Rent Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.3

410 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

More like Battle of Zzz's...

posted by RocknRumble (WALDORF, MD) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game and sent back a few days later. I mean it's good that Bandai Namco was trying different, but this game itself leaves a lot to be desired.

The gameplay is too linear, the story is jagged, the card system is annoying, and the character roster is less than impressive.

Another that bugs me is the lack of Burst Zone in previous installments and lack of beam struggles. How do you get rid of the milestone that make up a good majority of make the Dragon Ball series what it is?

The graphics are okay and it's nice that they added Super Saiyan God and Bills in the game, but I feel that they only added them just to get on the good side of the people who watched the movie.

All in all, I can't recommend this game to anyone except the hardcore fans, and even then I would advise that they rent it. It's not just worth the $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NO

posted by hakeem06 (BOISE, ID) Mar 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

No..... Just No.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different but not bad

posted by youngwarrior100 (SHELBYVILLE, TX) Feb 1, 2014

Member since May 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Yes this game does not allow the usuall tenkaichi style of gameplay, but it takes the series to new levels with the four player style of game-play. The game focuses more on strategy then charging head on like an idiot, while that may be fun in other games, in this one you will die. While I did say the game is not about head on collison, you can take that route if you choose the melee character, one of the many classes and distact the enemy while you team waits for they're energy meter to charge and deal massive damage. Depending on your class you can heal others, irritate the other team, stand back and fires ki blasts, or get up close and personal. I would advise one not to purchase this game if you do not have internet capabilities, since the game does not have local multiplayer, but if you do have the ability to play online it is a blast. Anyone who complains that this is a bad game is said because they cannot button mash and chain combos, as there is only one melee button. Namco is right by taking this fighting game franchise to a new direction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worlds worst dbz game

posted by deathrider1 (NESCONSET, NY) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

dragon ball z battle of z has to be the worst dragon ball z game I've ever play in my whole life story is completely wrong and the missions are incredibly hard your enemy's can beat you in one combo and once in a combo you won't ever be able to block dodge or anything except sit there and watch. swarms of enemy's come at you like it will never end. dragonball z battle of z deserves to die in a fire it deserve the rating 1/10 no scratch that 0/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dragon Ball Z Battle Of Z

posted by theSHAG57 (LAKE NORDEN, SD) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This game doesn't compare to the older Dragon Ball Z Budokai 3. I am extremely disappointed the little touches in the older game gave it class like combining light and heavy attacks and the little screen shots of the world being blown to bits or the power soaring right into space. Again don't rent or buy! VERRY UPSETTING! I bragged about dragon ball z being the best fighting games out there. Now I might have to take it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sucks

posted by MercXwilson (NEW CASTLE, DE) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Sucks sucks sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its Ok

posted by Kid_Ken_67 (TOWSON, MD) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game doesn't have much of a meaning behind it. When playing it you aren't able to select how you going to use your powers. Everything is set up for you to only use what they give you. Now, you are able to level yourself up from acquiring item and premium cards. I thought this was going to be a game where you can customize your character the way you wanted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad

posted by jjj888888 (WASHINGTON, NJ) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

GAme is just bad to begin with, it's very diffrent from all the other DBZ games but i got this game and sent it back a couple days later, i could not stand it. You can rent it but please just don't buy it, it's a waste of money. Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DBZ

posted by TGSmooth (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jun 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Very repetitive game, can't make any combos really, and some of the boss's are just ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

#icanteven

posted by Lemondaddy (FORT WAYNE, IN) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game had a decent concept. Flashy gameplay that made you feel like Goku (or whatever). But, what was delivered was a game that felt.. lacking. There just wasn't much to it. Mash Y. Push B + Y to do an ultimate (that was pretty pathetic). You couldn't even charge your Ki (energy for doing moves, or just moving in general). Unless you stay back and block forever, you most likely would run out of ki and be stunned for 10 seconds(ish). The game wasn't meant to be competitive (at least from the vibes i got from it) and that's fine, but when you can't even spice up some combos or produce more flashy blasts or NOT EVEN LETTING ME CHARGE MY KI! ...Ugh, this game just left a sour taste in my mouth. There's no splitscreen co-op or vs, only online play. And you can't do those until you do the first 4 missions. There are just too things that are wrong/bad with this game to fit into text, but it does have 2 pros. 1) Changing voice to original japanese. 2) Customizing colors on your character. THAT'S IT.

Side note: When you defeat the other player, they just suddenly drop, no matter what is happening around them. Then, they disappear. I can't put into text how stupid it looks.

Side side note: When doing missions that involve a party of people to help you, you can choose the same character for each one. So it can be you (Goku or whatever) and up to 3 (from what i've seen) Yamchas/Tiens/etc... They can even be all the same color.

Side note Z: The story is wack. Fight some saibamen, Kill Radditz with Goku and Krillen, fight Piccolo with Gohan, Tien, Yamcha, and Krillen... GAH

Final Rating: 4/10 Because I can team up with 3 Krillens dressed in pink with cyan highlights.

#Fabulous Gameplay, Best Gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this game was okay

posted by KINGINFERNO1234 (CHICAGO, IL) May 16, 2014

Member since May 2014

I love the game play it was amazing i wasn't use to the card upgrading considering that I've play every dbz game this was new to me. one thing that shocked me was you could not use three characters unless you pre ordered the game the characters were Goku’s Naruto costume, Super Vegito, and Super Saiyan Bardock. this i thought was not terrible but the missions are another thing. there are only 60 levels so the game goes by pretty fast. In my opinion definitely not worth $60 dollars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Help

posted by aaronkees (EUSTACE, TX) May 14, 2014

Member since May 2014

I just wanting to know if the game has the battle of gods movie on it thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

only campian

posted by honsu (GILBERT, AZ) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

great game, follows story line moderately. there are a lot of alterations to story line! but accurate none the less, also the dialog is semi accurate. BUT don't get your hopes up DBZ fans! Multiplayer leads you wanting! its terrible, takes 30+minutes to fine ONE person online (your lucky if they speak english) and alot of people hack/modified accounts. do not buy for multiplayer! not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not enough Z's

posted by Dyfancy (ARTESIA, CA) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Knowing that this game was different than previous games, I had good expectations because I am such a fan of dbz, but I can't say I would buy it or even rent it twice, as much as it hurts to say it left me disappointed.
story had no purpose it was just so you can quickly accomplish it and unlock characters which also lacked alot.

The single player mode was way too hard for me to finish on my own, and I have to settle with co-op which has a waiting time equivalent of a plane flight. (thats the least of the problem) still then I haven't unlocked all the characters.
battle mode was where the game shined and I liked the concept of it but it just didn't work for me.
fighting mechanics seemed to be simple to the point where it hurt, the whole battle was a cluster of chaos in other words I got my krillins handed to me beyond all repair, you can find those clips on my yt.
I can't complain about the graphics the voice overs, I honestly liked the customization although I don't think it did anything but aesthetics were pleasing.

Over all I say not worth full purchase but if you like DBZ Battle of The Gods or dbz in general rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Darkheartedxoul (HAMILTON, AL) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Worst dbz game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by ricodabeast615 (MADISON, TN) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I got burned by this terrible game. If you want a DBZ game really bad because you love the story of DBZ DO NOT RENT OR BUT THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best DBZ game but gotta be open to a new style

posted by sacrifice117 (COKER, AL) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

First off I'm a hardcore DBZ fan and have played almost all of the DBZ games This game is very different it's an online oriented game kinda like sagas or legends The coop is what makes this game great fighting mechanics are solid graphics are beautiful best looking DBZ game my only knock on this game is no local coop but still I give it a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worst Dragon ball z Game

posted by oMothaSucka (PLEASANT GROVE, UT) Feb 19, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Don't get me wrong this game is ok for first time you play it but the game gets repeatably very fast. I put a low score on it because you can beat the game in less than 3 hours and some other negative things about this game.

Theres only a few buttons you hit which are Y for melee and B for Ki so you basically smashing Y the hole time no moves sets for characters no nothing just different powers that are for RB and LB.

The achievements on this are stupid and theres one that you have to play 50 hours of (MISSION PLAY TIME) what this means is that as soon as the mission starts and the time is going down thats what the mission time is.

you can be in the lobby or somewhere else is but it has to be in story mode in mission play time.

Im sorry to anyone that has bought this game because its not worth it rent it play it you might like it but its not something to keep or play for at least a week.

Story mode easily beaten over and over again so if you like repeating things then this is the game for you.

For real gamers out there this is not the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't... Just Don't

posted by BigEd_70 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This game's fun factor lasts until you press start. Terrible. It's like I'm playing a PS1 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »