Rent Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil for Xbox
view large frontback

Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

696 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's about a 7.6 If you liked DOOM 3 PLAY THIS!!!

posted by Stonewall (HIDDEN VALLEY, PA) May 1, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

It's plain and simple if you liked the original you will like this. The game play is intense. I know that the way the portal to Satans stomping ground being re-opened was cheesy. I think ID Software made a good move here. Always remember don't grade a game from all the hype. Try it, and have an opinion yourself!

Gamertag: StonewallJunky

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Doom 3 Resurrection of Evil

posted by DoomMaster (CLINTON, SC) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you have played Doom 3 before you really need to play this one. It is my most favorite first person shooter and scary game. It is definitely my top game ever in the history of games. A must play game for doom lovers. Period! 5 out of 5. 10 out of 10. (Hint) don't play the game in the dark it will scare the spit of you. Ha Ha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by haloGod89 (EASTHAMPTON, MA) Sep 1, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this game is great. this game is about a marine openning the gate way to hel... by touching an artifact. now u play that guy and try to go to hel... and distroy the artifact over thereand distroy their leader. it is a pretty good game w/ nice graphics and awesome soundtrack. it takes place back in the uac building at mars. oh wait and if u like those old retro games u like this because it also include extras of the games ultimate doom doomII and advance levels they r fun to play after u beat the real game. but it is short i finished it in less then like 3 or4 hrs. rent it and if u like it buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it had its ups and downs

posted by boondawg (CATONSVILLE, MD) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

it was okay compared to the first doom3 but it was just way to short and not as expandable so like why did they make this one? the good part was the doom and doom 2 was added in i think that they should come out with a disk that has every doom on called the collators edition it would have 1,2,3,3/2
and any others i for one enjoy the franchise but not this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Xbox360 play

posted by germany28 (PEEBLES, OH) May 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

I own this game and it is amazing!! If you played Doom 3 and liked it you will love this game. I only have one problem with it, Gamefly makes it seem like you can play this on your Xbox 360, well I own the game and it WILL NOT play on my xbox 360. So if you only have a xbox 360, you, more than likely, won't be able to play it. Reguardless it is an amazing last gen game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun and Exciting

posted by Zero0000 (RICHFORD, NY) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

When I saw Doom 3 on lets play videos I was skeptical about the sequel of Doom 3 ROE. However playing the game however revived my hopes for the Doom Series once again. Enemies old and new appeared and gave me a slight buzz, seeing Imps, Cacodemons, Lost Souls and even the Mancubus appear gave my Doom sense of the word of Fear.

What made this game even more exciting was the fact that the original Doom aka Ultimate Doom with Knee Deep in the Dead, Shores of Heck and Inferno as well as a new chapter I never saw before Thy Flesh Consumed. All four chapters gave me a sense of challenge and fun like the old Doom games should...however thats not the only perks on this action packed game.

Doom 2 and Master Levels also makes a stand out in the series though I played only very little it was however extremely challenging and well worth playing through.

Though Doom 3 ROE itself was a great game however there are some cons in the game that kinda took the fun away from time to time. For example the "Grabber" is a pain to work with because you must be precise on where you aim to grab either Energy Blasts from the Imps and the bosses themselves but also trying to use it to grab distant items and solve various puzzles while trying to avoid getting killed was an annoyance than a challenge.

Another example is actually a problem to only me was that you needed PDA's not just for clearance to other areas but also you need to look at them to get passwords for important supplies you need to survive the hordes of heck but these were a minor annoyance.

Overall Doom 3 ROE is a Awesome game for those who dont know Doom or a fan of the Retro Doom will clearly enjoy this game. I hope in the future Dooms to come that the series will just as good.

Gameplay: 10 of 10
Story: 10 of 10
Music: 10 of 10
Fun Factor: 10 of 10
Overall: 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

It was a fun continuation of Doom 3. However when you compair it to the origianly Doom 3 it wasn't quite as long it seemed like and seemed like less storage lookers to get equipment from. All in all it was still a fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Doom series always delivers!

posted by GeneraLore (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) May 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

DOOM ROE, is another Doom title that lives up to the series as a whole.
The Audio team did a nice job, Scary sounds and whispers.
Lighting effects, well I can't shoot out the lights but the lighting effects in this game are comparable to the current DeadSpace title definately done very well, I would say superior to many titles in 2009!
Weapons, the usual Doom type weaponery Mastering this game will require you to figure out how to navigate your weapon menu quickly.
Like usual in Doom the double barrel 12 Guage is one of the best weapons in the game.
Graphically beautiful still by todays standard, the graphics are seamless.

I Rated this a 8 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I just call it Doom 4

posted by Demon15 (Forreston, IL) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I rented this game mostly out of curiosity, I had played parts of the first and second Doom games, and was generally impressed, even for how old they were, and also hearing good things about Doom 3, I had put the original three on my list as well as this one, but this one came first. I began playing this one waiting for something to leap at me from dark corners and was not disappointed. This game is a lot of things, scary is one of them. Even for an original Xbox games, I found this one very entertaining, both the expansion of the original Doom 3, I also spend equal time, if not more, playing the classic doom games. This is a must rent for those with an Xbox or an Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

to short and not scary!

posted by gamecrtic1 (ANTHEM, AZ) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

the game is boring in all ways. not scary.
I reccomend a rental. DO NOT BUY!!!.
Buy the the first one.its much longer
and scarier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool, scary game.

posted by MrHombre (Newton, NJ) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is for the xbox, so the graphics are so so but this game is freaky! There are zombies, demons, and huge....demons. Ive never actually play this version, ive only played the original Doom3 but I can assume this will be just as satisfying if not better! the weapons are cool, and theres a lot of them. this game is online so you can play co-op with your friends or whoever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that Great

posted by gamefan123 (BOULDER, CO) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I read some reviews before renting the game, and some said you HAD to get this if you played Doom 3. I think this game was actually way worse than Doom 3 and I would have been fine not playing it at all. Nothing much happened and it was insanely short. The storyline didn't make a whole lot of sense and it was falling apart from the beginning. If you played Doom 3 and wanted to find out more after the ending, this game won't tell you anything. It's basically just a completely different game with not point/plot to go on. The only reason I gave it a 4 and not something lower is because the graphics were pretty good for an xbox game and it was fun to shoot demons with a double barrel for a little while. If you were thinking about renting this game, I would say you change your mind and pick something better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Doom 3.2

posted by TimRBT (Athens, PA) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

it was funnier the the first doom 3. The new guns like the DB shotgun, were awesome. 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Doom 3 : Resurrection Of Evil.

posted by shooter99 (WILLIAMSON, WV) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game was very disappointing in a few ways. The graphics were not as good as Doom 3. It was not very scary. There were no surprises. In Doom 3 monsters jumped out of the ceiling and around corners. In this game all that is shown, is cut scenes of monsters crawling out of lit up hallways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, great value!

posted by ghandi (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I thought this game was good. Game play is not a whole lot different than Doom 3. You start out with an artifact that needs to be taken back to hel where it can be destroyed, thus sealing the gateway to hel forever. A few new weapons are added to the arsenal, as well as some new enemies. The graphics are good, but some of the textures can be a little muddy up close. Music, or the lack of, adds to the ambiance, making it a more realistic experience. I've never played the game online, so I'm not sure how the multi player maps handle on the XBox. Plus the fact that Ultimate Doom, Doom II, and Doom II: Master Levels are on the same disk, allow for veteran Doom buffs to go back to the o'le days of Doom, and new comers to appreciate what made Doom such a great, and wonderful work of art that set the standards for FPS games today. So if you're into the old Doom, or just want to experience something new and different, this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beating the dead horse's great grandchildren

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Nov 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

Talk about a game that just won't evolve. Yes the monsters are cranky, yes you can shoot "things" into oblivion a million times over, yes its loud, and you'll get a jump now and then, but you got all that for how long now from every other carbon copy Doom title on every other platform. Ho Hum. I am not saying sit down and think up another Halo, but branch off somewhere we haven't been. Clean up the graphics, throw some AI in there somewhere, and think up a storyline. My Grandmother tells the same story over and over too, but at least there's usually some cookies and a $10 bill in it for me when she's done. I think Activision owes me 4 hours of my life back cause I think I'd rather go mow the lawn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was ok but

posted by dogma6 (HARRISBURG, PA) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I was upset because i was unable to play on xbox live because there is no one online to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Doom 3 : Resurrection of Evil

posted by skatermrul (FLAT TOP, WV) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Doom 3: Resurrection of evil is just like the old doom that proceeded it (doom 3), but with a twist. The game starts out as years later after doom 3. They go back (for reasons unknown, but hey it gave me another game to play) to the temple in the last game. This game is just like doom 3, with the addition of a few new weapons. They play is the same, the monsters act the same. I guess this was originally a expansion pack so not much is supposed to be expected. I so happen to like 1st person shooters, so i gave this game a 7. This game is also kinda short, but fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it rocks

posted by videogamer (LA QUINTA, CA) Aug 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

I rented this before and it rocks the game is better than any other doom game. Everything changes accept the concept. New weapons,new story lines, but still the same old action packed killing demons concept. This game rocks i think its a ten. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »