Rent Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

371 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

DBZ:BoZ Friendship Ki required!

posted by OutBreakKilo (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DBZ:BoZ is a - fast pace visual brawler, with the chaotic all-out brawl from the anime. There are short comings to the game, and missing elements that should have been, and elements that should of never been added.

Story
It follows Goku's story from the fight against Radditz to him finishing off Kid Buu. If you watched the anime or played any of the previous DBZ games much hasn't change.

Gameplay
It is fun having multiple fighters zooming around fighting and Ki blasting each other. Then soon you will discover the "Trinity MMo system" in the game. This immediately sucks all the fun right out. You will NEED to keep one healer in the team.

Yes a healer in DBZ.

I must of missed those episodes or moments where Gohan shoots a healing beam at Trunks and restores all his Hp.

Then comes the whole replaying missions to get better equipment, or in this case cards. You equip these cards to better your fighter and you will need to do this for your CPU companions other wise you will not succeed in future missions.

Mutli-player
Versus mode never quite happened for me. I tried several times and I either met a room that booted me because I didn't have high level cards, I didn't pick healer, I didn't pick the right character to get an achievement with in versus.

Coop
It was fun for a time then it got boring fast. If no one picks a healer then you are doom to fail the mission. Guess what I got to play even mission. I finish the game by playing healer straight through. It didn't feel like I was playing a DBZ at that point.

Real talk - if you can't get three other friends to get this game, then by the time you rent this you will be stuck playing healer just so you can unlock Super Saiyan God. Then most likely send it back in disgust questioning whether you just got done playing a DBZ or a healing simulation. At least with friends you can cycle turns.

There is much more I would like to go on about but alas gamefly very limiting characters prevents m

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One Combo... Seriously?!!!

posted by IchiGokuRosaki (DEL REY, CA) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a hardcore Dragon Ball fan and i am telling you this game is GARBAGE, TRASH, RUBBISH. Just not worthy of the title Dragon Ball Z. The gameplay mechanics are extremely repetitive and tedious. you will find yourself trying to do combos and after trying every possible combination, you will realize that there is only one combo for each character. I dont know about you but I love Ki blasting my enemy to shreds and this game took that away as you can only fire one Ki blast at a time from one hand and cannot even charge it up. There are sooo many more issues I have with it such as the targeting system and movement but I'll just end by saying the core elements that have attracted me all these years(from Budokai to Raging Blast 2 and every game in between) have diminished. Do not buy, rent only!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dragon Ball

posted by skorpio (JUSTIN, TX) May 21, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the control it's not really that good and trying to keep on the person that you're fighting is pretty hard and it just one button combo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse DBZ Game

posted by cbconover1 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 6, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry but this had to be the worse DBZ game after all the other ones. It seems to have gotten worse since when they were making them in the PS2 Era. I am not a fan and nothing in it makes since. Its cool to have multiplayer, but only have 2 or 3 moves per person makes each person limited. Worse DBZ Game Ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Online, Bad Single Player Experience

posted by AwesumJames (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had an idea of a great DBZ considering there isn't much more this gaming franchise can do. The co-op and multiplayer is pretty fun, the combat is simple and easy, making for entertaining matches. The roster is also great compared to the past few years of DBZ games. It also has a few characters new to the DBZ game franchise. But where the game lacks is the problem. This isn't a best seller, not many people you know may buy it. If you are looking for a single player experience, I must advise you, this is not a good choice. This game plays off teams of 4. And the AI partners are ridiculously bad this time around. They don't revive you when fallen, they don't help with rushes or synchronized combos, they don't do virtually anything. And between the Frieza saga and Cell saga of story mode, the game boosts in difficulty. So you will have a struggle with story mode if you have no friends who purchased or rented this game. And no, there is no split screen, which also ruins some of the fun and replayability. As for the content of single player experience, you are only allowed in story mode. Battle mode, which has never been before, is online only. So the single player replayability is gone. And while multiplayer is fun, after a few hours it can get dull unless you have three friends to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST DBZ GAME!!!!

posted by fg_man (DEER PARK, NY) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Absolutely HORRENDOUS . I feel sorry for people who payed full price for this trash. The game arrived at 11am and it was back in the envelope by noon. The mechanics are horrible, the graphics are okay.

When I started up the "story" mode and the game starts with Goku fighting saibamen then krillin hops in and helps then Raditz comes outta nowhere and Goku and krillin fight Raditz......WHAT!!!???!?!?!?!?!?

Honestly, if you are a DBZ fan just get it from gamefly to be able to say you tried it and just send it back the same day. This will probably be in the local bargain bin in a couple weeks.

Just stick with Budokai 3 and Tenkaichi 3. Those two are the BEST dbz games to date on home consoles. Me personally, I like the Bodokai 3 2D fighting game style, but I would take Tenkaichi 3 over "Battle of SH%T" any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dragon Ball Z battle of Z

posted by chriscolitzas (DONIPHAN, NE) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game isn't as good as a lot of other DBZ games you can't even transform like you can in other games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DBZ battle of Z

posted by Joebob1198 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game is very good an has solid animation. it's very fast pace and difficult at times, but it's a great rent/buy. I highly recomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hate this game

posted by rpagan4435 (BAYSIDE, NY) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

this game blows it looks like there is a lot of characters but there isnt its mostly just one character and all his forms as different characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

thumbs down

posted by SurfmyTurf420 (MANSFIELD, OH) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

graphics and everything are decent but the gameplay is insane im just use to ultimate tenkaichi plus no 2 player at all it made all my friends kinda stutter. all I can say is that I played a solid day of it and was not happy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay...

posted by GamerXYA (LAWTON, OK) May 25, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game is good, yet it isn't. The gameplay seems innovative, but it's really simple yet complicated. It isn't as good as Budokai, but it is WAY better than Ultimate Tenkaichi. I was disappointed when I found out that transformations were separate characters. I'd have to say the game is worth renting at best though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's not as bad as most people make it out to be.

posted by Naphtali357 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

I think the reason people are giving this game a bad score is because it's not what people hoped it would be. Or it could be because we as gamers often let nostalgia get in the way. Or MAYBE it's because we only see things at face value because we don't think too often. Now let's get something straight here: I know about the controls. I know how simplified the game is. I get all of it. BUT THERE ARE TOO MANY PLAYERS ONLY SCRATCHING THE SURFACE. Yes, the combat could've been a lot better. I totally agree. But it seems it was more focused on having fun than anything else. Because that's what I was having: FUN. Okay, so the combat wasn't as good as it could've been. It was accessible. And if it wasn't, then you'd be complaining even more. You want combos? Go play UMVC3 or something, because that's not the focus of the game (that's why people were upset with Super DragonBall Z!!!) It's about the heat of battle. That's how it always was with the franchise. The characters all fight the same, you say? I kinda disagree. The CONTROLS are the same for everybody, but every character fights differently. You wanna know what I found? Goku has a knockback technique. By pressing the attack button once, he does a two-or three (or was it four?) hit combo (depending on how many times you pressed the button), the last hit he deals being a knockback- and he sends them FLYING!!! Trust me. Dude, if I could find a secret about one character, imagine what the other characters could do. And the combos in Tenkaichi 3 weren't always original. More than a few characters had the same moves as someone else, only with a different name. I know it. You know it. At least they look different here.

Look, you wanna play Tenkaichi 3 then GO PLAY IT. And stop whining. Sheesh. This game is not horrible. It could've been better, that's true. But bashing it and making things more complicated than they are isn't going to help it. Try the game and see yourself if you haven't already. Multiplayer. That's a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another Blah Dragon Ball Game?

posted by Motts666 (BAYSIDE, NY) Apr 28, 2014

Member since May 2006

Playing thins game wasn't an entirely bad deal. It had its cool moments. My problem with these anime fighter games is that they focus so much on the online playability that they strip you of either great cinematic attacks (Naruto) or the rob you of 90 percent 60% pf Dragons Balls greatest moments in a game.... TRANSFORMING!!! With this in mind i was i felt the Tenkaichi games had s slight upper hand in which i was a big fan of until next gen game out and they screw up the mechanics with that last dragonball joke. Battle of Z fight mechanics was actually fun. Took time to get used to the controls but once you get it is easy.
I can t say i entirely hate the game but still feel very robbed of characters and transformation. I'm still playing as it is very frustrating to defeat some characters. the card system was pretty good as you can easily set all the best cards on your character without hassle. Over all the game is challenging and fun without having to relive the story over and over again. Again my only issue is character limitations when it comes to transforming, powering up and teleports and characters to select from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hbhbvh

posted by supervegeta99 (SALAMANCA, NY) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

best dbz game ever!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautiful

posted by Dombese (MILFORD, MI) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Firstly I have played nearly almost every DBZ game ever made, from Gameboy to PlayStation and I have found that as the demand for the games continue, the playability and graphics do to. This game is by far the best DBZ game I have played to date! The graphics are just beautiful and so smooth from one frame to another. The playability is none stop and gives you literally hours of game play and endless options to add with team mates and how to go about obtaining a victory. The AI though isn't always so smart and seems to have to wait a few seconds for them to adjust to your new commands, but once you catch on to how the game plays and when and where to react, that problems fixes itself. One option they don't have is something as simple as an easy, medium or hard setting, its just set as is and the enemies get smarter and quicker even if your not ready for them to be. This can become a pain if your not a fast learner or develop yourself enough for the battle at hand. Outside that, its a great game and I have already recommended it to other people!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Huge Let Down!

posted by Snowman4001 (ESSEX, MD) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Let me start with this I love Dragonball Z and all its previous games and I was too excited when I heard they were making a multiplayer version but once i poped it in it was terrible. I kinda feel the same let down like i did with the Dragonball movie smh. there is no longer a combo system, the attacks are dull and seem to not do any real damage, the controls are fine if you stay on the ground and fight but once airborne its like a PS2 flight sim, the Coop AI is barely any help at all and theres no battle tournament or training option. But the worse part of all is the story line its just not there you start off fighting Saibamen before Raditz even shows up let alone Vageta and Nappa. The custmization with the cards sucks too once u get a card it can only go on one character so youll most likely end up with one decent stacked character and 3 waste of space. I suggest you never buy this game unless you get for dirt low like $7 barrel low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCK

posted by ck1518100 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

ITS SUCK OTHER DBZ GAMES ARE BETTER AND I AM SORRY TO SAY THAT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If It's Not Broke Don't Fix It!

posted by lordwolf137 (MESQUITE, TX) Feb 25, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Long time DBZ fan Played all the games seen all the episodes, so how is it when I rented this game think it's going to be a great open world fighter that it turns out to be a MMO type game play. If your looking for that DBZ epic fight throw downs your not going to get it here at start your going to be wowed by how the game looks and from how many characters you can pick from. But wait you can't get them unless you win the missions and no it's not a I'm going to pick Goku and rock every guy that comes a gets a piece. Your going to need a healer and a tank. Yeah I said it a HEALER and TANK (hand raised) this is DBZ not MMO land here in DBZ land, I do not need a healer or a tank but in this game you do. There is no joke on that, with out the healer or tank the fights get so damage heavy if you don't have a guy in your group that pull them off of you or heal you on point then you die and have to start the fight over. Not only that you need to have them level for the fight and have the items or IE cards to make them stronger(the AI will not function right and need the level to do so) all and all don't get this if you looking for and fighter DBZ get it if you trying to see if DBZ can work like a MMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

unnnhhhhh

posted by Fizzlerator (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

This game is pretty mindless and it was designed for you to spam and be forced to use certain characters, thus rendering most of the 70 character roster useless depending upon mission.

I personally felt that the online experience was eye-gaugingly painful just based upon the 15 - 20 min efforts to before you get a successful launch of a match/mission; which turned out to be lack luster once you finally got into one.

Overall, if I wasn't haunting trophies, I would truly regret putting anymore than 5 - 8hrs worth of play time into this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointment

posted by kraken1992 (FRANKFORT, KY) Feb 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Like more and more games now a days they have removed the two player mode for the battle of Z when i play a dbz game i wanna fight my freinds on the couch not have to try and find there account online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS DRAGONBALL Z BATTLE OF Z

posted by dragonballz9 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I think this is the best DBZ game ever made. The graphics are amazing and awesome. The online fighting was fun,even when you rushed after someone like a BOSS. The story mode was like doing parkor after enemies. Even There are new characters from Dragonball Z battle of Gods are in the game. THATS AWESOME!!!!!!!!! Like over 9000 awesome.I cant belive there are characters that are HUGE!!!!!!!!!!! Like GRAPE APE huge. Its cool that you can download that Naroto skin. GET IT Now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »