Rent Dragon's Crown for PS3
view large frontback

Dragon's Crown

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
6.8

447 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

An action RPG with an arcade style feel

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is quite similar in gameplay as some of the older side-scrolling action games that were fairly prevalent in the days of NES/SNES and arcades (think Golden Axe, X-Men, The Simpsons, etc.). For those not quite as familiar, each stage is extremely linear with the player going from the left to right, and combat is set on the "vertical plane" (up and down on the screen); the player needs to be relatively on the same vertical plane as their target in order for attacks to connect (which I always found to be annoying).

It then combines that aspect with a dungeon-crawler: going into a dungeon to find randomized loot with various stat bonuses to upgrade your character.

It certainly does not play around with the concept of "high replay" because it kind of forces it on the player; there are a grand total of 9 different dungeons (+1 bonus dungeon, but it just re-uses areas from the others), and once they have been cleared once, to continue on with the story the player has to clear them...again...only with a different boss. I feel this is the reason why it felt so repetitive for me.

On the plus side, I did find combat to be fairly fun and easy to master (although this may vary with class selection, the Fighter was pretty easy to learn). I also thought the highlight were the boss fights; most of them were far more interesting than the general button-mashing during normal encounters.

I did find the AI team to be incredibly stupid (but I was able to solo with the Fighter) and at times there are so many flashy effects on the screen it can be hard to tell where your character is.

What was the most disappointing for me were the lack of NG+ functions. Not much carries over other than money (which isn't used for much) and any ally NPCs for your team (which is decent, but didn't improve much). As a result it almost felt like I had to start a new character from scratch, which hurt my interest in playing again.

Overall, the game can be fun, but lacks variety.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun game to play with the wife

posted by sinsic (DECATUR, GA) Apr 19, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i rented this expecting to go on a solo adventure by myself - my wife would see me play from time to time, and say that looks fun, i show'ed her the ropes and stuff - and this is the 4th day strait i have came home and she is playing it, lol, i like it.. maybe this will be a start of more co op gaming with my wife to come, highly recommend...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Concept, but boring after awhile of playing

posted by wlbuddy (REDLANDS, CA) Sep 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics nice. game concept is good. After play for about 3 hours it got boring. it became repetitive. fighting the same monsters. Your character get lost in the crowd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DD Dungeons And Dragons

posted by HarleysBatman (POMONA, CA) Aug 22, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before I begin my review, I just wanted to say I don't understand the hype or backlash or what have you about most of the female drawings and animations in the game. They have large breasts and are sexy. That's not really new to video games...or movies...or comics...or books...or anything! That being said, if you can get passed that, you will enjoy the game---at least for a little while.

Dragon's Crown is pretty fun to play; its system is easy to get used too and the controls are simple enough to pick up. You go to different lands to defeat one of two bosses, in order to get a Talisman, that will help defeat the dragon master boss of the game. The bosses each have a set level, so you have to level up a bit for a better chance of victory. This makes the replay value high. Also, you can do quests that earn you money and experience points, for those who are getting stuck on the boss fights. The animation is really bright and bouncy. From the jiggling breasts to the flowing beards, the animation pops! The music is standard and nothing spectacular. I found it fun to level up and collect different weapons; to do the quests and view the amazing art work. However, after I finished the quests and passed the game, I found it more repetitive. I was playing more and more to level up, but since I've passed everything, the allure and excitement was gone. Also, to pass it with ONE character is tasking enough---to pass it with all six characters would just take too much of my time. I have not played it online so maybe that adds a bit more fun and challenge to the mix, but I can't say for sure. I do know I had fun playing this and getting trophies and while it was a bit repetitive, it is addicting too. I would recommend renting first; buying it when the price drops. Overall, I give this title a 7/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Golden axe is over-rated! Try this instead!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Sep 18, 2013

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Is it getting to a point where we can't write about what is in a game for fear of being vulgar? Hmmm..
Anyway there are other games that fit this category of game..
golden axe series(SEGA)- over-rated brawler that was frustrating to play, and their most modern effort was a lazy god of war clone..
king Arthur and the knights of the round(SNES)- introduced a primitive leveling system to this genre..
King of dragons(I think it was called)(SNES)- featured a fighter, cleric, wizard, and was it an elf? or an archer? don't know can't remember! That game looks ALOT like this game except the graphics and style are way different!!
modern era games like this include
code of princess(Ds)- which is also made by atlas...
and then well that is it, basically...
This game blend 2d side scrolling action with RPG. The Character graphics don't change any except when you change weapons which are ALWAYs of the same class as the type your class specializes in. You CAN customize your abilities and you can equip various articles on your character to give you a serious boost. You can replay areas you have cleared for extra experience and loot.
New weapons are obtained via loot that you pick up after the stage is cleared, BUT ONLY if you open the treasure chests that you find in the stages! The fact, is that your thief RANNIE, the rogue actually takes the items from the chests, and then gives them to you after the stage is cleared.. You can also only change your equipment in town, so you have to go prepared ahead of time.
Looney Left wingers are BORED, which is why they are complaining about the women in this game. The Women of this game aren't all that bad, but they are made sexy, then again, the guys have so many muscles it like they have steroids on tap or something, bear chested too.. This game was made to carry the sexy look, yet people only complain about the women??? The guys in this game are just as bad, and they are just as comical! Try Before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Throw back to the 80's

posted by Access (IONIA, MI) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has some neat looking art, but it feels like a souped up Golden Axe.

It's worth a rent, but I sent it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT WORTH THE DELIVERY

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 10, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dont bother wasting about 8 days total worth of mail delivery time on this garbage.

this is the worst game ever created in the history of the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

please don't rent....

posted by mike_g1 (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) Sep 22, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I wish I had read the review that gave this a 1. I couldn't return this game fast enough. Watch the video and pay attention (that IS the game); it is a side-scroller that would have been terrible on the Nintendo NES (it just has better graphics). Controls inaccurate and terrible.

If you do rent this - remember these words: ... "I told you so"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

When was this coded?

posted by dale919 (LEESBURG, VA) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 25 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

Great game if today was 1975.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I literally laughed out loud

posted by Anubis833 (OWENSBORO, KY) Aug 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I didn't even make it past the tutorial. I hate the fact that I have to wait for this game to be delivered and now returned. I knew I would hate this game from the moment I saw the opening credit. HORRIBLE artwork. Huge disproportionate bodies, giant, bouncy, disfigured, and in some scenes growing giant boobs. Giant alien eyes, one dude had like a 23 pack. Can def tell some Asian dude with a weird fetish did the artwork. Its got that little tiny girl squeal noises....and the gameplay...just bad. I had to force myself to even make it out of this tutorial before I put this in the mailbox. Completely ruined my morning as I had to work the rest of the day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A total let down

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

Take Golden Ax now remove the fun and replace it with giant boobs and butts. I'm all for sexy in video games but when that is all it really has to offer and it isn't Playboy or Leisure Suit Larry it's just sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is okay

posted by Raul12 (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) May 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

This game is alright;but when facing the dragons especially the ancient one why is it out of all the places you have to hit it right on its face. Mind you its where it does it biting attack,fireball and wall of flame the dragon has a 90% chance in hitting you dead on. I mean really why do that they should had let you hit it anywhere also not where you can hit you most of the time; and just hope the equipment you have and items will help you stick around alittle bit longer in the fight. I personally I like to move around find places I can do damage and still have time to take cover not be in the eye in the storm and just hope I wont get hit too much; but if I choose to just stay in one place then is my choice;and also you get 2 life points when facing this bad boy dragon and the goddess powers cannot reach you but when you try purchasing more life points they only kick in when going only during adventures only not when facing the dragon. The game is pretty good though with graphic nice approach for a RPG something unique and different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Artistc Graphics. Fun, but gets boring fast.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

I like the art style of this game. The fighting reminds you of a side scroller, with a gauntlet feel. It can be a bit chaotic, as your character will get lost in all the fighting, especially if you have other players along for the ride. You wont know where you are, and it quickly becomes a hardcore button masher. The story really isn't that special, didn't keep my interest much at all, but it was ok. The upgrade, equipment and accessories UI is a bit tedious and wonky. Almost made me not even want to level up my character.
I did like aspects of this game. I like how you can resurrect new allies. The messages they leave behind over their bones are hilarious at times.
The graphics were the best. The cartoon art is unique. The gameplay just gets boring after a while because you often repeat the same dungeons to do side quests, fighting the same enemies in the same on screen chaotic battles.
Its good for a rent to blaze through, but I wouldn't but this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Evolution of the Side-scrolling Brawler

posted by Robio77 (OVIEDO, FL) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

Dragon's Crown does a fantastic job of elevating the classic side-scrolling brawler, a genre that really hasn't seen much evolution in the past decades. If you liked old arcade brawlers like TMNT, Double Dragon, Dungeons & Dragons, and Golden Axe this game will be a treat.

Combat is much more in-depth with a variety of attacks for each different class. A skill-tree allows the player the choose what types of attacks and traits they level up, and allows the player the control the development of their character. The game also incorporates elements of "loot games" and after each level, the player will pick up large amounts of treasures that can be used or sold to the in-game merchants.

Despite all the improvements, at the end of the day the game is still a brawler though and the repetitive combat does get a little old after a while. I found it difficult to play for more than an hour at a time. Still, it makes a great rental and it's worth sinking a dozen or so hours into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So fun.

posted by turbobeta (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2011

Rented it, played it a day, logged back in and hit Keep It! That's about as good as a testimonial as one can give a game.

Arcade style beat-em-up, reminds me a lot of Streets of Rage, Gauntlet, Golden Axe, etc. Fun character progression, dumb story, and solid combat.

Sole complaint is that you can't play online multiplayer without first beating the singleplayer campaign, although, it's very short and an easy obstacle to overcome, it's still a pain that it exists in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Multi-Player Game

posted by sewsia (NINE MILE FALLS, WA) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

My grandkids loved this game. It was a shot in the dark for me placing this in my query, but it turned out to be an absolute hit!! This is a multi-player, up to 4, which is unusual for RPG games. Grandsons ages are 8 and 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not terrible, but seems a bit dated

posted by fincher (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

As was mentioned by at least one other reviewer, this is a side scroller with some lateral movement like back in the NES days (think TMNT 2). The gameplay is ok, but does seem a little repetitive. Since you can have 3 allies, but a couple other helping characters, just battling a few enemies can make it very difficult to have any idea where your character is or what is going on with everyone doing big, graphical attacks.

I was really surprised this was even a packaged disc game. If it were $10 on PSN, it would seem appropriate, but it just doesn't offer nearly as much as many other games for this system. I don't think anything was done that couldn't have been done on the NES or SNES with a minor graphics downgrade.

Overall, I would say it was worth the rent, but I can't imagine anyone spending $30+ on it and feeling like they got their moneys worth.

As a side note, the extremes to which they applied gender stereotypes provide a level of comedy to the game as well. The females are boobing out all over the place, and the male characters put steroided body builders to shame. I was a bit surprised at it, but it is so absurd you just have to laugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gayyyy

posted by JoystickRevamp (OAKLAND, NJ) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

crapllshit storyline. just stay away. everything is bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ewwwww

posted by demonick (AURORA, MO) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

this was one of the most horrible games I have played in years. Game play was horrid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing gem Vanillaware does it again!

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Ignore the kids giving this a bad rating. Every one of Vanillaware's games has an AMAZING art direction. Very fluid and deep combat mechanics and ton's of replay value.

The graphics in this game are astonishing. A very unique style. The story is nothing spectacular but still interesting. The main thing here is the combat.

Each character feels unique and adds a deep level of replayability. Going online or playing by yourself are both fun as the AI does a good job to support you.

The levels are fun and varied, the enemies are many and the quests you can do on the side add more depth to an already great storyline campaign.

Boss battles are a challenge and unique. This is a game best played with friends but still fun by yourself.

This isn't a game for Call of Dookie fanboys. This is a nod to an older era in gaming and reflects upon past titles such as Streets of Rage, Final Fight, Golden Axe DnD and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles games.

There is more than just a beat em up here. There is a leveling mechanic and tons of gear effectively adding an element of role playing and progression.

Simply put, this is a wonderful gem of a game that i recommend to all fans of RPG's and beat em up's. However i don't recommend this title for little kids. Not that some won't enjoy it... but most of them have a less refined taste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

old school arcade

posted by 49yroldgamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 10, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

i agree with one comment that it is too much like nes/snes graphics r ok but the subtitles were just too small for me to read and the controls felt limited i chose the wizard but it was like u were side scrolling then this rogue shows up only for u to open locked doors and chests it took me over an hour just to get thru the tutorial because of the small print i was disappointed in it i guess i was expecting it to b like dragon age or diablo i believed the hype and was suckered in to play it. u r limited on what characters to choose from and creating a character is also limited u cant change their apperance hair ect the only thing is changing the color of their clothes i gave it a 5 because the story was decent as was the graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hack 'n' Slash with RPG elements

posted by Darth_KiLL (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 8, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

I'm 5 hours or so into my initial playthrough; Dragon's Crown is fun thus far, but I can see it getting to be repetitive before the end credits roll.

Reminds me quite a lot of Odin Sphere, by the same dev/pub for the PS2.

Hardcore ATLUS fans will eat this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »