Rent Dragon's Dogma for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon's Dogma

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

3101 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's fresh, it's amazing, it's Dragon's Dogma!!!!!

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) May 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

37 out of 44 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Dragons Dogma is a great game, unfortunately the story is not, if you're looking for a RPG with a great story this is not your game. The majority of quests just aren't interesting.

If you're looking for a RPG with great combat, this is it! Dragons Dogma has some of the greatest combat I've ever seen in an RPG, at times it reminds me alot of Shadows of colossus. You start out with 3 classes:Fighter, strider, and mage, but within a few hours you will unlock tons of classes that are mixes of two classes together, for instance, mystic knight (mage and warrior). I have to mention, the spells in this game are amazing, I've never seen a game that makes playing a mage, or sorcerer feel like you're such a boss, while still being a challenge. It's really easy to change between classes if you want to mix it up too. Customization is deep in this game, there's so many different appearances too.

There is NO multiplayer in Dragon's dogma, however they have this thing called pawns(followers) that you can borrow from other players, but you will always have one specific pawn that always follows you. Pawns help a lot because Dragon's Dogma is NOT an easy game.

The game looks great, and there is a ton to explore, but if your curiosity takes you off the road danger waits ahead (love that). The game always gives you a feeling that when you're outside of town your in constant danger, especially when night falls because when it's night in DD it's actually night! It's hard to see and while spells can assist you, more dangerous monsters come out at night, and sometimes you don't even see them coming.

Pros:
- Great combat, one of the best I've seen in RPG games
- Looks great!
- Free to explore
- Tons of customization
- Feels fresh
- Pawns
- Amazing boss fights

Cons:
- Poor storyline
- Repetitive quests

While the story fails, everything else in in DD succeeds, the DMC and Resident Evil team really pulled it off!

8/10 toasts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth travelling to the land of Gransys?

posted by BrokenQuest (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

DRAGON'S DOGMA...

Robotic NPC's. They wait at their spawn points for interaction with the player -- instead of NPC's that react and interact with the world (ie SKYRIM). In DD you will never see your enemies fighting each other.

Loot distribution. DD has distributed loot across Gransys in old-style fighting game fashion -- chests, boxes, and coins find their way to every nook and cranny of the wilds instead of solely logical places like tombs, cabins, castles, etc. This "video game logic" of loot placement pulls one out of the world of Gransys and into something akin to say... GOLDENAXE.

Story. DD fails to deliver a compelling plot and there are a lot of mundane quests (main and side). If you're looking for an immersive storyline, go with SKYRIM, DRAGON AGE, etc. DD has an interesting beginning and end with little story meat in the middle.

Graphics. DD is a mixed bag. There are some beautiful landscapes mixed with generally mediocre character models (who never lipsink well!). Except for creatures, you never see anything graphically rivaling SKYRIM. At the same time, the art direction and character design of DD is very different from SKYRIM, and that can be a selling point for the Nord-weary.

Combat. Hacking, slashing, and crawling around on giant monsters never gets old. It's fast, furious, and treacherous. This is where DD shines... and puts SKYRIM to shame!

Pawns. Creating an ally who will join other people's games via internet, fight with them, get rated by them, and return with new loot, skills, and knowledge strangely addictive.

Danger. Few games can make you fear the coming of night or leaving a path. DD does just that. With true darkness, no consistently available fast travel, and an over-abundance of night time monsters, DD is often a race against the setting sun for safety. Exhilarating.

In the end, DD plays like a half-finished RPG with a great combat mechanic -- rough but still fun. High hopes for a DD2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game with only some minor drawbacks

posted by Lifetime (CHARLOTTE, NC) May 29, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Great game, rented here and just kept it. For those that like RPGs with the freedom to explore you will enjoy this game. The Pawn system is great, and adds a new element to the RPG open world games.

Pros:
- Fun, once you get past the first few levels and can actually fight something on your own, until then its like your the sidekick to the pawns.
- Pawns- You get to create your own, a slim down version of creating your main character, then you can recruit two others. The pawns allow you to customize your team a bit more than a lot of other games out there, and yours is getting recruited all the time (though they never actually leave you). I love getting the message that my pawn just returned from helping others after a trip to the inn.
- Explore - not on the same level of Skyrim, but they did a pretty good job with it, I really enjoy out manuevering the pawns and watching them run in circles trying to figure out how to catch up (turn your back long enough and they just show up though).
- Not stuck in on class - You can change classes which is a nice change to games that require you to pick one in the first place.

Cons:
Fast travel is available for a price and only goes to one location (eventually two). No mode of transport other than walking/running, so the travel gets a bit old.

Not as open in the exploring content as I would like. It is better than games such as Dragon Age, but less than Skyrim, so good but not great.

All in all this is a great game, and has good replay value, highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent RPG and Pawn system is truly unique

posted by shellcap (Granbury, TX) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Like other reviewers have said, not much story and side quests are small and simple.

Now for whats good!

Combat in this game is awesome. Each monster is a challenge, but enjoyable. Very large world to explore, and explore you will, because it has a limited fast travel system. You have to use travel crystals (not what there called in game) to fast travel to a specific town in game. So, you will be running around alot, but running around in a beautiful world.

Pawn system. This is something that other game developers need to pay attention to. You can hire other pawns that are online to help you with your adventures. Also you make your main pawn and it is being hired and used by other players all the time, even when you are not online. When you rest in an in it tells you your pawn was hired and you receive items and quest crystals that you use to hire other pawns. I had a low level pawn that was being hired out all the time. Was always excited to see what he came back with.

I have literally played 95% of the rpg's that have come out in the past 20 years. This one is addictive and fun. It also has new game+ mode, which is always a plus.

Believe me, this one you'll be holding onto for quite awhile!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon's Dogmagosh this is Awesome!

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) May 23, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

23 out of 40 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

So, if you weren't already amazed by the demo, let's just set the record straight and let you know that this game is good and demands your attention.

Obviously, this is a game for anyone of the Western RPG fanbase.

I think the graphics are great, especially the lighting, landscapes and the Character Customaztion works better than most as far as feeling both varied and in unison with the rest of the game.

Granted, this is a CAPCOM game, and they will purposely put things in this game to make the game more difficult, not out of smarter AI or stronger enemies, but by making it take incredibly long for your character to get back up should they be knocked down, very unforgiving Autosave (MANUAL SAVE -ALL- THE TIME!) and other things that will make you angry, not at the game, but at the people who thought these decisions were a good idea.

That being said, the game really isn't that difficult. Unforgiving at times, yes (save before you say "I'm not THAT high, I'll live" and jump to your death) but it's all in how you prepare.

Oh, and the PAWN system, don't know where to begin. Basically, you create your own character and your Pawn, then DL other people's Pawn's to join your party, bringing with them all their experience, equipment, skills and tactics they've acquired in other people's RPG's. It's like, there's a PAWN MMO going on, and they all come to play this console game with us.

The world us SUPER HUGE. Get ready for a ton of exploring.

I don't have to say it but, I will. If you like Skyrim, Kingdoms of Amular and the like, you will love this game. People bring up Dark/Demon Souls, but those games are junk and this game is much better and easier.

As for the critic reviews, wave a 50 in their face and your game will get a 9. Otherwise they try to bury it, especially if Skyrim has DLC on the way.

Absolutely get this game. Rent it here, then keep it, you won't be disappointed.

-Long intro/tutorial! Be patient!-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RPGs can't get any better than this.

posted by hdeanderson74 (WAUKON, IA) Jun 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off, I have to say; why are people complaining that the story is bad or that it's a copy of Shadow of the Collosus or Skyrim? I found no real similarities besides climbing fur and killing dragons and the story if you really put time into doing sidequests you'll absolutely start to understand what being Arisen really mean.
Now that I covered that, here's why I love Dragons Dogma.
For one, the concept of the game is great and a fresh breather from other RPGs that plague our society nowadays.
Second, the graphics are great (and anyone who can make a dragon, who on the one hand, is massive and terrifying but also a beautiful, powerful, intelligent creature, is someone who really does their bloody research) and the landscape is massive. Plus there's plenty of diversity in the enemies.
Finally, I love that they actually had such a deep pawn system. I have always found followers to be useful in RPGs but pawns leave them in the dust.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SMH

posted by Longhairdntcare (OCEANSIDE, CA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The reason my rate is so low is because Capcom should know better than to try and make and rpg. Ill be honest at first glance I was like wow this game has alot of good things in it including the graphics. One thing that completelty turned me off is....After traveling very far and fighting my way to the ends of the earth I realize that theres no fast travel even after you visit a place. I realize people say thats part of the game and experience but I dont have countless hours and hours to travel all over creation multiple times back and forth and you cant wait so or sleep so you have to travel in what ever time if day it is ......so im like whatever back to skyrim

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dragon Dogma is good, not great.

posted by branden009 (SYLMAR, CA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dragon Dogma does so many things right, but is held back by small problems. The combat system is great and the skill upgrades help keep the game interesting throughout. The graphics are top notch in some areas, but some of the environments are a little bland. As great as this game is, the biggest problem with Dragon Dogma is the fact that there isn't a fast travel system. You can buy a Ferrystone, which costs a ridiculous amount of money, but other than that you're left to cross large stretches of land, where ultimately you are forced to walk back once you finish a quest. Dragon Dogma has some of the best boss battles I've ever played. The monsters are challenging and are easily the most memorable part of this game. Although Dragon Dogma was obviously influenced by similar games which came before it (Skyrim, Dark Souls) it's still a well done game. Some problems are minor, but there's still no excuse for being forced to walk everywhere. Still it's definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Has some major Drawbacks o.O

posted by Tony196899 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good Game with a lot of potential, a lot. But you cant fast travel, pawns are kinda stupid, and the quests are dull. What I liked most of all about this game was just the fluid combat, but you still find yourself against enemies that seem impossible to defeat. Not to mention how often you have to save. I wouldn't buy this game, but it does deserve a rent, give this game a try and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for me

posted by Lucarren (DALLAS, GA) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game reminded me very much of Shadow of Colossus almost instantly. Never was much of a fan of that game but figured Id keep going. After a while I decided that while I can see the appeal of the game with the challenging combat system this is just not for me.
My newer edition PS3 was also almost constantly making the loading grind sound while playing the game. Not sure if it was the game itself or what but it got annoying fast.
Anyhow, if you were a fan of shadow of colossus or games similar to it that require climbing boss mobs to attack certain specific parts of them rent this game. Otherwise I'd look elsewere because a large portion of the games combat requires grabbing climbing bosses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game is raw ...

posted by Darmstrong916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the few games i can say that from the start it is a game worth your time. It gives you the feeling of Lord of the rings, shadow of the collosus, as well as the teamwork of Mass Effect. The Fluint move set and mechanics of the game it keeps you intrested and anyone who says this game is dumb really needs to slap themselves fareal

P.S I would have more to say but thats wayy too much typing ")

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

RPG has some new tricks with mixed results

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

"Dragon's Dogma", Capcom's latest foray into the action-RPG market, has a couple of new tricks going for it. Sadly, those are brought down by a host of problems, making this just a serviceable game. On the good side, the outdoor environments look terrific. Buildings, towns, and ruins have a suitable amount of detail in them, and the character and creature models are decently rendered. Inside environments don't always fare as well, as each room in every building looks the same as the last. Monsters and NPCs often pop in out of thin air and through scenery, making this at times look unpolished and unfinished. You create your own character, and the customization is pretty good. You can also customize your own pawn, a follower who will aid you in your adventures across the world of Gransys. In addition to your created pawn, you can hire two others, either from the Rift, a dimension between worlds, or from those pawns you meet in your travels. This enables you to have a balanced party with different classes, and you'll need them because the world is fatal to the solo traveler. For the most part the pawn AI works well, but it does seem that when it does lapse it comes at the worst possible time. Getting them to follow can be a chore, but if lost you can replace them at the next Riftstone. Storywise, this game is very thin. A dragon steals your heart and you become an Arisen and hunt down the dragon. That's it. There's no fast travel, unless you have a certain stone, making getting around often an exercise in frustration. Use your manual save often, as you will die a lot, and often cheaply. There are no conversation choices, and when you do speak to an NPC, they often have little of any use to say. Missions are typical of an RPG, but there's nothing too compelling to pull you through the 30-35 hours needed to complete the main story. It's not terrible, but it would've been nice to have a real reason to proceed. Rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Lancer9tn8ty (SMITHFIELD, UT) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Really wanted to like this game, but then they ruined it with the most horrible save system I've ever seen in a video game. Careful when loading a game...you could easily lose ALL your game progress. And for that reason (mainly) I will never rent/buy another Capcom rpg again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Real User Friendly

posted by ReverendJerry (QUINCY, MA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Wow, i was surprised by this, i played the demo and it was quite a bit of fun, but when i started the full game right of the bat i thought it was a totally different game. There was pretty much no tutorial at all, i play a lot of games and was surprised how lost i was, combat seems to be involved but i really wasn't quite sure what i was doing.
It had such possibility but i couldn't work it long enough to get the hang of it.
There was also no way to compare gear when purchasing new to see if what you had was better or worse. Actually couldn't find any DPS info at all, so I based it on cost and description (steel blade had to be be better then rusty blade, maybe?).
I usually give even the worst games at least 2 days worth of trying it, but i don't even think i got 3 hours into this one before giving up.
It too bad, i had such high hopes, so looks like its back to Skyrim.
But its my opinion and i may be wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disappointed not worth 60 bucks

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

12 out of 34 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

was excited for this game BIG let down its boring you have to walk EVERYWHERE no teleportation no fast travel nothing enemies dont appear on the mini map everywhere you go enemies are stronger than you the quest are really boring and they dont have a indicator to tell you which is the main or side quests

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Inventory and filing! Oh, and dragons.

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Boring. I spent two hours checking equipment in a painful to navigate inventory screen. Then some plot happened. Not too clear on what drives this game. I didn't think the graphics were too bad, the voice acting was silly and repetitive, and overall I have no idea what the game wanted me to do. SOO glad I didn't waste 60 bucks on this snore-fest. My wife co-pilots when I game and she said this was a game of sorting backpacks and some fighting happened every once in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating, But Nice To Look At

posted by KingsTonLtD (MIAMI, FL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Watch some YouTube video of this game if you like, but don't bother with wasting a space in your GameQ.

The game's plot is terrible, has very, very little direction, and often the AI does whatever it pleases, whether you tell it otherwise or not. Combat sequences and difficulty are a joke. The combat flows very nicely, and feels very "punchy" but you'll come across foes that take you down in one hit so fast you don't even know what happened.

Quests and DLC content is plentiful, but the lack of direction and terrible in-game map are just a few of the reasons this game is more frustrating than fun.

I'm an RPG veteran and have fought through even the most sive-like of plots and harrowing of combat-based games, but this didn't merit more than two hours of gameplay before I stuffed the game back in the mailer pouch and sent it on its way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The demo seemed better

posted by Lenny732 (BAYVILLE, NJ) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Playing this game just reminded me of a wanna be elderscrolls game. Theres no sense of direction I felt like I was plying vanilla wow where I had to walk everywhere but to mention I would get my butt handed to me by low level monsters I hadnt even done the second main quest. I turned down the diffuculty just to see if it would make a difference nope still got my butt kicked. To much frustration for a game I held high hopes for. This is more of a if its your cup of tea then drink it kinda game. Not my kind I prefer cofffee anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

don't bother

posted by cortrim1 (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

terrible game made by capcom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dragon's Dogma too many shortcomings

posted by Radium0000 (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I played the game for around 8 hours. It started off fun and reasonably easy to get into the gameplay. More play revealed too many issues that made the game not fun, so I quit. After a few hours it just seemed like a bunch of random quests, storylines, useless items, randomly difficult enemy encounters, and fighting the terrible interface. I would be okay retrying the hard parts normally, but the nail in the coffin for me was the terrible save system, and returning to checkpoints can lose hours of gameplay, even if you save diligently...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UNPLAYABLE!!!

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

First, this game is TOO HARD to get into without getting frustrated...maybe if I had the patience to carefully quest through every fight, upgrade, ect... It would pay out but I just got frustrated! My pawns were always dying, my weapons were weak, the travelers talk too much, and every quest I took I would try fighting and it would take 45 minutes to kill a brute, and that wasn't even a quest! Finally, I would reach a quest, use all my potions to stay alive, and be overrun with 20 enemies at once! My pawns would die and they were useless anyway. If Dark Souls is a game you find easy, try this one. I tried but couldn't even get slightly interested in picking up another task over and over after I was beaten and my pawns were destroyed...just ANNOYING!!!

PASS and DON'T EVEN RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For a japanese RPG Great also a walnut

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I think compared to other japanese Rpg's i have played in the past it is good. Though compared to mass effect or Skyrim well this game is vomit in a bowl with curry leaves on top. It is hard like a walnut and is garbage like a walnut man this game is one big walnut. You like walnuts play if not so avoid at all costs even your love for pistachio's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10 , Fresh , And AMAZING

posted by CoalWarrior (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

First off i have to say that i turned the other way when this game first came out , then after rave reviews i decided to rent it..And let me tell you i am going to buy it at the end of the week... The game play is amazing great combat system countless follwers (also known as Pawns). now...Monsters...Tons of monsters! huge ones also that you can climb...the best thing is every little detail matters, the size of your characters , the weight of your characters, your weapons....All in all a great new game...The games map is huge and tons of caves with crazy beast to fight.. I rate this game a 9/10 for honest fun Fresh rpg game. a Must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok game

posted by tiggsrigg (MELISSA, TX) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

the graphics are great but the game play is slow. it is drawn out like taking duct tape off slowly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS AMAZING!

posted by Thunder097 (UPPER DARBY, PA) May 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 31 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

I been playing the demo for the last three days and it was a very fun game it will never get old!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse