Rent Doom 3 for Xbox
view large frontback

Doom 3

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.5

3783 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I peed on myself!!!!!!!

posted by mrreview (MT PLEASANT, MI) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

24 out of 25 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Just let me say it didn't really go the the bathroom on myself while playing this game. It is scary though. You will begin really easily with a short start that has no enemies so it's easy to begin. once you get the hang of the controls the zombies and imps will attack. You play as a nameless and voiceless marine unless you count all the grunts he will let out when hurt. The shooting is very straight forward. You walk around and kill things. That is the only problem. Other then that you will have a variety of guns and enemies. The enemies range from zombies to what I think is actually Satan. The guns range from your fists to a simple pistol all the way to a cube that takes away the power of your enemies. Of all the games I have ever played this one has the best shotgun. The pistol is weak and the machine gun is sub par. The biggest stand out is the chainsaw. That is right. You will get one. We have all seen chainsaws before but the first person view with it is nice. The graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is great. I also say you should get the expansion pack which for some reason isn't available for rent on Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The weapons pack a punch and the enemies are sweet

posted by RadioBob (WICKLIFFE, OH) May 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When you first pop in the DOOM 3 game and start playing single player, you might not be too impressed. But that is a good thing in the long run, as DOOM 3 chose to build up the action as it goes. First off, the graphics are very impressive, and while some things look terrible at times, it never subtracts from the gameplay. The weapons-as stated above-pack a mean punch. To a not-that-shabby side-arm, to a pump-action shotgun. The enemies, while not too smart but not too dumb, are very impressive. All the enemies are what you would expect from a great horror/survival game. The level design sometimes feels too close-quarters at times. But the shooting action is very well done and doesn't seem to subtract from what is an overall great game. The multiplayer is also great, if not BETTER than single player! The standered Deathmatch scenario is awesome and very fast paced, although, you always spawn with a pistol and a couple grenades, making it easy for you to die after respawing. But co-op is the best thing since sliced bread! (I use that cliché' on purpose) When you first start playing co-op, your automatically hooked. But be careful, it's best not too "quick match" until you have beaten the game as you start with ALL levels from the moment you start the disc. All in all, you can get this game for a reasonable price now, so go and buy one of the greatest XBOX games so far. Plus, buying the collecters edition earns you SERIOUS bonuses. I.e. original DOOM 1&2 with co-op and deathmatch added exclusive for the collecter's version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scary yes!!!

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) May 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is the scariest game ever. Doom 3 will scare you with its realistic graphics (like Splinter Cells graphics),its dark hallways, and the scary looking enemies. This game will or might wet your pants. The weapons are good and you will get new ones as you progress through the game. The mulitplayer is good. The online co-op play is a nice feature. One good thing about Doom 3 is sometimes in the levels you will have drones who will have powerful weapons. The boss battles are pretty good. The only minor problem and i'm sure everyone knows is that you can't have your flashlight with your gun so sometimes you will have to switch between your gun and your flashlight. This game is awesome besides the minor problem this is the best scary game ever. That is why I give Doom 3 a 10 out 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A game that isn't a game its an experience

posted by bobbuilder (SMITHFIELD, VA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Doom3 is one of the best games i have ever played. This is a buy but don't take my word for it cus i dont want you to get mad at me if you buy it and dont like it. What im trying to say is that if you havnt played it you should you weirdo.SO GO RENT IT NOW AND PLAY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HOLY SHIZNIT!!!!

posted by hockeyboi (RESCUE, VA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a great game......The graphics are amazing. It will scare your jock strap off of you. It was crazy mad wild fun. And if u haven't played this game you are a DEE DEE DEE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is amazing!!

posted by catinabox (SOSO, MS) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is awsome and not complicated at all. It was a great game expect for the flashlight.... Why couldn't you just find some ducktape on the ground some where and tape it to the gun is beyond me. Expect for that the game is perfect and the monsters are scary as h e l l jumping out at you when you lest expect it. If they would have fixed the flashlight this game it would be perfect!! And the load times arn't that bad amazing graphics (as far as the xbox gets) great gameplay i would reccommend this game for the lovers on DOOM and people that haven't played it should give it a try this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT

posted by pforward34 (SIDNEY CENTER, NY) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! The game play is awesome as is the visual. The use of the audio and visual was perfect. Anyone who likes first person shooters should play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Demons... PRETTY!

posted by YankeeDan (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is beautiful, it's atmosphere is awesome. The Visual and audio components of this game were crafted masterfuly. The actual gameplay though, is supbar. The combat is some of the simplest I've seen in a FPS in years, although some people may like this I felt it wasn't deep enough to hold serious interest. Due to the simplistic combat the multiplayer deathmatch is very weak, the co-op though can be good fun, but is simply too easy with two skilled players. An above average game, but only thinks to it's looks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DO'NT PLAY THIS ON A FULL BLADDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Death13 (DES MOINES, WA) May 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

as in the title u actualy go to HE double hockey stix (sorry for the dumb way to say that but it wouldn'nt let me say the actual word) in this sweet sweet game. this is by far 1 of the best game ive played in a long time! now..for something gamefly left out, for invincibilty hold L then press x, y, b, a there will be a sound that sounds like u r reaciveing dark power or someting, also everytime u hit a loading spot after loading is done REAPEAT THE CODE!!!!!!! OR U WILL DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!! OH YA AND MAKE SURE U DO'NT HAVE A FULL BLADER WHILE PLAYING THIS GAME CUZ ITS SCARY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DOOM {AKA:waste of time.}

posted by screener (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yeah it is true, the graphics are pretty impressive, and the game is more horrifying than seeing your grandmother naked, but I just didn't get this game. I like games with challenges, not the repetitive pressing of one button. The game had literally no plot, and I found myself waiting until the game was over. If you want to play a game that leaves you wetting your pants and crying then this is the perfect game, if you love games like splinter cell that involve excessive thinking, then it definitely isn't. Another thing i dislike about this game is the fact you have no idea how much health a monster has, and you have no idea when the game is going to end. Beyond its graphical genius, this game will end up disappointing you, I expected more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a repetitive linear game

posted by imperial (WILLIAMSVILLE, VT) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Firstly, while doom3 does do somethings right it does many other things poorly. Doom 3 really captures the ambience of creeping down a dimly lit corridor with only forty or so health and only a few shells left in the shotgun. However it often feels like you are always creeping down the same corridor over and over again. Secondly doom3 really misses the fast paced ADHD twitch feel of the original two games. Doom3 almost feels like a completely different type of game than the originals and if you are expecting to play doom3 that more than anyrthing else must be understood. Thirdly the gameplay in doom3 is very linear, The game constantly feels like its trying to push you forward rather than letting you find your own way. and this is one of the most recurring problems in Doom3 you will find yourself rocketing through the games relatively small mission maps and suddenly be forced to backtrack to find access codes and the such. These brakes in action are rather unseemly to the gameplay dynamic and feel forced. The enemies in Doom3 are divided into several classes each with their own special ability or mannerism making them unique. you will not find yourself mowing down demons with a chaingun like in the original two, the confrontations with the enemy are spread out across each map. Often you will be ambushed by a demon or zombie jumping out from behind a crate or wall, but this gets repetitive and quickly loses it's survival horrr appeal. The story in Doom3 while interesting is too under-explained and alienating to the gameplay to be capable of offering any enjoyment. The graphics in Doom3 are very very pretty and can leave you breathless. The textures and lighting are second only to the chronicles of riddick escape from butcher bay on the Xbox. This game is barely above average do not buy this game rent it if you must.

gameplay-6
story-5
audio-7
presentation-8(barely)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Review from the Religious Perspective

posted by Playa347 (NORTHFIELD, MN) May 16, 2006

Member since May 2005

5 out of 31 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

Before reading this, I would like all readers to know that I have been an active gamer for many years. I rarely am critical on games and I have never felt challenged until this game to maintain liking and enjoying the game.

I honestly could not take this game...I played it for about 5-6 hours in total. It disturbed and freaked me out. Yes so thats the point of the game right? Well yes but to my experience it was beyond the 'comfort level' of being scared. You can watch a scary movie, be scared and enjoy it.

I sit down, play this game, and the only thing I can think about is when does something posative happen? When will I find an area that is not engulfed by darkness and demons? This is the first game I have ever played that has seemed to challenge me religiously. I was raised in a christian family but I have never really been a critical religious thinker. I never judge things based religious morales. That is until now.

I don't mean to blab on about rights, wrongs and evils. I am just warning anyone who professes themselves to be a christian, should stay away from this game. You want to try it, go ahead, I did. I am sending it back after having it for 2 days. I cannot enjoy it as a video game, and while I am not playing it I am fealing two urges at the same time...one being to get as far away from the game as possible, the other urge is something trying to get me to continue playing. The only solution is to stop. The game is full of pentagrams, demonic voices and images, I just could not take it.

My rating is 3...outstanding graphics, sound and controls. But it was too consumed by the negatives that I picked out from a religious perspective. I hope this review is helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

doom 3. eh...

posted by BigP567 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Jul 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

i had heard a lot of good things about this game and i had high expectations but i was pretty disappointed. the entire game is just the same thing over and over again. you expect something new at each new level but its the same looking area, small and dark, with the same creatures. sure its cool killing zombies with chainsaws and shotguns but after the 4th or 5th hour it gets kinda boring. i rated this game a 4 because of the constant repetitiveness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Cult Classic

posted by nitemuffin (NORTH AURORA, IL) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Doom 3 was a success to the sci fi horror genre. I was 13 when i played this game in the basement with the dark and I got soo scared that i really want to cry and hold someones hand. It was that amazing and the storylines and gameplay was magnificent. I kinda liked it because "The Ultimate DOOM" was my favorite game of all time!
9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Okay for a playthrough with a friend, too easy

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The game was far too easy, it made the Doom series seem like a joke, I mean you practically had infinite health on co-op as you could keep respawning...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

one of the most boring shooters made

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

the game dosent live up to the hype, the only thing it nailed was the graphics, the story was nonexistent, the gameplay was boring, the whole feel was copied by many games that were 100 times better, the only reason you might want to check this out is because you can get the special edition wich comes with the best console ports of doom and doom 2 ever released. hopefully doom4 will be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't play this game at night

posted by ill420 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Doom 3 is one of the best games thats been released for the x box. It suprised me how great the graphics were and the variety of weapons and enemies that are in it. What really got me was the chain saw. It destroys basically anything in the game and it never runs out of ammo. It can save your life at points during the game. If you are new to games like Doom 3 you may need a box of tissues by your side because its bound to send you crying to your mama. There litteraly is enemies around every corner. If you see a health pack staight ahead of you or some ammo you think you have it in the bag but when you go to pick it up bam something jumps out at you. This game is absoulety amazing and i recmomend that you play it if you havent yet. It is very hard to find right now but if you do give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Scary

posted by iceman0014 (WATERFORD, VA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

i only have for words
ter-if-i-ing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Made #2 in my Pants!!!

posted by Luigi4 (PITTSFIELD, MA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I love this game! It's soo much better than the 1st 2. And this game is scary as seeing ur mother in the shower (yeah it's that creepy).Zombies appear out of no where. Their way of saying hi is "ughhh" and sometimes u can't even hear or see them. The creepyest guy is the dude with a chainsaw. And there's this one scene where ur walking down a hallway and all of a sudden he pops up and dissapears like a ninja. Oh and never try to take out a "Pinky" with just ur fists. For any hardcore horror game fan this is the game 4 u for the sensitive people go play something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

doom its cool kinda

posted by imsoGsry (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

kinda a old game but still scared the socks off of me at times. grafics they were good for the time. monsters looked cool. ya its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

In space no one can hear you yawn

posted by libra92310 (PHENIX CITY, AL) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

All in all, this is not a bad game.The only problem is the game is much longer than it needs to be. Walking down seemingly endless corridors fighting countless enemies got boring.This is a fun ,albeit lackluster game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun!! but hard.

posted by l4dmaster (COSTA MESA, CA) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this game is awsome! But hard!!!! there are monster zombie things jumping out at you every second!!! and you can barely see them because it is pitch dark and all you have is a flashlight!! So if you want a rush this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the perfect horror game

posted by FunkyFresh (SAINT CLAIR, MI) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Doom 3 has thee most scary environment in video game history. Weird about doom 3 it has a likable story line first in series with same silent Protagonist approach witch is common in doom series. game play simply run in gun with hellish environment so don't in for your shake. final comment you will be done with this game in 7 hours of game play and you get bored after that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by bob2foot (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

it is ever bad try hitman

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HOLY $#!T! this game is awesome!

posted by scidude0 (NEWARK, DE) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

THIS GAME IS THE F##$ING $#!T!!!
4 years it took to make this game and it ended with so many downloads of the demo and so many reviews,the game was like a drug that you can never give up! to me this games graphics were spectacular,the storyline was just as good as it can an heck looked like...well...heck!
so this game deserves a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse