Rent Dragon Ball Raging Blast for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Raging Blast

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

1840 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DBZ in one of its best forms

posted by Foxhoundx (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The game play is good overall as you possibly become unbeatable as you can do pretty much anything you see your favorite DBZ characters do in the series.

There are a few things that I think need some tweaking, first would be the camera, as sometimes but not very often it will get stuck in a rock or hill. My last complaint with the game play is that some of the cooler techniques are much too difficult to pull off for the casual gamer.

As for the graphics those are good but not amazing.

There is a pretty decent amount of characters, but still not as many as I would like to see.

The character customization is pretty good nothing huge but, it works something like a square grid that you can place a certain amount of squares on like a puzzle.

For some reason they decided to make the story take a back seat as its almost completely overlooked. I can almost swear on my life that some of these fights in the different sagas never happened or the certain characters never took part in the fight.

The AI is good for the most part, pretty good except for the some of the supposed harder fights as they are actually pretty easy depending on how you go about fighting the AI.

The online play is good and doesn't lag very much. The ranking system is pretty good and gives you that little extra reason to play.

Overall the game is pretty good, but not amazing and any fighting game fan or DBZ fan should pick it up whenever they get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest DBZ game yet!

posted by Krysis (FORT LEE, VA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

The last DBZ game I played was Dragonball Z: Infinite World for PS2. The game was alot of fun and very creative, so much so, that I thought the Dragonball Video Games had reach their full 'Fun-ness" potential. Ontop of the Budokai fighting style, you also had different challenges never before seen in Budokai or Tencaichi style games. For instance, you actually run down Snake Way, or as Cell, you escape from Piccolo. Dragonball Z: Raging Blast blows that all out of the water. The gameplay is in the open world Tencaichi style with controls that are difficult to learn, yet impossible to forget. The graphics are incredible with every detail of the background perfected and in place. The characters no longer have that blocky style that previous titles gave them, and the special and ultimate attacks are beautiful to see. However, this game has a Saga in the Dragonball World (the story mode), that other games have tried, but never got to far into. This game has a "What if," saga, which has 2 senarios pitting Vegeto against Gogeta, seeing what would happen should either fused fighter win, it answers the question of who is the strongest earthling, Future Trunks comes back to fight with Kid Trunks, and ladies and gentleman....Super Saiyan 3 Vegeta is revealed in this game! Yes, you read that right, Vegeta reaches Super Saiyan 3, as does Broly, though sadly it does not show in detail how it happens. The only downside to this game that I can write about is the lack of creativity in the aftermath of an ultimate attack. The attacks may be brought about in their own way, but the opponent reaction, the world view, and the way the level looks after the attack (like the giant Spirit bomb, or the Final Flash), doesn't change. I thought that was a bit of a shame, however its hardly a damper in this near perfect experience this game offers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DragonBall Z done right

posted by kogent (MILFORD, NH) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

i've played plenty of dragonball games before, some good, some making me wish i never knew the series. and this one has to be placed way up on the bar. technically being the fourth entry in the budokai tenkaichi series, it brings the same gameplay as the last three, with plenty of tweaks, additions, and of course shiny next-gen console graphics. i had very little complaints about this game, but for the sake of criticism, i'l point out that the story mode will leave you confused, since it gives little to no details about what's going on and why these two-to-ten people are duking it out. the story also gets annoying with you repeating levels trying to accomplish certain objectives to get stars (such as "make your first move a grab!" or "preform ten sways!") which you spend on unlocking levels in the what-if saga, which isn't that interesting either and is full of boring match ups. also i'll just add for the fans that there is Super Saiyan 3 Vegeta AND Broly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10

posted by Chiefpacma (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

really well done. Its fun for beginners because it can kind of work as a button masher, but it is also fun for advanced players as you can always be getting better and learning new moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its Hot Like Sayin Aura

posted by GSmooth (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is hands down, by far the best DBZ game to date on any console. The movement is loosely akin to how you would move, with the 'Z Fighter' power. Tactical moves help add to your speed, essential to any DBZ battle, and the special moves are a dream to operate. The online feature explodes for some intensely fierce matchups and allows for up to 8 people in a Tornament. Now look, these being some of the largest DBZ enviroments i believe we've had yet, there is one drawback. The split screen for the multiplayer leaves your camera wandering at times however if you were a young Z Fighter, fighting it out on some distant planet the chances of an opponant slipping around, below, or above YOU is fairly great. Play split screens on big tv's. otherwise have your friend rent/buy their own and play online. Story mode goes deep into the lore of DBZ, also with fun "what if" stories that are played out by your hand. Single player will have you busy for a while and the online will keep you proving yourself to friends and the world that, YOU ARE THE "GREATEST FIGHTER WHO EVER LIVED".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

just a let down

posted by Naruto899 (SAVANNAH, GA) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I heard that there was a Tenkaichi game coming to the next gen consoles, I was really excited. So excited that I pre-ordered the game. And when the game finally released, I was nothing but disappointed. First of all, this game has to have arguably the worst controls of any Dragon Ball Z game ever. I mean why would they change the contols of a Tenkaichi game? The Tenkaichi games have all had basically the same controls since the first game was relased. And now they suddenly change'em to some stuff that make absolutly no sense. You have to use the right analog stick to preform super attacks? And that's only the beggining. the camera is very horrible it's every time you go up it goes down, you understand where i'm going. The story mode is by far the worst part. Because once you beat a WHOLE saga, you would expect to get an achievement right? Wrong! You have to go back and do the same fights AGAIN, but this time for stars. Because you need stars to unlock extra chapters of each saga that should of been already unlocked from the start. (Which is completly pointless). All that over and over again for each saga for only 10 gamerpoints each. I could understand having to do this for the "What-If" sagas but not for the whole game. Plus the online sucks cause everyone does the same moves constantly and I mean constantly. And everyone uses either Gogeta or Kid Buu, it's like they don't know there's other characters in the game. Add in the terrible camera angles and you got possible the worst Dragon Ball game in recent memory. A 4 out of 10. And that's being generous, because I'm a huge DBZ fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by tcrbbt1 (LIVERMORE, CA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

only thing i hated was you can't play as ultimate gohan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst dbz game ever

posted by gforce113 (STONINGTON, CT) Aug 28, 2010

Member since May 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game was horrible, i had no ideas what controls did what, i couldn't read any of the controls on the screen, the controls were so slow my hand cramped like crazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not For Budokai fans

posted by TheKLowN (COMMERCE TOWNSHIP, MI) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

i used to be a big fan of the budokai series on the ps2 and was hoping to get something out of raging blast, but i did not AT ALL. for me, i like the 2D side view that used to be on budokai, but this is different, you control him from the side but its 3D and you can fly around the stage and even be looking at your character from behind him. also, the camera views that are adjusted automatically according to the enemy's location get very annoying, sometimes you cant tell where you are or where the enemy is and it may take you a few seconds to figure out where the enemy went and then get back to land. Second, the graphics were fairly poor for a newer ps3 game and it looks like it should have been on the ps2 on '02 or something. all in all this game isn't for someone who is a fan of the budokai series and is a long time dbz fan but i assume for those new to dbz and the dbz games might enjoy it. also im pretty sure this game doesn't get very far in the story and is fairly quick to beet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dragon Ball Raging Blast

posted by chantos14 (STATESVILLE, NC) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game just arrived at my house today, and I was not impressed. The only good thing I had to say about this game is that it looks good visually and the addition of jumping around the different levels of the Dragon Ball story seemed like a good idea. But the new control scheme for the attacks was horrible. It was hard to get used to. The old control scheme from the Budokai games was a lot easier and simple to understand. I didn't like the controls for this game. And i didn't have the patience to fully test them out. Simply put, I was disappointed in how they configured the controls and the fact that the story mode for this game was just like all of the previous DB games, just adding bits and pieces to it and adding a few new characters. Nothing new, nothing original. I don't recommend anybody get this game, unless you like having to play the same story from previous DB titles, with a few new characters. Horrible game. Definitely not worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is of the charts bad.

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This by far is one of the worst DBZ games ive played. The camera views at time are awful the controls are terrible and overall the game is just terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DB:RB Review

posted by bukgoong (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

pros: great replay value, battle system, story variety, tons of game-play modes, includes almost all the characters you would like to play from dbz, OK graphics (DBBurstLimit looks better), challenging AI

cons: annoying camera angles on some maps, glitchy environment when chars. are smacked around, fighting gets tedious real fast, it seems like the story was lazy having random environment along with script... sometimes characters dont make sense, some cut-scenes for specials are random for example: your in the water and you perform a special and all of a sudden your on the ground again performing the special.

for some reason the makers of the dbz games cant get it right. they always end up being lazy it because they're too lazy to come up a few extra environments or fixing cut-scenes. this game had a lot of potential but little things like this just ruin the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Dragon Ball Raging Blast Review

posted by SoulCurseE (San Antonio, TX) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

7 out of 42 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I Think That This Game Is Going to Be Way Better Than The Other Dragon Ball Z Games I Love Dragon Ball Z And GT And I Really Hope They Make More Dragon Ball Z Games I Play The Demo And When I First Play It BLOW!!! My Mind I Just Love It Well That It For My DBZ RB.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Astray

posted by Astray (REDMOND, WA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Ok so I've loved dragonball games ever since they've existed on the ps one.. I own the original dbgt game which is a classic.. I've played every game to come out and so far they've all let me down. This one had great potential because of it's character roster! However due to messed up camera angles and worse than Armored Core 4 learning curve I returned it after a day of playing through my favorite characters.

one thing i really really want more than anything in a dragonball game is a DBGT character! is that so hard to ask? I'm seriously burnt out on the Z series it makes me sick.. SS5 please? Pan? all i ask for...

Second thing is the camera angle.. why can't i ever find my opponent when all i want to do is just beat him up? sure i can fly all speedy like to him but oh yea there's a cliff there we forgot to tell you about... Hi cliff where's the other guy?

Last thing is what is up with this learning curve!? aren't all ages supposed to play this game? I played normal mode cause I'm not too bad at fighting games so sure this will be fun! BAM landed 3 hits then died faster than goku could finish dinner.. why is this so hard?... I switched to easy hoping it would be a "normal" mode.. The enemy just kind of sat there taking my hits... so easy is for 5 year olds and normal is for tournament winners.. I didn't even try to go for hard... Come on people..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dragon ball

posted by kennym2003 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 23 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

WORST DRAGON BALL GAME EVER !!!
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME PLAYING IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by CHEWBAKA (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

This is the worst DBZ game since super Dragon Ball. I love Dragon Ball Z but this was just horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WHAT IDIOT CAME UP WITH THESE CONTROLS?

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) May 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

This would have been a great game but the controls are a train wreck. The customization stuff is great. Being able to change your move set is great. This had so much promise but there is no fluidity to the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ragging blast game review

posted by RONDAT (JOHNSTON, RI) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

the game is alright but i lost intrest because all you can do is fight strong guys you can not beat. also if you do not win the fight you can not contiue to anyting eles in the saga

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it

posted by Hollowed_Soul (WYANDOTTE, MI) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This version of dbz has fallen far from the tree of great fighting games. Graphics are substandard, fights lack in every way, and prepare to wear out your square button. Heck the dbz budokai tenkaichi series on the ps2 out ranks this game by a long shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it was awezome

posted by gohan123 Jul 31, 2011

ttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTHE BEST GAME EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Time Consumer

posted by son_soku (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Pretty alright game overall. I liked the graphics, but the gameplay is more of the type where you should BUY the game and not rent it. Too involved of a fighting game for my liking. It'd take me a bit to sit and master the controls, so I'm sure I would learn to love it over time, but I have too many other games I wanna' play in my Q that I had to send it back ASAP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

kik

posted by AriellSMD (BRONX, NY) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

is dope but honestly all the games are the same from dbz same story same b.s just with harder controls like comon dude i have to admit it is cool but is all the same sht , now if u never had a dbz game rent this is just i been having dbz games since budokai lol for ps2 now that was a real hot game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst game I have ever played

posted by wilburfudd (PERRIS, CA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The graphics were not the best....game play was horrible....not because I kept loosing but because things kept ending up transparent like my player and cliffs....and also every time the computer got a chance... it power up and blasted me and also when it got a chance it would mysteriously appear behind me and beet me up with combos.....every time I tried to attack the computer would block....all I did was put the game in my PS3 after I got it and played....its not like I put it on hard or anything....so why was it so hard...I dont think i won a single time....I returned the game the following day....but on the positive side...I did like the fact that it let me choose my own music and playing field.....and out of all the games I have ever got....I think this one was the first one to install in less than 30 seconds....those are the only ups I could find.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game bad service

posted by cah150 (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

With the five minutes i got to play of the game, it was awesome. I've only played it five minutes because the thing froze as soon as i started it. This happened twice now, and I want it to STOP! Gamefly, I have one question for you. Why don't you even bother to look at a game let alone clean it. The game looks like it was mauled by a bear, and I will not stand for it. If Gamefly won't ship working games, they will lose a customer. This is RIDICULOUS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

so unpolished...

posted by PS3Guitar (CENTRALIA, WA) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

broken camera, broken camera, broken camera, 'special' CPU AI

when your opponent is directly above you (which happens alot because of the 'special' CPU AI mentioned above) the camera circles around YOU with the opponent out of view. or when you get pushed along side a wall it leaves YOU out of view.

Lets say your goku vs vegeta, vegeta fires gallick gun so you imediately fire off the kamehameha wave, starts a struggle back an forth right? WRONG he fires his before you can do anything. other way around your knocked down before yours shoots off.

there are countless points in battles where it makes you think your in a cutscene so you set your controller down. no sense in holding the controller durring a cutscene right? WRONG not even a full second after making it seem like a cutscene it goes back into action and the opponent is firing the finisher. wow i cannot believe how badly concieved this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse