.8

612 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon Ball Z fans finally have games to enjoy

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dragon Ball Z Budokai represents the first game of the famous TV series that actually proves itself formidable.

Including many of your favorite (and least favorite, probably, as well) characters, this game will offer a good deal of variety to enjoy. If you are a fan of the series, definitely try this or another game in the series, as the fighting is simple but sufficient.

Customizing your charactesrs with capsules is another feature that helps add to the depth of the gameplay, as you must strategically pick enhancements for your character after unlocking them.

Because of the story mode following the story of the series, and the multiplayer offering extended replayability, this is definitely a game for any fans of the series. The sequel might be better for you, if you prefer the graphical style, but this is a solid performer worth looking into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Goku is awesome

posted by UVAisking (WAYNESBORO, VA) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun, and the character animations for their special moves are awesome. Especially the Big Bang attack by Vegeta. This game does lack in difficulty, because the hardest mode that you can play in is actually very easy even on the final bosses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The one that started it all

posted by CagedNeon (ELK GROVE, CA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first DBZ game and it made me proud to be a fan...in fact it made us all be proud. this fighter had really solid gameplay with simple moves, great character roster for the average fan especially since it came out during the cell saga in america. and fast paced action. but the real fun was the story mode, the story was so accurate that it seemed like i was watching and playing the show, it also had great music and a fun world tournament mode to uhhh, beat up your friend using goku or teen gohan. A must rent....no no... A MUST BUY! trust me this is a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not better than even Hyper Dimension

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I actually enjoyed the story mode, the controls were a little clunky, but definitely laid the foundation of better DBZ games to come in this generation's platforming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another GBZ game

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is actually a good game. The character style is just like the show and all your favorite characters are included. Fun to play and moves to easy to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good first step

posted by coolguy7 (SURPRISE, AZ) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like the idea of the first dragon ball z game for the ps2. I hated the other ultimate battle 22 game for ps1.overall it was a prety good game and vary easy to beat.so was this one to but a vary great first step compared to the other games in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

First always the worst

posted by Blockos (NEWPORT COAST, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This one isn't as good as the new ones , but it is still worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gamejunki (MT JACKSON, VA) Sep 16, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

All it is, is stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai

posted by YugiMoto (CROCKETT, TX) Jun 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai was the best Dragon ball game I have ever played. It's got an easy story, but not just that, it's fun too! I finished the story and got all characters within one day. I have to tell you that this was way better than Budokai 2. I would recommend this DBZ game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it was a good fighting

posted by jasmin (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

i loved this game when it first came out. Now i lost the excitement for dragonball z budokia but i still like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

me and my best friend beat this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it was i little hard for me but me and my best friend beat the game but we didn't unlock everbody and we wasn't going to do ti over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dragon ball awsome

posted by godzilla20 (BULLHEAD CITY, AZ) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this game is great it is awsome when you play it it fells like your in side of the game thirs cell,friza,and a robot that looks like a mine and a clown it's awsome to bad thier is no majun buu but it's awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DISSAPOINTMENT

posted by carlos123 (SYLMAR, CA) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

I WZ DISSAPOINTED WEN I PLAY DIS GAME I SHIPPED IT RIGHT BACK!!! POOR GRAPHICS N MOBILITY OF CHARACTERS WZ ALSO POOR. NEVER AGAIN WILL I PLAY ANY DRAGON BALL Z GAMES EVER? IS DARE ANY GOOD DRAGON BALL Z GAMES OUTHERE???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair

posted by clawss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

This game is fair. You can not use all of frieza forms. No Super perfect Cell. Suckish graphics to. Theres yellow kamehamaha waves. Gets boring way to fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game Would Not Play

posted by mrsdurango (MERIDIAN, MS) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game would not Play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DBZ

posted by 12joshua (EVERETT, WA) Aug 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

dragonball Z budokai is a awesome game it's a game with fighting,advanture and it is fun game to play every dragonball Z fan should play it thay should try it to see if they like it if they don't oh well if they hate it then they hate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first Budokai, and one of the best DBZ games.

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

I was thrilled when I saw this game on TV. I really wanted Imperfect Cell. Boy, I got more than that. This game rocked! Super cool combos, nice characters, plus the scenes, the little movies scenes were detailed. Those who don't like it, well, that's your opinion, but rent this game. Definitely! Such a long and cool game, I love it, so will you, so, rent it, and if it's too long a wait, buy, you really won't regret it. This has extremely nice graphics, especially for it's time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai

posted by BlkWolf (PORTLAND, ME) Apr 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

Ok game. Well balenced fighter. A must for any huge DBZ fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »