Rent Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.7

2859 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A upgrade?

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

73 out of 77 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Ok so we have yet to get a DBZ game that breaks away from our generic fighting formula. Many more and it'll be come like Koei's Dynasty warriors series. This isn't a bad thing. This game beefs up a lot of things. And it actually adds more than 2 new characters this time around.

The game play is still fast paced and the specials are extremely destructive. I still love it when i hurl a Kamehameha at someone and they open there mouths screaming and fade away like they do in the anime. They def made it to where i feel as if even a saibamen is useful, every character has a story mode to unlock stuff for them. And this is where its awesome, you can customize specials. While i didn't go super in depth mostly because i just want people to see some of the cool stuff it has, im gonna say i rented this and i love it, worth a rent if your a DBZ and fighter fan. I wont keep this, cause while i like it i would ply it enough. I give it a 8.5/10. Rent it. Worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!

posted by xDbZ4liF3x (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

28 out of 33 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

After the first Raging Blast, people came up with a list of complaints. Nothing new, everyone finds the glitches or perceived unfair situations that appear in the game, and they want them gone. There was a glitchy camera, there was the Techniques not looking as dynamic as they used to, there was the ability to easily spam moves and cheap teleportation tricks. All fair criticisms.

Well good news: They're all gone.

The camera angles work great. No more of the constant need to try to frantically reset the camera, because the thing adjusts itself and the levels have been redesigned in such a way as to reduce the odds of it happening. The techniques are splendid, and have a nice explosion effect upon impact, and the teleportation moves like Wild Sense appear to be gone for the most part.

As for the scenery: beautiful and more destructible than ever. More room to move, you can slam your opponent through mounds of ice, pillars of stone, and even slamming them into the ground leaves a nice little impact crater.

The recovery is more impressive than ever. Now when you're being sent flying, a perfect recovery will allow you to flip over and slide back on your feet, allowing you to strike back first, or in the air, you simply flip around and push back against momentum. And deflecting a Super Technique is highly impressive, as you don't just slap away the blast, but watch it explode behind you in all its splendor.

As for the basic fight controls, they're more varied and unique, making it feel less like a button masher. Character attributes also come into play more here: Speed characters will be fast, Strength characters stronger than average. The stats mean a lot more this time around, but it still maintains the fair balance.

And finally, the techniques themselves: Beautiful. When they impact, they kick up a dust cloud just like in the series, and they most closely resemble the series now too.

The game is nothing short of amazing and incredibly improved. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Funny Guy Review: DB Raging Blast

posted by 1FunnyGuy (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Now look i LOVE the whole entire Dragon Ball sereis since i was a kid, but as a fan i am growing weary.
Pros: The graphics and lighting used in this game give the most BA experience to dbz video games. still fun to unlock most of my favorite characters in the series, also mentioning the truck load of characters available. And no matter what dbz game it is i will never stop lovin the kamehameha.
Here's what i hate having to say, the CONS: one major problem is that its the same two step. All fans out there know that your getting tired and which they would try to brake this chain of the same fighter. i mean after a while seeing a revamped version of the same stories we know gets old. another problem, backgrounds and fighting arenas straight up suck and look ugly. like i never whine about stuff like that but it really threw me off from other great graphics they had going on. Another problem is the countless hours it takes to unlock all the charaters. i know this was supposed to be a way of keeping players playing, but alot of people (meaning me) dont want to have to spend months of trying to get new fighters.
Honestly i truly love the sereis (DBZ fan 4 life), but it's time they take risk on the series and make some serieous changes Bcz the series wont last forever like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DBRB 2: Great game, hard to master

posted by GameGuideGuy (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have no taste in anime what-so-ever, but still I got sucked into it. This may seem weird to some, but this game is hard to leave. My own experience with the game was my friend's Xbox 360, and I was entranced. We would play for hours. In his free time he would unlock new characters and others things. I have to say, gameplay is remarkable 85 out of 100. Though the game is great, there are so many moves to master, and with that being said, this game is hard to control. But the game also gives you the ability to customize your character and make him/her stronger, faster, or in a way, funnier. If you play for a while, you can get the hang of it. Me and my friend would play 20 minute matches because we were so good. The only down side to the game is that there can only be two players on the battlefield at the same time, even though this does include tag team action, it just isn't good enough. Please take note that this was made BEFORE 10/15/11 and I really hope that Dragon Ball: Ultimate Tecknikai is much better and will be similar to a 3rd Raging Blast.

Now get back to gaming! Only if your a fan of anime...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

allright

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

all of the offline modes are really fun and take some time to complete but the online fighting is broken because some characters have these glitchy combos that never stop and weird movements that dodge your attacks that shouldn't and some people online use turbo controllers to dodge you constantly, there is not many people playing this online and and that's the reason

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dragon ball raging blast 2

posted by wiggerz (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

i love how the commentary actually makes sense with whats going on in the tournament. i dont like how the story isnt that in depth and really short for each person and dosent really explain anything, also there is only like 2 songs and the play over and over and over again. also you have really hard objectives for some fights

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great graphics but terrible controls

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All the extra stuff on this game was really cool, but the controls were awful and responded poorly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

new but still the same old story

posted by JXC2010 (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sure they added a few new characters and some new storylines but still the limit is the dbz universe when are we going to go into the dbgt realm does anybody remember the fighting game that introduced us to super saiyan 4. dont get me wrong i love the games but the need to go beyond dbz and add in the gt series and better the dragonball collecting. maybe add an rpg element or 2 to lengthen the game play time before it gets old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Exact Same Game!!!!!!

posted by megaladon6 (POST FALLS, ID) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Gamefly decided it would be best to surprise me with the lowest game in my gameq. This is what I got. It is basically the same exact game so I sent it back the same day I got it. I felt like I was literally playing raging blast 1. The thing that made me send it back was that it had no story line whatsoever. There were key parts in the show, but overall you just fought random adventures with different characters. Burst Limit had it right; there was a clear story, a clear fighting system, and a clear interpretation of the show. The emotion you saw in goku's eyes when frieza kills krillin, or many other scenes that made the show what is was. The game was missing everything. Just go and rent burst limit it is like this game, but it doesn't suck as much. All in all I give this a 5 because I already beat raging blast 1 and I didn't want to beat it again. There were a few improvements, but it is still the same game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

....

posted by GMaverick (GRANTS PASS, OR) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you liked previous dragon ball games you will be sorely disappointed. There is literally no storyline, no plot and the fights and achievements are bordering on near impossible.

I consider myself an extreme Dragon Ball Z fan, Ive seen every episode more then once at least and I have played almost all of the video games for this series. This game has many more characters then its other games on xbox but still sucks. Me and my brother are used to having to fight through all the sagas from the beginning, we usually pull an all nighter and beat the game by about 9 or 10 am in the morning. We are used to getting yelled at for it and yet we continue do it, before I got this game today I stocked up on soda, candy, chips, and waited for its arrival. When I got it in my mailbox today I was ecstatic me and my brother got all our junk food together and laid down our nice comfy pillows and nice warm blankets. Then we put the game it, we watched the opening cinematic and then decided to do the tutorials first. We had a terrible time at the tutorials, they were boring and relied a lot on chance to beat, we actually beat one of them by throwing the controller to the other person...seriously. But we held off our judgement for we were here for the story mode not for the tutorials. We loaded up the story mode and saw a list of characters instead of the usual thing where we pick difficulty and then get a cut scene telling us about the z fighters or the dragons. But it had neither, we started the Goku story and the first fight was with Krillin and dispatched him quickly, no cut scenes and it apparently picked the difficulty for us. We maybe did 20 more fights using different characters and all of them had varied difficulty which was incredibly annoying because we couldn't even complete one characters entire storyline if you can call it that. We had no cut scenes, characters that never met fought and we had no pick in difficulty.

Don't buy, Don't rent, Don't borrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sucks!

posted by sstovers (OLATHE, KS) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Gameplay i thought was horrible! i loved the characters they had in it, all the new ones they added and the new fusion setup you could do, but the fighting in the game was just to overpowering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

no more dbz games

posted by deadR2 (GILBERTSVILLE, PA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

im a huge DBZ fan and this game is bad as IGN says it is the backgrounds r dull and not that fun 2 look at they got the kia voices which the new voice actors r bad the fighting system falls apart raging soul is a dumb idea every one fights the same and its just a waste of time but the chararters look great but its just another bad dbz game maby raging blast3 will be good but don't count on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

utterly disappointed......

posted by veltix (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

um ok its been a while sense i played a dbz game so i thought about rent this 1 so watched some videos HOPING 4 some cool changes fro dbz t2 but sadly there werent any .... they actually took away some characters such as omega sheron first form janemba and a few others HOW ever i did see some stuff that i liked as in adding some charecters to the android 13 saga and cooler saga but besides that the gameplay is almost identical to dbz t2 besides graphics and how bout originality plz? this franchise is just falling apart how bout adding some new stuff like...o i dont know instead of that standard tag-team match how bout 4 playable characters on the map at the same time? or having ALL the characters from the ENTIRE saga in the game or adding some more fighting styles in stead of he same ones recycled plz make a GOOD DBZ game next time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dragon Ball Raging Blast 2

posted by skreed01 (ABERDEEN, MD) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

First off let me say this, I am a HUGE Dragon Ball and Dragon Ball Z fan, have been for year's. And I have Many of the Dragon Ball games on several different platform's. Having said that I figured I would try Raging Blast 2 to see if it remains true to the series. And in my opinion, Dragon Ball Raging Blast 2 is a total raging DUDD! The fight mechanics are great but the lack of a story mode (which truly immerses the player into the DBZ universe) totally kills the game, and makes it nothing more than another button masher fight game. This game is not even worth the rental let alone purchase. Save your money for something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DBG raging blast 2

posted by 1stunna (MESQUITE, TX) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks unbeatable missions the worst DBZ game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A couple of problems but not much

posted by GlacierWolf15 (KALISPELL, MT) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good. It just has a couple of problems.
1. It gets boring pretty quickly
2. It really needs a campaign
now I know that there is galaxy mode but that really doesn't go along the lines of campagn. You need to have the actual sagas
3. YOU NEED TO PUT IN GT
It is just not as fun without GT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DBZ Fans get ready!

posted by JingoWingo (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So after playing DBZ:RB 2 for about 10 hours I can honestly say that i'm just a little bit tired of it. For a DBZ fan like myself, this game was really really fun at first. The fighting was great, easy to learn but hard to master. The galaxy mode was alright, it helped me unlock the characters i wanted, but became repetitive and quickly would show how all the characters were the same person really. The thing that finally killed it was getting online. Fighting the computer is fun, a tad bit easy, but they can surprise you at times. Fighting a human is insanely idiotic. If they know how to do all the cancels and counters perfectly, you can't win. I don't care who you pick you can't win. Its annoying to say the least, when a dude can beat you to a bloody mess and you can't even touch him. Then there are those who just charge up and throw the super attack over and over and over. The online community for this game is terrible. In closing, the game is really fun for about 10 hours. The online play has no legs to stand on at all. And all the characters feel the same. When i started i was in "GOTTA BUY THIS!!" mode and now i'm in "Dang, i don't really want to play this anymore.." mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2 Review

posted by Jameshawkins (CHATSWORTH, IL) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am a hardcore Dragon Ball fan, and I have to say that I love this game. This is without a doubt the greatest Dragon Ball game that I have played to date. The detail and large size of the levels along with the movements of the characters make for a very realistic looking battle. I really recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

raging blast 2

posted by deadgamer3 (UNION BRIDGE, MD) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

to much like the first one all they did was add a few more new characters the need to stop fulling around and make a dragonball GT game for 360 and ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sooooo Bad

posted by Specials (LEVITTOWN, NY) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Once i started to play the game i already thought it was terrible. The Galaxy mode is terrible. None of the stuff in it ever happened. And they dont show you all the moves in tutorial mode. The Raging Blast 1 was way better. If you are a DBZ fan i would suggest you not to get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

coulda been

posted by MadMethods (DUBLIN, CA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game was a vast disappointment. The controls are clunky and non-responsive. They tried to jam too many actions into too few buttons. They should have used the control scheme from dbz t2. played for 20 minutes, did all the tutorials... then played for a minute and got REALLY bored. What a sad thing to do to one of the biggest titles in all entertainment, this must have been as bad as the live action movie was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD GAME

posted by game263 (GRAND ISLE, VT) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game sucks so much dont rent it ever. theres no story mode and its repetetive..i hate it. i wouldnt waste your time playing this peice of trash

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Same Old Song and Dance....

posted by Glacius89 (EDGEWATER, FL) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 22 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2 is just like all the other DBZ games, the "customization" is an utter joke, if your a fan of the other DBZ games, then enjoy this one, but if your looking or a fun fighting game that is enjoyable for typical fighting games players, this one is not for you...

Pro:
Graphics are very nice and pleasing on the eyes

Con:
Just a carbon copy of all the other DBZ fighting games....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by elmatatan55 (BABYLON, NY) Jun 28, 2013

Member since May 2013

good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!

posted by extremegamer11 (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

All I have to say is WOW! This game is awesome! It has so many freakin charecters! My only compaint is that story mode takes a looooooooooooooooong time. PLUS, the levels have have situations that you are in. (ex. Defeat an enemy that powers up over time. Or, Start at near death and battle to the very limit!) That's the one I hate cuz all you need to die is like 1 ki blast. You have to charge at the people but hit you with one shot and your dead like that! Other then that, the game is pretty awesome! I wouldnt keep it though cuz once you beat story mode you get kinda bored. The graphics are beautiful, especially if you have PS3. There are so many new controls and different ways to play. You can play like Broly and just beat them down, stand them up, then beat them down again. Or like Goku where he has every thing mastered, from melee to ki blasts to super attacks. Rent it! Dont keep it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse