Rent Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.5

1299 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Writing Reviews TOO FAST, TOO SOON

posted by wad05c (Tallahassee, FL) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Most of the reviews I've seen here were done by people who played the game for about 10 minutes or weren't used to the Wii remote. Others aren't fans of the DBZ series as one should be to enjoy this game throughly. Owning the Wii for over 2 weeks already and putting enough time on this game, I must say this game is just totally awesome. The controller is quite hard to get used to at first BUT once you become used to it, it's AMAZING!! Get ready to literally perform a Kame Hame Ha by moving your hands just as Goku would do. There are over 120 characters and besides Dragon Adventure (the story mode) one has tournament, evolution Z and much more to keep the fun coming. You can upgrade your character and unlock secrets as you play. You need a good 80+ hrs to completely be done with this game. If there are some things I don't like; it would be that Goku can't become SS4 right away (one must choose SS4 Goku as the character). And that even though one can get the controller style by playing over and over, it still takes much longer to MASTER the fights (this may be good for the geeks who have a LOT of time). Overall, the game is very complete, with the whole story ranging from DBZ to GT, and a lot of goodies on the way. If there is anything repitive is that music. But that's about it. The introduction is amazing as well. So before writing reviews TOO FAST TOO SOON, give the game a break and play for over 2 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

jeeeeez

posted by gyro112888 (TIFTON, GA) Dec 8, 2006

Member since May 2006

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I love dbz but hate badly made games

and to my surprise

this game is great.....i cant believe its a dbz game.......they've came along way......and it may just be the first anime game that is not just bought by fans of the show....

if you've never watched the show its great.......
its not as kiddy as most cartoons yet it does'nt go to far to where its unviewable by kids......

awesome storyline some episodes give me shivers

as for the game it covers.....amazingly....all of the dbz series, most of the movies......and the end of dragon ball GT

even a little of old school dragon ball

anyways i dont think you should buy it unless you have alot of friends that come over and will play it multiplayer with you....... it is kind of difficult for people who arent used to video games to "pick up and play".......takes a while to master the controls

i got 100% and all characters!!! yay

then i sent it back today.....oh well....one of my friends owns it....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

O me O my.

posted by DylanLong (CHARLOTTE, TN) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

27 out of 36 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Look I HATE , AND DISPISE EVERY THING DRAGON BALL Z I THINK IT IS VERY STUIPID. But this game is brilliant it is weird to play on the wii and very challenging at first but within an hour you will be bending it like beckham. now right now I would give it a 6 or 7 but it has..........drum roll.................OVER 120 CHARECTERS. I dont know more than 10 people in the thing but if this wasent an anime show the charecters would be really inovated. so I cant belive im doing this, but i give this game a 10 out of 10. Now let me go lose faith in every thing else because when I give a DBZ game a 10 look for 4 horses on fire and kiss your butt goodby.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Go Super Saiyan on the Wii

posted by xJonxBoyx (SOUTH POINT, OH) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This DBZ game plays just like its PS2 counter part, but looks a tad better and game play is smoother. Oh yeah one more thing, you get to reinact all of your favorite fighting moves thanks to the wonderful wii mote and nunchuck. I never thought i would be using Super Saiyan Goku and actually have to pull my hands back and then shoot the forward real fast in order to get off a kamehameha. It does take about 30-45 minutes to get down the new controls. In the beginning I actually hated it and regretted buying it. But in the long run it grows on you and I couldnt see myself going back to playstation for DBZ fun. I mean you can hold buttons and wiggle analogs all you want, I think ill just hold my hands up and summon energy for a Spirit Bomb to take you down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This Is My First DragonBall Z Game AND...

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say this is for fans of the series! The fight mechanics is good and the layout of the game works it just is that if you never watched the show then you dont know how to play and the AI kicks your As.(.) There is nothing bad to say about it but rent it and make a decision for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow 0.o

posted by FlyBoy (WOONSOCKET, RI) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game defenitly surpasses its past predecessors with its estimated 50+ hours storymode. The control for the Wii gives it the little push that surpasses the point compared to the PS2 version. Muiltiplayer with a friend gets remarkably intense with its new feature 5 on 5 mode. I personally rate this game 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Ka-Me-Ha-Me-Ha Of A Time

posted by Optix73 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

DBZ Great anime series and This game is no exception I know an 8 ? That's is what its worth fun game excellent if u were a DBZ fan of the show but stopped watching after DBZ finished, because the story expands into GT also. They've thrown in lot of extras along with the base fighting plot. A big aspect of the game that I found out in the last few sagas was Z-items I didn't really like that decision. I never knew how to make my own player but The story mode alone well keep u preoccupied with the Wii controls makes this game better yea people whine but once u get used to it button mashing just doesn't feel the same with a massive story mode (took me forever to finish) multiplayer is also very fun with so many characters and for each form(super sayian, third form, fusion, etc.) Comes new abilities. If you own a wii this should be added to your collection fun fighting game, great DBZ game, I had a lot of fun with it so hopefully u will tooo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by Rorschack (PATTERSON, CA) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is terrible. the controls took a long time to get used to, and the actual game play was quite repetitive. the only person I'd recommend this to is my ABSOLUTE worst enemy. it just stinks that these companies just pump out these games without thinking about anything other than the obsessive dbz fan boys. games like this are not targeted towards the casual gamer. one nice thing is, that as far as i know, they didn't add any corny little mini-games. i partially blame the gamers about this too, if they would stop buying this garbage maybe the developers might get the point that we want a game that has some replay value and decent controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game just straight up pisses me off

posted by Shuyin712 (RIDGEWOOD, NY) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Although i will admit the game is pretty fun there are some MAJOR flaws which just serve to make you mad. For example, in the beginning of the game story mode, there is no tutorial at all and most people (including myself) wouldnt think to go to training when they first try out the game. Another HUGE problem is the fact that 9 times out of ten when you are asked to win the battle, the result in the story is that you wind up losing. i mean when your fighting Broly for the first time, u r asked to beat him every time and everytime except the last time you lose in the actual storyline. Eventually i just wound up quitting the game after beating Majin Bu because i couldnt take it anymore. I still think the game is fun to play but this problem just sucks the fun out of the game and ruins it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by Harrisburg (HARRISBURG, PA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A fighting game with only one button for fighting? I found this game disappointing. I have enjoyed the cartoons, the movies and some of the other games, but the Wii version did not sell me. The motion sensing controls were not fully utilized and the strategy for fighting was weak.

Most versus battles ended in mindless button mashing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for a launch title, strong 2 player mode

posted by RogueCoder (ROYAL OAK, MI) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Story Mode was fun but over ripe with loading screens. the loads aren't long but there are a lot of them. Two player versus is the best part. If you don't have a second wiimote and nunchuk yet, I'd hold off until you do to get the full amount of DBZ fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hey better then you think

posted by ETowner (EVANSTON, IL) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The new DBZ includes every body. I stoped watching it after cell stuff. So some of these players are new but still good. The speicals are kinda cool JUST HARD.THere could be some good ideas to help the game
But if you looking for a good Wii game get this and Ray Man. I was really good GAME ritnt it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best DBZ game

posted by Pancho (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 23 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

The best dragon ball z game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This really stinks

posted by Jewboi189 (NORTH BELLMORE, NY) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

They have the entire part of interaction down WAY TOO MUCH!!! it's impossible to do combinations like they show and memorize them unlike other games. (For example: to go super saiyan you have to push the nunchuck up while pressing three different buttons really quickly.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 2

posted by Audwii (EVERETT, WA) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I have to rate this game low....beacause it's required too many conbinations on the Wiimote!! I thought this game is utilized motion detection that is unique to Wii. It was a little disappointed. :<
If you are "Dragon ball" mania, you will love it!!! I watch the cartoon every now and then but not a big fan. I will leave this game to Dragon Ball Manias.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent production values, not-so-excellent game

posted by notarobot (BATON ROUGE, LA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Although it has a large cast, excellent character models, and tons of original voice acting, DBZ: Budokai Tenkaichi 2 falls short in its overly simplistic gameplay. The game plays very much like Dragon Ball Z: Idainaru Dragon Ball Densetsu for the original Playstation (sans the four-player fun).

The game's production values are extremely high, but the use of the Wiimote is terrible. Having to double-click to get through many of the menus in the game is a hassle, "cursor-out" to block is frustrating, and pulling off specials is only mildly rewarding.

Although the gameplay is stale and DBZ: Budokai Tenkaichi 2 fails to appropriately tap the power of the Wii, the game is still somewhat enjoyable in multiplayer and the single-player offers a lot to fans that don't find the fighting system to be as dull as I do.

Overall, it's a decent game if not a bit boring and repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dragon ball z budokai tenkaichi 2

posted by shanthia (WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

dragon ball z budokai tenkaichi 2 is a most game that you never played, super sayin 4 goku and ssj4 vegita is the popelor characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Budokai Tenkaichi 2

posted by Villasenor (LATHROP, CA) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

when i had this game it wouldn't work and that sucked so now i have to send it back when i got it the first minuet i had it so now i cant play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DIDN'T WORK AND I WANT TO CANCEL MY ACCOUNT

posted by keyyon (ELGIN, IL) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Hi i got the game and it didnt work. The whole game was scrathed up. And Aslo i want to quit my account.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DBZ's greatest hit

posted by Chary (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Even if you aren't a fan of DBZ, you can enjoy this amazing game. It takes a while to master the controls, but it's worth it, to pull your hands back, and perfrom a Kamehameha. And if you just want to sit down and play? Just plug in a GC controller, and your good to go!

DBZ;BT2 has over 120 characters, reinactments of nearly every important event in Dragonball history, and many things to keep players occupied. If you haven't tried this game out, do it now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by Awesomey (FRANKLIN, OH) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

This is by far the best Dragon Ball game I've played[which is alot]. The only downfall is that it's eventually reptitive and the super moves take a long time to get used to.Good graphics, storyline[in story mode], and overall a good game.Rent it or buy it if you choose, but rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

and then some..................

posted by sonicfan64 (SARASOTA, FL) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

Its everything you love about dragonballz,and then some,for exampale instead of the (not so cool) two dimentional fighting style. And dont even get mestarted on the advanced story mode and awsome graphics.All in all this game and the upcoming sequal are the bomb

P.s. its my firts review so it not might be that great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

another really good fighting game

posted by willconque (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

so i bought this game thinking ok it is dragon ball z plus fighting game at first i was thinking this is so frekin lame. well its hard to get the controlls down it usaly takes me two minits to get controll down but this about a day.
The story is epicly awsome

Game play is great

carictures are all unic

evolutions are epic

all out good game!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eli

posted by knowts (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

Its okay i guess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!!! ... In a Way

posted by Erasmus (ELYRIA, OH) May 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game is awesome! It takes a bit getting used to with the Wii Remote, but all Wii games are just like that. The Combinations are easy after a bit of practice, and a lot of the attacks are the same combination as other characters. Transformations are actually easy, and they are all the same button combo also for all the characters. I like the graphics, the music, and the amount of other things you can do.

The only issues I have with this game are:

1. Somebody didn't use spellcheck...
2. Sometimes when you want to go up, you don't.
3. When you hide from the computer opponent, they always turn away from you and get stuck, depending on how far you are from them, and then it's usually a perfect win.
4. Sometimes you have to spin the joystick on the nunchuck superfast, yet by the time you get to it, or you can't do it fast enough, your down for the count.

Other than that, it's a pretty fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse