Rent Dragon Ball Z: Budokai HD Collection for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai HD Collection

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.2

895 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best is Back

posted by Ace_RKO (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Over the years many games have tried and failed for multiple reasons to bring the excitement and action of Dragon Ball Z to the video game market. The two most notable exceptions to this rule are Dragon Ball Z Budokai and Budokai 3. Not only are these two of the best Dragon Ball Z games ever made, they are two amazing fighting games in their own right.

Dragon ball Z Budokai started it all. with the simple yet deep controls, the exceplent visuals and story mode, and the extra modes to keep you coming back. dragon Ball Z Budokai was one of the better figthing games available at the time. The combos were short and crisp like Mortal Kombat but kept the fast paced High energy feel off a Street fighter or Marvel vs. Capcom.

Budokai 3 is all that and more. Better visuals, expanded story, more unlocks more modes more customizations. This game was arguably one of the best fighting games released on the PlayStation 2 console. It would keep you entertained for hours and kept you coming back for more.

Two of the most rewarding fighting games from the last generation are back in HD to entertain both the casual and hardcore Dragon Ball Z fan. A must buy for any Dragon Ball Z fan and a worthy fighter for those who are not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DBZ Budokai 1 and 3

posted by PrinceVegetable (NEW CARLISLE, OH) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off I'd like to start with the only bad thing. There's no budokai 2, now I knew that going in but still it's an HD collection. Any way, Budokai 1, This was a title originally made for the PS2 it focuses on the cut scenes and although the game is a great dbz game.... aside from the cut scenes and legacy of hercule mode you'll probably find yourself playing budokai 3. The only problem with budokai 1 is that it only goes to the cell games which cuts a third of dbz out of the story. However this was probably due to budget reasons about the cut scenes which border on amazing as they recreate the show perfectly and you get a few ahem bonus what ifs for each main villain.
Budokai 3- Let's start with my only nit pick, the speech bubbles. Now I realize this is a much more affordable way of doing things as it cuts down on the budget and allows for a much more expansive gameplay and story. While this is true it also makes it hard for people who haven't seen the show to understand whats going on and several moments like Final atonement lose all their emotion. Now for the positives, we get more what ifs that occur on multiple playthroughs and MANY more characters, and the stories are character specific meaning two or three different playthroughs for each character resulting in countless hours spent lvling up your favorite dbz character whether, its Vegeta, Goku, Gohan, Piccolo, Broly, Goten, Trunks, Krillin and more are available in the dragon universe. However while the dragon universe is unbelievably expansive trying to unlock certain characters can be downright confusing at times and you may want to consult game faqs. All in all Budokai HD collection is a must buy for ANY dbz fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by mike87654321 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the opus of all the Dbz titles produced thus far. IF your looking to recreate the magic and excitement that you got as a kid watching the show, this is definitely the title for you.

Especially great when having friends over, but definitely take some time to hit the internet to find out how to unlock all the characters and transformations you really want because it would be nearly impossible otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

like reliving childhood

posted by killer2497 (MINT HILL, NC) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to all old school dbz fans it takes you back to the good old days on ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DBZ HD :)

posted by followedknight (AMANDA, OH) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

YES!!!! i love the ps2 games all of them and now that thier updated in HD sooo pick this up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great games but...

posted by Dualbird12 (TAMPA, FL) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Okay so budokai one totally screws up the story and it is very short.
You can beat the story 100% meaning you playing through the whole story then play the hidden story missions after within an hour or so.

Budokai 3 is pretty long and a huge improvement from the first but unfortunately I played this game way too much when I was a kid and I'm still burnt out on it.
Within the first hour maybe I was bored but I still pressed on and beat the story mode with all characters and unlocked everything except for cell jr and saibamen.

Anyway I do recommend people pick this one up because it is a great pack but I just couldn't get into it since I played too much when I was younger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!! Dragon Ball Z Fans Rejoice!

posted by DBZLOVE (SUFFOLK, VA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best DBZ Game on the market except for the Budokai Tenkaichis. The graphics have been completely redone. The music has changed although. The music is form Budokai Tenkaichi 2 and 3, Raging Blast 1 and 2, Tenkaichi Tag Team, and Ultimate Tenkaichi. Budokai 2 is also not include... but don't let that stop you from getting it. The joysticks are a little less responsive than the Playstation 2's or 3's though. Cheat and codes can still be used on Budokai 3. The gameplay is still in the same format. All the modes including Dragon Universe, Dragon Arena, Duel etc.. all return. Budokai 1 only has Japanese voice acting and Budokai 3 only has English voice acting. There are NO Kai voices. Voices do not change after transformations.. you have to do a super attack like a Kamehameha or PPPPE. Use Cheatcc.com if you want codes for the Xbox 360. Hope this helped!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I decided to keep it

posted by SGarcia2 (KING CITY, CA) May 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD

posted by treyx20 (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GOOD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by tylert72 (PARKVILLE, MD) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ya know, its a great game and all, im just getting mad that it shipped a week ago and still hasnt gotten here, far cry 3 has been on my queue for almost 2 weeks and they still havent sent it out. im really about to get rid of gamefly, horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Budokai HD Collection

posted by WadeWatts5 (WADESBORO, NC) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me get this out of the way first: I was a big fan of the original Budokai series when it came out for previous consoles. I was super excited to see these two revived on the current generation of consoles, and of course i got it at the first chance. It's a great copy and paste from earlier versions. Even the controls are somewhat similar. The graphics really pop on these games, especially the third installment since it's cell shaded. If you still have the older systems and these games, then this will not be a big change for you. If you haven't played them in a while (like me), then it will take a little bit to get back into the fray of button mashing. The only realistic problems that i can see people having would be that the first game is just as rough with the controls as it was in the past. Also, it is only the first and third games. This may not be a negative for many, but when I first head that this was happening, I was super excited. I wanted to own all three of them, and here they were! I was disappointed to see that the second one was excluded. Still, these games are awesome. In my personal opinion, much better than the Tenkaichi that came after this series. For Fans of DBZ and of fighters, this will definitely be one to add to your collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by lonewolf1991 (WINDER, GA) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is horrid I liked the games before, but this game screws up the story the controls are clunky and it will ruin the DBZ games for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehh

posted by Moarcontent (TULSA, OK) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Love DBZ but not this game. Controls are too sensitive and the game play is counteractive. Fighting is to fast and too much button mashing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not?

posted by segacaprisun (NORTH KINGSTOWN, RI) Mar 15, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

first the fighting is good but i never got to use SUPER SAIYAN 4! when its shows a pic of it good game but more powers,characters, and action (dose not have second)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad, not really good either

posted by comared (PORTLAND, ME) Nov 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

The graphics are pretty good, plus all the characters and storyline. It's pretty much the same game you played back on PS2 but with upgraded graphics and achievements. As for the achievements, they are pretty easy and you can complete the game in around a week if you really are determined. Great for achievements but it's pretty much the same mash button game you'd expect.

Pros:
-graphics and sound
-easy achievements

Cons:
-Budokai 1 is very difficult, especially controls
-No DLC
-Budokai 3 has moments where the computer dodges too much and causes you to lose or fall out of an arena too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just no.

posted by Gonzy2013 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

You're better off just playing the original versions of these two games that are on this HD Collection. The games on this are ruined completely with horrible replacement soundtracks, poor controls and possibly the worst CPU AI ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dbz budokai collection

posted by puregamng13 (BOWIE, MD) Aug 10, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

you know what f this game. I am a hardcore gamer I don't leave a game till I finish I love all games. I used to love the budodkai collection when it frist came out but now I play it and i'm like," the f did I like" I love dragon ball z but this game destroys my sprit. graphics are like you just made this game in minecraft. and slapped fighting on it. controls are hella hard to understand but you know what this game still has a good side. if your a dragon ball z collector and huge fan then you want this game. You play this game u feel a little nostalgic. so I thought this game is 35% good and mostly bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't Hold Up

posted by NukeDukem (WALLA WALLA, WA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

These games don't hold up as well as you would hope.
Budokai 1 is...bad. It just isn't good anymore. Budokai 3 is much more tolerable, but without Budokai 2 this isn't even a complete "collection".
You're much better off buying Tenkaichi 2/3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overall a good game.

posted by Lrodbeastz24 (CROWLEY, TX) Mar 18, 2013

Member since May 2011

The disk has 2 games- DBZ Budokai 1 and DBZ budokai 3. The game has many unlockables that you may search up for. Achievements or trophies are very easy but at times frustrating. The downside is both games have different controls so once you start a game you may change controls any way you like in options.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic Dragonball Z

posted by UnrealEntGaming (RIDGEWOOD, NY) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

A Classic game, brings back you're childhood for sure. Back in the day, they could have added more characters but the game still stands as a strong title itself. 2 games for the price of 1. Epic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as Playstation

posted by Aztlan (SANTA ROSA, CA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2007

There is nothing different than the same Budokai we all enjoyed on our playstations, but now we have achievements. Good game but same old thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just fair

posted by bevannlewi (CLEVELAND, OH) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

I give this title a fair rating only because, Budokai 1 is just awful, it didn't give me a chance to unlock hidden characters because there is no story menu to select the bits of story, i've experienced in game lag, while playing offline in budokai1. However, budokai 3 was still as epic as ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killer

posted by kristianv (GREENWOOD, IN) Jan 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Some of the achievements were annoying as heck, but I enjoyed every moment of the game. The story is spot on and the action leaves you on the edge of your seat. There is a mode that will actually challenge your skill, regardless of how good you are - leaving the best of players annoyed, but motivated to improve their skill. Highly recommended especially for DBZ fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blast from the Past

posted by Kenny97NWO (JAMAICA, NY) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

these two games i have rented was incredible it brought back so many memories for me being a dragon ball z fan since the original dragonball series this will always be the greatest dragonball z games in my eyes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS GAME IS AWSOME.

posted by wisner (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This is one of the best fighting I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse