Rent Doom 3: BFG Edition for PS3
view large frontback

Doom 3: BFG Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

741 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Glade I bought it.

posted by TheCarl666 (ALBANY, OR) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For the people that say the graphics are bad i say to them you don't say. It wasn't supposed to have better graphics. It was simply a trilogy of some of the greatest FPS games of all time. for starters it comes with the original two dooms i mean how amazing is that. That and they look amazing in HD. To add the great game it comes with doom 3 and the resurrection of evil add on. Plus you get the lost missions. For me i loved all three of the dooms so when i heard of this i bought it. Another neat thing they put into the game is that you don't have to switch between your flashlight and gun anymore, instead you have a built in flashlight onto your armor. For those familiar with halo its the same thing. It has a battery life and will die if used to much. It recharges fairly fast though. Another thing that caught my eye while playing doom 3 was it seems like they added more to some of the levels compared to doom 3 for the original xbox. This may have been on the PC version but i have not played so i cant tell you. All and all if you were to buy all of these games ( besides the lost mission only on bfg edition) it would cost you about 50 to 60 dollars. If you are a fan of the doom franchise i highly recommend renting this game. Possibly even buying it if you want to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PLAY THIS ONE

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Play this old school disc and you will know where Fear/Dead Space/Dantes Inferno /Alice-The Madness Returns and several others all borrowed a little from this series. The original game and the second were ok, but the 3rd BFG game was great.. the multiplay is basically Unreal Tournament Jr....still fun,,a great rental and will check it out again in the spring,, low price good time,,, Because the BFG game has so much hidden stuff and secret codes to find,, you can go to IGN and get some hints and tips to speed things up,, very good site

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Doom 3 Review

posted by xyphon (PLAQUEMINE, LA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

As a 21 year old gamer, I regret having missed the original doom due to not having a PC and not liking monsters as a child. This re-release was my chance to get a taste of what I missed.

I'll start off by saying that, as an adult, it's very, VERY hard to scare me. Doom 3 is one of the few games to have legitimately gotten my heart pumping with anxiety. The atmosphere is fantastic, especially with my 5.1 surround sound headset. Lighting, sound and visuals come together to create a creepy world. Scratches in the walls, breathing behind doors, Satanic voices whispering in your ear as your vision goes blood red and demons pop in for a nice meal.

The graphics are so-so, but they get the job done and even give off a nostalgic feel.

The gunplay stays true to the past installments. I understand not implementing iron sighting for nostalgic reasons, but it would have been nice as an option at least.

I think those who missed out in the past should give this a shot. It lives up to its counterpart quite well. Even if the revamped Doom 3 does nothing for you, it still has the first 2 games kept intact for you to experience.

I may be new to the Doom universe, but I respect both as a classic and for the contributions it made to current day FPS.

Game on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still the same Great Doom 3

posted by Hero_Syndrome (TAMPA, FL) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Personally - There are alot of complaints from other users. Such as not having a map to point you in the right direction. Give me a break. What happened to the days when you weren't spoon fed? Well, here you go. Doom 3 gives it to you. The graphics aren't that bad for a game thats almost a decade old. Its HD. That doesn't mean the graphics are better. It just means that its polished to look nice on your HD Television. That, and it was completely redone to be played in 3D. Which looks really cool. If you're looking for a challenge, horror, and an over all good time. Just pick this up. Its worth it.

Also. You get Doom 1 and 2. Thats awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

With a name like "Tebowing"

posted by UFAME (LOCKHART, TX) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

You know this guy is serious about his passion for games, or he just wishes Tebow would tb his, ahem.

For all the rest of the gamers out there this is a awesome chance to play Doom 3 on the Playstation 3. Previously only released on the xbox and PC lots of PS3 fans got to miss out on this great fps. Now in hd and packed with tons of doom goodies whats not to miss. Rent it and check it out, should at least pass one weekend for you. Has to be better than RE6 at least, right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DOOM!

posted by collin9199 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Doom 3 was and still is one of the best shooters I've ever played. They did a great job with the suspense and terrifying monsters. I am so happy to be playing this again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BFG Dooming

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Oct 19, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Doom 3 is not alll that bad. Yes it shows its age the load screen time is Awful. Plus No Map to point you in the Rightway so at times you get lost. Boss fights are nice music is ok. Trophies are a Plus for Doom Fans. Great Rent Game Toss up buy. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DOOM 3 on the PS3

posted by SilentDecay (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't dwell on the visuals when the game came out in 2004. I still think they hold up for todays standards. For an example, go look at GT on the PS1. It couldn't hold up against GT 4 on the PS2 and GT 5 on the PS3. DOOM 3 still holds quite well for a game that will be 10 years old very soon.

DOOM 3 core is about the story, atmosphere and gameplay. They had great voice acting, finding of PDA's and the horror elements. This is a fun game and I'm glad they brought it on the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Waste Of Time

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

It was a great game back in the day. It doesn't really hold up against every thing else out there now. Good game, just too dated with a to little way too late.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's not 2004 or 1995 any more.

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It could have been a fun walk down memory lane, but it's not the same thing it used to be. Time has not been that kind to the once classic games in this collection. It was fun for the PC age back then, and they should have left this collection back then and moved on to something better. Check out the PC versions of these classic games if you really need a DOOM fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME IGNORE BAD REVIEWS!

posted by playstationfan0 (BRADFORD, AR) May 23, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

This game is an epic remake of vanilla doom 3 yeah its not as dark yeah your flash light can almost always be on but this is a blast plus you get doom 1 & doom 2 and all the dlc for doom 3 this game is a blast lasted about 8 hours for main singleplayer on doom 3 must have for anybody looking for a fps/horror! Also for all those people who want this but think its satanic you are wrong its about you killing evil the whole game but weird sounds and what sounds like latin when they spawn in on pentagrams but other than that its what it would look like if h%%% was unleashed this game isnt satanic its like wolfenstein they kept the swasticka instead of censoring it well doom put pentagrams doesnt mean wolfenstein promotes n%%%%% just showing what it would look like with a n%%% takeover same with doom but instead if h%% was unleashed. Hope this helps old vets of the game and people who never even heard of doom until the new wolfenstein and for those few who thought it was evil or something its really worth a rent if not buy! due to gameflys censorship i had to put % but you should be able to tell what im talking about

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow as A Snail

posted by MOONSTAR (WILTON, CA) May 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2007

Absolutely nothing happens. Sure monsters appear every thirty freaking seconds and weapons get more powerful and varied throughout, but all that gets old really really fast. and that's the whole game. The level design is also pretty confusing and difficult to navigate sometimes. Maybe that's how shooters did it in the older days but really, it isn't that entertaining. More or less annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is...AWSOME!!!!

posted by FallouT234 (WHITE CITY, OR) Jan 3, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

when i rented this game i did not know it can hold 3 games doom 1,doom 2,doom 3(with 2 more dlc campians)
doom 1 and 2 are ok but on doom 3 the atmosphere is tarufing so much jump scares vary dark rooms more realestic monsters more texters to just about every thing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Garbage port for the PS3

posted by Joimes (PIPPA PASSES, KY) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The only gripe I have with this game is the fact it's a spit in the face of the original Doom 3. The load times are extremely long for a game ported from the year 2004, but it also has Doom 2's Wolfenstein aspects censored removing the SS soldiers and Wolfenstein music.

As a fan of the originals this port is complete garbage and just lazy optimization. Play it on Xbox/PC/or download from PS Store, because the disc version of this game for PS3 is terribly optimized and a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

old times...good times.

posted by MKmaster (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jun 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

If you r a fan of the original games, then you r n luck. Both DOOM 1 and DOOM 2 r on this disc! The DOOM 3 game is also very entertaining. It kept me shooting and smiling all weekend. Definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth it.

posted by catsamurai (GROVES, TX) May 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

The whole game is fun. For me, who grew up playing the original, this game has all the factors that I love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

no going back

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

like all the older dooms fine..don't know if after playing borderlands..1 and 2..sniper elite1 and 2..and other such games ruined it for me or it just sucked.. but did not like it wasn't fun ..guess ..no going back to it..expected more out of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alot of Game for one Rental

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

Fun Game lots of Fun and lots of game to play 3 games in one. Some of the Areas are hard to figure out how to get through because there is no map to look at so some areas it is just a guess where you need to go

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply put great game!

posted by dman246 (CHICOPEE, MA) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

This game is so well made, I simply cannot say enough! Great controls,great maps,great memories playing the first and second doom included in the game! Need I say more? Dark levels that kept me guessing around every corner! Sweet game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for Classic Playstation Doom fans

posted by Izzy_Duzit (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Gameplay: The story is basically the same as it was for the classic games in the 90s but obviously more detailed as far as cinematics and dialogues among different characters. The game definitely doesn't disappoint in terms of the horror elements that made the series immensely popular. The sinister atmosphere, lighting, sounds, music, and the all-too-familiar demons consistently spawning/ambushing will just about always keep the player on edge. There will be a few times throughout your experience where you will jump out of your seat due to fear or surprise. The campaign has good length (about 10 hours of gameplay), most of the levels are linear, interactive, take place indoors, in close quarters with a lot of hallways and automatic doors. It retains the same core mechanics of the classic games in that you kill numerous demons en route to finding exits to the current level to advance to the next one. However, you now must fulfill a number of objectives in order to make progress in the game; some of which aren't so obvious, thus prompting the player to be a bit of a problem solver at times. The player is able to wield as many as 10 weapons (though switching between them is a chore) with several of the favorites from the 90s returning such as, the plasma gun, and BFG. The flashlight is vastly improved from the original Doom 3 in that it is now shoulder mounted on the player's chest, thus solving the old problem players had of constantly toggling back and forth between it and their weapon. There are 2 additional campaign spinoffs to choose from the menu but are shorter than the main one. The endings are rather abrupt also. Ultimate Doom & Doom II are packaged too but are the Nintendo versions which is a bit of a let down.

Graphics/Controls: The graphics are updated to correspond with todays HD TVs. The controls are fluid and have a similar scheme for FPS. There is no ADS, but it's no big deal. It's too bad though that the crosshairs don't change shape.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DOOM

posted by bonbopper (SOUTH SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Did you receive my blank sleeve for the game doom?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by WillieTheKid (HICKORY, NC) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Game was intense and I couldn't put it down. A million times better than the old doom games, not saying much. Only critique is it was a little monotonous at times, but diverse enough that it didn't take away from the game or missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For those OK with a rerun ...

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

If you have been playing video games since 90s and want to recall what it was like in the early days, go for it. Rental only. If you want a challenging game, skip this one. Was interesting, but I would rather play something newer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad,Very bad.

posted by HAZZARD202 (TAKOMA PARK, MD) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This has to be one of the worst games i ever played. The graphics were so glossy and badly done that the characters faces looked melted and it took me 30min to be able to play the actual game,had to sit back and watch the movie first,endless briefing and no action. I played this game for 2min and put it back in the mail. The good thing about this game is that the original doom 1 and 2 are in the package.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

expected better

posted by aj198423 (WASHINGTON, NC) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

hate to say but doom 3 itself was terrible. with the bfg edition, i played more doom 2 then anything. rent at your own risk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse