Rent Dragon Age: Origins for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon Age: Origins

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.5

9107 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gather your party and venture forth?

posted by Taladryel (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

86 out of 94 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The title of this review - a phrase encountered quite frequently in the game - is a throwback to Baldur's Gate, another Bioware RPG franchise. In a way, Origins is not unlike the old Baldur's Gate that looks more like Mass Effect (and plays more like yet another throwback, Knights of the Old Republic - but without the lightsabers).

For the uninitiated, Origins is basically a more-evolved RPG - you design your character, pick his or her background, and set off on an adventure to, ultimately, save the world by virtue of hacking or blasting some arch-bad guy thing to death. Character customization comes from a combination of stats, classes, skills (like poison-making), and "talents" (actual abilities to use in combat, like fireball or shield bash). There are also sub-classes (like Templar or Spirit Healer) that can be unlocked giving access to additional talents.

Combat is very KOTOR-ish. It's real time, with your character doing basic attacks and whatever talents (shield smash) you trigger. Meanwhile, your party members each do their own thing (you do get the ability to set detailed combat behaviors though). However, you can also pause at any time to issue specific commands, and switch party members at will. Fairly easy to pick up, but the fights themselves can be challenging at times.

Bioware's strength has always been open-ended stories set in detailed worlds. Origins is no different. You have a broad set of goals, but how you achieve them is your business. Be good, be evil, be in-between, have (or don't have) romantic relationships, pick up (or ignore) dozens of side quests - it's all up to you.

On the whole, Origins is "next-gen KOTOR" or "Mass Effect without guns and with more depth". A few things could have been done a bit better, but on the whole, the Bioware formula is very well executed. One side note, however - the game does include liberal graphic bloodletting and suggestive themes (e.g. a functioning brothel). Little Timmy's parents beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dragon Age: Origins, so close to perfection

posted by weavtastiq (BRIDGEVILLE, PA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Right from the start when you turn on Dragon Age: Origins, you truly become your character. Immediately you have to start making decisions which could potentially change the outcome of the game. This does not stop until the final battle and it's one of the things that makes this game so much fun. The graphics are great, maybe not the best I've seen, but definitely pleasing to look at. The soundtrack adds to the creepy element in many areas of the game and the voice acting for the most part was great too. The controls are a bit tricky because of the complexity of the game and the limits imposed by the ps3 controller, but you will quickly get the hang of the basics, and it flows quite well once mastered.

I only had a couple of issues with this game. Several times throughout the game, I encountered random glitches. Once I entered a room, watched a cutscene, and when it ended the door I came through was locked as was the door leading out the other side. Neither could be picked and required a key. I found out by reloading my last save that it was not supposed to be that way. Small glitches like this can and will happen so SAVE OFTEN when you play this game. If you save often these issues will not pose major problems and will not ruin the game for you.

The lack of a bank system and lingering quest related inventory items can make managing your free inventory space a challenge. I found no simple way around this and do not want to provide any spoilers so I will just leave it at that.

One more minor issue was the cooldowns on buffs. I simply dont see a need for this in a single player game.

There is a ton of depth to the story here, nice replayability, and a ridiculous amount of side quests and optional paths to take. On my first play through I spent nearly 60 hours and I'm already starting again with another character.

I would highly recommend this game to any fan of the RPG genre, especially fans of Baldur's Gate and similar titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent game for any rpg fan.

posted by reganj (LANSING, NY) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

36 out of 40 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Finally, an amazing rpg for the ps3!! Dragon Age is one of my favorite games so far this year.

Pros:
-Very well written story that has branching paths. You will be interested in every charecters backstory and the fact you can gain and loose favore with your party members is a plus.
-Battle system is similar to neverwinter nights or knights of the old republic. It is kind of a mash up but turns out to be better then both aforementioned games.
-Loot system is great and armor and weapon changes are visible on your charecter.
-Epic length. This game is huge. I am only 12 hours into it and Ive explored less than 11 percent of the world.
-Charecters are fleshed out and well animated.
Cons:
-Graphics could be better but there are moments that it looks very good.
-Frame rate can chug during large battles but this is not game breaking.

So that is about it. I plan on buying this game and the golemn dlc is a must buy. He comes in handy if you get him early in the game like I did. Very powerful friend to have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioware is greater than all.....

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

52 out of 66 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

First off, Bioware and the fine folks that work there are by far the best game devs in the entire world. Bioware knows the importance of story, character development, dialog, and likable NPC's/Party members.

Lets get the "bad" out of the way first. The graphics for the console version of this game are sub-par at best. Compared to Mass Effect, you can really see that they could have done so much more. The PC version however is amazing and much easier to look at. Graphics do not make the game however so no points will be deducted.

Combat and controls take some getting use to (again much easier and better on the PC version) but once you do get use to them the game opens up to a world of awesome tactical possibilities. You are able to pause game play at any time and issue commands to each party member, or assign them a default tactic to use where they will bascially do what the AI tells them to do.

The story is amazing so far and just a few hours into it, it will have you on the edge of your seat. Twist and turns are a plenty and you best expect the unexpected. Not only is there the main quest/story to follow, but there are tons of side quest and story related to your party members.

The characters are very likable and you easily get attached to them. For the first time in 10+ years I actually care about my party members and I am hanging on to their every word. Bioware really brought the personality to this game and it shows in the dialog options between yourself and your party members.

Customization is great and really has that D&D feel to it without it being a complete rip off. You can build your character pretty much anyway you want, spending points along the way in your area of interest.

On top of all that this game has endless replayability options. You get a different story for each class/race, and the modding community will keep this game going long after what one would think would be a normnal lifespan.

This is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Bioware Gem

posted by Seek618 (WILLIS WHARF, VA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved Dragon Age: Origins, but then I expected to being that it was coming from Bioware. I think that this is one of those games where you know if you're going to like it or not before you even turn it on. If you liked KOTOR, Jade Empire, or Mass Effect (basically if you like what Bioware does best) then you'll most likely enjoy Dragon Age. The characters were well filled out, graphics were mediocre (nothing to write home about) and I felt that the Mage was the only class that really gave any strategy or depth to the gameplay. The shining star of Dragon Age is, of course, the story and the gameplay choices you make depending on your characters origins and personality. Sometimes I found that the consequences of my actions were extremely different that the goal I was shooting for, but I guess that makes for unpredictable story telling. It just sucks when you make decisions you think are going to earn you approval from your companions, only to have them walking out of the story because they disagree, taking all of your hard earned gear with them (I'm looking at you Alistair!). The DLC is great for the game and you can definitely muster at least one play through (I don't really see a draw in doing more than one). Brass Tacks: if you like what Bioware does best, you'll enjoy Dragon Age. It's no KOTOR or Mass Effect, but it's a fun romp through a cool fantasy setting, done by the best in the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get in the Tent!

posted by Memdoch (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Besides the much touted man on man elf loving, this is a standard Bioware game done big.
Standard... really standard.
Look, I love Bioware games. I will argue that Knights of the Old Republic is the best western RPG. And the reason why it was so awesome is that you felt like your chocies had real impact. You could order a wookie to kill a runaway child that's in your party. You can destroy the universe or save it... You can do lots of things.
This one not so much. You can change things a little bit here and there, but the end results feel the same.
Elves with bows. Warriors with swords. Bar wenches with heaving graphics. Midgets that somehow are also miners. The entire thing is so standard that it actually becomes a nice ground for cliche. It's so done to death that they can abandon convention and do what they like. The dialogue, sense of humor, and voice acting of other Bioware games is there... which is good because that's what you'll spend about half of the game dealing with.
The combat system is about as solid as you can ask for on a console. You have the ability to play like you enjoy it. If you don't care about a sense of accomplishment you can switch difficulty up and down whenever you like. You have many tactical options for those that like to play it hard.
And kill Allistair. He blows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Computer RPGing comes to the console!

posted by cancelHoo (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Some of the other criticisms of this game on here really highlight the difference in CRPG (C for computer) players and console players. I've always shied away from console versions of RPGs which are either too action oriented or too Japanese (sorry Japan, but you are just too quirky and repetitive). Dragon Age, however, is a great title that brings the strategic combat of past classics like Baldur's Gate to a console. I have heard that the PS3 version is a tad dumbed down, but I am no longer interested in paying over $1000 to keep my PC hardware up to date. It does show what companies think console players are willing to deal with difficulty wise.

Party based RPGs are meant to be strategic. Those of you who complain that this isn't Oblivion should go play a shooter and leave the RPGs to the enthusiasts. I loved Oblivion, but it is definitely console oriented.

One final note. Why, with the power of the hardware and usb ports can't these games handle a mouse and keyboard?

10 out of 10 for PC RPG lovers!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game but very difficult.

posted by MrNolan (HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I started this game on Hard difficulty thinking that as an avid RPG lover, i'd be ready for the challenge. This game whoopped me real good very early on. Simple low scale battles took me to my limits time and time again until I decided to swallow my pride and lower the difficulty to medium. I was then doing fine until a certain part of the game (i won't spoil) required me to play as and understand a different class than the class I picked for my main character.

This game has great storyline, with awesome characters that deliver their lines very well. If you have played games like Star Wars Knights of the old republic or Mass Effect, then you will love the conversation syle gameplay. I really liked how you could probe your party members and be rewarded with more information about their pasts as you grew stronger in your friendship with them. Its great!

The bad thing is again, the difficulty level and lack of comprehensive tutorial. Some things I had to go on the internet to know how to perform. Symbols and spells I had no clue what they did unless I did my own research. Its no big deal, I enjoy researching my games... but when lack of research gets my but kicked, im not very happy about it.

At the end of the day, I did not finish the game and was disappointed that I had to make the decision to move on to another game because I had spent many days playing this game from dusk til dawn. The difficulty killed the fun waaaay too many times for me. Another thing, some people like dungeon games but for my tastes, the dungeons in this game were waaaaaay too long. Being so tough and unforgiving did not help that at all.

I reached a point where I had to lower the difficulty from Hard to medium, as I had stated before. By the time I got to the point where I had to lower from medium to easy (for a certain dragon battle), I had had enough. After lowering the difficulty to easy, I had lost my sense of dignity. I had lost my ambition to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game hindered by a couple flaws

posted by BredHammer (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is phenomenal. For any rpg fan.

The great part is this game is truly deep and engaging. The story requires you to make outcome-dependent decisions from the first few dialogs until the end of the game. The characters are developed so well that you actually need full concentration through dialog to truly understand them. The armor/weapon/skill system is comparable to an mmorpg. The gameplay forces you to master each class and companion if you want to complete it on the hardest difficulty. It is truly a great game

The negatives are a glitched system. Everything from minor door opening glitches to freezing when loading. To play this game you must learn to both master the gameplay and ability to remember to save constantly.

I am an rpg, Everything from KOTOR to Mass Effect to Fable to Final Fantasty to everything inbetween and this game is exceptional but it is hindered by glitches.

You will be engaged and more than willing to experience multiple playthroughs based on simply wondering how that single dialog could have changed 40+ hours of gameplay.

I cannot give this game 10 based on these small errors because they WILL happen however you should not let that take away from your gaming experience.

Play this game. Buy it if you love rpg's. Either way this game brings everything to the table and deserves the acclaim it has earned. Just try to look past unfortunately frustrating flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DA: Origins was never meant for consoles

posted by CParrinell (GLENDALE, AZ) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I honestly love this game, and mostly for the signature touches of any Bioware franchise: expansive plot detail, great dialogue, well-defined characters that stick with you, and a general immersion that's hard to find in the settings of other developers.

That being said, this game was never meant for the 360/PS3. Most notably, the console versions don't allow you to pull out the camera and utilize an overhead tactical view that's essential in many of the game's more difficult battles. Fights that are serviceable on normal or hard on the PC become ridiculously difficult in the absence of a dedicated "pause" key and an aerial view of the combat. Not that stopping the game during combat isn't possible, but only to bring up an obstructive radial menu that resumes action immediately after closing.

In addition, the graphics in the game were never really suited to such close scrutiny. The fact that you're constantly pulled in close allows you to see the many imperfections in the textures, and texture pop-in and slowdown are common.

Some of the talent/skill trees are nearly useless. Ranged units that aren't mages, for instance, are completely nerfed -- you're sometimes inclined to keep members of your party present to further for plot reasons only to have them die continually because they're tactically useless by comparison to better characters.

And perhaps most frustrating is the sloppy means by which the combat actually plays out. Melee can be an absolute mess -- see what happens when a melee enemy targets a distant friendly, and another character attempts to intercept. The enemy will sloppily push his way past the nearest melee friendly and continue moving, and you're rendered helpless just because the enemy is walking forward in a straight line. It's frustrating to look at, and any game that depends so much on combat should have known better than to allow that.

By managing to be compelling regardless, Dragon Age for the PS3 gets a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth a Rent

posted by Hogyn317 (HAGAMAN, NY) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Gamefly is great for gamers, eventually you will beat a game and want to get rid of it. DOA with 6 different story lines and 3 different classes to choose from is a great game. The cmobat system does get a lil weary and repetitive, but what combat system doesnt, you find the moves that work and use them. The story is great as are the characters, I find it a mix of WoW ally side without the open map and Fable with all the choices, you can choose to kill anyone in your way, listen to reason or just plain ignore people.

Overall I gave the game a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

before you buy....

posted by Seahawkboy (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dragon Age Origins is a good game, though not well rounded. As I am sure you have read, the combat system is frustrating for several types of gamers and is easily overshadowed by its storyline. The game would have gotten a 10 if it had even an Oblivion-like combat system. If you do intend on playing the game, only the mage combat system gives you some variety and challenge to master. The mages will do the brunt of the damage while your teammates get the kills and the points so you have to time your attacks better. The combat is more strategy than button mashing, which is a turn on for some strategy gamers.

Just like most multi-console games, this one scores lower on the PS3 than any other console among user reviews... why I don't know, but I have heard that the PS3 is able to maintain the framerate where the 360 seems to not be able to manage.

The storyline of this game is what keeps you. I fell in love with the characters especially the main two, Alistair and Morrigan. These are really the only two characters, plus your dog, that are fun to use in combat because they have the most active and important storylines. Not having an open world setting was also a drawback. Overall I give Dragon Age: Origins a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mediocre at best

posted by JohnnySins (GUSTINE, CA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Dragon Age Origins is an immersive role playing game that loses it's grip on you each passing hour. It introduces a rare combat style which will dazzle you at first but will lose it's novelty over time and becomes repetitive and boring. You're forced to adopt a Tank, Healer, and Dps party type which limits you to only 2 damaging character types you can choose to kill the darkspawn; however due to faulty game mechanics, being an archer is completely out of the question(Your tank will out-dps your archer the entire game) and the rogue class completely loses it's backstab stealthy approach after about halfway through the game due to daggers gaining only half their intended damage bonus through dexterity and your rogue will gain the ability to dual wield 2 handed weapons for some odd reason. The skills accessible to you as you level up are horribly described and some auras intend to disable themselves when you zone in and out of areas. Your party commands are limited to, "Hold Position" or "Move Freely." DAO is not an open world game and you are limited to a predetermined path which limits the role playing aspect of the game. Magical items are horribly limited in this game and you'll find yourself using only 3 different sets of armor the entire game. Graphics are not horrible but leave something to be desired especially on the consoles. While the gameplay lacks and the combat system becomes dull the story is excellently written and interesting. Despite an interesting storyline and well written likeable characters, you'll find yourself playing a mediocre at best action role playing game.
I gave Dragon Age Origins a 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quite Unexpected

posted by SkullPlot (LAKE WORTH, FL) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first glance of the game, from the cinematics, this game looks amazing already. But from the description of the spells/attacks and the way the fighting style is worded in most reviews of this game I was in fear that it would be too much like the horror of games titled Final Fantasy and less like the beloved Oblivion or Fallout 3. But thankfully that fear was misguided. This game is simply perfect- even without multi-player or continual playability after you've beaten the game. There may not be as much "true" free-roaming in this game like oblivion and fallout, but it's still like a better done Fable. 5/5 Stars 2 thumbs up and a high five :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dragon Ageless

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well what a fun game! Tons to do and not a lot of time to do it in. Great that it has multiple beginnings and endings as well! the graphics are good, not great, and the controls are decent but the story and gameplay shine brightly! If you like the MMORPG feel then pick this one up. Its really fun and full of quest and massive dragons to slay. You can play as many diffrent races, each with their own weakness and strenghts, and you can develope a love interest(s) if you so desire! Lots of replay value as there are multiple endings possible and 6 diffrent beginnings! Pick this one up you RPG fans!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Concept

posted by TatarSalad (CONWAY, AR) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's about time a "Baldur's Gate" type RPG came to a platform. I would of liked to see more legendary gear, but as far as I"m concerned they did a great job. Lots of options for party members, decision making, gear choices, where you went in the game, and even the potion/poison making was a cool aspect. Great game, can't wait for the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games on the ps3

posted by KMA2k10 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game, one of the very few games i actually played multiple times.

Pros:
Great story
fun game
great replay value

Cons:
Graphics werent all that great
limited enemies, i am one of those rpg people that am willing to put in the time to make my characted godly strong...but this game limits your leveling because ou cannot grind, it isnt an option there is a finite amount of people to fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Strategy Fighting Adventure RPG

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Once you get used to the fairly complex character, party, and fighting menus (which takes a few hours), this is a very rewarding game.

At first, the graphics and menus seem a little clunky, but after a while everything really starts to pay off, and pretty soon you're hooked. This is a true strategy game in that you need to manage your party selection, spell selection, weapons, armor, and fighting styles in order to get through the progressively harder battles and bosses.

The story and the worlds are big. The characters are complex, and the relationships are well fleshed-out. You get involved. You have a lot of control over what happens in your party and in the storylines, so there is a lot of replay value.

Really fun. I've played over 60 hours and am near the end. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon Age: Origins

posted by Chamox (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good. It has great graphics, good story line, and tons of paths and choices to follow. Keep in mind that how people fight in thetrailers you have seen is not how your character will fight, it is an RPG not a brawler. If you are an RPG fan get this game, but if you like button mashers and/or other things like that, don't get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An average game at best.

posted by dukbutt (MURRIETA, CA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

10 out of 23 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This is my first review and thought I would put my opinion on this one as seeing how this game is being highly praised. First and foremost, I completed about 70% of the game so I can't fully comment on the story. (MW2 and AC2 is out now) The story to the point where I was sometimes interesting and engaging, most of the time boring. I liked the variations of conversations that can be taken and differences in the outcome. The gameplay in my opinion was really bland and boring. I do enjoy turn based and action RPGs, but for some reason, the gameplay didn't captivate me like most critics said it would. The graphics in this game are by far the worst I have ever seen in this generation of games. Graphics can almost be compared to PS2 games now. With all that negatives aside, the lasting appeal is vast. The story variations, different character builds, and talents give this game alot of replayability. I would definitely suggest renting this game first, then decide from there whether to buy or return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best console RPGs of all time.

posted by TheJoseph (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I just finished Dragon's Age, and it is without a doubt the best console or PC RPG I've played in at least 10 years.

The graphics, soundtracks, storyline and lore, the open-ended nature, massive world, combat and magic, huge variety for both your primary character as well as your party members; everything was incredible. There is so much content it's insane; I especially like that there is incentive to side quest and pursue secondary missions that will help you in your main objective.

It's anything but linear and the between the character specialization and the team formation, combat is incredibly challenging and interesting (unless your playing on easymode, which I don't recommend, I hear it's way too simple).

I went with the Dwarf Casteless Rogue, and I can't speak for the other faction / class combos, but the storyline was unique and well scripted. The origin ascension from a street thug to a "Grey Warden" was awesome. I usually find myself skipping through the text and dialogue in these kinds of games, but in DA:O the entire game is voice-acted with a diverse cast and fascinating lore. It pulled off what so many MMORPGs attempt to do, it's too bad it had to be single-player and have a static ending.

I was enthralled from beginning to end, I would recommend this for any RPG fans, casual or hardcore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Diablo Age: Origins

posted by tbsaok (HILL AFB, UT) Nov 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

imagine being able to set up how your character acts, exactly what they wear, their skills (when to use them) , their attributes, which loot they utilize.... now imagine you can do that with 10 people. up to 4 in a party at the same time. ... all in all, its a pretty sweet game.

although the online feature is a little bogus.. you sign in just to make it "convenient" to download new content. no online players. but its definitely still worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Problems with PS3 Firmware 3.30

posted by AbeFroman2 (COLUMBUS, OH) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dragon Age: Origins has problems with the new PS3 firmware version 3.30. The game freezes frequently, locking up the PS3, and necessitating a hard reboot. The issue is documented at length in the Bioware forums:

bit.ly/bcEnAT

I just rented the game, and I have had it freeze twice in the first hour. IMO, it is not worth the frustration. If you have a PS3, avoid renting this game until the problem is fixed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Geat RPG

posted by shark99 (OTHELLO, WA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its a great RPG but like most games, its always compared to others or could be better. the graphics are pretty good, game play is ok takes some getting used to the controls still haven't figured everything out yet. i was planning on renting this for the xbox 360 but from the there reviews im glad i didn't they talk about slow downs and freezes and glitches, having seen any of that on my PS3 version runs smooth no freezing (as of yet) or any glitching. on of the things i don't like is that your spending most of your time cinematic sceans (i think thats what there called) then you are playing the games, have to listen to them talk and then read to see what your answer will be, its just annoying is all otherwise a great game if not for a buy, definatly a rent. can't loose when you rent for game fly, :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

unimpressed

posted by gamerguru (AMBROSE, GA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The missions are redundent and the graphics are lacking. To many great games out now to even consider this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse