Rent Dragon's Lair Trilogy for Wii
view large frontback

Dragon's Lair Trilogy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

245 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

welcome to the lair

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had recently received this game and it takes me back to the days when arcades were still very popular. This game plays exactly like the arcade version except that you could have infinite lives if you so choose to set it like that. you can also play the home version which will start you right from where you die or the arcade version. The graphics on this game are great. My only downfall to this game is that it is to short i would have liked to see a longer game. This is a definite good rent for fans of dragons lair. I would not recommend buying this game mainly because of its length.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

As crazy hard as you remember

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you were 5 or older in the 1980s, that "Strange Game" in your local arcade, the "the game where you played a movie", Dragons Lair is not a mystery to you.
If you are not in the above category, this compilation has got to seem like one of the quirkiest offerings on the Wii platform.
I'm not going to go into the history lesson for those people(that's what the internets are for) but I'll explain some of the features of the game in case you're not sure if you want to click that "rent it" button.
In the first game, you can play the original version 'as is' from the Arcade cabinet, or a 'Director's Cut', were a few "extra scenes" can be played through. Also, you can set the response time; easy - you get about two-and-a-half seconds for an input, or hard - you get one second exactly before the scene kills you off.
Dragon's Lair 2: Time Warp, the only option is is to play to the original ending in the game, or an alternate ending they apparently scrapped.
In the obligatory Sci-fi version Space Ace, you have 3 difficulties to chose from; Cadet - the bare minimum of scenes gets you to the end, Captain - a few extra scenes are required(some of which may seem familiar) to save the girl, and Ace, where you must pass every scene forwards and backwards to reach the end.
Lastly, all three games have four settings adjustable in the option menu, but really the only one that matters is Lives(3, 5, or INFINITE!).
In Conclusion, even though the sound quality seems not as great as I remember, all the LaserDisk quality(asterisk chuckle asterisk) visuals and animation are as top-notch as you remember. Definitely worth a rent for your fond memories of frustration. And if you don't have any, give it a rent to experience a small video game history lesson, to further appreciate how far the medium has come since the heyday of the local Arcade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just like I remember it

posted by snotspill (YORKVILLE, IL) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall game play was exactly what I had expected. Almost mirror image of the arcade version. Philips CDI version was alot more difficult that the Wii version. If you had fond memories of this game growing up, I don't think you will be disappointed. Didn't give it a 10 because it was way to easy to get to daphne on dragons lair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dragon's Lair Trilogy!!!!

posted by kgd1974 (NEW HAVEN, KY) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game brought me back to the days at the arcade!!!! I must have spent thousands of quarters on this game when I was a kid! If you loved this game when you were a kid, you gotta check it out! It has the Dragon's Lair game we all loved with all the great scenes you remember. It also has Dragon's Lair 2 Time Warp and Space Ace included so you really get 3 games for the price of one!! This is an awesome buy! If you can't beat the game on your own, you can watch all the games to the end to see what you are missing. I give this game a 9!!! Go and get it today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Interested in Taking Residence in this Lair

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Back in 1984, Dragon’s Lair was a game that was meant to revolutionize the experience by having the player play in a cartoon as Dirk the Daring in his quest to save Princess Daphne. How? By moving the joystick in a certain direction(s) an/or hit the sword button (aka the 2 button). Hit the right commands at the right time and Dirk will get through the traps and monsters of the game. Back in 1984, it was a great arcade game because it was simple and it only costs one or two quarters for three Dirks.
But some arcade games make for lousy console games - even when the two version are exactly the same.
Even with the addition of Dragon’s Lair II: Time Warp and Space Ace (there is no Dragon’s Lair 3 here), this compilation can’t overcome the biggest obstacle that many arcade-to-console games face: lacking content.
Each of the three games has about ten minutes worth of material in them, for a total of half an hour.
That‘s it - there are no additional features or content provided - just the three games.
They want us to pay up $30 for this?
It’s not like they tried to add shelf life to the title with underhanded tricks in Time Warp. The checkpoints are few and far between, and you have to collect several treasures along the way. Miss a treasure, and you have to go back to near the beginning and go through many of the levels all over again.
For me, being forced to play a section of the game dozens of times over doesn’t make a game fun; it makes it frustrating. Besides, I can just watch the game play itself and save a lot of time and headaches.
Dragon’s Lair Trilogy should’ve been a downloadable game, and not a retail game selling for $30. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A classic that's best rented not bought

posted by gamerantah (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The games are simple enough, push the button at the right time and memorize the pattern. An easy difficulty is included which indicates which button to push and the addition of infinite lives makes this playable. There's also a watch mode (you can't enjoy the animation while you are playing).

If, like me, you never got very far in the arcade versions, this is a nice rental to try out. There's no extra content and it's too expensive to be a worthwhile purchase.

Others mentioned that Dragon's Lair III is not included but there never was an official third release. III is a rehash of Dragon's Lair 3D. This package is better off without it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I remembered

posted by the7erm (CHEYENNE, WY) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WARNING: This game produces headaches. Both my son & I got headaches from playing this game. Just be sure I tried playing it the next day when I didn't have a headache and it created it. The funny thing is I remember walking away from this game when I was a kid with a headache as well.

I remember looking a this game in the arcade, and thinking to myself. One day. One day I'll be able to play this game at home, and it'll be sooo coool.

Not the case. Bottom line is it's basically a video where if you press the right play button in the right place, you get to see the next scene. Its worth watching the game's video, but not really worth playing all the way through.

I highly recommend renting it if you're a child of the 80's but beyond that. It's not much fun. You can't sit and play this game for hours.

Erm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fake release, doesn't include dragon's lair 3

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 20 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

play the blu-ray releases on your sony console instead (dragon's lair 1, 2 and space ace)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Flashbacks

posted by ryyla (COBB, CA) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I played the original Dragon's Lair when I was young, and I didn't get very far in it then, but I remembered liking the overall look of the game and, of course, the fantas(y knight/dragon/damsel-in-distress) theme.

This is very like that original game (I only tried the first one), which is good, but I remembered why I never finished it as a child - it is frustrating. As a game, the mechanics of it are very simple, but not of the type that I generally choose to play.

I give it a 5 because I can see its worth as a game for those who are better than I am at patience.

You get the option of watching the game complete itself - I did so, remembered some of the scenes, then sent it back so someone else could appreciate it more than I could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

short

posted by shooterking3601 (WEST ISLIP, NY) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Its a fun game but rent it its not the best. but it takes at least 50 minutes to beat the game :O.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad

posted by Pinto88 (KEARNY, NJ) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dragons lair trilogy

posted by 226746 (ORONO, ME) Aug 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

the game includes dragons lair1,2and not 3 but space ace.dragons lair was a amazing cartoony dramatic funny challenging movie game. the only downside from this version is that the crumblin skeloten scene is gone. dragons lair 2 time warp however was just fhgvhjy $ piece of cra.p you needed items to win and when you forget just 1 treasure you must play the game agian grrrrrrrrrr space ace however was preety good despite alot more seuris than the others the only promblem about the game is how short it is it a heck lot shorter than i thout it was. 3 out of five bless these three games dragons lair dragons lair two okay not dragons lair two and space ace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dragonslayer trilagy

posted by lastofmykind (LAMAR, CO) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game was not all of any inerest as I thought it would be but I figered I would try it out and I was very disappointed seemed more of a waste then anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dragon.s lair trilogy

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

the game is not them a rent not a buy the
control bad the game play
never rent agin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

baaaaaad

posted by lollol (CHELSEA, MA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

it get bad not a chance rent dont buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »