Rent Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

2022 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Delivered!

posted by Krillinfan (RICHLAND CENTER, WI) Nov 2, 2010

Member since May 2008

57 out of 67 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

After the first Raging Blast, people came up with a list of complaints. Nothing new, everyone finds the glitches or perceived unfair situations that appear in the game, and they want them gone. There was a glitchy camera, there was the Techniques not looking as dynamic as they used to, there was the ability to easily spam moves and cheap teleportation tricks. All fair criticisms.

Well good news: They're all gone.

The camera angles work great. No more of the constant need to try to frantically reset the camera, because the thing adjusts itself and the levels have been redesigned in such a way as to reduce the odds of it happening. The techniques are splendid, and have a nice explosion effect upon impact, and the teleportation moves like Wild Sense appear to be gone for the most part.

As for the scenery: beautiful and more destructible than ever. More room to move, you can slam your opponent through mounds of ice, pillars of stone, and even slamming them into the ground leaves a nice little impact crater.

The recovery is more impressive than ever. Now when you're being sent flying, a perfect recovery will allow you to flip over and slide back on your feet, allowing you to strike back first, or in the air, you simply flip around and push back against momentum. And deflecting a Super Technique is highly impressive, as you don't just slap away the blast, but watch it explode behind you in all its splendor.

As for the basic fight controls, they're more varied and unique, making it feel less like a button masher. Character attributes also come into play more here: Speed characters will be fast, Strength characters stronger than average. The stats mean a lot more this time around, but it still maintains the fair balance.

And finally, the techniques themselves: Beautiful. When they impact, they kick up a dust cloud just like in the series, and they most closely resemble the series now too.

The game is nothing short of amazing and incredibly improved. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Characters

posted by Shock (CENTERVILLE, MO) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2 is a good game in my mind. It is a 3d game not 2, witch is good. they have brought in the same combat controls as some of the older games like the tenkaichis and sutch with a few changes. This is one of the best parts of the game as well. This makes it fun to play for extended periods of time. The roster of characters is also larger than in the original. There is however one major problem, the game doesnt have all of the character it needs. they are missing ones like Harudigon (pardon spelling) and first form Janemba. this is somewhat of a problem. They have also only introduced one new character. All around its a good game, It would just be a better game with all the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by tammie (WAYCROSS, GA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

better than ultimate tenkaichi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bad azz

posted by crisssss (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

really fking cool!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dbz

posted by Saint67 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jul 2, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game at first seems stupid but it is good everything is good but galaxy mode thts it so i think u should rent to try a little and see wut u think of the game im a true fan of this anime u should take my word for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by nenobolt (MORROW, GA) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome I love that there are more characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RAGGING BLAST 2 REVIEW

posted by RONDAT (JOHNSTON, RI) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

BEST video gmae i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by p3lover1 (ARVERNE, NY) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The fighting is good so is the online the only problem is that it doesnt have a story mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!!

posted by Gonzalo662 (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game was really good, it a lil diffrent from the first part,but way better it had more characters,more maps,and more fetures, but no story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

weres the story

posted by djphat (ARLINGTON, NE) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

i like the point that thay put so many more characters in it and the graphics and gameplay are fantastic but no story just that one thing thats just challanges not realy a storyboard if it had a story board it would be much better also i think it would be cool if you could use dragon ball gt characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Control Scheme So Far

posted by danku186 (TURNERSVILLE, NJ) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Well no lie when I heard that Raging Blast 2 was coming out I could care less. Raging Blast 1 upset me so much with its bad camera angles and tedious ways to waste time just so you could get some characters, that I did not even consider getting Raging Blast 2. Then I played the demo a few times. Immediately I ran to the nearest GameStop and bought it. I have not regretted it. The game has a pretty wide variety of characters, and being one the largest DBZ fans ever I was shocked and very happy to see people like Tarble and Hatchiyak in the roster. Those 2 being released in japanese specials only. True it lacks some fun people like Tapion or Lord Slug but still has a very solid roster. Remember the characters are DBZ only not DB and not DBGT. Also Galaxy mode is an amazing addition. If you like me are tired of playing through the same story again and again you will be thrilled with Galaxy mode. Forget the story, if you're a real fan you know it. Mainly Galaxy mode is a bunch of missions for your character that do not really have anything to do with that character. Characters are easier to obtain then getting a bunch of stars by doing the same fight over and over, or getting desperate and downloading them. The online is very good, no connection problems so far just people who can not seem to take a loss. Finally the control scheme. I can not tell you how balanced it is. With enough hours in you can easily master the controls. When 2 good people go head to head you really feel like you are watching the show. The combos are not too easy to pull off at first but like anything practice makes perfect. Some characters like Salza, Dore, and Neizu of Cooler's Armored squad do feel a little plain but understandably so. This game is a huge step up from its predecessor and is easily worth the 60 dollars. Also for those of you who do not know who Hatchiyak is no big deal. The game comes with a shortened down version of his movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

coll

posted by jr1119 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

best game in game fly <(")

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!!!!!

posted by bsmal (OCOEE, FL) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME HAS GRAPHICS THAT will make you feel like you are in the game. the only thing that i am not fond of is the near death missons epeshally with turlus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really fun but...

posted by ehunt564 (BERGEN, NY) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. The graphics, gameplay, control, sound, everything is great. Except for the fact that there is no story. Without a decent story mode of the series like the budokais had, the game feels imcomplete to me and is just another fighting game. The Galaxy Mode in this game is pretty cool, but it doesn't follow the same battles as the series. There are so many different characters you can play with in Galaxy Mode is a plus as well. This game would be a rating of probably 10 for me if there was a story mode. Even though these story modes are usually the same, i still like to relive the epic battles throughout the series. I am very highly anticipating Ultimate Tenkaichi, but this game can do until that comes out. Overall, this game is amazing, except for the lack of story mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2

posted by joh (MANSFIELD, TX) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome. The story mode was replaced with galaxy mode making it more fun. It let me choose any character I wanted after I defeated the enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent.

posted by blahblah67 (DEKALB, IL) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I would give this game a 7/10. I feel the combat is so much more repititve than any of the other db(z) games. The combo is a lot easier to learn than raging blast 1. bt3,bt2,bt1 has the same combat....maybe that's why I am getting bored. The same combat system over and over. All the characters do feel they play the same except for the supers and ultimates. The online mode is good. The galaxy mode was a nice welcome replacing the repeated dbz story. I just wish they would of written new story! Good graphics and music...maybe they should stop making these game or at least add more things to them... the ova was nice too by the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

no gt characters or ssj4

posted by yngcity (WIXOM, MI) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

im a huge dbz fan but haven't I/WE the fans waited long enough to get a game with all dbz and gt characters a HUGE disappointment for me dont get me wrong its a good game but its not nothing new to me i wanna see more like the tenkaichi series honestly this dont compare to that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More Characters and More Frustration

posted by SSSJDanny (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since May 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Im juts gonna do a pro's and con's list and give a short overall statement at the bottom.

Pros:
1.Over 90 Playable Characters.
2.Graphics are better
3.You get a free movie - Plan to Eradicate the Super Saiyans
4.Customization of items and powers
5.Long Campaign that will definitely make you put lots of hours into the game.

Cons:
1.Fighting is very repetitive.
2.Missions don't follow DBZ Time-line (Example. First Mission for Raditz is to fight Bojack.)
3.Very Frustrating Missions that will make you want to throw your remote at your TV (Mission: You have to use a weak character Nail start at 0 health and beat at least 2 strong AI Characters Frieza and Cyborg Friezawith Full Health.)
4.Camera has trouble finding enemies especially if they are above you.
5.Some Characters voices have changed horribly - As far as ive noticed its Kid Gohan, and Frieza

Overall:
The game is still fun although there are many frustrating issue with it. This is definitely a game you should rent first and try out. The big thing i know most people want is DRAGON BALL ONLINE!!!! I've been asking on Forums and all people are saying when i ask when its gonna come is "Find out on the next Dragon Ball Z!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

oh noez no gtz!!!

posted by RonaiSnzer (WAYNE, WV) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Kids GT was one huge what if. SSJ4 is fake and not approved by akira toriyama...he only let them do GT for the sake of money . if you read his interview back then he didn't even like the idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i got it

posted by riello09 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

this is the best game ever. you can choose so many characters. and you can even create your own character. There are a lot of new stages like cave (new)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DBR 2

posted by LatrellH (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sure the Graphics look cool, and the boards are huge, but the game itself is pretty much part 1 with a few more characters. The story mode is just GOD awful because it gives you no story, the fights can make you very angry because you may have to fight 5 people while you have 1 health bar, or your health decreases which will zap the fun out of the game and just tick you off. The voice of Gohan is the VOICE FROM DBZ KAI? What is that about? overall I am very unpleased

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Couldve Been More Bloody

posted by LongBeachGamer (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only reason anyone would play this game is if they seen the manga just like Afro Samurai not saying thats a bad thing cause I enjoyed both I just thought it needed to be a lil more Bloody some of the animations in the game couldve been done better example if your chest is swelling and hemoraging most likely its gonna be a messy scene of grotesque beauty.....graphics were Fallout like destroyed buildings and such you can play as other characters in the game and a different mode allows you to play as some of the boss characters in the story each character plays a little different than the others its a definate rent for anyone that has played Dynasty Warriors or like I said if you seen the Manga

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well made, but one flaw.

posted by crsepulveda (CYPRESS, TX) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Galaxy Mode wasn't nearly as close to the story line as it was in the first one.
Also, yngcity, Alot of people would have liked GT never to exist, I'm not one of them but GT could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

decent

posted by monstmike80 (UMATILLA, FL) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

im used to the ps2 version budekai tenkaichi 2 so this game took some getting used too...the buttons are alot different, but once i got used to it i had a blast and am still playing it! i like that around every turn you unlock something new and there is always a challenge.... Great Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A big dissapointment

posted by spike160us (TOOELE, UT) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenkaich series and was really exicted for Raging Blast 2 but this game was a let down. Where to start? The story is terrible in that it has none and has been replaced with galaxy mode which is bad for a lot of reasons the first is that the difficulty curve looks like a seismograph and missions have certain objectives that are pointless and seems like forced tutorial. one mission that was common was a mission where you were set in a powered up mode where melee was your biggest asset. Not only because it was boosted but because you cant do any super moves. This is a good area to start super moves, in Budokai tenkaichi you were given three super moves including your ultimate attack and they were executed by using left trigger and a face button while this may have been flawed the execution of super moves in Raging Blast is done with the right analog stick. This may give more possible supers by raising the tally to five supers including your ultimate its to easy to launch a super when you dont want to and even if you do want to use one it can easily be the wrong one. The controls also feel flawed. Dragon ball z games have had trouble in the past but this is the worst ive seen. The signature move feels wasted as a face button and guarding with a trigger is strange. The buttons can be customized but are restricted to what key they were originally, such as melee cannot be done with a trigger. Also while this may be personal the FUNimation dub is the only dragon ball z dub in my book so changing the dub because of Dragon Ball Z Kai was a bad move. And onto the last bad thing. The Menus. Oh goodness the menus. I like having fixed stats for story mode but since they replaced it ive got to stack my new shiniest item on every character that i want to play as and it feels akward doing it in between fights. Also when you exit the menus via a face button it will not save your changes automatically which can get frustrating. All in all 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse