Rent Doom 3: BFG Edition for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Doom 3: BFG Edition

Rent

Keep for: $15.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.4

1181 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Doom Re-Mastered & Justifed

posted by marshall420 (LEICESTER, NC) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

First things first, I'm a huge die-hard fan of the Doom trilogy. When I heard about it being re-released and re-mastered with HD graphics through my friend Dean, I knew I had to at the very least try it out. He and I are both Doom junkies. As beautiful and eye-popping the graphics are in Doom 3, the graphics are nicely improved for the oldie and goldie Doom 1 & 2 for PC originally.

Graphically- Doom 3 looks even more amazing re-vamped up to HD on the 360 console. Doom 1 & 2 are nicely polished.

Sound- Love it! I cannot say anything bad about it. Nothing shy of perfection.

Atmosphere- Gives the player the eerie and creepy feel in the re-mastered Doom 3 and amped up to the next level of horror/shooter genre.

Controls- Easy as pie! Simple. Easy access to all your weapons you have first off and gain along the way.

Gameplay- It is smooth and crisp for Doom 1 and 2. I give it tht by far! In Doom 3, I have first-handedly experienced, alongside what my friend Dean has said and gamer friends of mine have noticed too, is the drop in the game's frame rate. Something must be a miss here because I know it's not just my copy of the game. Other gamers/friends of mine have experienced the same issues.

My experience: I was right in the middle of unloading on a hoarde of enemies and suddenly my gun slowed down drastically firing and the enemies quit moving. I re-loaded from diffrent save files at the same checkpoint where I left off and the same issue kept occuring.

I hope there may be a Patch to fix this to download on XBL Marketplace (Free would be Ideal,) Besides the flaws of frame-rate issues, I honestly will give it a 9 out of 10. This is and are classic games and I don't believe it's right to drop the score too low because of 1 particular hiccup. One of my personal favorite games to date! I recommend picking up your rental copy! If you would like to contact me by XBL, gamertag is SUPERMARSH1984. Happy Gaming!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great new look on an old title, but has issues

posted by ThatGuy691 (IRVING, TX) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Doom 3 was fantastic when it came out in '03, and it's still a fantastic game almost 10 years later, but this re-release has some issues. The gameplay is still spot on, the sound still creeps you out everytime you hear a groan or grunt. The music sets the tone for you to be utterly creeped out when something jumps out at you. Sadly though, there are parts of this title that have MAJOR framerate lag, it drops down to near nothing where the action becomes incredibly choppy to the point of almost being unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Welcome Back ID Software

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Oct 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Developer ID Software is going back to the underworld & bringing us 2003's most anticipated first person horror shooter DOOM 3 in a new & improved enhanced version called DOOM 3 BFG Edition. Published by Bethesda, Doom 3 BFG Edition is a combo pack that includes Doom 3, The Russerection of Evil Add-on pack, new The Lost Missions campaign dlc, the Original Doom & Doom 2 all with enhanced visuals. Relive the Nightmare in Doom 3 with an epic adventure, great gameplay, amazing arsenal of weapons, & fight an onslaught of death-defying enemies that rise from the deep bowels of the Underworld & the fun don't stop there. Take the game to online multiplayer & bring friends because its going to be a bloodfest. Doom 3 gets an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic

posted by fearless4_7 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's time to revisit a classic. The new graphics make the game seem overall smoother and the flashlight trigger button is a welcomed edition. The overall game play remains unchanged... the no scoping makes the game feel a little dated to those of us used to COD or BF but one must keep in mind that this is a re-release of a 2003 game. Overall the DLC is impressive and immersible while doom 1 and 2 are a must for any collection. The game is still as scary as it was in 2003. I recommend picking this title up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by firef1ghter77 (MARION, OH) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i love doom but i loved doom 3 for the co-op was very disappointed that they removed it its what made it great for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So much potential....thrown away

posted by MoMcnasty (SHREVEPORT, LA) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When this game originally released back in 2004, the only thing really going for it were the graphics. It still holds up pretty well in 2012, but it's quite obviously not a 2012 game. Which is understandable and would have been overlooked if not for the monotonous game play. Seeing the same environments and same enemies over and over again makes the game feel like a drag. The bosses were somewhat cool, albeit extremely easy and took no sort of special skill to beat. I didn't expect much of a story being that it is DOOM, but one that was comprehensible would have been nice. You're just told to go from point A to B...rinse and repeat. I managed to beat both the game and the expansions but the entire thing felt like such a chore.

Now to the expansion RoE. What a waste of a game. That was such an extremely poor effort by ID and a total smack to the face of fans. The setting behind it makes no sense. And virtually nothing changes but additional weapons. One which is clearly a rip off from the gravity gun in Half Life 2 called "The Grabber" Talk about lack of creativity. I beat it in about 2 1/2 hours, and even expected some sort of closure. NOTHING. You beat the last boss and that's it. You're told "Welcome home Marine" And that's it. The screen blacks out and cuts to the credits. What a waste of a game. And most importantly what a waste of time.

I would only recommend this to those people that missed out on it in 2004-2005 and are still curious to see what all the hype was all about. It's not a bad game, however it is FAR from great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ummm it's Doom..

posted by Psychswitch (ANN ARBOR, MI) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ahhh.. doom How I loved you when I played you on my Sega 32x cause i didn't have a computer, not much to say here folks, if you have never played doom, give it a shot, if not just to see what the old school shooter evolved from, dont expect to be blown away with story, just enjoy it for what it is.
Psych-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A definite buy!

posted by stevenmoctezuma (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What is better than getting Doom 3, Doom 2 and the original doom all in one package with extra bonus levels and all new redefined HD graphics? If you think of something, I'd love to hear it because right now I can't think of anything better.

Tackle into what is possible the greatest first person shooter saga and fight the demons in a battle to save Earth. Even today, the horrific, gory visuals of the monsters and mayhem from the first two Dooms, the awesome soundtrack, the outstanding sound effects and the variety of weapons that the first two Dooms gives will be bone chilling and an overdose of bodacious, cap blowing, demon killing, inferno defeating, shotgunning action you will ever receive. You get to play as the baddest, most tough protagonist to ever be depicted in video game history in all three games.

So put away that wimpy Call of Duty, put down that lily-livered Battlefield, and put to rest that chicken Halo stuff because its about time modern gamers felt the raw power of the monster mashing grand daddy of first person shooters: Doom!!

And it doesn't stop there because it gives brand new bonus levels from all three games, all long enough to keep you smiling for hours and shooting up Imps and Cacodemons for days!

This belongs in any real gamer's collection, especially for those who play first person shooters. It is a definite buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must have

posted by mikesloan91 (LUDINGTON, MI) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a must own game the graphics are good and the game will scare the c#%p out of you it's very creepy u will jump out of ur seat. This game is worth the $40 purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not the best

posted by hagebomb (HUDSON, WI) Dec 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Very repetitive, kinda boring after awhile. definitely better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

my opinion. it sucks

posted by Jroopy216 (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

i didnt like it thank god i game fly before you buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

blah

posted by bigmike420 (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

kinda was let down not alot of action to start i gave it up after 10 min had more fun playing the first one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DOOM 3

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

if you like the other dooms , this is a must for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Doom has jumped the shark.

posted by Staggerhome (PLYMOUTH, MA) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Worst game I've played in a long time. Can't believe in this age of advanced 1st person shooters, this one passed the bar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doom 3 BFG

posted by gspotlite (OAKLEY, CA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Props to bethesda for giving this title a revamp, but its tired and dated, the only thing good about this is the multiplayer, lets look to the future stop digging up the past

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cheap Remake

posted by sgt077 (BRANDON, FL) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

I was originally under the impression that this was something new. Surprise, Doom 3 is recycled versions of the originals and unless you are one of those rare antique game aficionados, don't waste your time or your rental. It was good when it first came out and its time is long past. Time to bury Doom and move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game.

posted by bluebaby0526 (FRANKFORT, KY) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game should be rated a 0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for a rental

posted by DavidBankson (HENDERSON, TX) Sep 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I grew up as a gamer, and Doom was the game that introduced me to fps. Doom 2 and Quake were my favorite games as a teenager, definitely since before high school. Anyway, Doom 3 is fun for a rent. It doesn't live up to what it should have been. I was highly disappointed that it lacked the spirit of the series. If you've played a billion hours of the original Doom's like I have, then you know what I mean. All in all, not a bad game, but id dropped the ball in my opinion with the later Doom and Quake games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DOOM 3 is a joke... Old School DOOM is not.

posted by Filapomungus (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

All add-ons included:

DOOM: 10/10
DOOM 2:10/10
DOOM 3: 2/10

My Rating for "DOOM 3 BFG Edition": 7.3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Little Disappointed

posted by XBLFiend (LANDISVILLE, NJ) May 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

I got this game knowing I would like Doom and Doom II but I was really hoping to love Doom 3 also. I wasn't happy with Doom 3, though. The old style bad graphics and cheap scares are better than what they did with the upgraded technology.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by Soul8Death (FOND DU LAC, WI) May 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

K here is what I think of this game. 1 doom 3 is awesome I'm happy that they redid doom 3 it was great u got 2 c and hear and even get 2 c a scientist. now what i did not like and was very painful and annoying. the resurrect evil when u got where the wall slide back and forth not good I mean i tried differ ways and still got crushed 12 times and then gave up. the other is the lost mission when u got sent 2 other world by tele port and u finally made it 2 a room there was no way out and i walked around punching the walls and found no way. so that is why the game got a 8 if the other 2 parts would of been shown or u could find a walk through on the other 2 add on then yea but nope no walk through on those other 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Shows its age

posted by thextreme1 (BERLIN, MD) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2006

Updated visuals cant save the monotonous gameplay of Doom 3. I am an old school gamer who loves blasts from the past, but playing through this made me realize how far FPSs have come and how lucky we are to have them.

The monster closets are the downfall, along with the straight forward shoot everything approach and the barely upgraded visuals really dont save it.

If youve never played this before and want an old school approach to a cheap scare FPS, then rent this. If you want more substantial gameplay, rent or buy F.E.A.R., which has a better story and crazy enemy AI.

Controls are good
Story, OK
Visuals, dated but OK
Sound, dated and below average

Overall, a 5. Neither bad nor good, just average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game.

posted by SDMCreations (SPRING HILL, FL) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Comes with Doom, Doom II, and Doom 3. It was awesome playing the old ones on a console. The game itself, Doom 3, doesn't feel that dated either, which I thought was nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by codyalankeith (EAGLE POINT, OR) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

i think it was awsome it had all the dooms but doom three was different then what i remember

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Reliving the Past

posted by Twiztd_Malk (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I've been playing Doom since it first came out WAY back in the day on PC, and spent many nights roaming corridors looking for demonic scum to fear my boomstick. Naturally, when Doom 3 came out for xbox, I got it on the release date and called in to work. Once I picked up the controller, I wasn't able to put it down until I finished. This game has TONS of story, it's just not prevalent in the main mission itself. All the story for this game comes from the PDA's that you can find throughout the levels, which IMO add to the feeling of isolation, knowing that the corpse that was just next to the PDA you just picked up was alive recently, and had "lives" of their own. Not to mention the lighting effects and graphics were top notch for their time, and even though I expected most of them, there were quite a few times that got my heart hammering while playing with all the lights off. Or just gave me a sheer WHAT factor, like walking around a corner and seeing a body hauled into the ventilation shaft, then a few seconds later random body parts start falling out. But I had finished this game long ago, and put it out of memory...then I find out that ID was going to revamp it....to be honest, I was kind of nervous about it. So many companies today are revamping their old games, but it feels like all they do is slap some polish on it and try to push out a usable product that sometimes can be nastier than the original. ID software didn't disappoint though, as the graphics are much updated, and the lighting effects are spot on. The shooting feels a little dated, but after about an hour I didn't even notice any more. In short, if you're wanting to experience a great game that rewards you for taking time away from RUN TO POINT A AND SHOOT MONSTER B types of missions by giving you extra story, then this game is for you. If you've already played and beat the game like I did back in the day..rent it. But if you can't get past the dated shooting system, it's not for you tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse