Rent Dragon Age II for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon Age II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

5655 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Rush Job, and it shows

posted by MacTruck (IOWA CITY, IA) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

35 out of 45 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed Dragon Age Origins and was looking forward to the sequel. The streamlining of the inventory and combat systems didn't bother me too much, but the repetition of the level design and many bugs were disappointing.

You will fight through the same dungeons, warehouses, and outdoor environments at least 5-10 times each, just with slight modifications like doors suddenly filled with concrete or blocked by rubble to contain you to one part of the map. The enemies as well are mostly repeated over and over throughout the game, and without the life-bar showing you'd never see any difference between say a weak Templar or a Lieutenant Templar with 5 times as much HP.

The lack of effort in level design and enemy hordes are even worse considering the potential this game had to show off Bioware's typically great writing and story. Each of the party members in your group have fully-explained histories and sidequests to explore, and it's fun to see how the Origins story lines are threaded through this new game.

There was one MAJOR plot point that I hated following the Dark Roads Expedition, but I can't complain too much without spoiling it. I cannot believe that I got more fanfare and celebration from finding a mushroom in a cave than I did when the life of my sister and family was changed forever. It really stuck out as an example of how this game seemed unfinished and rushed.

The bugs on PS3, even following the major patch, were present throughout the game and made a few sections unplayable. There are continuous problems with screen tearing and texture pop-in during both gameplay and cutscenes. Twice the game froze completely on the same conversation with Anders and I was forced to reboot my PS3 and load an earlier save to progress. At the end of the game I also had bizzarre problems with party members fighting invisible enemies off-map and after the credits rolled the game dumped me back to the beginning of the last boss fight. Very Poor QC!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Complete waste of money

posted by Sir_Freddrick (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I had recently bought this game on pre-order and was expecting the BEST! Considering all Origins has done thought this would be better. All wrong as soon as I hit the first town I was excited to hit the next one, but wait what's this? You're stuck in the ONE town the WHOLE time! Not to mention the caves, if you look inside they're all the SAME! They just shut a few doors! Not to mention the equipment! If you get a totally awesome piece of equipment for a mage and your a warrior it useless! It's only good for a shiny penny because your party wont take it! Also the whole let's make some runes on this sword it will be fire! Nope it just says fire damage it doesn't glow red in flames like Origins! I mean why take that out that was one of the great parts! And lastly why you shouldnt get the game is.....You're HUMAN! That is your only pick! Your Human or Human. You don't get to be a Dwarf, Elf, etc. like in Origins. In my opinion DO NOT get this game go for Origins it's a lot better, maybe even spring for the Mac or PC version you can get even more quests, equipment, etc through user generated equipment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth The Time.

posted by Brainberry (HAYWARD, CA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

30 out of 44 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Every modification to the gameplay and structure of Dragon Age II is a clear improvement over the previous game. The combat is more responsive and bloody, you don’t need to fight the inventory system anymore, and conversations are more engaging thanks to the adapted Mass Effect wheel. There are downsides though; the semi-linear story and repetitive environments have a negative effect on what is otherwise a great role-playing game. Despite these complaints, Dragon Age II is a great RPG, not as good as the first but leaps and bounds better then most.

Pros: Good Story, Awesome Characters, Fast Paced Combat, Pretty Graphics

Cons: Simplified Combat, A lot of questing in the same area, I hate hearing Serah and so will you

Verdict: I love it but i know its not for everyone. Rent it first if youre new to the genre. Buy it if youre not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bugs Bugs and More Bugs

posted by Shaggyspider (PENN, PA) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off there are so many bugs and glitches in this game, some help you most hurt you or make it impossible to finish a quest, I got almost to the end of the game and couldn't finish it because every time I tried to go into the area I needed to finish the main quest line it would never load that area, and thats trying multiple times and letting it sit there for an hour or so the last time, I am quite "EXTREMELY UPSET", 25-30 hours of gameplay for a game I couldn't even finish!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Total Letdown...

posted by Shneaky (MANTACHIE, MS) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

30 out of 46 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

[Caution-This Review Contains Spoilers]

I am a huge, HUGE Dragon Age Origins fan and was extremely excited about the sequel's release. Unfortunately, Bioware took everything I loved about the first game and either removed it or changed it for the worse.

First of all, if you're going to put "old favorites" from the first game in the sequel PLEASE do not change their appearance. I know getting the same voice actors might be problematic but WHY change the appearance of Anders?? I was so sad to see what they did to this great character with great potential. He was made uglier but worst of all, his hilarious personality was completely gone! I get that people change over time but he was utterly bland! All the characters' personalities were rather bland in my opinion, but poor Anders got totally rehashed into someone I didn't even care about. I didn't want a goofy Alistair remake, but come on, give these characters some likability and real emotion. Not blah blah blah here's my story but why should you care because I'm dull and boring.

The romances were also bland compared to the first game. And WHY is everyone bisexual? That also ruined Anders's character for me. Remember this..."All I want is a pretty girl and the right to shoot lightning at fools."? Apparently pleasing the masses means more to Bioware than keeping true to characters and keeping them realistic people. I have nothing against homosexuality (I love that aspect of the game) but not EVERYONE is bisexual!

As for gameplay, DA2 is (as others have said) pretty much hack and slash. I personally preferred the previous game's system. Gone is customization...gone is fun conversations with party members at my whim...arrived are Flemeth's old, yet magically perky boobs. And I was SICK of Kirkwall after just the first hour.

On its own, DA2 is an "okay" game. If you're like me and your favorite part of Origins were the characters and the story, you'll likely have the same feelings as me on this rush-job sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mediocre at best

posted by MrHarrilasagna (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What a joke this game turned out to be. I'm a huge fan of the RPG genre. However, I did not play the DA:Origins so I can't compare the two. Too busy with Sacred:2 at the time. So i figured, why not try out DA:2. In retrospect, I should have stayed clear of this game. For a story driven game it lacks tremendously in that specific area. Completing Mass Effect 2 and dead Space 2 right before playing this title probably didn't help. As I found myself mashing the skip button during dialogue sequences by the beginning of Act 2. The stories conflict constantly and make no sense whatsoever at certain points. The game-play is lackluster in every way. With a clunky interface, having to constantly having to completely pause the game in order to change weapons, armor, amulets, rings and belts. The level designs feel completely rushed. As you play the same general 4 level's over and over and over. There's absolutely no challenge whatsoever in the game-play. Finding a good Item is as simple as walking up to a random crate or chest in the middle of a city hub. You have the same odds to find something good for your character whether you fight a ten minute battle with a dragon or walk ten steps into any main city and open a sack or crate off in the corner. The money system is completely unbalanced. Special merchants trying to charge 20 hours worth of game-play earned gold for an item barely on par with your characters current level. Basically the game wants you to spend all the money you earned playing the last 20 hours. For something that will be obsolete in the following 2 hours of game-play. There's just absolutely no meat on the bones of DA:2. I would compare the entire experience to the likes of Too Human. The only truly positive thing I can say about DA:2 is the cool unlockables you acquire for having already played Dead Space:2 and Mass Effect:2 and registering them at the bioware website using your EA account.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Utter and absolute disappointment for DA1 fans.

posted by Vashren (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

22 out of 35 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Having played DA1 on a PC, this sequel is a massive disappointment.

Things to consider before renting/buying:
- The game no longer feels epic
- The sense of massive world scale is gone
- There are only two environments to explore (a city, and a small area outside)
- The depth of combat is gone
- The ability to fully customize your party is gone
- The characters are not nearly as memorable
- The RPG elements are good, for the sole reason that Bioware already put that component together in DA1.

Bluntly put, this game is a downright embarrassing and dumbed down version of DA1. It has been made linear, streamlined, and aimed to cater to hack-n-slash people. It might be a decent game, but 100% unworthy of being part of the DA franchise.

It is my theory that Bioware was pushed by EA to deliver a linear game in very little time. It is obvious that the success of DA1 inspired corporate greed to want more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocre...at best

posted by mjk6df (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked Dragon Age Origins quite a bit. Don't get me wrong. DA2 is fun to play...but gets tedious...quick. The action is improved over Origins. The story was pretty good and their is a ton of side quest. Unfortunately, they re-use the same environments over, and over and over. How many times can I go in the same dungeon to do a "different" yet equally boring mission. Also, for a "blockbuster" game the graphics are mediocre at best. They could have made the game a lot better. Worth a rent, DO NOT buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Swing and a miss.

posted by Condor (SPEARFISH, SD) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Since nobody's bothering to mention it, or at least on the front page of reviews, I'll go for it. The game re-uses physical layouts like crazy. While I can forgive buildings for looking the same since that's pretty realistic, albeit still just laziness on the part of the developers, all the outside scenery is similar to each other as well. As well, all the challenge to romance was thrown out the window when they added the new dialog menu. Not hard to tell which one is a successful flirt when I have a heart popping up in my face. The music feels as though I've heard it before, which is pretty unexciting. There's a distinct lack of ambient sound which, with some help from reused physical layouts, helps me feel like the raider's cavern I've just cleared out is now infested with spiders.

Not to say it's entirely bad, the combat system is somewhat more smooth, though any game that's about the combat does a better job. If you don't care about a few glaring lore WTFs, then the story will be thoroughly entertaining. And hey, warriors aren't just about dual wielding and getting every known haste buff to man in this one. You actually do stuff. Not that you have the option to dual wield as a warrior here, but what do you want from me?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dragon that didn't Age all that well at all. . .

posted by Pocky22 (ERIE, PA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

It can be said that I am a fan of the first Dragon Age game. It was a throw back to what many people consider a dying breed of classical hardcore RPGs, that all but seem to be going. Dragon Age 2 seems to be continuing that slow decent. How so? Let's dive in.

While combat has been paced up, it suffers heavily from the use of 'waves'; in which every battle can go on for an eternity as more and more enemies pour in. And unfortunately, the AI feels like it takes a nap in crucial moments, forcing you to take their proverbial wheel more often than not. In the case of strategy, it is mainly for show; as you can still target and plan battles, but since the sped up combat is in such contrast, it just feels slow and jarring to use (especially as a Mage).

In the case of your character; you play Hawke, who is much like Shepard of the ME series. He/She is voiced, and uses a dialogue wheel, only this one has some rather misleading choices. Hawke can only be human, and each class has been downsized considerably (again, especially the Mage). Character interactions also take an odd nosedive, as you can no longer stop and chat, and must seek out their 'base' to speak with them, and even then; they usually won't have much interesting to say.

Speaking of bases; the entire game (a decade) takes place in the much advertised Kirkwall, which despite it's initial size early on, shows it's wear 15-20hrs in. No longer can you quest about, instead, you are sent on various story missions. These missions are usually fetch quests, which would be alright, if the game didn't reuse the same 5-6 environments over and over again. This makes the game feel claustrophobic, and gives the world no sense of depth, like in Origins.

Even the item management has suffered; where you are bombarded with inane amounts of junk. It's sad, as Bioware proved that you can sell a classic RPG, and still have it be worthwhile. This game, just doesn't live up to both Origins and the hype EA had pushed for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Decent game, but dissapointing

posted by okgame (SARATOGA, CA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

19 out of 34 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I've played the game for a couple hours and now I will admit I am enjoying myself, but there are some huge aspects of Dragon Age 1 that i miss. First off i feel like this game is much more narrow-minded than the 1st. This is 1st shown right off the bat when you can only be a human (i realize it's part of the story but I still would have liked to see a little more creativity). Next the customization leaves a lot to be desired. There isn't anything much if at all different from DA1. The game play is fun and engaging and MUCH smoother than DA1 which is a huge bonus. Interacting with your characters isn't nearly as fun since they don't interact with you as much.
Something that actually really is bothering me is the apparent downgrade in attention to detail. For example, (i know this isn't crucial to the game) but the menu screens seem like a massive downgrade from the 1st game. They seem less creative, vivid and visually appealing as the 1st game which disappoints me a lot. It seems like a rather rushed game that could have been made better if a little more attention had gone into it. However i know I'll enjoy playing it and hopefully it will grow on me.

Pros:
+smooth game play
+good voice acting
+fun plot line
+very entertaining

Cons:
-lack of attention to some detail (mentioned above)
-lack of customization
-doesn't seem as personable as DA1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak game

posted by soggmeadmug (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm kind of getting fed up with games that provide all glamor and glitz, but no substance. The writing for this game was weak and the world you had to play in was weaker.

The writing was horrible and linear. They had moments that could have very easily expanded on to give the player a real emotional connection towards the main character and they did absolutely nothing with it.

Your mom dies from a freakish plot, "oh, well...good thing I will never have to revisit that thought because I have some other stupid thing to do. My sister dies, "oh, well..." and so on and so on.

The world is very limited too. You basically play in one city and a few spots outside. The maps are reused for everything, they just block certain paths off to make it unique...how freaking lazy.

I loved the first Dragon Age and was so looking forward to this game. This is why I'm sooooo happy I have Gamefly. After playing a sucky game like this you just thank god you didn't actually pay for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Twice as good and half as long!

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) May 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Awesome game all around should be in the running for game of the year, well at this point in the year anyways.

Story is so good in this game, everything from the main story to the short side quest has interesting and original feel. Game play was definitely improved since Origins. Origins was fun but new game mechanics keep you in the action so it doesn't get boring or repetitive. Controls I liked because of the simple button mapping system used for the characters spells, items and abilities. Graphics was simple but clean. Music score draws you right back into the Dragon Age world.

The leveling system was simple but offered many different paths to take with a character. Each level gained you have 3 points for stats and 1 point for abilities. Each character will many different ability trees to choose from when learning new abilities, and each of the 3 classes have different trees as well. Since you only have one point per level you have to choose what type of character abilities/spells you learn. With so many choices it can change every time you play.

The best part of Dragon Age 2 is the questing. There are what seems like 100's of quest and all unique with great stories. Each quest you choose to do or not to do can affect the game from there on, and there in lies the fun of Dragon Age. The game can change every time you play! You can make buddy with team mates or you can tick them off and see what happens. In Dragon Age you always have a chance to respond to situations in a good/polite, aggressive/bad or indifferent way. Any way you go will change what happens next.

Dragon Age 2 was one of the best games I have played this year and I can't wait for the next one to come out. I found that playing through the entire game and completing every quest only took around 35 hours so its short and sweet. Don't forget to import your information from Dragon Age Origins over to your new character as that will change the game for you as well.

Don't miss out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't know how you can't love it

posted by Kaiden77 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

14 out of 27 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Now to begin with, DA2 is quite different than DA1. But its not a bad thing at all.

The combat is more INTERACTIVE than in DA1. Where in DA1 you simply had to press X and watch the Grey Warden charge an enemy and repeatedly swing, while all you had to do is manage his special abilities, in DA2 the combat is much smoother. Yes its a button masher, but the abilities are used the same way. And there is no hesitation when you run around the combat scene trying to attack a different enemy. In my opinion it keeps things moving at a faster pace and is much more fluid.

The same can be said for the menu. Its not as detailed but again, thats not exactly a bad thing. Its faster to use.

I also like how you dont have to keep your companions constantly geared. They get one set of armor the whole game, which you can upgrade for minimal costs once you find pieces in shops. You do need to get them weapons however.

I have to give the writers two thumbs up for the moral choices. They make is so not everything is so cut and dry. Trying to play a hero has become more challenging since not all decision making gives too much away as to what will happen due to your choices.

I like the companion interaction more in DA2 as well. Its not as unrealistic as when you could just make camp and run through the same dialog options as many times as you want. Its all about how you play and who you like. Just like in real life you can't please everyone all the time.

Also I should warn you, if you have played DA1 make sure you get this title for the same system as you played on that one because you can also load save data from DA1 which will impact the story of DA2.

I would recommend this game to everyone that like a good story driven RPG. I gave it a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dragon Age II

posted by ShadowWeezle (FLORENCE, CO) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

All I can say is WOW. They really got lazy when they made this. Less to do, less options, no other races to pick from just human, the trees are smaller, there are less objects to collect, theres a timer on the health potions, its more linear, It was the most disappointing sequel to a game I have ever seen, at least Two Worlds II attempted to better there game....Dragon Age just gave up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Pretty hit and miss

posted by killquick4 (HOMESTEAD, PA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dragon age 2 is an amazing game when it comes to the combat aspect but when it comes to the characters themselves it is a complete letdown. In the first dragon age you would be able to talk to your characters over the events that took place if Sten hated you for something, you where confronted about it and it helped to develop the characters interaction with one another. In DA2 though if your companions hate something they tell you and it is never mentioned again, no response, no explanations, nothing. Another problem is now your allies will either hate your or love you all based on what you say. There is no longer a gift system which i found to be one of the best parts of DAO. Remember when you gave Morrigan a mirror and you recieved details into her childhood, not in this one the characters are basically one dimmension towards you and thats it. At first visiting individual housings sounded awesome until you realise they have nothing different to say to you until the next chapter of the story starts, other than that they will just say the same line over and over again.

Good:
- Combat system is more of a button masher not a startegical layout
- The main character actually gets to speak in this one
- The ability to have your companions help you in conversations is nice
- Rouges are useful now for other than just lockpicking

Bad:
- The combat system is now a button masher not fitting for an RPG
- Huge lack of character customization
- Lack of exploration is a letdown you literally spend 90% of the game in Kirkwall
- Character interaction is a joke
- your companions don't interact with eachother like they did in Orgins

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dragon Age 2

posted by Weenor (HILLSBORO, KY) Mar 8, 2011

Member since May 2010

11 out of 23 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Pros
-Lightning quick, satisfying combat.
-Fun combat abilities
-Great story narrative
-The protagonist is named "Hawke"
-Great voice acting

Cons
-graphics are quite outdated, though they will not take anything away from your experience, they are worth mentioning.
-characters and dialog feel a bit shallow at times.

Overall this game is well worth a rent and even a buy, if you have the money. It is a fun, thrilling adventure. With a heaping amount of role playing and combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Title

posted by scsa852k (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of RPG and action adventure, and Dragon Age II has elements of both genres in its latest title.
No, it doesn't have a perfect battle system.
And Yes, the graphics look like they're 5 years behind compared to other graphical masterpieces available on current next gen. systems.
But these factors didn't bother Dragon Age:Origins being a great game.
It's the same story here in Dragon Age II.
I think the characters for this year's title are more entertaining than previous title which absorbs you into the game more.
There aren't massive changes to the basic system, but it does feel the game has gotten a little easier.

Because of such significant graphical improvements in most titles, I think gamers' standards of rating games have become a little stingy over the years, but we all know that graphics, as important as they are, are not the most important factor when it comes to enjoying the game overall.

I thoroughly enjoyed this game.
There are tons of main and side quests you can hop into.
You'll have 7 to 8 characters to choose from within just few hours into the game which add variety to the game and of course, thnx to the significance of Dragon Age system, it all depends on how you play the game.

If you call this game a traditional RPG and compare it to recent masterpieces like Demon's Souls or Final Fantasy XIII, it would fall short to be in the same category. If you call this game an action adventure, and compare it to God of War III or Assasin's Creed series, it would fall short again.

But, overall, regardless of which genre you might want to call this game (I'd call in an Action RPG). It is still a great game you'll enjoy and spend hours and hours playing this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrid

posted by pjg07230 (PUTNEY, VT) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a great game if you have the attention span of a goldfish...if you were looking for something similar to God of War or Final Fantasy you will be very dissapointed...shotty graphics and wreckless controls make it impossible to enjoy this game in any possible way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Letdown

posted by jtyler0425 (HENRICO, VA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Huge letdown from Origins. Worth a rent, but deffinately not a buy. Very little replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is horrible

posted by llama11 (GOODLETTSVILLE, TN) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I hated this game. The fighting looks like it was designed by a gorilla, there are tons of weapons, but you can't see their attributes because the words on the display are microscopic, you can get strength, cunning and alot of other stuff, but you have to search your inventory for minutes before you find it's effect, and when you do, it's in that microscopic print! I died once, but I switched characters without any knowledge of how to use that character and why I didn't lose, but when I looked over, my original character was revived. It was so confusing. This is literally one of my least favorite games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't play the game....

posted by AliCat4 (ROCKY COMFORT, MO) Aug 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The disc had a chip on the side. It would start uploading and then just freeze. I tried it 3 times and same thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disapointing

posted by graywolfe (COLVILLE, WA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the graphics and animation were pathetic the game interface and controls were clumsy and hard to use. the combat style made me think of the original mortal combat. all in all it was very disapointing after playing the first dragon age, they took several steps back on this. the story line itself was not at all bad but the rest made me glad i only rented this and did not buy it. i can only hope that dragon age 3 will be less like this and more like the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bored.....

posted by dr3w_l3ach (RUSTON, LA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i knew this game wouldn't be a mass effect or oblivion in terms of how good it was but i did expect something more..... entertaining. the character facial animation is mediocre at best and since you spend the vast majority of your time in game having (forgettable) conversations with people the facial animation needs to be better. As for the combat? While it can be fast paced and fairly intense at times, i still find myself pressing "x" and watching my character dance around, because i played the rogue class, and barely cause any damage to my opponents. i was looking for something to tie me over until skyrim or battlefield 3. This game, is not that game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by Stuntman1123 (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Remind you, I am not an RPG player. I was expecting something a little different from this title. The Story line in my opinion is great but it is alot to sit through if you don't want to fall asleep. The game play is very repetitive when in a battle with foe's, alot of button mashing and pausing battle sequences to fight off the enemy.
If your a player that likes a PC feel to a game than you will love this title it's just not my cup of tea.
Going back to Kill Zone 3 to gain some of my sanity back from playing Dragon Age 2. Maybe I'll stick to not playing RPG's unless its from the Fallout franchise. Hope you enjoy the good from this review and use it and take the bad from this review and trash it. Now play until those thumbs are bruised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse