Rent Dragon Ball Z Budokai: Tenkaichi 2 for PS2
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z Budokai: Tenkaichi 2

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii
GF Rating
8.7

1538 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best dbz game ever

posted by mnpov18 (WOODBURY, CT) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

52 out of 57 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I pre-ordered this game months ago knowing that it would be an excellent installment in the series of games released for ps2. When i started playing it, i already could tell that it was alot different from the 1st Budokai Tenkaichi. For one the sheer amount of characters are amazing. U can play as anyone from Goku to Lord Slug, anybody that was in the show u can play. 2nd is the fighting, when u get to maximum power u can unleash depending on the character up to a 60 hit combo, and there are tag battles which is neat as well, if ur character is low on health u hit l2, l3, and r3 and there is a quick scene where ur current fighter takes off and the other character drops out of the sky. Another aspect about the game i like is that the battlegrounds are twice as large as Tenkaichi 1. Another thing about the battlegrounds are that if u throw ur enemy through a rock formation or a building sometimes a dragonball will appear which you'll want to collect. they also redesigned the beam struggles and melee struggles so they are easier to master. Overall this is the best DBZ game theyve made yet, i recommend it to any dbz fans or just anybody who wants a fun fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rocks the hard way

posted by Gameowner (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Okay, i've played DBZ BT and i thought it was kinda dumb compared to DBZ B3. Throwing new fighting styles at you, but i got use to it, but still thought it was kind of lame cause apes were hard to beat.

However this game is hands down the best dragonball z game ever made. It has EVERYTHING, seriously. from movies to episodes from tv. They even have a "what if" scenario for various guys. The fighting is awesome, combos tear at your opponent, you can deal heavy blows by powering up your energy blasts or your punching and kicks. New teleport system is awesome. graphics are awesome and special moves are now so cool looking. Storyline is deep.

All in all, this game is a must have or must rent, if you like dragonball z, then get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NICE!!!

posted by deathman (PASO ROBLES, CA) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Ok Lets start off saying that what the creators of done is perfect. It seemed like they had combined both Dragonball z Budiki 3 and Tenkaichi. The fighting style is still the same but there are massive combos which has been newly add to be more of a KILL ALL THAT MOVE. Now with the Max Power being more useful than just being something to use your special that is where all your abilities from the show come from. Also with the add on of being able to CHARGE your energy attacks so that you can just annilate that rodent. Things are basically the same but what they did is made the most epic and intense fighting dragonball z yet when you transform in battles your moves also change as it did when you chose wether you wanted a super sayian or not in the first Tenkaichi. This game (if you're a dragonball z fan) will own all those before it and in my oppion own those Marvel fighting games no problem. Even while they are eating watermelon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best dbz game ever!!!!!!!!!

posted by subzero34 (ALPHARETTA, GA) Feb 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If u like dbz u better buy/rent this game right now. With the easy to learn controls and character selection this will be an instant fav. I say to adam sessler this "u r very stupid for hating dbz". If u like a great fighting game for a fair price i would highly reccomend this game 2 u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by LucasJA (WATSEKA, IL) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely the best DBZ game yet. The best part is the in game transforming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BABA BA I' M LOVEIN IT

posted by Fryz222 (CROWN POINT, IN) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

COOL COOL COOL COOL COOL COOL COOL COOL!!!!!!!!!!!
THIS IS ONE OF BEST DBZ GAMES EVER!!! JUST THE BACK OF THE BOX LOOKS COOL!!! WITH ALL THE CHARAECTERS YOU CAN BE IT IS JUST PLAIN SWEET!! I AM A HUGE FAN OF DRAGONBALL Z, SO I AM DEFENTALLY GETTING THIS ONE FOR X-MAS!!!!!1(FOR THE PS2!!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back n Forth on Tenkaichi 2

posted by AdvanceDar (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, a great improvement on the fighting capabilities of this game. It looks great and of course true to the heart of DragonballZ better than ever. It flies through the general story lines well not waisting too much on the overdone stuff that of the previous Budokais, making it up by throwing in the in between movie epic stories that many true Dragonballs fans know about. If u don't know some of the characters that's because they are introductions from Dragonball movies that tie in well with the great DragonballZ story line. Giving u a more of a free upgrading option but yet confined to a fair method not only can u upgrade fairly quickly. The game gives u credit for playing the previous Tenkaichi. Hey it helped me out. This game will definitely get u revved up in the strong up hold of the combat system in which it delivers, being known that it plays well to the matched Dragonball Z action the cartoons deliver.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is great

posted by DBZBT2 (DECATUR, GA) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is the best dragon ball game. It has all the movies to ball to gt. It is good enough to buy. The fighting is great. New combos, New transformations and new characters. Everyone is good their own way. Apes are not impossible to beat. The golden ape is very fun to play with. The Story mode is also intense. World tournament is fun with alot of your friends. The versus modes are Single player 1 versus 1. Tag battle which is 2 versus 2. Then Free Battle 5 versus 5. Their are alot of people to choose from. You can use password. Nice training mode. Fast-pace game. It could be slow but it depends on your character. I own in this game. It is very cheap. Some people cant fly like kid goku and all them. Teleporting is cool to do when you combine it with a combo. The intro is okay its not all that great. They have different combos for different people. New blast moves and ultimate moves. It can keep you playing for hours. you will never get bored. In-game transformations. Bigger and better boards. More interacting with the boards. You can charge your Blast move like special beam cannon and kamahamaha etc... to make them stronger. Everyone seen in dragonball to gt is thier. In the arena board harder to hit people out. They can go farther. They have a dragon library to tell you about people and how they work. Uub is finally taller. They have Majuub. BT2 Is to die for.All sayians can go to great ape form. Radditz is the best lookin great ape out of all of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A DBZ game everyone should like.

posted by gamer94 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ok, let's be honest here, fan or not; we all know not every single DBZ game has been sucsessful in the past. And when I play Tenkaichi 2, I was hoping this one would be different. Thank god I was right. First off, there's at least 130 characters to play and unlock. That's a lot of freakin' charcters(take that Mortal Kombat: Armageddon!). There's just about every single saga and movie a hardcore fan can think of. To the sayian saga to the GT episodes, it's all there in all of it's glory. At first I would think that the developers would take the cheap way out and put one fight in some of the smaller stories like the Torles movie. But honestly, even the smaller scenarios are suprisingly lenghty, it's enough to keep you busy for a while. Of course the gameplay itself is good too. Destructible landscapes, awesome moves and fast gameplay would even appeal to a non-fan.

Now here's the bad part. Even the gameplay's fun, the characters don't to seem to have that much uniqueness in their moves. And if your a non-fan, prepare to listen to alot of yelling.....alot! But besides that, if this isn't a buy, this should be a must rent. What are you still reading this go! PLAY IT NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

crushes tenkaichi 1 in the dust

posted by austinjb (CARLSBAD, CA) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game has every saga and movies from dbz. all froms of baby vegeta and OMEGA SHENRON!!!! the tornement modes are great.the new features include tag team battles transforming in battle but you can still start a super saiyan etc. also in the first tenkaichi the L2 circle attacks were called favorite moves but there called blast 1 in this game.so have fun beating the the crud out of your opponet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Dragonball game ever created

posted by Diego16 (WALLINGFORD, CT) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are awsome the gameplay is awsome and the game give alot of playtime. you have over 120 charcters. this game is non-stop fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great...BUT DIFFICULT

posted by imperial (WILLIAMSVILLE, VT) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off I love and have always loved DBZ. And it wasnt until Tenkaichi that I really got into the games. I had played budokai 2 and 3 and thought that they were good but never great, they just werent fun. But then Tenkaichi came out...That game finally made you feel like you were in the actual fights with an over the shoulder camera view and a simplified control scheme and a load of characters. I played Ten and beat it within a day and played it over and over and over again loving every second. Fast forward to Ten 2 a game that essentially is identical to Ten in every way except the expanded fighter roster and expanded environments, OH YEAH IT'S HARD, The AI is punishingly brutal and will exploit every opening making some Story battles impassable. Ten2 presents you with three difficulty fulcrums however even the easiest difficulty level proved challenging. I consider myself a recreational gamer and I am not willing to spend three hours of my life trying to kill the same great ape Vegeta over and over again. This is amplified by the fact that occasionally you will be expected to defeat a super villain with some of the weakest characters like say Yajirobe vs APE VEGETA. This sort of difficulty standard killed this game for me. Next time I would expect more flexable difficulty controls for those of us not dedicated to staying up till midnight trying to kill final form Frieza again and again and again and again and agai...............
Graphics-8
sound-7
gameplay-4
presentation-7(cartoonish menu's with repetitive dialogue killed this one)
controls-10(super responsive and simple)
Difficulty factor-excessively hard, some fights were stone walls ultimately hindering game progress(frieza vs Gohan is impossible)
rent or buy-rent if you are seriously dedicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitaly not what I was expecting...

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Feb 4, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenchiachi 2 (DBZBT2) has lots of characters, modes, sagas, abilities and it has some old DBZ budokai attributes. Yet, it still isnt that awsome new game like the first DBZ budokai tenchiachi was. For starters, the cutscenes are so cheap I would have rather seen talking talking heads with no voices over the cheap, unthought-out, and cheesey scnenes in this game. like, when somthing happens and its like " suddenly goku is knocked out from behind!" you see vegeta just instant transmission behind goku and all of a sudden goku falls with no sounds, and no actions from vegeta. its just so tarded! Another thing that I didnt like about the game was that it was either too hard or too easy. Like when you fight kid-Buu, on level 2 difficulty hes hard as (somthing it wont let me say), but on easy hes easy as pie! theres like no balance between the two. There should have been a 1 1/2 difficulty. There are some good things about the game though, there is ever haracter ever made in the game from the DBZ movies, to the DBZ shows, to the original Dragon Ball. The game is also much longer than the last DBZ game. there are lots of sagas from Raditz to the Baby saga. You will also find that the world travel from DBZ Budokai 3 has returned where you can free roam around the different planets. This is nice but not needed because in DBZ Budokai 3 the places to find hidden things didnt show up on the map so you had to search which was much more rewarding when you found somthing. In DBZBT2 the only places you can stop at is what is shown on the map, taking away some of that exploration experiance. when graphically speaking about DBZBT2, the characters look great, the attacks look great but the backgrounds are lacking.
GAMPLAY:7.6/10
STORY:8.7/10
GRAPHICS:8/10
DESIGN:5/10
OVERALL:7.5/10 Its not as good as the first tenchaichi game but if your a true fan you should still check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game because just cool really

posted by jeremiah (CENTERVILLE, GA) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

well i like this game because theres a lot of charcters.i also like it because it has all kinds of diffrent game modes and more controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It had potential.

posted by Darnhippie (EL CAJON, CA) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is more of a clarification than a review. I would have given this game a 9, it's got what I've always wanted in a DB game, all kinda of extras, it's great as far as the sheer quatity of stuff. Unfortunately it has something I really didn't want. It's still a complete button masher. Absolutely no fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mayne......

posted by doughboi (fort meade, MD) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

mayne this game is the ish. It does what its suppose to do. Get wit it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't have it

posted by reyrey195 (GARDENA, CA) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I don't have it i mail them back to you a few months back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SWEET

posted by Leox (MONROE, WI) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

After playing the first tenkaichi, I could not belive the difference between the two games. Awsom improvment. In simple words: bigger, better, best. this is probably the best dragonball game besides ultamite tenkaichi. If your thinking on geting this game get it. I know im satisfide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

way more awesome than the first ones!!!!

posted by tankbuster501 (AZUSA, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

It's just great how if you unlock every thing you can basically make the ultimate Z fighter!

the only literally only thing wrong is password menu because It doesn't let you make characters like it says!

but other than that you have the whole dbz universe at your disposal!!!
from Goku to Gogeta super saiyan 4 !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dragon Ball Z Budokai: Tenkaichi 2

posted by keysfam (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

missions and controls and etc. are great but the great apes are impossible to beat with piccolo so i give this game a 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How this game sucks and rocks

posted by DarthV36 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

ok how this game rocks is that it puts u right in the middle of dbz/dbgt and you get a lot of interactive characters. The thing that sucks about it is the game revolves around the main adventure sure theres ultimate battle z and the tournament but also all the dbz games that's made is the same just better every time i like dbz and dbgt but seriously u gotta make the game a little exciting also when the things where they talk when it says goku does a spirit bomb it just says it does it doesn't show it sure sometimes it does but honestly the game is a little ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A series that gets better with age.

posted by Uranus (HIAWATHA, KS) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Upon its release, DBZ BT2 brought in a roster of more playable characters than any other fighting game, EVER. Most of the characters you know from the seriers are included. the only real reason I gave this game a nine, instead of a ten, is the LACK of a few characters. (I know I know, I'm impossible to please, right?) I felt a few more of the Black Star dragons could have been playable, rather than just Shenron. Along with Chichi and a couple others..No one major really. But every DBZ Budokai game seems to have a weird obsession with having EVERY member of th eGinyu force, and all frieza's soldiers present and playable..and..Who wants to play as them, anyway?

But I digress. Combat has been toned up in a way I've never seen done in any fighting game. You may now fly freely around the battlefield, fight under water, destroy landscapes (To a much greater extent than previously possible), and choose to start playing a fight AS the transformed version of your favorite characters..EG: Choose to play the fight as SS4 Goku, etc.

Fighting is refined, as each character has a strong difference in how they play. It will take a good while to get used to everyone and may find some of the weaker characters to be your fit. The Z Evolution option lets you customize character's strengths, weaknesses, and attributes: RPG style. All in all, if you're a fan of the show, game series, or just fighting games in general, you have no excuse to NOT pick up this title.-- A 9, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright

posted by DjEarl (PORT ARTHUR, TX) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

this was a good game but couldnt really play it cuz it was really scratched

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

charleston,S.C

posted by vonte51 (CHARLESTON, SC) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This was easy to pass!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

nice improvement

posted by highlander (TULARE, CA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This game was fun and packed with action. With the new ability to transform at will and to charge your attacks was a very good choice by the creators. Round that out with 120 characters and great fighting action and you've got yourself a party. But even with these great features I couldn't help but feel as if this is how the first should have been. The story mode got really repetitive and shouldn't have even brought the adventure mode in story mode. There was no point to it. All you do is fly to your next objective and waste time that could have been used to kick butt. The best part of this game was the duel mode which featured free battle that allows you to fight your opponent with up to 5 of your favorite characters. This was an overall good game and I recommend that you should check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse