Rent Dora the Explorer: Dora Saves the Snow Princess for Wii
view large frontback

Dora the Explorer: Dora Saves the Snow Princess

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2
GF Rating
6.4

308 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect beginning video game

posted by MiaTNYC (VALLEY STREAM, NY) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My niece is 3, and it gets harder and harder to hold her interest. She wants to play Wii with the rest of the family, but she doesn't read and has small hands, so the grown up games, even bowling or tennis are frustrating.
The controls for Dora are so easy, and the onscreen guides make it simple for her to follow the controls and follow the story. It is as if she is participating in a cartoon. Usually, she has a very short attention span, but this game can keep her occupied for HOURS. What a godsend!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dora the Explorer: Dora Saves the Snow Princess

posted by senidog (DALLAS, TX) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was perfect for my 4 year old daughter
controles were easy to understand.I would recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game for youngins

posted by jerbear (LOVELOCK, NV) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 4 year old daughter saw this game and wanted to try it so I decided to give it a chance. She enjoyed it and we decided to buy. There isnt much to the game, you follow a predetermined path on your way to save the Ice Princess. This is a good game for a young kid who likes Dora.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very short game, even for children.

posted by RonFitz (NORTH WOODSTOCK, NH) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It should be noted that this games runs the same engine as Diego's Safari so if your kids liked this, they should feel right at home with that game because they are nearly identical.

My kids played this for less than 2 hours and completed the game. If I were to purchase this game I would have been upset, event renting it seems like a waste of money. This is a good example of creating a game just to sell the name and not a 'good game'.

That being said, my girls liked seeing Dora and the Snow princess but were disappointed on the short play.

The graphics seemed pretty bad even for Wii.

I don't suggest this game, even if your kids just want a Dora game. Get Diego's Safari instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor gameplay and graphics, decent controls

posted by turnstep (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Aug 4, 2012

Member since May 2009

This game is way too short, even for a three year old. The controls are okay for young ones (just left and right tilt plus the 2 button). The graphics are poor, and the voice animation is horrible - no attempt was made to coordinate: i a character is talking, their mouth just moves in a random fashion.

Very annoying is the constant cutscenes, as you approach a "new" challenge which 9/10 involves a long talk just to explain that you once again push the "2" button so Boots can do something.

Another big turnoff is the "backpack" and "map" portions, which require you to tilt the remote to pick the right item. However, because the game insists on talking every time you pick an item "Is this the way to blah blah blah?", and because it is easy to tilt instead of pushing the button, it can be a very frustrating experience for little ones.

The game itself is /very/ repetitive, which is not always a big drawback for little ones, but can grate on the adults helping out! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dora Is a Must

posted by johnwallis (MOUNT VERNON, IN) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This Game Rocks My grand kids love it,
even my three your old ,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for preschooler

posted by newberjm01 (SOUTH DAYTON, NY) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

My daughter is 4 years old and she loved it. It was really easy to play. It took a few tries before she was able to play on her own, but after that she played all by she self serveral times. its even better if you have a childs remote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too short to recommend purchase

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2004

This game is "fair" for what it is, a basic retelling of the storybook of the same name. It's also good for the 4-6 year old crowd, although it seems a bit too easy and baby-ish for those any older than that.

It's a side scrolling game with lots of interruptions using cut scenes (don't get excited, they're not all that cinematic). Just when my 6 year old daughter gets into playing, the game stops when she comes across something. Sure, she can click the minus button to skip the dialog, but she doesn't want to miss something important. One example: every time (not just the first time) you need "backpack" it has to go through the same script, which gets boring quite fast.

Perhaps all these interruptions are on purpose! Why? The game is unbelievably short. If the game didn't stop game play every minute or so, it could be completed easily within an evening. My daughter started game and played it for about an hour, and is already at the piggy pirate ship. (a good chunk of the game is complete).

One thing that didn't bother my daughter much but drove me crazy was the sloppy job the animators did with synchronizing the character's mouth movements with the dialog. Not even close. Looks like an English overdub of a Japanese movie. Graphics are fair, but not overly clean. Sound is poorly mixed, with the background music mixed way too loud in some cases (can't understand Dora or Boots sometimes). Luckily, most of what they're saying isn't all that important, and if you miss something, you can usually figure it out.

Final comment: rent this game, unless you can buy is under $10. It's just not worth full game price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the rent

posted by LyndsayJo (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I waited two days to get this game for my 6-year-old daughter and she beat it in less than two hours. Not worth the time waiting for it to ship. I would have much rather gotten another game that is more worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Kids Game

posted by identity (LONDON, KY) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

If you Have kids this game is perfect for ages 3-7. The play is straight forward and easy for them to pick it up quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for beginner wii player

posted by millers (YUCAIPA, CA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game was perfect for our youngest who has been hesitant to play the wii other than bowling because the games were too challenging or fast for her. This game was perfect. She played it when she was 5, almost 6. She was well able to control it and that made her happy. She really enjoyed it. When she was done she gave it to her cousin.

Yes, it is a short game, but it serves a great purpose for beginning players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dora saves the slow princess

posted by wasonha (WEEKI WACHEE, FL) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

is the game seriously this short? my 4 year old beat it in 2 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Easy

posted by JBCMommy (BASSETT, NE) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

My daughters (6 and 4) were so excited when we received this game. However, the excitement quickly dwindled. They were both able to complete the game in a couple of days. After that they no longer wanted to play it because they thought it was too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Kristygirl (SANDY, UT) May 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is a great game. My 7and 5 year olds played this game for hours. they won the game easily, but still kept resarting it to play some more. they really enjoyed being able to race against each other. they even let my 2 year old race with them some of the time.
this is a cute and very enjoyable game for them to play and me to watch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by franser (NORTH PLATTE, NE) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Good game but way to short my daughter finished it really fast. But she really enjoyed the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dora is awsome

posted by pickelrock (HERNDON, VA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Dora rocks! I just this rented this game and it was so awesome. The only problem is that it was to easy. I beat it in 20 minutes. Its really for babies that can't play the Wii. Just remember that when your about to by it or rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »