Rent Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3 for Wii
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.0

1905 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Yet

posted by glthrowdow (ORANGE PARK, FL) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Amazing game with a considerably generous amount of character selection that will have you in awe. Trust me, if you have a favorite DBZ character.. he/she will most likely be on it.

Online play added for those looking to go against others.

Only complaint is that Hardcore DBZ fans may be annoyed by some of the in-accuracy in the DBZ story mode and how it is really portrayed in the original series television show.

Overall, this game is a must rent...possibly even a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WHY CANT I RENT

posted by Sn1peTs (ASHBURN, VA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GAMEFLY

Y U NO LET US RENT THIS GAME(????)?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fighter game to keep you coming back for more.

posted by jfox08 (Chicago, IL) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

That's right this game is one that will be home with you for awhile. And the best part, you don't have to be a fan of the series. I have only seen a handful of episodes and this game is just plain fun. The game is fast paced with a pretty high learning curve but once you get used to the wii controls your in for a ride.

The story mode is fun and talking while battling makes for a more enjoyable method of experiencing the story, though it does merely glaze the surface of the episodes.

Fans will wet themselves with glee as they throw their own kamehameha wave with the wii-mote and the nunchuck. In fact all the moves are pretty simple to perform and yet complicated enough just to make it fun.

This game boasts the largest cast of playable characters yet with many unlockables so expect a lot of quality playtime. The online is even a fun aspect if you have high-speed and are lucky enough to link with someone else who does as well.

Overall this game is a must rent. While it does not really introduce anything new to the series it the controls themselves are new and so it will keep you entertained for days. Give it a go around!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cool

posted by trinniboy6 (LANSFORD, PA) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great game. if you like the characters its like playing the cartoon. the combos are a little complicated but fun fun fun .will buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best dragonball z game so far

posted by dak100 (MEDFORD, OR) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the best one so far i like that there are teams in this one and that you can select the characters in their form in 2 player mode and in this game there are 40 characters that you can play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by gozu82 (SPRING HILL, FL) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game rocks the control scheme is so much better than 2 I definitly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game

posted by dnxtprince (YONKERS, NY) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun especially playing with others. You can play it with all nintendo controllers, but I recommend you play it with the wii controller. A+++++++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

aniline play

posted by treroc4456 (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i've bought all the dbz games on ps2 and i was very happy now i have a wii and its even butter (hard with wii ) control but good but the online play sucks we all have played socom or other games were it laged a lil but this bye far was the worst ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My... GOD!!!

posted by Anguirus (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I absolutely love this game. There is so much replayability it almost warrants a purchase... ALMOST!!! I say that because once you complete the unusually short story mode, you must bog through so much stuff to get everything else. You need to beat certain world tourneys on certain difficulties, then you must collect the Dragonballs about 10 (!) times which takes so long. But, you can still keep on without the characters and stages. And while the online presents alot of potential, the lag is horrible!!! So, if you are a fan of fighting games, you will love this game as a fighter. But!! If you love Dragonball Z... You will more than likely want to buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by laurynas (DARIEN, IL) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a really fun game. there are tons of characters to pick from. There are a lot of fun modes to play in too. You can play in Dragon Ball history which lets you play along with the story. there is also a tournament mode where you can play in various tournament. There are a lot of fun moves you can do with the characters. For me the funnest part was the evolution z mode because you can make your own characters. This game is the best fighting game i ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very very awesom......exceeded expectations

posted by kuldotha (OMAHA, TX) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i knew after 6 years of purchasing the budokai series that each instalment gets better and better.....but there is still that existing problem of the fact that with the creation of each new budokai.. sort of invalidates all of the budokais before them.....if someone could buy three then no idiot would buy 2!....but besides that this was the best fighting game ive ever played in terms of variety and flat out destruction....this is a must have for action lovers and dbz fans alike....dont just rent.........buy this game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must for die hard DBZ fans, others may disagree.

posted by uurmek (OSWEGO, NY) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Dragon Ball Z Tenkaichi games have always been a breath of fresh air into a stale fighting game arena. They offer fast gameplay with lots of glitz and flashy effects to it.

Game controls have been improved upon. It took some getting used to with the wii remote (block is now A+B for example), but all in all I find it much more comfortable. The tracking point is gone and instead special moves require you to hold down one of the direction buttons on the Wiimote’s D pad and perform the motion.

The story mode improvements are my personal favorites though. This time around there is no annoying map to navigate and most sagas take place over 3-4 battles. The battles are long and tough, and follow the story (if you wish). What I mean is when fighting Nappa in the first saga, you start as Tien. If you are very skilled you can beat Nappa as Tien and end the battle victoriously. If however you can’t (he is off course, extremely tough) you can wait a bit and a command will appear asking you to press 1 (if using the wiimote). Every time the 1 command appears something from the show happens basically, until eventually Goku arrives and your beat Nappa then on your own. It offers a much more fulfilling experience for me.

Now for the cons of the game. There isn’t a whole lot that was added. Sure some new maps and characters, but the roster is far too big at this point. Personally I never see myself actually seriously playing as “Frieza’s Soldier” so most of the new characters seem like a joke to me.

The difficulty was increased greatly. This game’s Easy mode is roughly as tough as Tenkaichi 2’s Normal mode; making the first time though the game on anything but easy quite murderous. This isn’t too bad for die hard fans, but with battles being extremely long (5+ minutes usually) if you slip up due to an unfair advantage on the AI’s side you’re fighting the whole battle all over again.

So if you love DBZ this game is a must, and if you like fighting games in general, try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite DBZ game, but still has minor flaws

posted by brandon926 (EAST NORTHPORT, NY) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I must say I love this game. When it comes to gameplay this game recieves a 12 out of 10. Any time the game is played single player (no split screen) it runs very smoothly. The control scheme is very well done because newcomers can play and understand the basics but it still gives the hardcore DBZ fan the oppurtunity to master very intricate controls.
If I were to list all the things I absolutly love about this game it would be far too long so I will list my only complaints.

1) Character customization
A custom character will allways have the same combos and special/ultimate moves as normal characters. The customizable option adds "perks" and attribute boosts only. I think of this as a very minor complaint.

2) Lack of (real) cut-scenes.
This issue really bothered me, some really important moments in DB, DBZ, and even GT were really messed up due to all the "cut scenes" using the in-game engine: Beacuse of this, the cut-scenes look horrible, can only show two characters, and require certain attacks to be extremely story specific (ex. DB goku has the "penitrate" move that killed king piccolo that shows him going through the opposing character, but after the sequence the opposing character obviously dosnt have a gaping hole in their body). Also when scenes include 3 or more characters, characters need to be swapped out in an in-game fashion. But if you are familiar with the story this dosnt matter much, but is it the biggest flaw.

3) HIGH LAGGING ONLINE, EVEN IF YOU HAVE A GOOD CONNECTION

REGARDLESS ALL THE BAD THINGS MENTIONED IN THIS REVIEW THIS IS MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE WII GAME AND EVERYONE EVERYWHERE SHOULD EXPERIENCE THIS GREAT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEst all round Game from dragonball Z

posted by Vargas (BURBANK, IL) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Its awesome how the game is exactly like the show. every character is on there and you get to use all their powers. its amazing it brings a blast from the past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best of All Dragon ball Z Games

posted by MiniBlackz (RICHMOND HILL, NY) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

To begin with I wasn't sure what to expect. I mean after DBZBT2, I knew I wanted the 3rd game to the series but besides new characters I didn't know what there'd be. Now as I just said, you guys already know there are many new character including King Vegeta,and GT Kid Goku just to name a few. The game also features a new fighting system, that takes some getting used to but as you do get into it you'll love it, also a day night system. There is a new sonic sway dodging technique just like a dodge system in budokai 3, and they really make use of the motion sensory for the wii this time. The cursor is gone and special techniques make you feel more into it when you do them now, like one of my favorites to do in this game "Burning Attack". Some may disagree and say that its predecessor was better but thats because they may either have a problem with the new controls or the story. The thing with the story is it isn't that long. Its not a bad thing that Atari had in mind, they just didn't want to have their players relive the story over and over again as they have through every game. Instead they put the main battles of each saga and movie etc. One thing I complain though is that they missed some major battles like for instance the gotenks and super buu. In my opinion they should of gave you two options. One where you could relive the story from Dragonball to GT experiencing everything head on while leveling characters with Evolution Z like they did in Tenkaichi 2. Then offer a second option for those who didn't want to go through everything again a smaller story where you play the main battles. Overall this game is worth it and should definitely be known as the best Dragonball Z game to date, due to the exceptional fighting and playabilty in general. Its fast fighting system really puts you into it and makes you feel as you are apart of the show. The music is good too, but if it had music from previous old games such as final bout, and snes ones it would be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME! Better than the last

posted by Fishtaco (Los Angeles, CA) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

GET IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

You have to be a fan to truly enjoy it

posted by Zero2026 (MONROE TOWNSHIP, NJ) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you are one person that doesn't know anything about Dragon Ball ( whoa, from what planet are you from!?) then the game is not for you. But if you are a hardcore fan, then is worth trying. It has a lot of characters and many moves that you may want to try. As a pro, you can have the original Japanese audio with English subtitles, which is just great.
As a con, the motion sensor of the Wii sometimes doesn't react as it should be but you will get use to it.

Overall, if you are a true fan, get it, is good for a fan. If you are not, there are other DB games that will show you the story in better detail and gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Dragonball Z Budokai Tenkachi 2

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Dragonball Z Budokai Tenkaichi 3 is a big improvement from budokai Tenkaichi 2. The story mode is shorter but while you fight they talk. The Ultimate battle is what I think the funniest. I don't like how you can't pick what tournament you want to do.

Pros:
Over 150 Characters
Great controls
Fun
over 22,000 possible battles
Definitely a buy!

Cons:
Online is pretty slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by yodderjedi (NORWOOD, MO) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

the game was fun the first time but after i played then it kind a slow down and the characters need a little improvement and the controls stick a little

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome game gotta buy/rent!

posted by msariha (BALLWIN, MO) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is awsome story mode gets a is very good but the duel mode is the best! You can play with friends or play against the com.The best game in the budokai seris

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, unresponsive controls.

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

DBZBT:3 is a great action game. There are tons of modes, characters, abilities, costomizable options and even an online capability. Your guarenteed to have fun with this game for a very long time. There is even tag team duals and online battles which is really awsome! I didnt play teh last DBZBT:2, but i know there was sothing with the wii-mote where you had to aim at the screen to do your attacks. DBZBT:3 is not like that. The Controls have been simplified for the better. A is your basic attacks (AAAAA) and pressing combanations of A and B at the right times do combos and charge attacks as in all DBZBT games.Charging your Ki and using your blast attacks depend on what direction your holding the d-pad in. any direction charges your Ki, but holding up and wagging your wii-mote or nunchuk side to side does a temporary character Ki outbreak where you get full Ki for a limited time. Holding left on the d-pad and following the on screen wii-mote and nunchuk prompts does your blast 1 attack. The moves are pretty creative. Its similar to the moves on DBZBT:2 (as im told) and it really makes you feel like your unleashing these deadly attacks. Holding right on the d-pad does your attack 2 or blast 2 and the on screen promts. and holding down with full ki does your super blast attack. These are really cool and most satisfying. The only problem with all these controls and moves is that it takes a REALLY long time to get used to and that some of the blast attacks are unresponsive when you most need them. It gets pretty frusterating when your about to die but you can kill the opponent with an attack but it doesnt work (the blast attacks, not the combos and stuff). This DBZ has the most characters. there is like 150 characters!! thats a ton, amd there is so much stuff to do. The graphics look the same as in DBZBT:2, but who cares. it still is fun!
GAMEPLAY:9.7/10
GRAPHICS:7.9/10
CONTROLS:7.6/10
DESIGN:8.8/10
ONLINE:8.9/10
OVERALL:9.5/10 a great game for fighting game fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

complex yet simple

posted by omegasuper (BELMONT, MA) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the controls are complex but when you get use to them it becomes one of the funnest/power packed fighting game ever. editing characters has been simplified. team battle is awesome. however I recommend the ps2 version more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dragon ball z budoki tenkaichi 3

posted by coolo56 (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is cool graphics are good but story moad they dont give you much chalenge i beat the whole game in 2 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

butt release is tasty

posted by hertig (BOWDEN, WV) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the best game ever made. Dragon Ball Z is awesome. Vegeta is bad in this game. Goku is cool but he always saves people. vegeta kills inocents which is cool.Teen Gohan is super fast way better than adult gohan. krllin is a silly goose. But krillin is the pimp of the year. DBGt sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid fighting with tons of fanservice

posted by JTStephens (WEST WARWICK, RI) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenkaichi 3 is actually an offshoot of the highly successful Budokai series from the PS2/GCube, the first game being released in 2002/03. The original series was considered at its peak with the third [and last] installment, Budokai 3, and I'm happy to say that Tenkaichi 3 is no exception.

Tenkaichi 3 continues the unique control and camera style of the Tenkaichi series, forgoing a traditional take on the fighting genre in favor of a much more unique system that does well to translate the animated Dragon Ball Z series into video game form. While this certainly didn't please all hardcore fans of the fighting genre, it's done well to gain growing momentum with the zealotic fans of the famous anime.

Adding to that a gigantic cast of characters, unique attacks, stages, an RPG-esque metagame, and a plethora of unlockables, Tenkaichi 3 is any Dragon Ball fan's wet dream. It's also done well to refine the sloppy mechanics of the earlier games, potentially garnering favor with those searching for a solid fighting game, rather than a Dragon Ball game.

Having said that, Tenkaichi 3 is made by the fans, for the fans. If you love the campy antics of Dragon Ball, you owe it to yourself to try this game. Or, if you just love fighting games in general, give this one a rent and let yourself be introduced to an interesting new take on the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse