Rent Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3 for PS2
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii
GF Rating
8.5

2157 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i. LOVE. this. game

posted by weirdo (GOODYEAR, AZ) Mar 30, 2010

Member since May 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

honest to god, one of the best ps2 games i've ever played. the history was amazing, it captured every aspect of dragonball z, including a fight with someone that even i - a dbz fan since 2000, haven't even heard of. This was a fight with Turles. Another one was Slug. but besides that, the tournaments were amazing, i like how there was five kinds, and difficulties, and also how there were characters you could unlock by beating a certain tournament on a certain level. The sim dragon mode was good too. It was a bit difficult to unlock new pages for mission 100. Which by the way, was without a doubt the best feature of the game. 100 different battles, with different teams, it was amazing. i also liked how you could get Shenron, Parunga, and Red Shenron from the dragon balls. There was ONE thing i hated about this game. The first fight of the what if saga. Kid Goku again Arale. that fight was demented. but one thing made that okay. The fact that you could get every character from dragonball, dragonball z, and dragonball gt. Even if they were of the most minor significance. All in all, fantastic game. i gave it a ten. I seriously recommend it to all dragonball z fans of any series/ variety.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my list on fave dbz games

posted by CagedNeon (ELK GROVE, CA) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is without a shadow of doubt my favorite dragonball z game it is an amazing game and it was fun and difficult at times too. the only downside is that it gets boring after a while which made me send it back lol. but it is very fun and a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DBZ GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by bovinator (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WHEN I FIRST GOT THIS GAME I HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE HECK WAS GOING ON. NOW I AM A HUGE DBZ FAN.
PROS:GREAT GRAPHICS,COOL MOVES,AND OVER 150 CHARECTERS!ACCURATE STORY LINE,TOP-NOTCH VOICE ACTING.FUN MULTIPLAYER.
CONS:STORY MISSIONS ARE HARD AT TIMES,FIGHTING MOVES GET A LITTLE REPETITIVE.
OVERALL THIS GAME IS GREAT ANY DBZ FAN WILL LOVE IT....SOMEONE WHO LIKES FIGHTING WILL LIKE IT TOO BUT THE STORY WILL BE HARDER TO FOLLOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DBZ game ever

posted by Davaster (DERBY, CT) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I started playing Tenki 3, I expected it to be like tenki 2 with a few more characters, but as soon as I started the Dragon History mode, it blew me away. You hear your enemy, as well as allies, talking to you throughout the matches. You can skip important parts of the battles. For instance, in the Saiyan Saga, I defeated Vegeta without letting him go big ape.

Other great things is its capsule buying. you only have to buy a capsule one time to get infinite amounts to spread out between your fighters. The fighters are newly categorized, Good fighters, and Evil fighters. The is also 5 different modes of goku, kid, early, middle, end, and Gt goku (who goes ss1,ss3,ss4). There are all the Dragon ball villains and arale to chose from once you've unlocked them. Babidi, Spopovage, and king piccolo are my favorite new characters.

In conclusion you will not make a mistake by renting this game, in fact you may want to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Aesome!!!

posted by RafiRevi (JAMAICA, NY) Nov 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

48 out of 55 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game actually came out on the 9th i bought it that day. I love DBZ AND was the Best Anime EVER! The Games own all and this game much like the last is very cool. I love playing 2p in this game and with so many charecters its much more fun. you guys should buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DBZ Game Ever

posted by Espioh (CARMICHAEL, CA) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I miss my PS2 only because of this game. The character roster is huge and the fighting is just fantastic. In short, this is really just fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very good DBZ game!!!!!!!

posted by waikruboxe (MIAMI, FL) May 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this DBZ game is awesome, fun, addicting, and nice gameplay. only problem is trying to get around the moves... some moves are hard to execute making it hard for you to become and expert fighter at the game...but none the less a very good game.. one of the best DBZ games i have played... and the fighter roster is HUGE!!!!!!. EVERY dbz character from the series and movies.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenkaichi 3

posted by AnbuNaruto (EDMOND, OK) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've always been a big DBZ fan and so far this game is in the top 5 best DBZ games of all time. There are a lot of fighters and stages you can also choose the battle music. The story mode did leave out a few battles from the show and manga. (Japanese comic books) Other than that this is an awesome game I give it 9 Saiyans out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The most awesome game ever in the world

posted by DarthV36 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok so i reviewed the previous game and if u looked at this u might think i might do the same about this game........WRONG!!!!!this game rocked so hard my house came down jk but this is what I'm talking about i mean when it says goku is gonna do a spirit bomb it does it every single time it says and the beam struggle like in the movies amazing i mean this is the best dbz game ever it has more character's than any other game in dbz history even the un important ones lol it is the best theres no word that can describe this game all i can say is that this is the best dbz game ever my favorite character is gohan ssj2 because of his moves his speed his power everything i love and the styles of clothing that rocks also i highly out of this world reccomend to buy this game i swear you wont regret it the game is fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent recreation of the anime battles.

posted by Shaggyrins (ATTALLA, AL) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DBZ: BT3 is arguably the best out of all of the DBZ ps2 series of fighting games. The game is overstuffed with 150 characters, a ton of stages (with day and night choices for transformations) and a simple, yet well told story of all of the Dragonball Z series, including the side movies.

The Story mode can be repetetive sometimes (especially when you accidentally lose) when it comes to the fights, but mixes it up by putting you in control of the enemies that slaughter the Z fighters.

The Multiplayer is extremely fun, except for the limiting view of your environment.

This game will give you a nice long single player experience (about 20 hours if you sit straight through it), and a fun multiplayer experience, with choices of characters from all series (DB, DBZ, and DBGT).

Highly recommended for fans of the series, and definitely recommended for fans of fast paced fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my childhood

posted by KingGaming33333 (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I Played This Game All Day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So close

posted by jjwat11 (POWELL, OH) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game would be perfect is the story line was better and longer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Personally greatest ever!!!!!

posted by bl4z1n_f4ng (WOODSTOCK, GA) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First i must say does get boring after some time but for me that was months and months down the road. I bought this game the day it came out for PS2 and rocked it so hard I had friends begging to keep for 2 days to play to get better. So I did not just squash them into minced meat. We could not put it down the best DBZ game out there with well over 100 + characters from the begining of Dragon Ball to DBZ and into GT+ the movies. Man play with kid buu against uub and gt goku come on work that kamaha on kid buu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the best

posted by DaisyHimself (ROUND ROCK, TX) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Out of all the DBZ games out there this one has to be my all time favorite

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just perfect!

posted by Jpmoney60 (MIAMI GARDENS, FL) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect for anyone who loves fighting games the two player mode is improved due to the adding of more characters, story mode WAY BETTER! And the graphics. This game is just simply PERFECT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game but

posted by devilboy151 (ARGYLE, WI) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best dbz franchise games i've ever played and i've been playin the dbz games since the ps1 dbz ultimate battle 22 and this has the best overall technique and gameplay controls however i wish that gamefly would have more copies for their customers so i can actually play it again most of the money i have extra goes to this membership and i've had this game in my game que for both the WII and Ps 2 and havn't had either of them once and i would love to play this exact game again. preferably BEFORE i get a Xbox 360 and sell my ps2 so if the company could send me a copy to play on either of the two systems i'd really appreciate it other then that i have no problems what so ever with the game i've owned it many times but i wish i had the money to get and play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenkaichi 3

posted by warhero (ELK GROVE, CA) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

this game is way better than the first and second combined has great graphics like the first but superb handling like the second there are way new noves and it is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not enough improvement

posted by austinjb (CARLSBAD, CA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

ill seperate this review into two halves, good and bad.

GOOD

the game is very fun and the grphics are alot better. the transformations and attacks look alot cooler. the story mode altough shorter is much better with in-battle cut-scenes. there is a battle replay mode. the ultimate battle mode is improved and you can do several different things. there are also more alternate costumes for the characters. there is also day and night stages.

BAD

altough there are over 150 characters some are very hard to get and more weak characters are added instead of strong characcters. some stages are also very hard to unlock. the tournament mode has been changed and you cant pick the tournament to do. only one tournament is available at a time. you can only pick your tournament in a mode that you dont win any thing. ther arent very many battle improvements other than graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE MOST POSSIBLY GREATEST GAME I'VE PLAYED!

posted by Amaxyomoma (HINESVILLE, GA) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

(plz rate)WERE TO START WERE TO START! first off this game has no bugs and it has the most greatest graphic compared to any other games of this year (not including games for other systems).I have no problems with this game and its worth a buy so i may buy it. The best thing that caught my eye was the shading. Its extreme game-play and amount of characters are outstanding i give this 600 thumbs up lol. But everything else isn't a piece of like the other ones...well not dbz tenkaichi 1, and 2 but thats all for now thanks and plz rate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!!

posted by ninjaNeb (BASSETT, VA) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

one of the best dbz games i've ever played. it has a character roster of over 150 characters. the attacks look great, especially for a ps2 game. the story mode is limited, but covers all the major fight. for instance, it skips the fight with ginyu, but covers all parts of the freeza fight. it also covers dbgt, along with plain old db, as well as a what-if saga, and the movie saga. it includes a nice tournament mode, and a good customazasion system. they have character files, and a password mode, where by entering paswords you can unlock characters with super stats. it has over 30 stages, and some nice costumes. overall, one of the better dbz games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally Got It Right

posted by blkmetal (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's about freakin time that they got it right. This makes up for the puttered predecessors. 4 dragon balls out of five.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It rules

posted by Dbz0boy (ELIZABETHPORT, NJ) Dec 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me just point that any dbz fan will die to get this game. It has all this action, Story mode story mode extension(has people form db dbz and dbz gt), and some impressive graphics.Also did i mention for the Ps2 game it has a disc fusion feature that lets you go crazy if you have a Dbz Tenkaichi 1 or 2 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenkaichi 3 My thoughts

posted by sinharvest (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

With this They took a weird step back I like the In depth story line with DBZ BT2 but with this title not so much and I liked how the story fights were in depth its still a very good anime fighting style game I think they need to add a Create a fighter and combine elements from 2 and 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dsdsddsdsdsdsdsdsdssddsdsdssdsdsdsssddsssds

posted by fermin Mar 16, 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sasaasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasasas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not the makers best!

posted by gamefan642 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i will say that this game is not as good as people say. yes it has good graphics. yes it has new characters, but it has almost no challenge it gives u all the basic characters as in goku gohan ect. it even gives you all the transformations. you only have to unlock items to customize your character and the story line scenarios, but do not get me wrong i like the 1st and 2nd ones. It is just that i would not get that exited over this game for what it is worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse