Rent Dragon Ball Z: Budokai HD Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Budokai HD Collection

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

632 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Can't Believe What I'm Reading...

posted by Krillinfan (RICHLAND CENTER, WI) Nov 29, 2012

Member since May 2008

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, this game is amazing. It's a restoration of the first ever official, dubbed DBZ game released here in the States, as well as the third installment of that series which I personally believe to be the best DBZ game made to date. It had one of the single-best combat systems ever produced, it has an awesome story mode that allowed you to view things from each character's perspective, as well as do little things throughout that unlocked extensions or alternate endings on a second or third playthrough with each individual character. Nothing short of amazing.

But the ridiculous complaints I've been seeing... I don't get it. People complain about complex controls? It's a four button layout for basic combat, advanced moves have a chart that's easy to follow, there's no "quarter rotation" of the C-Stick needed, no zigzags, it's a comparatively simple input to most fighting games. The main difference from the BT games is you actually have to push triangle to kick as opposed to mashing square for all melee combat.

I'm also seeing people actually complain that it's in HD, and to that... I just shake my head. I really, REALLY don't know how to even respond to that.

And my favorite has to be the people who consider DBZ games Easy Trophy Farms who get mad when they play the game and it actually offers something of a challenge. This isn't BT or RB folks. The enemies actually put up a fight, and a ferocious one at that. Especially Kid Buu, as his most notable feature is his ferocity and ruthlessness. It's in character even. Which is amazing, when you think about it...

Overall, I'd have to say the most legit complain is no online support, but when you think on THAT... you're asking Namco Bandai to make two complete functioning servers on two systems for two games at the same time. Unless of course, you think one of them should not be allowed the online. It's not ideal, but it's not terribly unreasonable either.

That said, get the game. It's epic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brings back childhood memories

posted by phlsfan86 (HARRISBURG, PA) Jan 5, 2013

Member since May 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly like the PS2 versions. If you are familiar with the old Budokai games, you should notice that the controls are the same, the voices are the same (Even though you can change the language to Japanese in Budokai 3), the gameplay is the same, but the one thing I noticed was a difference in the music. Except for the intro music in the first Dragonball Z Budokai, all of the other music has changed. However, it sounds just as good as the old games.

Overall, this game is great. It always takes me back to my childhood when I played both games on the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Most Refreshing Dragon Ball Game In A While

posted by RocknRumble (WALDORF, MD) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Given the recent the downpour of disappointing Dragon Ball games, it's pleasing to see the franchise return to the basic roots of DBZ games. This one in particular is one of the best. Given it's easy to handle controls, excellent move set, fun battle system, plethora of characters, awesome storyline for each character, superb playability and replay value, this game truly represents the pinnacle of DBZ games during the year of 2004. This game is definitely a throwback treat to DBZ fans and an awesome way to introduce newcomers to the ki fueled, action packed world of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good throwback

posted by Fljackson77 (MARIETTA, GA) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you remember the old PS2 versions, its excactly the same. Nothing special here just able to reminisce. Would have been better with the DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 3 and/or DBZ Infinite World

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best edition of Dragon Ball

posted by Reznor (BRISTOL, TN) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Smooth game play,controls are nicely adjusted and just very fun to play all around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Back to memory lane

posted by zombieninjax (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing DBZ Budokai again it was tons of fun and loved it when it came out ona ps2 and loved it when i played it again on ps3 its fun a good rent and just takes you back to fun times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dragon Ball Z Budokai HD Collection Review

posted by Monsta1333 (LAUREL, MD) May 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best dragon ball z i have ever played out of any of the single budokai's if you ask me i recommend that you get this out of any game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!

posted by CorvetteFury (APOLLO, PA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the two greatest dragonball z games in HD on one disc for a good price. i just wish it was a full blown HD remake with updated graphics and by updated graphics i mean better graphics not HD upscale of the original graphics and maybe online support as well. it's still a great buy or rent or rent then buy for the keep price. either way two great games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple, satisfying, and...

posted by Dru274 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is real easy to get into. It has plenty of stuff to unlock and engages you in it's story. The moves are all very easy to pull off and the special moves are a delight to watch. I would say the only issue I have is the repetative nature of the game. It does get a little tedious to unlock everything and each fight start to kind of feel the same after a while. The strategy to beat the computer really doesn't change and the harder the level the least fun it games. The computer just counters everything in the hardest level so you just have to get lucky. But overall it was a really good experience and I recommend it to any Dragon Ball Z fans out there. You won't get a more satisfying experience than this game when it comes to dragon ball Z.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by Ela2c0 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game, as it's always been.. It's just missing online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nostalgic Game play and an easy platinum trophy...

posted by Lawrence0721 (AKRON, OH) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've read each review on this site for Dragonball Z HD Collection and people either love it or hate it.

Personally i got the game because i played both on ps2 and loved them. Me and my best friend and his little brother would play for hours without getting bored. I was a kid then and the fast movement and at the time great graphics captured my attention easily. I remember thinking the A.I. was pretty good. The stronger enemies from the series were actually harder to beat and had their own fighting styles.

After replaying my opinion hasn't changed much. I rented the game to show my nephew where Naruto got it's start from, in my opinion at least and an easy platinum trophy for ps3. I was not disappointed at all, the platinum trophy is beyond easy and if you have trouble getting all the characters.. USE A GUIDE. Not that hard, though i remembered pretty much everything.

Being older i did get tired of playing the game over and over again for the platinum. It was nice to see the alternate story lines though. Admittedly the A.I. can be a bit cheap, especially when you're low on health. They may spam a few energy blasts to finish you off but you have that option too, so put it to good use! I did miss the silly fusions in Budokai 2, though i understand why they left it out of this bundle.

In closing i'd say get this game if you're a fan of Dbz and old school fighters like MK or Street fighter. Don't expect online play and if you're after the platinum trophy just check out a few online guides. I got the platinum in a day or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ultimate Review about Drangon Ball Z Budokai HD

posted by Kusuke (FLORAL CITY, FL) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I never played Budokai when it originally came out for Playstation 2 so I was excited when I heard they were making an HD remake. First thing I noticed was the differences between 1 and 3. 1 has the best story mode I've seen in almost any Dragonball Z game but the characters look kinda strange, the best example would be Gohan in the opening parts of the story mode, his body looks way to long for a child. While 3 has the best character models in any Dragonball Z game but the story mode is just confusing and strange because there's not just one complete story mode, there's multiple story modes with multiple main characters and some of them are only three or four fights long. But the biggest issue with both games would have to be the lack of online play, I mean it's 2012 and they decide not to add online play. That could possibly turn a lot of people away, plus the confusing controls might do it as well. I now see why a lot of people prefer Bodukai Tenkaichi controls than Budokai. But overall if they would've added online play and the second game that was mysteriously not put in for some reason, then this game would been an eight or nine instead of just a six.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kinda lame.

posted by BladesOFChaos (COLUMBUS, GA) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Do not get me wrong, I love DBZ. It was my favorite show as a kid. I rented this game hoping an easy platinum. I was quickly reminded how repetitive this game is. DBZ Budokai HD looks similar to Naruto's video game graphics. The platinum is pretty difficult and the AI is VERY cheap. Be weary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fast platinum

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Oct 12, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

Got the platinum trophy in 10 hours following a trophy guide

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Exactly how i remember

posted by jmatthews (LANCASTER, PA) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Upon seeing this game in the catalogue i was overjoyed. Once i received it however i realized it was the exact game but given a new, More forgettable soundtrack (Which in hindsight i was expecting due to the copyright fiasco affiliated with the original Budokai games), A trophy system, And a new coat of paint.

I love DBZ but i expected there was a little more that made Budokai 1 & 3 shine but i guess i shouldn't have. On the bright side none of the combat was tampered with, The semi-freeroam is enjoyable to just screw around and find money (Zeni), Combat enhancements (Like the Sturdy Vest as a quick example) and the 7 Dragon Balls, Plus the voice acting is the same

Overral it met my expectations but i just wish there was just a little more, If you see it play it for a good time and nostalgia

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is cool but the rock paper sissors thing

posted by ssgodgogeta2345 (FRESNO, CA) Sep 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The rock paper sissors thing is playing a guessing game against a compu sucks but other wise this game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game!!!

posted by KDixon95 (JACKSON, MS) Sep 7, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Ah! Nothing like a good old fashion dbz game from my childhood to remind me of how much I love this franchise!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trophies

posted by Ultima619 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

There should be trophies for the Z mode difficulties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what I expected

posted by Honestgamer15 (PORTAGE, IN) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Budokai three being in the game is the only reason I bought this game, but budokai 3 is almost exactly like Dragon ball z infinite world. If you don't like infinite world, don't get this game. its always ok to rent a game to see what its like, so rent it if you want, but again its almost like infinite world, so if you don't like infinite world, don't buy this game unless you rented it first and liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by Craccle (DECATUR, GA) Jun 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

As a true DB enthusiast my face schrunchs with ever site of the funamation logo. Though I apprcieate the company bringing DB to the masses I simply hate how they destroyed the reality that the show had embodied. The game has that same let down. Bandai keeps its beautiful and though somewhat cheesey the fighting is relatively authentic. I play with my tv muted and an original DBZ soundtrack playing on mine laptop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cash in

posted by lallave2006 (PINELLAS PARK, FL) May 13, 2013

Member since May 2013

Well as expected this game is an "HD" Remake of budokai 1 and 3 spiking 2 for some reason.. No improvements at all where made in this game and I would not even call it HD I find the ps2 version looked way better and the music.. My god they took out all the good music...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

humdrum

posted by MDigby (QUINCY, MA) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

exact same as all other dbz titles, #3 lets you follow the saga to dbgt so you can go ss4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT GET IF USED TO NEWER DBZ GAMES!!

posted by deandre_lee (ZION, IL) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i thought that this game was a newer version of dbz but i was wrong this game will be a waste of time. this game is more like arcade style ex. ( mortal combat , ultimate marvel vs capcom , and street fighter.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow

posted by kc2415 (CHAPMANSBORO, TN) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

I love Dragon Ball Z, but this is the absolute worst game ever made. Every battle starts with the computer shooting you with a blast over and over until you die. Don't waste your time on this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »