Rent Dragon Age: Origins for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon Age: Origins

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.7

19505 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Many hours spent in this world already!

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Nov 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

225 out of 243 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I wanted to wait until I had played this game a lot before posting anything here. Those who reviewed on day one couldn't have given more than a glancing review.

Dragon Age is a really good game with most areas being solid. I don't know if it is GREAT in any area other than being addictive in advancing your character skills and collecting better loot. It is good in all other areas though, and that is rare in my opinion.

Graphics are above average, but not Unreal quality or anything. The camera pans a little shaky sometimes during cut scenes, but art design is really cool and the fantasy world is at times lovely/horrifying depending on what type of environment you are in.

Voice acting is really good and music and sound effects are perfect for the fantasy setting. The folks at Bioware have always been good at this going back to the old Baldur's Gate series on the PC.

There are a lot of skills to learn and the only bad thing about this is that you want to have them all. Well, I guess you will have to replay the game as a different character to try out the other skills, right? I already have 6 characters going right now, but I've focused on a mage to try out as many spells as possible. The spell effects look good and there are many different effects to choose from. I suggest making sure you have several spells that paralyze or freeze enemies in place because you WILL get surrounded by enemies frequently, and they WILL outnumber your four character party.

There are a lot of little touches in the game that make it more enjoyable (and replayable) such as story development between characters in your party and finding out new things about your party members as the overall story progresses. There are many likeable characters to bring into the fold, so you may also want to replay the game with different configurations.

Dragon Age is deep and highly replayable. Any RPG fan will want to spend at least 150 hours of game time here playing and replaying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioware returns with a clash and a thunderous boom

posted by beeronasti (ODESSA, TX) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

155 out of 180 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Dip your toes but a little and you scratch the surface of a deep and twisted world, where you feel like you want to not only apprach the intricate problems posed from a single angle, but rather explore them from all of the 6 view points(or more if you count some that change with gender and profession)to find out what changes. This kind of a game draws you into it and forces you to emotionally connect with not only the main character but also the NPC's that make up the majority of the game. This is an opportunity for a True hero to help or an evil hero to hinder, but regardless of the outcome the ride will be most enjoyable.

To be fair, the graphics are not extrodinary, however the maps do a resonable job at adding middle distance objects to the well detailed near and far. The landscape is mostly mute colors with the exception being the bright and exquisite landscapes which make up the backdrop of the game. The facial expression can sometimes be odd and the faces seem strangely proportioned, however the dialogue and voice acting shines and makes all of those seem unimportant.

Combat is a mixed bag with some people angry, I however actually like the ability to free my mind from the button mashing hack'n'slash games that dominate the present market. Partly this is due to how it reminded me of long off days watching Knights of the old republic light saber battles with a warm glow. Once you start attaining skills you being to weave in new abilities and it really makes combat intense and exciting.

I assure you that this is a game worthy of a puchase absolutely as much warrented as that of fallout 3. After all to truly play this game while renting it would likely cost you months in dues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Obsessed!

posted by tlg_texas (LUFKIN, TX) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm totally obsessed with this game! This is my first RPG, and now I think that I can't go back to anything else! The writers for this game are absolutely amazing and went well above my expectations. I have now bought this game, all of the add-ons, Dragon Age II, and the prequel books because the storyline drew me into its world. In the past, I always just played and enjoyed the type of games where you just run around and hack-n-slash enemies mindlessly, and the story goes goes in one direction. You won't get that with this game. Your story can branch out in numerous ways based on your choices. You can talk to your companions and enemies and have a variety of comments that can drastically alter your storyline. I also liked how you can build friendships and relationships with your party members. I've really grown to love these pretend people. I suggest that you have multiple saves because you might regret some actions/choices that you made along the way.

Since this isn't the type of game where you have to memorize long button combinations to perform attacks, with this game, you have to stop and think about not only your tactics, weapons, armor, etc, but you have to organize for your party members as well. Being my first RPG, that was new and, at first, challenging to me. But now, I love it!

I really enjoyed being able to customize my game character. With DAO, you can choose your gender, race, background, and specialization. Again, I was used to playing a male character in other types of games (I'm a female). You can also customize your appearance, which I thought was totally fun! I took over thirty minutes just trying to figure out how I wanted my appearance to be.

I finished the game with 80+ hours on it, and I know I skipped one or two of the side quests. I don't think it altered my story too much because my story ended very well! I made sure that. So, you'll definitely get lots of game play with this. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BioWare has another winner!

posted by Greyhat (RACINE, WI) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

81 out of 97 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Dragon Age, like BioWare's "Mass Effect" is simply amazing. Definitely one of those games you can easily play through 2-3 times. I decided to read the poor reviews on this to see if it could sway my opinion, it did not. The people giving this game 1-2's did NOT even play the game or even read the manual. "Where's the dragon," somebody said, I must question if this person even played an hour into it, as he/she was definitely not qualified to submit a review.

Dragon Age's battle system is almost that of Final Fantasy XII. You control one party member & the other 3 are controlled with tactics. Extremely similar to the gambit system in FFXII. You target & press A to fight, & use special abilities you unlock as you level whenever they are needed. Tactics are setup to have party members perform actions during certain situations. You can set a mage to heal allies as their HP drops below 50%, or even have warriors intercept enemies targeting your mage.

The level up system is very well done. You level by doing quests, & killing enemies. When you level, you are given 3-4 points to spend on stats, points to spend on talents (learned traits), & points to spend on abilities (mostly battle related).

The story is amazing, & changes depending on what race & backgrounds you choose. There are 3 races: Human, Elves, & Dwarves. Several backgrounds ranging from noble to commoner, & a special mage background.

My favorite part, the choices & consequences aspect on Dragon Age. Things you say/do drastically alter the storyline, giving you power to change the game. How great is it seeing that your actions actually have an effect, on the story & society in-game? Unlike most games where everything is going to unravel anyways, as the writer designed it. The story eventually becomes very emotional as the game progresses & you subconsciously become close to the characters in the game.

This game is worth much more than a rent, but at least that.

Gameplay 8/10
Graphics 8/10
Story 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Couldn't get into it

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tried playing this game, but after about 30 minutes of playing was enough for me. I used to play world of warcraft and seems like this game borrowed heavily from a lot of the game layout. For instance I chose a dwarf warrior and the main town you were in looked pretty much like Ironforge off of WOW, Controls seemed awkward, never really told me how to fight just draw swords etc. Wasn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The nay-sayers just don't get it.

posted by Estrada (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

31 out of 42 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Dragon Age: Origins. A solid game. Everything but the graphics we're up to par, and even then they didn't ruin the game. In fact, nothing ruins the game IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR AN RPG.

Common complaints:

"The combat system sucks!!1!"
Yes, the combat system is not hack and slash. It requires....gee, I don't know, SKILL. You have to micro manage your party, not just hit attack over and over to win. People also complain that mages get over targeted. I guess they expect the computer to ignore the dudes shotting fireballs for massive damage and hack their way through your line of warriors.

"This game is too hard!!1!"
First off, children, you can change the difficulty at any time. So (another toughy), what do you if you get stuck? Go and cry about it on gamefly? No, lower the difficulty. Or, even better, try making a better character?

"Too many cut scenes!!!1!"
This an R.P.G. Its not Halo or CoD. If you didn't want a good story, go play Boarderlands.

"Too many quests in different menus!!1!"
So what if they didn't spoon read you the key to every quest and told you exactly where to go? Poor kids, they had to read the game....

Too small inventory!!1!"
First, you can upgrade it. Second, I'm sorry your guy can't carry 100+ suits of platemail everywhere.

I think that is most of the complaints. It comes down to this. If you like RPGs, get this game. Buy it. I would say 150+ hours of play for a few playthroughs. There are lots of different ways to play, so you shouldn't really get bored. Even the main quest isn't too linier. Just a great game.

If you don't want to think/read. And just want an easy game. Don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioware is greater than all.....

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

40 out of 55 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

First off, Bioware and the fine folks that work there are by far the best game devs in the entire world. Bioware knows the importance of story, character development, dialog, and likable NPC's/Party members.

Lets get the "bad" out of the way first. The graphics for the console version of this game are sub-par at best. Compared to Mass Effect, you can really see that they could have done so much more. The PC version however is amazing and much easier to look at. Graphics do not make the game however so no points will be deducted.

Combat and controls take some getting use to (again much easier and better on the PC version) but once you do get use to them the game opens up to a world of awesome tactical possibilities. You are able to pause game play at any time and issue commands to each party member, or assign them a default tactic to use where they will bascially do what the AI tells them to do.

The story is amazing so far and just a few hours into it, it will have you on the edge of your seat. Twist and turns are a plenty and you best expect the unexpected. Not only is there the main quest/story to follow, but there are tons of side quest and story related to your party members.

The characters are very likable and you easily get attached to them. For the first time in 10+ years I actually care about my party members and I am hanging on to their every word. Bioware really brought the personality to this game and it shows in the dialog options between yourself and your party members.

Customization is great and really has that D&D feel to it without it being a complete rip off. You can build your character pretty much anyway you want, spending points along the way in your area of interest.

On top of all that this game has endless replayability options. You get a different story for each class/race, and the modding community will keep this game going long after what one would think would be a normnal lifespan.

This is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good story, but hardly a 10

posted by Valkyrie (CABOT, AR) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is fun, but don't believe all these 9+ reviews.

The main problem with these reviews is that they get you all excited and you tend to get disappointed when your expectations are not met. Read my review, then get this game and I am sure you will end up enjoying it.

That being said, the main thing you need to brace yourself for is the graphics. Once you start the game and see them for the first time just know that yes, they borderline last gen on the xbox360. Pics they show are for the pc version and I am here to say that the transfer to 360 did not go so well. To me, it does take a bit away from story immersion. What can I say, I was expecting Oblivion/Mass Effect visuals and with DAO I got Return to Krondor (which I rated very high for visuals...10 years ago).

Party AI is hit or miss. The options for tactic adjustment are some of the best I have seen in a game, ever, sadly they do not always preform the way you set them and you are left switching between them all in an attempt to save them from death or just get them to engage battle.

Game has tendency to save AFTER hard battles, not before, so save often.

If you hate watching/reading dialog than just skip this game. It wasn't made for people like you.

Storage space runs out quick in the start. Give gifts as soon as you get them. helps leave slots open.

Loot from the slain don't always appear right away. Give it a few seconds or go back later to claim your drops.

Crafting is not MMO grade. just know it is going to be simplistic.

Install to hard drive from the start if you can.

turn music and effects WAY down from the start and leave dialogue set high.

You may want to change the x and y axis sensitivity to low right at the start too if your getting dizzy.

Seriously, these things are about the worst this game has going against it. They are far from game breakers, but definitely enough to drop the score down a few notches. Now get this game and enjoy cause it pretty much rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

settle in, you'll be here a while

posted by GRIMLOC (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if you give the game a chance it will suck you in. way to much talking but thats the price you pay to have so much freedom. controls a little goofy but nothing you cant deal with. the more you play the the more you crave of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dragon Age: Story over Combat

posted by UberBoob (CLARKSTON, MI) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Bioware games have always put a strong emphasis on story and conversation/character interaction. Dragon Age has been given an epic story and fantastic conversation and voice-over work. The combat has always taken a back seat and there are always little glitches that make it into their games.

Mass Effect, Jade Empire, Knights of the Old Republic, Baldur's Gate...if you like these games, you don't need to read any further and you know what you're getting.

On the plus side:
- Engrossing story. Keeps you glued to the game to see what happens next.
- Interesting and sometimes funny characters with great voice overs
- Depth of gear/character customization
- Music/Sound/Voiceover
- Kill animations in combat (You'll see what I mean when your character jumps up on a dragon's head in the middle of combat and jambs a sword through it's skull, both pretty epic and nice touch)

Not-so plus side:
- The combat is hit or miss, with A LOT of micro-managing...or you could just put a healer in the party, set it to Casual Difficulty, and put the controller down
- The classic Bioware glitches (animation, sound etc.)
- The 360 version has literally, "yucky" distance/environment textures (the character/face textures look pretty good)

It depends on what you find more important in a game. It takes a little bit, but I got over the little gripes and really, really got into this one. 40 - 50 hrs without doing all the little extras.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

15 dpi teeth, weak texture work, but a killer game

posted by Xsalot (OSSEO, MN) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

30 out of 46 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I must admit, there was a brief moment as I began the 'human noble' campaign that I thought to myself, oh. my. gawd. This game looks really crumby. I guess over the past few years we've been lulled into a secure state of graphic snobbery so when I gazed upon this game I was less than impressed. I first noticed it on the character models teeth, yuk what is that 15 dpi graphics? then I noticed the clunky bitmaps on the textures, the extremely low grade backgrounds and for a moment there i was kind of upset, I felt a little short changed. It was short-lived however, what this game lacks in visual punch it more than makes up for in other ways. My favorite game of all-time, and it isn't even close, is Knights of the Old Republic, so this game was a must get on launch day for me and I snapped it and the guide up hastily, greedily, as this launch season has seen more disappointing delays than I can ever remember. I had big expectations going in, and while I will admit to be being initially bothered by the look of the game it quickly became obvious that this game has a lot stirring under the surface. I thought back to the look of KOTOR and how it wasn't really that great looking either, yet it's easily my favorite - this game looks and plays a lot like KOTOR, like it or lump it kiddos.

Getting past the initial graphics snob shock I quickly realized this game was going to rule! The combat does away with the button mash (thankfully) and the strategy in play is really cool. From what I have played so far I would give this game a high rank for gameplay and concept but a low grade for graphics. I think a lot of the reviews are right to dock it points for the looks of it but it more than makes up for it with the way you get sucked into the action, and the way the combat flows. I think a lot of people are going to be disappointed at first but then pleasantly surprised after about a hour or so spent with it. I for one can't wait to get back at it!

8.8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing..........don't rent, buy it

posted by Wookie345 (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is insanely immersive, the combat is very fun and addicting, for the strategic types, normal mode and harder all require insane thinking before even fighting the weakest of enemies.

the game just came out and already has 3 DLC for it, 2 of which are included in the game's case free if you buy a new copy, on all 3 platforms, and i bet they will release even more DLC for it.

you can play as a Human, Dwarf, or Elf, male or female, each race with not one, but 2 starting prologues to try, each actually fun unlike most games' prologue.

there are many recruitable characters each with a interesting backstory and abilities, each of which you can mold to suit your combat style.

there are only 3 classes in the game sadly, one of which the Dwarves can't be, but each class can be tuned to your combat style, plus each one has 4 profficent sub classes you can get, like ranger for rogue or shapeshifter for mage.

this is truly a great game you must play to even beleive it's greatness, its not a perfect game hence then 9, but it is definitly one to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Haven't played a game this good in a long time.

posted by James95023 (HOLLISTER, CA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2003

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is defiantly a must rent for the RPG fan. Yes it has glitches, and I know some folks are knocking the graphic quality, but I think the glitches are minor, and the graphics are acceptable for the title and console. Story, both on screen and in the codex are where its at. It gives the the world life, and its a huge world. The reason I gave it a 9 is because some minor annoyances, the main character doesn't speak but everyone else does, I know it probably would have been hard to find 6 different voice actors to read all the dialogue in game, so I can see why they went in this direction, it just bugs a little :). Lastly the other thing is there sure amount of blood, and I understand its a dark fantasy setting, and that blood is a central plot device, but after (every battle for me at least) battles characters are pretty much covered in it, again this is mildly annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad But....

posted by Sparkette (OAK RIDGE, NJ) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's a fun game for a little while.. but really reminds me of a complicated version of the Choose Your Own Adventure series from way back when... It seems to just be meeting a bunch of characters and determining the storyline by how you interact with them. It's interesting but trying to get all the Xbox points will take like 10 playthroughs. Forget that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dragon Age: Origins

posted by blue839 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you like Mass Effect and/or RPG games you will likely love Dragon Age: Origins. I found the game to start out slow. The controls are a bit tricky to learn at first and there a lot of abilities to learn and master. But after playing this game for a few hours it became very addictive. Dragon Age: Origins will present a challenge for most casual gamers who could easily spend close to 30 hours on their first play through. This game has a rich storyline behind it. I enjoyed the game a lot and will likely end up renting it again, or possible buying it, for another play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bold. Progressive

posted by Takhen (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overall the game is very well done. Your choices really do effect how the game progresses. There has been some very harsh criticism from certain groups because the main character can develop a Samesex relationship through their actions and how they treat one or more of the NPC's. Of course they can also develop a heterosexual or none at all.

I must admit I was shocked that BioWare's Management had the courage to actually include a Samesex relationship, and to do it without making it a mockery or something negative.

The story line(s) are done well and keep the players interest. Because of so many choices in a given situation change the style and outcome it keeps your interest as well as the desire to replay the game to see how different choices will play out.

There are a few con's as well. The quest system can be frustrating and vague at times. You get a system message of a quest updating, but many times you have no idea what quest or even what part of a quest has actually updated.

The user interface is somewhat klunky and the assigning of tactics to your party members is limited. Level progression also is uneven from player to the Players selected group members.

Even with these design flaws it is fun to play and will keep your attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

IF YOUR A TRUE RPG FAN...YOU'LL LOVE THIS GAME!!

posted by Philbrook (DURHAM, NH) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The beginning of the game is very well put together. The Character creation is that of Oblivions. The Races are neat to play around with, I ultimately choose the Dwarf to quest through the game with, After all I started out the Heir to the Throne of our kingdom..whats better than that!

The plot line takes you through twists and turns that aren't and are expected. The decision making is that of Fable in which you can decide your fate pretty much. Who lives, who dies, what sacred relic you protector destroy. What clan you choose or kill. You can also sting along sides and backstab Houses. Which I found cool.

The battle system is pretty simple if your a warrior and can get more difficult with rogues and mages. The characters you bring along are unique. Though the dialog can get a little tiring seeing theres so much of it, if you listen and pay attention you'll become a fan of it as the story line is well played out. You get different class specializations you need to unlock to get and more than enough abilities and talents that you can level, whether its poison making or trap making or herbalism. Theres alot put into this game and it pays off well worth your time.

Once again is your an RPG fan like me... you'll love this game. Its like Lord of the Rings mixed with Fable...whats better than that..I hope that convinced you to try it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game!

posted by mrdarkside (CHESTERFIELD, MI) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed Dragon Age, very cool old school type RPG with character advancement. Depth of the story and length of the game were tremendous. All the variations of the ending story make replayability in it a must. I am at close to 100 hours of gameplay as we speak. Only two reasons I didn't give it a 10.

One: Actually gameplay was great for your character but the control of other party members could be difficult at the later stages of the game. The tactics settings were great in concept but just didn't work quite right, or at least to the squad based detail that I would have loved.

Two: This one is strictly my opinion and has to do with Mature rating of the game. I was surprised at the level of blood shown in the game and that was even after I turned the gore settings down. I just felt like the developers tried to simply ad as much blood into the game as they could, and in the end I felt it took away from the actual game itself. I mean enough is enough already. After a few hundred kills we get enemies bleed already! Second was what seemed like didn't fit was the sexual content. The story arcs for love were good, and in some cases funny for straight men like myself with the g#y elf storyline. But if you are going to put so much gore into the game you might as well make the s#x cut scenes the real deal. Show the action. I mean you show dwarves getting beheaded with blood spewing everywhere out of their decapitations, and can't show some boobies in the s#x scenes?? I don't get it.

Overall a great RPG that if your are willing to put some heavy time into can be very enjoyable. Just my two small complaints but a game well worth the time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game but lacking in action.

posted by stevoya31 (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Dragon Age Origins grabs your attention right off the bat with its in depth multi layer story line. It carries all the traditional aspect that you come to expect from any RPG. I could go on for hours on the story telling and the character development but I won’t. I’ll leave that for you to discover for that is the best part of the game.

What I have come to regret about this game is the fighting action it self. It is very slow and one dimensional. Single swings adding a few special moves. No ability to block or counter an attack. Having to control 3 other helpless NPC characters becomes a real pain. The addition of combat tactics help but either you character stands off from the fight doing nothing until attacked or charges in to battle alone to their certain death. There is no happy medium. Each character can hold 2 classes of weapons but once they switch classes on thier own you have to make them go back to the one you wanted them to have. It ends up that you spend 10 min before every confrontation fixing everything you already spent hours setting up. I could not tell you how many times I died while my allies stood and watched. Or get stuck on an enemy character trying to get to another one. If you do not select an enemy close to you your character will trip on everything in its way to get to them.

I loved the story, the ability to change the game based on the way you want to play. That aspect alone makes it a great game I would recommend. I personally could not stand the lack of fighting ability, hours spent prepping for each battle, unpredictable NPC’s, and over all glitch feel of the game play. If you are a die hard RPG fan you can easily look past those down falls to enjoy an otherwise stunning game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but needs work!

posted by XKGLZZone (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

D.O. has a well thought out story with loads of side quest but plays like an old Diablo 2 game.

The Story is centered on a small group of people that you will find throughout the main quest in the game. First problem you will encounter is there is no info on how to level up your Characters, so you end up pressing Y (auto level) through out the game. Some of the questions you ask your companions don’t amount to nothing and last about 10 min. each. Each Character has his and her own strengths but you mainly see this in the items they can hold but make little difference in fighting power.

One major problem is the controls. If you can imagine fighting a group of 50 men and you’re down to the last one; you’re pushing the button for health and nothing!! I can say I haven't felt like throwing a controller since Zelda 1 and this game made that wireless controller slip out several times! Controls are very loose and not well polished.

Second major problem was the difference between the difficulty settings. Easy is way too easy, Medium is really hard and above that you will never finish!

Ok I'm done bashing, in all the game is still really fun. It will keep you coming back for more. The amount of side quests are a real fresh treat for an RPG on the Xbox 360. The game is pretty long and makes the price seem pretty fair! I enjoyed this game but think maybe it was released a little too early. I look forward to the sequel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh boy, a Dragon Age only weekend...

posted by COZthGreat (STURGIS, MI) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I did three things the weekend of 11/6/09 through 11/8/2009. Eat, sleep and play Dragon Age: Origins. Geez, and I need to get some roof work done before winter sets in, CURSE YOU DRAGON AGE!!!

Picked it up the day it came out on 11/3/2009 in the evening and didn't have time to play that night. Read the book Wednesday night after work (yeah, I'm the guy who reads the book before playing the game). Started playing Thursday, it is now Monday morning. I've got a over 50 hours game play in now.

It's true what you've read or heard, the graphics are mediocre but are more then made up for in depth of game play. If you like RPG games then this is a must have.

This ain't no Lost Odyssey, Tales of Vesperia or some other p.o.s. Japanese quasi-RPG. Simply put this is the best RPG ever released. Better then Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, better then Mass Effect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by chingle (OAK PARK, IL) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game is among one of the best games I've played in my life. I didn't give it a 10 because, in my opinion, nothing deserves a 10 because there are always flaws. This game has a great story, and the origin stories sound great (although I've only started one). This game involves the RPG aspect with decision making choices that will/may greatly impact the world constantly evolving. This game will certainly exceed many RPG lovers' expectations. Great game.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Such high hopes.....

posted by ThatGuy92 (TROY, AL) Jan 23, 2010

Member since May 2009

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Well... guess I'll start with the fact that I did not beat this game. I really tried but it got mind numbingly old. Put 17 hours worth of power gaming into it and gave up. Sense I don't know the full game I'll just list the Pros and Cons thus far as I wait for a better game to come in.

PROS-
- If your one of those people who want to know everything about a game's history or character info then there are plenty of cutscenes/pages to watch/read.

- ahh... hmm.... maybe I'll thing of something later on.

CONS-
-Hold A to repeatedly smash enemy.... for then entire game. Really? It's like mmorpg but without the people. Which sucks.

- If you want to get all the conversations done with our partners then grab some chips or something because this will take awhile. I love a good story, probably more than most, but this is so much overkill. I don't wont to know this much pointless information but if you want "friendship skills" then you have to do it.

-In 17 hour I was still using a weapon I got two hours in. How bout some more weapons?

-Story was bland. Never got me wanting to find out what will happened.

-All the voice's that you can choose in character creation suck. And the particular one I got would yell "Can I get you a ladder, So you can get off my back" EVERY 5 SECONDS. WTH does that even mean?

-Skills so far are stupid. Stun Skill->Weapon Skill-> Hold A -> Yawn -> Wonder why you waited 6 days to get this "low" game -> Commence to scream like the people in the gamefly commercials.

-Quest are too freaken hard to find and complete. If you have to go on the internet to figure out how to do a quest, then it's too hard. I think I found 8-10 quest and beat maybe 2 of them because I simply didn't know where to go or what to do. How bout some markers?

-Graphics are bad. That is all.

And this concludes my nerd rage. Maybe I'm the only one who hates this game but don't buy this game unless you've already played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic Bioware

posted by Matttt17 (SALEM, OR) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very impressive game. I'm not sure why everyone is bashing on the graphics, I think they look very good. For people angry that they can't skip the dialogue, press A,B,X,Y at the same time and you can skip.

If you enjoy RPG games, this will not disappoint. People who are crying about how long the dialogue is aren't really RPG fans. You have to appreciate how long they took to put this story together, and giving you the option to really get invoved with the story. I see me replaying this game numerous times as a different class/race.

I love how choosing a different race changed the way people look at you and talk to you in the game. This is a must buy, so rent it and keep it. Because if you rent this you will have a spot taken up in your game Q for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost unique

posted by Soldarith (WEST CHESTER, PA) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

PROS
- Very long and entertaining gameplay, especially with added downloaded content.
- Decent in-game graphics and sounds.
- Absolutely tons of spells, talents, and items.
- Lots of customization options for your character(s).
- Tactics system allows great control over group members' automated actions.

CONS
- By-far one of the worst quest tracking/note systems I've ever seen.
- Lots of annoying bugs still not resolved.
- By-far one of the worst targeting systems I've ever seen.
- Cut scene graphics are 5 +/- years behind current trend.
- Story & lore are cookie-cutter; nothing unique or inspiring here.
- FAR too many situational & one-use spells/talents.
- Never enough space for loot.
- Crafting system is very basic, uninvolved, & totally optional (yes, mostly unneeded).
- The "need" for a Rogue in your party because of the sheer amount of locked chests in every zone, in every region, and every town/city.

OVERALL
The game is entertaining and plays like a cross between Guild Wars and Fable: where your choices cause changes to the game's storyline but you have game-controlled party members assisting you.

The game really doesn't stand out in any one area as a leader. Rather, the game seems to just barely hit all the interesting points of a single-player RPG and continues on.

FINAL VERDICT
Rent it. It is certainly worth a good amount of time investment to get through the story. Enjoy the DLC, if you plug through the game and found it entertaining. Don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse