Rent Dragon Ball Raging Blast for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon Ball Raging Blast

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.1

2386 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatness

posted by Jaryrockjr (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

At 1st when i played this game i was thinking been here done that on so many games buy the thing i couldn't shake was the exciting feeling i really enjoyed this game it was fantastic graphics where great gameplay is fun the story an combos as well as the new unlocks that have never appeared in any previous dragonball z game was great marvelous an i think its one great game cant wait for part to to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!

posted by baller0107 (BRACKENRIDGE, PA) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Dragon Ball Raging Blast is very good if you know how to play it right. if you don't you are in for a real butt whooping. Graphics aren't great, but not horrible either. If you buy or rent this game I would suggest doing the tutorial (dojo) first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for the casual gamer or one who gives up easy

posted by TitanD120 (STOCKTON, CA) Jun 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Now that I got my hands on a working disc of Raging Blast, a few things I noticed after playing for a while are:

1) The Dragon Battle Collection (Story Mode) is divided into sagas, meaning you can play one battle from the Frieza Saga and then go and play a battle in the Majin Buu Saga.

2) You can't fully complete all of the sagas as some battles will have to be unlocked at the Star Shop using stars collected from completed battles (the only sagas that do not require a Star Shop unlock are the Saiyan and Bardock sagas).

3) The difficulty level definitely needs work (even Easy mode is not a walk in the park during some battles).

4) I HIGHLY recommend that you download the free character packs from PSN/XBL because they are much stronger than the regular characters (although completing certain missions in the Super Battle Trial with a downloaded character will not earn you a ranking spot and therefore will not earn you a Dragonball challenge). But they are good for the World Tournament and Cell Games Tournament (especially the downloaded Super Saiyan 3 Broly).

5) The battles where you're controlling 2 or more players against an opponent during the Dragon Battle Collection does not follow the rules of the normal tag battles; the game decides who and when you'll switch out with and if you die you will fail the mission even if you have healthy teammates.

6) If a cutscene occurs during the Dragon Battle Collection, sometimes your opponent will regain health.

But, if you like the idea of bashing in Chiaoutzu with a team of Super Vegito, Super Gogeta, and Super Saiyan 3 Broly, then Dragon Ball: Raging Blast is a game you should at least rent for a week or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DBZ

posted by taibentley (EAST WINDSOR, CT) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Any DBZ fan must have this game especially goku fans cuz he is a beast in it. Gohan fans maybe disappointed with the lack of older gohan sucking but the teen gohan is still a beast but goku is still better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

like it even with it's flaws

posted by masked (DENVER, CO) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

36 out of 48 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is good, not great, but good. The controls are a little clunky, sometimes unresponsive. The camera definitely needs work. It's ridiculous when you can't see you or your opponent on the screen at the same time. Also the cutscenes have been reduced to snipits and scrolling dialog boxes. What happened to the full on story telling through cut scenes? This game does have it's up side to it. The graphics have improved a bit and the arenas are definfitely larger then before. Love the destruction in the city. Fights feel a bit weak on the melee side and a bit over powered on some of the super attacks. I would definitely recommend a rental if your a fan, wouldn't pay money for it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Flawed; but one of the best ideas yet

posted by Belacttu (MOUNT STERLING, OH) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

There's a lot of people saying "Don't buy this, it sucks! It's flawed!" Well, yes. It is flawed. But the idea for the game is incredible and it's pros far outweigh the cons. The controls sometimes are laggy and the fighting system used in this game is far different from that of any other DBZ game to date. A few flaws pointed out are the camera issues and the controls. Fact: The camera although is a pain at times, has not once rendered me incapable of attacking. Normally, the period of time where the camera appears out of whack where you can't see, is used by the computer to recharge ki. You can also dash to a new angle to very easily get back in view, so don't let them make it sound worse than it is.

This is the second game that's been released to the Xbox/PS3 systems (Burst Limit being the first) and it's a huge upgrade from the first. If you're wanting a game to tell the DBZ story, this isn't the game for you. It's focused purely on fighting. The fights are full 3D-Explorable maps. You are able to fly on command in a full 3D environment. Allowing you to fly away to recharge ki or attack from afar.

Some of the new mechanics of this game that are wonderful are the graphics, the free movement that we haven't seen for a long, long time, and the rechargeable ki . The fight system is intended to bring us in to a new-gen fight system and they have done just that, despite a few camera and control flaws which as I stated, are nothing unbearable.

You have over 70 characters + transformations to choose from. The ONLY issue I had with this game, and I'm very picky, is the inability to transform mid-fight as in the last few Budokai games (ie. SS1-SS3) and the fact that it stops at SS3 where Budokai 3 (PS2) ended with the Baby Saga and SS4. I'd love to see this fixed in future games as mid-transformations add a challenge

The game has its flawse: but it's still the best DBZ game released since BT3 and is a must buy if MY pet peeves don't bother you that much. Try it yourse

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DBZ Raging Blast

posted by MikeMeeks (FOUNTAIN, NC) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

49 out of 75 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Well out of all the DBZ games made in the past i believe that this one is the best of them all. It has the Tenkai gameplay, in which i believe was the best controls for this kind of fighting style. i recommend this game to anyone who has the fighting gene, and if u love the DBZ genre then this is a must HAVE. i give this game a 9 out of 10!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dbz raging blast

posted by gamespro (LA PUENTE, CA) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I think people who have played dbz raging blast will agree with me. that it is totally better than dbz burst limit. sure it is great but it could have been better. but i also checked out dbz bl i was actualy very disappointed their were many flaws with it especialy the fighting styel. but all in all i would recomened dbz raging blast for any dbz game lover.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not that bad

posted by lord_of_hollows (HOCKESSIN, DE) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game is much different than the games that i own and is way different than the other DBZ gasmes that i own, but i have gotton the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what we accept as playable these days.

posted by onedudesmi (AMSTERDAM, NY) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

First off I'm a big Dragonball fan, over the years I've spent probably over $1000 on DBZ games and merchandise.

I'll tell you this right now before you order the game, this game is broken. The graphics are great, the voice acting is so so but passable, even the control scheme is fine. What break this game is the Camera. Don't listen when people tell its passable during 75% of most battles you cannot see your opponent and I'll say about 25% of the time you can't even see your own character. All buying and or playing this game will do is show that People will play anything if you put the right title on it slap DBZ on the side and they will buy it an play it regardless of the quality.

In closing if you love a ton of dbz of content, regardless of how its persented then this game is for you. If you get frustrated with Bad controls and Buggy gameplay steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The sparks just aren't there anymore...

posted by rip2006 (MEMPHIS, TN) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I downloaded the Xbox 360 demo and played Raging Blast for the first time, I thought instantly of the Tenkaichi series on the PS2 but with more polished graphics. When I played the official release, I thought of...the same thing, except a little worse.

Let me first start off with the good aspects of the game. It feels very much like your playing the anime. There were many moments that felt like I had been able to recapture certain scenes from the show and then the customization of the characters is also a nice bonus. The what if stories are interesting as well. As for the other.

Many issues plague this game. Let me start off with the biggest flaw of this entire game...the camera. The camera is like watching from a first person point of view, a mentally ill child lost at a carnival and you have the pleasure of seeing the entire show. Many times did it just get in the way or bring the excitement of the battle to a screeching halt because you can't see the other player or its at an angle where you can't see anything at all. The worst part is that you have no control either over it so you are stuck with an automatic system that completely ruins the experience.

Another problem I have is that the story is poorly told. Basically, its the same thing as in Tenkaichi except this time it looks a little smoother graphic wise. If you've never played a Dragonball game, then this one not be the one to start out with. One would probably have absolutely no idea what is going on.

The game also suffers from glitches. There were many times when my character would just freeze in battle or my energy beams would go right through the other character at point blank range. I also got stuck in a wall once and had to completely start over. It feels choppy and sluggish as well and the controls are also a pain in their selves to master. Prepare for about 2 hours of control training to become somewhat effective in both online and offline battles.

In summary: "Looks good but thats it".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not like the others

posted by bamaman463 (CULLMAN, AL) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played a couple of the Dragon Ball Z combat games and enjoyed them. This one, however, was nothing but frustrating. I could not tell any difference in difficulty between very easy and very hard in the dojo. I could never get a chance to ease into the controls because the CPU was tearing into me every second. My fighter never had a chance to breathe no matter what difficulty level I had it on. Also, the controls seemed too complicated. The previous versions of the game I had played had very easy controls to learn and could be executed smoothly. In Raging Blast, the controls require too much had movement to be completed smoothly. On a smaller but slightly annoying note, the dialogue that you have to click through to get through all the steps is rather redundant and tedious. In short, the game renders frustration too easily and too quickly to take the time to learn to adjust. Not worth the frustration or several hours of time in the dojo to learn the rough and complicated combinations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very very bad

posted by Jtg5gt (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Take tenkiachi gameplay right and take out 50% of the characters , levels and add some uninspired soundtracks and terrible destruction mechanics and bam you get this trash. A ''sequel'' that has less then previous installments

This does nothing new to the genre or tenkaichi name . It takes out combos from tenkaichi 3 but adds more blocking moves and cancels . The blast explosion effects are gone aswell now too and suck . No more destroying the planets . Also terrible story the non dbz fans foolish enough to play the raging blast will have no clue whats going on at all. Complete trash and misinforming online gameplay not laggy bu horrible . Pretty much zero options only vs fights and world tournament . No 2v2 player fights like the case suggests .

Overall im sending this trash back don't get this if you have a ps2 or wii and can buy tenkiachi 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

another disappointing dbz game

posted by krmkse (HIGHLAND, IN) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well the story line misses so much dialoge that it makes it painful to go through it. the fighting system is ok at best...street fighter 4 is way way better in dynamics. the real big problem in this game is the diffuclty level...easy is hard. normal is insane, and hard...dont bother getting up with the first knockdown...you cant do anything. im sure that if the diffuclty levels were adjusted the right way to where easy you should just be able to breeze through and learn the moves in order to move up instead of having to to practice just to play half way through the story mode and then needing a modded controller to play the rest....big disappointment on a game that couldve been great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of the worst DBZ ge to ever be created!

posted by LegendaryD (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst DBZ game ever created. I would never recomend
this game to anyone who likes DBZ. I played this game for a good two hours and was done when I found out that you have to by parts of the sagas in the game to complete it. This is game is horrible! And I repeat HORRIBLE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game just need a few tweeks

posted by mrdeathbylysol (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i think this is great! just need to add more charectors and gt charectors

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!

posted by avatar3 (RIVERDALE, GA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

good dragonball game!!!!!!!!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

O K

posted by ssmit5 (CLOVIS, CA) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was a pretty good game but it got really boring after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by moe12345 (FOLSOM, CA) May 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

first off to the people who say this is hard on easy you must really suck cuz for me i can easily destroy the cpu on very hard not a hard game if you ask me

the one thing about this game that sucks is the camera but if you try to aviod walls its usally pretty good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't even bother. Seriously.

posted by MDX360 (KENOSHA, WI) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Terrible game, worst one I've played in awhile. The easy difficulty is ridiculously hard so unless you're super good at fighting games don't even bother.

The first level of the game feels like how the last level should feel. It's so hard it's not even fun. Burst Limit was way better.

The whole game consists of pressing x,x,x,x,y and then holding the d-pad down for 10 seconds at a time to charge up and press the right analog stick to unleash an "ultimate attack" that's seriously it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

By far the WORSE Dragon Ball game alive!!!

posted by AllanG (DUBUQUE, IA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

When i first got this game i was exited and hoping for a new DBZ experience and hoping it would get better like Budokai Tenkaichi 3... I was sadly mistaken...

This game is like a Arcade fighting game, there is no story line. All you do is basically click a scene to fight and there is maybe a 10 second talk session. It isnt like where you click Saiyan Saga and it does a complete story of it. You click each different fight...

Easy without the patch is VERY HARD. With the patch it is still hard.

To even stand a chance against an NPC you need to learn how to block every move they have. Even on easy the NPC's rush and are very aggressive. And to block you need to learn how to block 3 times. And some attacks look similar so its difficult to find out what attack they're using. So its RB+Y, RB+X, and RB+A.

Its a one button fight system for hand to hand combat and the Right Analog is your powers. You only have 4 super attacks and 1 ultimate. They dont always connect either...

Getting Super Saiyan 3 Broly or Vegeta requires getting 40 stars. And to get the stars you need to beat EACH fight on hard and do certain moves to get the other 2 stars. That itself is very difficult...

Piccolo and Raditz are very over powered on easy and hard, defeating them took me over 20 times just to get 1 star.

This game has made me angry and i left a few holes in my wall due to it, and i broke my 360 controller...

Ill never play this game again, and ill never buy a game from them again if this is the way they want to recreate a DBZ game...

1/10 if i could give it a negative, it would be -10/10...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Does the series Justice.

posted by lljjbj07 (SHINGLETON, MI) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This is deffinitly the best Dragon Ball game to date. But don't get me wrong, the controls are a little hard to get used to, but after you conqure the learning curve, it's like second nature. And the camera sometimes gets tricky. Sometimes you can't see your opponent. But I found that this only happens when you are next to a wall or directly under your opponent. The online feature is by far the best part of the game to me. I haven't played a game with lag yet. Plus the graphics and animations are amazing. All in all this the best game in the series to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

New Game same thing

posted by Unoshot (ANCHORAGE, AK) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Just like my review title says. Sure they might have add some extra thing into the game but it's pretty much like any other DBZ game we played since Dragon Ball Z: Budokai. I would have rated it less but I average it only because I still like the dragonball francise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

All I can say is..

posted by LilFlip95 (HIGHLAND, CA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The game itself is not to bad, yes it does need work.The only problem for ME was how hard the CPU was. I learned the controls, and was decent at them, but when i started playing against the CPU on EASY! it was pretty much like fighting him on hard.He just attacks you and wont let you move. VERY FRUSTRATING.

The controls in my opinion are not to bad wants you get used to them.
The camera was a bit bad but it didnt happen all the time.
graphics were ehh, nothing special.

Overall this game is impossible to beat. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DragonBall Z Raging Blast

posted by BadLife (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Out of all the recent Dragonball Z games to come out for the xbox, Raging Blast is by far the best. Smooth fighting, it retells the story from the original cartoon. For Core gamers this is a fun one to play, and even more so if you liked the TV show as a kid. The only bad thing i have found so far is camera angles sometimes can run into walls and you cannot see your fighter,but it fixes itself very quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse