Rent Dragon's Dogma for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dragon's Dogma

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $16.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

4266 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's fresh, it's amazing, it's Dragon's Dogma!!!!!

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) May 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

70 out of 78 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Dragons Dogma is a great game, unfortunately the story is not, if you're looking for a RPG with a great story this is not your game. The majority of quests just aren't interesting.

If you're looking for a RPG with great combat, this is it! Dragons Dogma has some of the greatest combat I've ever seen in an RPG, at times it reminds me alot of Shadows of colossus. You start out with 3 classes:Fighter, strider, and mage, but within a few hours you will unlock tons of classes that are mixes of two classes together, for instance, mystic knight (mage and warrior). I have to mention, the spells in this game are amazing, I've never seen a game that makes playing a mage, or sorcerer feel like you're such a boss, while still being a challenge. It's really easy to change between classes if you want to mix it up too. Customization is deep in this game, there's so many different appearances too.

There is NO multiplayer in Dragon's dogma, however they have this thing called pawns(followers) that you can borrow from other players, but you will always have one specific pawn that always follows you. Pawns help a lot because Dragon's Dogma is NOT an easy game.

The game looks great, and there is a ton to explore, but if your curiosity takes you off the road danger waits ahead (love that). The game always gives you a feeling that when you're outside of town your in constant danger, especially when night falls because when it's night in DD it's actually night! It's hard to see and while spells can assist you, more dangerous monsters come out at night, and sometimes you don't even see them coming.

Pros:
- Great combat, one of the best I've seen in RPG games
- Looks great!
- Free to explore
- Tons of customization
- Feels fresh
- Pawns
- Amazing boss fights

Cons:
- Poor storyline
- Repetitive quests

While the story fails, everything else in in DD succeeds, the DMC and Resident Evil team really pulled it off!

8/10 toasts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Innovative but needs polish

posted by Orbitor (CARY, NC) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The Good:
- Innovative "pawn" system for customizing you party
- Excellent combat
- Varied enemies and awesome bosses
- Lots to do

The Not so Good:
- So much running, fast travel is not easy to come by
- Quest aren't always clear on what to do
- Dull characters
- Story has potential but is poorly executed
- Inventory management
- Menus need to be consolidated and simplified

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Capcom takes a leap of faith.

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) May 23, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

30 out of 37 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Let me just start off by saying that this game is truly a work of art and unique in its own way. It may not have the greatest story line but what it does have have is quality gameplay and endless hours of exploration at your finger tips.

You can pick from 3 classes in the beginning of the game ( Knight, Mage, Strider ) but after a bit of leveling up you can unlock other class choices like Mystic Archer and whatnot. You also have Pawns who accompany you on your journey. Pawns are basically companions that can really come in handy in the heat of battle especially if your facing bosses and other powerful enemies.

Another thing i want to get out there is this game is not easy. It's not as burdensome as Dark Souls but don't except to go out there and immediately start crushing every foe that crosses your path. This game is all about preparation and working together with your team of pawns, utilizing there strengths to overcome the odds.

There is a hug world for you to explore and dive into. The map is much larger than Skyrim's so you get the idea of what to expect.

I could go on and on about this game but what it really comes to is what you look for in a RPG. If you are the explorer/ adventurer, loot loving kind of player then this game is right for you. If you are keen on story and memorable characters then you might end up being let down.

However, its still an awesome title and is definitely deserving of a rent at the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a great play

posted by Momomnkyyy (HINESVILLE, GA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i am used to playing many loot styled RPG games, though i mostly stick to games with a feel to them that reminds me of skyrim.

I don't tend to stray from this style because i find that when i put the effort into different rpg's such as say two worlds i find that i fell extremely unrewarded and unsatisfied.

Dragons dogma is nothing like skyrim. Yet i found myself all the more entranced in the gameplay style that Capcom exhibited in this incredible game. i will admit that i was extremely confused by the games looting system. Until i killed the gryphon i actually thought that the weight rating system was the defense and damage points for weapons and armor. upon this discovery the game instantly became quite manageable

the only regret i had was that there was no game play after completion of the storyline. and that the storyline though quite fulfilling was very short as it only took me around 8- 10 hours of game play two of those hours largely due to my blunder with reading the weight as damage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Into the Dragon's Den

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If I could describe this game I would say it would be close to a Skyrim/Kindgoms of Amalur combination. Is this game as good as those 2 games? No, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't try this game out.

Pro's
Pawn system
Environments and Graphics
Epic Boss battles
Nightime feels like Nightime
Custimazation of your character and your pawn
New Game+ option
High replay value

Con's
Bland Storyline
Repetitive quests
Poor sense of direction
No fast travel system
No quick button press for Map

Overall this game is above average, but not on the level of Elder Scrolls V:Skyrim or Kingdoms of Amalur. If you like those 2 game then you should definatly give Dragon's Dogma a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Demo Lied, This Game is Awesome.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jul 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I am late to the party for this game mainly because I played the demo and didn't like it or maybe I just didn't get what the real game would be like. Then I was like, why not, and rented it anyway. Man, I am a bit mad at myself for not picking this one up earlier. This is one of the best rpgs I have every played, and yes, I have played many. This is an rpger's rpg if that makes sense. It is like a little dash of Dark Souls with a dash of Skyrim and a little bit of Dead Rising thrown in for good measure. I used Dead Rising as a reference because it had that feel to it in some ways. Of course, Capcom made Dead Rising but to get back to my point, GET THIS GAME. IT IS EPIC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but......

posted by starlight74103 (ONTARIO, CA) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The game is fun but little to repetative at times. here are the pros and cons.
Pros
- Cool fighting system
- can share characters across the network to fight along side of friends or borrow theirs
- Graphics are great on xbox
- grapple larger enemies and attack them.

Cons
- you RUN EVERYWHERE (no fast travel)
- If you die and did not save there is no auto save.
- Did i mention you Run EVERYWHERE and with a stamina perk so it can take up to an hour to get somewhere.
- Game is fun but just not enough "hook" to keep the gamer to coming back.

All and all great glitz and glamor poured into the graphics and fighting but they didn't think everything through on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game... Just needs some quick travel

posted by Jcrawfo6 (TRENTON, TN) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I am loving the game, it gives me a WoW gone solo kinda feel... Idk if that's just me though xD. But none the less the gameplay is awesome, animations are smooth, classes were each designed well with respectable strengths and weakness for the player to over come. But aside from a few detail things like NPCs being poorly animated and designed and gear and other things phasing through each other, I haven't found much of a problem with this game...except one thing... Quick Travel. This is the only feature in this RPG that is frustrating to no end. I get their intentions were to increase player exploration, but it's kinda ridiculous that there is no system other than the ferry and port crystals to travel back forward. And you only receive on of these later in game, and to buy the other costs a hefty penny. But aside from this great game, great play, worth a buy I say, and as soon as my check comes in this one will be added to my collection, overall I give it an 8.4 out of 10 :3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game; some minor issues.

posted by ManOfWar2 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) May 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-Alot of weapons/armour
-Alot of quests
-Great combat
-Like the pawn system
-Like the character customization and classes

Cons:
-Pawns talk way to much
-Not enough tutorial to learn the game
-Some enemies work in packs and can kill you fast if not equipped right.
-There is no fast travel (that I know of).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great job Capcom!

posted by LoafeMastaFlex (BAYTOWN, TX) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

really good actually makes me want to send an angry email to bethesda for leaving out some of this games features from skyrim, definately worth a rent if you love rpgs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A breath of fresh air

posted by Sandsworth (WESTMINSTER, CO) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dragon's dogma is a breath of fresh air to the Fantasy RPG market. The story is deep, engaging, and evolves in ways that you won't expect. It keeps you on your toes. Combat is challenging, but very rewarding, especially when you progress to higher levels. The graphics are beautiful, and give the game a truly "epic" feel. Don't be discourage by the early difficulty, it only serves to remind you that in this world, you're not some all-powerful super warrior.

The highlight of dragon's dogma are the larger enemies (Ogre, Dragon, Hydra, Golem, Cyclops, bosses, etc.) They are truly awe inspiring, and when you bring one down you feel a great sense of accomplishment.

Overall DD is one of those "landmark" games that you'll remember playing for a long time. Do yourself a favor and give it a try.

I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because of some graphical errors in towns, but those are few nd far between.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

just amazing

posted by badmayo (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm quite surprised how good this game is. like some one already posted before me, starting out is hard.. it really makes you work for it, but once you upgrade your gear things gets a whole lot better. Armor design with different layers is really GOOD. gives your a unique look to mix and match layers. weapons designs are awesome as well.

questing is good, but could be improved by having some type of column to sort out the main quest to side quest. no quick travel is frustrating some times - before you can purchase the "ferry stones" anyway, but it adds up to the adventure when you have to take a long walk back home to safety, trough the forest at night with just a flickering lights from your lantern and end up running into a freaking chimera (a 3 headed beast lion, goat and some octopus coming out of its butt) and wiping out lol.. ALWAYS SAVE.

story wise, eh.. ok. hey its made in japan and we all know how Japanese story translate to English, always leaves us with one eyebrow raised saying "Wut?" but cgi is an eye candy as always.

all in all the game play, combat mechanics is superb. graphics is very good. story.. well .. is ok? you go ahead and try to describe eternity and make up a whole story around it. good job CAPCOM.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good!, almost great but...

posted by SeizeTheDay (LOUISVILLE, KY) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had been waiting for a long time for this game and was really hyped for it. I looked up reviews, gameplay footage, trailers and I thought this was going to be the best RPG I ever played(Im a huge RPG fan) and it was until about 11 hours into the game. It was amazing! Boss fights were incredible and probably the best thing about this game. Combat is fast and requires reflexes and team work with your pawns(party members). But like i said somewhere around 11 hours I started to lose interest. I lost interest so quickly because there is now fast travel and the map is huge and takes up to 15 minutes real time to get to some locations. Another thing is that I felt like there was no story which for me is a huge part of any RPG. I didnt beat the game because these problems and I dont see myself revisiting it. But dont think that Im saying this game's a bad game. Those things are just flaws and the combat and boss battles almost make up for it. Boss fights in this game are probably the best out of any game I played.

Now this is a definite rent and maybe a buy if you think you can deal with the no fast travel. Really no one should pass this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best of many worlds

posted by Swedendrift (COSTA MESA, CA) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dragon's Dogma combines the best of many RPG and Open World adventure games. The combat system provides several interesting elements that make it more exciting than other games in the genre. The ability to climb onto larger opponents and strike more vulnerable areas create a tenseness in the game that will have you holding your breath until the last creature is downed. The Pawns are the game's special race of NPCs which can be switched in and out based on level, class and a myriad of other reasons. Dragons's Dogma dedicates one pawn to you that is fully customized and advances along with you. The other pawns you choose for your party need to be changed out as you level up or simply to better accomodate your current mission. The loot system is another area where Dragon's Dogma makes the game interesting. You will be returning to your inventory regularly to use potions and other edibles, combine items to make potions or armor or simply to switch items to gain a more specific advantage. Lastly, the game gives you the ability to switch classes which makes sure that you never get bored and never have to create a new character just to try our being a mage instead of a fighter.

However, the game isn't perfect. simple items like seeing enemy targets on the minimap translate into a pretty big issue in real gameplay. Also the game does not do a good job in directing you towards quest locations which can make for some frsutrating moments if you get stuck and are out of ideas where to go next.

All in all Dragon's Dogma is an extremely fun game that will challange the best players while at the same time be fun for more casual players. If you intend to rent this game, make sure you set aside a month or so - you will need it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by JuggaloGanjaGod (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Loved almost everything about this game, the only real problems i had with it are that the graphics are abit lacking and you have to walk EVERYWHERE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Complete awesomeness!!!!!!1

posted by Elmore99 (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Story is descent nothing to special there but the combat is simply amazing very fluid and easy to learn,but it can still be improved.Now for the bread and butter of things leveling is quiet simple your stats go up as you level not much you can do........ but every time you level you get points to spend on new moves and passive effects(Augments) and you unlock more upgrades the more you use that class.Best part about this game is its vocation mechanic they implemented into the game which you may pay points to unlock a different class,very clever for people who don't wanna be stuck being 1 class the whole game and having to make a brand new character just to try out another.This game is a 9 out of 10 for any RPG fans that want to play something new that's not Skyrim,Fallout,Dark souls or any other popular RPG's pick this up and give it a try it will be worth your while i promise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Halo304ever (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) May 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a great game overall. Though there are times where you are not sure what to do or where to go. Monsters can over power you easily at times and it can be very annoying. and unfortunately there is no co op which would be perfect in this game. The graphics are stunning and the gameplay is solid. The pawn follower system is very unique and fun and the customization is pretty extensive. This game is definitely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Action/RPG

posted by DrewYork (WILMINGTON, DE) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So far, I'm enjoying it. I've played about 3 hours as a fighter class. The pawn system is something interesting I haven't experienced before and the story, exploration, combat that I've seen so far are fun and engaging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definately worth the rent

posted by hoiandgoodbye (NORTH AUGUSTA, SC) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I love this game,
1. you get to have free roam
2.combat is amazing
3.EVERYTHING is great graphics

I have the xbox 360, but before i rented this game i had downloaded the demo, i mean i was stunned to see how well the demo was.... i mean dude imma rent da game man IF you love games like skyrim, oblivion, dragon age, this is the game to get for you, best rpg i have ever seen after skyrim came out!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fresh and very well done

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) May 29, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Capcom has outdone themselfs with this tittle it is so fresh and original something we havent seen before, should compete for game of the year.

The story line i agree is not the best but if you want a story read a book.

The fighting in this game is phenomenal were you need to think and use strategy to kill a group of bandits, the creatures are very well done and look really crisp and the griffon and cyclops fights are AWESOME, i would add the chimera but they do die farely easy once you hit 20 plus. from 20 to 30 the game is a challenge pass 30 its farely easier until you hit drakes and dragons wich can kill you in one shot so you need to level up. There is a fast travel system but it is limited to just one city and you get another portal you can put wherever you want to give you another spot and use a ferrystone wich cost about 10k to teleport there. Money is not much of an issue and you dont need to sell alot of gear and stuff to make it just Do quests and keep doing quest and you should have enough to keep you satisfied and to buy all the gear you need. Sorcerers PWN btw they have some serious spells like bolide and maelstrom wich can wrech havoc on anything including a dragon, bolide is meteors that drop down and it looks spectacual once you get it to high bolide and maelstrom is a torando that pulls everything into it and shoots it 50 feet up in the air just to watch it hit the ground and splat. I feel casters level up the fastest cause you can kill 10 lizards easy with one spell but it takes about 40 levels to get to grand sorcerer level and to have the gear that gives your magic the strenght to destroy stuff.

This game is a definite buy in my opinion cause you will like it wether its for quest only or killing by cyclops and griffins, the dragon battle is PHENOMENAL BTW and HARD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Capcom?!

posted by janus41 (PATERSON, NJ) May 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am in shock how Capcom made a remarkable RPG! The story is ok, but good enough to keep playing the game. Second, the developers did an amazing job with hyperactive AI characters. Their involvement in this gam surpasses, ME3 AI, and thats no small task. Im amazed that u can explore this world, until u pass out on the couch. The Pawn system is a great investment. Technically, this is a coop game cus other gamers (myself included) create better pawns so other gamers can use to help them, when theyre in a tough situation. Keep in mind u have to pay for some of the pawns. The interchangeable Class feature is great, as it adds variety to ur gameplay or if u change ur mind about the class u chose in the beginning (similar to KoA). If Capcom continues to make great rpg's with the same developers, BioWare n Ubisoft need to watch out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hmm

posted by jcarpenter105 (WEST SENECA, NY) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i think ppl are writing bad reviews because they want you to take it off your list of games. none of them seem like they were written after they played it. story may suck but your going to play this for countless hours if you get it. we need more games like this to be made every year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Boss fights won me over

posted by chiefscml (FRISCO, TX) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dragon's Dogma is a confusing game. One day you'll play it and not want to put the controller down. You feel like the epic arisen fighter you are, slaying beast after beast in dramatic fashion. Then the next day you'll pick it up and bore yourself to tears. The secret to Dogma's allure lies behind its boss fights and combat. The boss fights are simply legendary. Anyone who's played the game will agree. The grabbing system is marvelous and this is how boss fights should be in every game. I truly hope to see more of this in the future. The combat, while woefully repetitive due to cycling enemy spawns, is very good. Whether you're a fast-striking strider, a strategic mage, or a chaos-inflicting fighter, you will be satisfied through combat. The game also has a very good and flexible vocation (class) system. You can be a fighter, mage, strider, warrior, sorcerer, ranger, mystic knight (fighter/mage), magic archer (mage/strider), or an assassin (strider/fighter), which is my personal favorite. You can change to any vocation at any time in the game. Another asset to Dogma is the pawn system. While some may complain that switching between pawns deprives gamers from building relationships with their companions, you cannot deny that hiring another person's pawn, or receiving feedback from someone else about your pawn along with a gift is very satisfying. However, the weaknesses in Dogma stick out in a bad way. No fast travel (unless you pay 20,000 gold for a port crystal), repetitive enemy spawns (torture when combined with no fast travel), very bland story (one of the most important parts of an rpg),and a very weak loot system (almost all good gear is bought from stores). Dragon's Dogma is a game that has immensely engaging combat and combat strategy systems, but will make you finish feeling like you missed something. Sometimes playing this game can feel like a chore, but at the end of the day, this is a game worth picking up. Final verdict: 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kick Ar$e RPG!!!

posted by sensiplays (PERRIS, CA) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game starts out really tough (new patch just gave option to change difficulty level) but it's totally worth it once you get going.
Much more action than Skyrim with a better fight engine. The visuals are great and the monsters are freakin sweet! you can climb on them and chop off body parts; blood spurting everywhere.
Give this game a chance; you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What The witcher should have been like.

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 30, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like Fable, and Dark Souls... This title is ideal for you. I have enjoyed it far-more then Skyrim. The difficulty is varied from hard to impossible but thats what really makes it fun. There is a few things left to be desired, but really. For a RPG just starting out, the game is perfect.

You play as "The Arisen" .
One day you have a Dragon come to your village and you attempted to challenge it. The Dragon won and rips your heart out. For a reason, you did not die... An you take on the legendary figure known as the "Arisen".
You set out on a quest to kill the Dragon, in hopes to remove it from the land, and to get your heart back.

Remember this is a RPG, you forget the essential story within 20-mins of game play. You will also wanna restart 20-mins after, as you possibly may want to change your class, or just pay a little more attention to what the character abilities were. You are given a side kick too. The side kick you get is known as a "Pawn" . It has some purpose of the game, but to you... They will get annoying if you don't actually figure out `OH HEY, YOU CAN update/enhance that side kick -- To where my side kick is a force to recon with. The side kick, aka Pawn... Is designed by you -- you also share your created character over the net(if you actually pay for online) . The side kick you create, learns, and plays to how you perfer or treat it. For example, if you tell your side kick to go attack, constantly, your side kick with charge, always... If you tell your side kick to just watch your back, they will aid as need-be. Really cool, better then Skyrim's companion system. When you fight giant monsters you can climb on them and cut body parts off.

No horse though AND the game isn't small levels... It is quite the walk/run to different locations. Fast travel costs money. WHEN ITS night, ITS DARK(which is awesome). So tread lightly.

In all, I still haven't seen the entire game's world, I've had it for a week and still seeing new stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse